In 1801, the physicist Thomas Young clearly demonstrated that light travels as a wave, much like the succession of crests and troughs along the surface of water. The concept was not new – the Dutch physicist Christiaan Huygens had already proposed this idea during Newton’s time – yet Young was able to convince the scientific community by studying the patterns made by a beam of light as it passed through slits.

One of Young’s most astonishing feats was that he succeeded in measuring the wavelengths of red and violet light; that is, the distance between two crests or troughs of successive waves. His results revealed a wavelength of 7 thousandths of a millimetre for red light and 4 thousandths of a millimetre for violet. Combining these measurements with the basic concepts of Newton’s work, he concluded that light with a longer wavelength is less deflected than light with a shorter wavelength.

During the same historic period, around 1802, the British chemist William Hyde Wollaston uncovered a surprising fact: the spectrum of sunlight is not continuous. In fact, numerous black lines are superimposed on the colours of its spectrum. Unfortunately, this revelation did not attract much attention and no ideas were advanced to explain their presence.

Josef von Fraunhofer.Several years later, in 1814, the German optician Josef von Fraunhofer noticed the same black lines in the spectrum of sunlight. Although he did not understand their significance, he nonetheless measured their positions and catalogued a total of 324.

In 1859, the German chemist Robert Wilhelm Bunsen (who improved and popularized the burner that bears his name) devised an original analytical technique: he inserted mineral salts into the flame of his burner and observed the colours produced by the gas emitted. He was thus able to determine whether a particular substance was present in a mineral by observing a colour that, according to him, characterized that substance.

Gustav Robert Kirchhoff, a German physician and friend of Bunsen, proposed the additional step of dispersing the light emitted by the gas by using a prism. In this way, they would be able to study its spectra. The two researchers thus made a major discovery: each chemical element generates a series of Robert Wilhelm Bunsen.spectral rays that uniquely characterize the substance, much like a fingerprint identifies a person.

The invention of tTheir new analytical technique, spectroscopy, led to the discovery of many new chemical elements in the years ahead.

Kirchhoff was interested in the spectrum of sunlight and realized that Fraunhofer’s black lines corresponded exactly to the bright rays emitted by specific chemical elements. He deduced that the white light produced by the hot surface of the Sun was in part absorbed by certain chemical elements present in its cooler atmosphere, which produces black lines in the spectrum.
ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

En 1801, le physicien Thomas Young démontre clairement que la lumière se propage comme une onde, c’est-à-dire un peu comme une succession de vagues et de creux à la surface de l’eau. L’idée n’est pourtant pas nouvelle puisque le physicien hollandais Christiaan Huygens l’avait proposée à l’époque de Newton. Cependant, Young observe les motifs créés par le passage d’un faisceau lumineux à travers des fentes et, grâce à cette expérience, il parvient à convaincre la communauté scientifique de son époque de la nature ondulatoire de la lumière.

Fait étonnant, Young arrive même à mesurer la longueur d’onde des lumières rouge et violette, c’est-à-dire la distance entre deux crêtes ou deux creux de vagues successifs. Pour la lumière rouge, il obtient 7 millièmes de millimètres et pour la violette, 4 millièmes de millimètres. De ces mesures, et à la lueur des travaux de Newton, il apparaît donc que la lumière de grande longueur d’onde est moins déviée que celle de courte longueur d’onde.

À la même époque, vers 1802, le chimiste britannique William Hyde Wollaston remarque un fait surprenant : le spectre de la lumière solaire n’est pas continu. En effet, de nombreuses raies noires entrecoupent les couleurs du spectre. Malheureusement, il n’y porte pas une grande attention et aucune tentative n’est avancée pour expliquer leur présence.

Quelques années plus tard, en 1814, l’opticien allemand Josef von Fraunhofer remarque les mêmes raies noires dans le spectre de la lumière solaire. Ignorant leur signification, il se met quant même à mesurer leurs positions et en catalogue 324.

En 1859, le chimiste allemand Robert Wilhelm Bunsen (qui améliora et popularisa le brûleur qui porte son nom) utilise un moyen d’analyse plutôt original : il introduit des sels minéraux dans la flamme de son brûleur et observe les couleurs générées par le gaz produit. Il parvient ainsi à déduire si un constituant est présent ou non dans un minéral en observant la couleur qui, selon lui, le caractérise.

Gustav Robert Kirchhoff, un physicien allemand et ami de Bunsen, propose plutôt de disperser la lumière produite par le gaz avec un prisme de façon à générer un spectre. Les deux chercheurs font alors une découverte majeure : ils constatent que chaque élément chimique génère une série de raies spectrales qui le caractérise de façon unique, comme une empreinte digitale.

Une nouvelle technique analytique, la spectroscopie, vient ainsi d’être inventée et, grâce à elle, plusieurs nouveaux éléments chimiques sont découverts dans les années qui suivent.

S’intéressant alors au spectre de la lumière solaire, Kirchhoff constate que les raies noires de Fraunhofer correspondent exactement à des raies brillantes émises par certains éléments chimiques. Il comprend alors que la lumière blanche produite depuis la surface chaude du Soleil est en partie absorbée par certains éléments chimiques présents dans son atmosphère qui, elle, est plus froide, ce qui génère les raies noires.
ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons