In 1836, the British astronomer John Frederick William Herschel changed all that. Herschel invented a photometer (“astrometer” as he called it) that allowed the observer to visually compare the brightness of stars using a scale based on the reduced telescopic image of the Moon. It was the first true photometer.

In 1839, the French astronomer Dominique François Jean Arago proposed the design of a new photometer using photographic principles. His goal was to eliminate the role played by the observer in determining the brightness of an object by rendering the technique completely objective.

In 1844, the French physicists Jean Bernard Léon Foucault and Armand Hippolyte Louis Fizeau conducted a series of experiments for Arago in which a photometer was coupled with a daguerreotype. It took until 1885 for photographic plates to be systematically used in photometry. It was in that year that the Dutch astronomer Jacobus Cornelius Kapteyn began to measure the brightness of 454,875 stars from the Southern Hemisphere.

The technique typically used at the time to determine an object’s brightness consisted of measuring its diameter on a photographic plate. The more intense the brightness, the more the plate would react and the greater the diameter of the image. The problem with this method is that if the light is too intense, the emulsion becomes saturated and stops reacting.

In 1910, the American astronomer Charles Edward Pickering found a solution to the problem of saturation: he proposed to measure the amount of light passing through the object’s image on the plate, rather than its diameter. Several years later, in 1916, the American astronomer Harlan True Stetson invented the first photometer that operated on this principle and most modern photometers work in the same way.

Many improvements have been made to photographic photometers during the 20th century. Some of the most notable include the addition of an adjustable iris around a star’s image (1934), the complete automation of the procedure (1969), and the addition of a laser to increase the precision of the data (1971).
ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

© 2006 An original idea and a realization of the ASTROLab of Mont-Mégantic National Park

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Cependant, tout change en 1836. L’astronome britannique John Frederick William Herschel invente alors un photomètre (qu’il nomme « astromètre ») permettant de comparer, à l’œil, grâce à une échelle, l’éclat des étoiles avec une image télescopique réduite de la Lune. C’est le premier « vrai » photomètre.

En 1839, l’astronome français Dominique François Jean Arago propose de mettre au point un nouveau photomètre utilisant la photographie. Son but est d’éliminer le rôle joué par l’observateur dans la mesure de l’éclat et de rendre la technique totalement objective.

En 1844, les physiciens français Jean Bernard Léon Foucault et Armand Hippolyte Louis Fizeau réalisent une série d’expériences pour Arago, dans lesquelles un photomètre est couplé à un daguerréotype. Il faut cependant attendre jusqu’en 1885 pour voir une utilisation systématique des plaques photographiques en photométrie. C’est, en effet, à ce moment que l’astronome hollandais Jacobus Cornelius Kapteyn commence à mesurer les éclats de 454 875 étoiles de l’hémisphère Sud.

La technique généralement utilisée pour déterminer l’éclat d’un objet consiste alors à mesurer son diamètre sur une plaque photographique. Plus l’éclat est intense, plus la plaque réagit et plus le diamètre est grand. Le problème avec cette méthode est que si la lumière est trop intense, l’émulsion devient saturée et cesse de réagir.

En 1910, l’astronome américain Charles Edward Pickering parvient à résoudre le problème : il propose de mesurer la quantité de lumière qui parvient à passer au travers de l’image stellaire plutôt que de déterminer son diamètre. Quelques années plus tard, en 1916, l’astronome américain Harlan True Stetson invente le premier photomètre fonctionnant sur ce principe. À partir de ce moment, la plupart des photomètres modernes opéreront de la même façon.

De nombreuses autres améliorations seront apportées aux photomètres photographiques au cours du vingtième siècle. Parmi celles-ci, notons l’addition d’un iris ajustable projeté autour de l’image de l’étoile en 1934, l’automatisation complète du procédé en 1969 et l’ajout d’un laser pour rendre plus précise la prise de données en 1971.
ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

© 2006 Une idée originale et une réalisation de L'ASTROLab du Parc national du Mont-Mégantic

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons