All material, when hot, will emit light. Everyday examples abound: the stove element in the kitchen, the metal filament in a lightbulb, and even the Sun.

By the end of the 1800’s, scientists were observing this phenomenon in their laboratories but could not explain it. Despite this lack of understanding, they nonetheless knew how to separate the light emitted by a gas into a spectrum that was diagnostic of the chemical elements contained in the gas. In 1859, the German physicist Gustav Robert Kirchhoff called this type of spectrum an “emission spectrum”.

Many researchers attempted to explain how matter could generate an emission spectrum but without success. It was only in 1900 that the German physicist Max Planck would provide part of the answer.

Planck noted that it was impossible to solve the problem using existing principles of physics and proceeded to develop a revolutionary theory that marked nothing less than the beginning of modern physics.

In his theory, Planck maintained that light could only be emitted as small packets of energy that he named “quanta” (later known as “photons”). This proposal ran contrary to all contemporary knowledge about light at that time.

In fact, light was considered to be a continuous form of energy that propagated as an electromagnetic wave and not – as Planck proposed – as a form of discontinous energy in the form of particles, like photons.
ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Quand la matière produit de la lumière

Tout matériau, lorsqu’il est chaud, a tendance à émettre de la lumière. On peut facilement s’en rendre compte de nos jours avec l’élément d’une cuisinière, le filament de métal d’une ampoule électrique ou le Soleil, par exemple.

À la fin des années 1800, les scientifiques observent également le phénomène en chauffant des substances dans leurs laboratoires, mais ignorent comment l’expliquer. Ils savent néanmoins décomposer la lumière émise par un gaz en un spectre dont les raies sont caractéristiques des éléments chimiques qu’il contient. En 1859, le physicien allemand Gustav Robert Kirchhoff baptise d’ailleurs ce type de spectre, « spectre d’émission ».

Plusieurs chercheurs vont tenter d’expliquer comment de la matière peut générer un spectre d’émission mais sans succès. C’est en 1900 que le physicien allemand Max Planck va fournir une partie de la réponse.

Planck constate d’abord qu’en utilisant la physique de l’époque, il est impossible de venir à bout du problème. Il élabore alors une théorie révolutionnaire qui va marquer rien de moins que le début de la physique moderne et la fin de la physique qui l’a jusqu’alors précédée.

Dans sa théorie, Planck affirme que la lumière ne peut être émise que par petits paquets d’énergie qu’il nomme « quanta » et qu’on rebaptisera un peu plus tard « photons ». Une telle proposition est contraire à tout ce que l’on sait de la lumière à l’époque.

En effet, la lumière est alors considérée comme une forme d’énergie continue qui se propage sous l’apparence d’une onde électromagnétique et non comme une forme d’énergie discontinue, tel que le suppose l’existence des photons qui sont des particules.
ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons