The T. Eaton Co. Ltd. (part 2)

On the other end of the spectrum was the large two-and-a-half-storey house. A typical example still serves the Chris and Kathleen Bolink family near Monarch, Alberta.

The most popular type of Eaton's house was the one-and-a-half storey, and of those the most common style still in use in Western Canada was the Earlsfield. It first appeared as Plan 68 in the 1912 spring-and-summer catalogue with a list price of $696.50, f.o.b. the mill (freight on board, i.e., cost of freight added). In 1916, it was called Modern Home #668 and cost $887.50, with freight paid for the lumber, but freight charged for paint, hardware, nails, and paper from Winnipeg. Adding indoor plumbing cost another $150; hot-air heating was $90. In the 1919 and 1920 plan books, it was listed as the Earlsfield, but no price was given.

In 1919 and 1920, all Eaton's houses were given a name starting in Ea, thus, the Eatoncourt, Eastbourne, Easton, Eager, Earlswood, and Earlscourt, to name a few. But, the most common was the Earlsfield. Can you imagine the "think tank" sessions required to come up with all those names starting with Ea?

Not all houses that look like the Earlsfield were strictly Eaton's. Some just used the plan and sourced lumber elsewhere; some came from United Grain Growers. Nevertheless, the Earlsfield is a distinctive design not easily forgotten. In addition to the McGrath home in Fielding, Saskatchewan, Earlsfield houses are known in Alberta in Edmonton, Consort, Mannville, Irma, Nobleford, Viking, Coronation, Camrose and Carrot Creek. In Saskatchewan they were found in Conquest, Wawota, Lafleche, Central Butte, Lancer, Griffin, Craik, Eastend, Cabri, Wapella, Creelman, Tisdale, Star City, Ponteix, Reford, Verwood, Elrose, Maple Creek and North Battleford; and in Manitoba in Glenboro, Killarney, Holland, and Shoal Lake.

A common misconception about the Eaton's houses is that they were prefabricated. Although they were shipped as a single item, they were not prefab; the lumber was not even precut. Other companies, such as the Canadian Aladdin Co. Ltd., did have precut houses and one company shipped prefab materials.
by Les Henry

© Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

À l'autre extrémité de la gamme se trouvent les maisons à étage et demi. La famille de Chris et Kathleen Bolink habite l'une d'elles près de Monarch, en Alberta.

La maison à étage mansardé est le modèle le plus populaire d'Eaton et le
« Earlsfield », le style le plus commun, est encore utilisé dans l'Ouest canadien. Ce modèle fut offert pour la première fois en tant que plan n° 68 dans le catalogue printemps-été de 1912; le prix affiché était 696,50 $, FAB de l'usine - franco à bord, c'est-à-dire « frais de transport compris ». En 1916, il devient la maison moderne n° 668 et son coût grimpe à 887,50 $. Les frais de transport du bois sont inclus, mais pas ceux de la peinture, du matériel, des clous et du papier, expédiés de Winnipeg. La plomberie intérieure coûte 150 $ et le chauffage à air chaud se chiffre à 90 $. Les recueils de plans de 1919 et de 1920 présentent ce modèle sous le nom d'Earlsfield sans toutefois en préciser le prix.

En 1919 et en 1920, tous les noms des maisons d'Eaton commencent par le préfixe « Ea » : Eatoncourt, Eastbourne, Easton, Eager, Earlswood et Earlscourt, entre autres. Le modèle le plus populaire demeure le Earlsfield. Est-il possible d'imaginer les séances de remue-méninges nécessaires pour trouver tous ces noms commençant par « Ea » ?

Les maisons qui ressemblent au modèle Earlsfield ne proviennent pas toutes d'Eaton. Si certaines s'inspirent du plan, leur bois provient d'ailleurs; d'autres viennent des United Grain Growers. Néanmoins, Earlsfield est un modèle distinctif, difficile à oublier. Outre la maison des McGrath, à Fielding, en Saskatchewan, on retrouve des maisons Earlsfield dans plusieurs localités de l'Alberta : Edmonton, Consort, Mannville, Irma, Nobleford, Viking, Coronation, Camrose et Carrot Creek. En Saskatchewan, on peut en voir dans plus d'endroits encore : Conquest, Wawota, Lafleche, Central Butte, Lancer, Griffin, Craik, Eastend, Cabri, Wapella, Creelman, Tisdale, Star City, Ponteix, Reford, Verwood, Elrose, Maple Creek et North Battleford. Au Manitoba, il y en a à Glenboro, à Killarney, à Holland et à Shoal Lake.

Beaucoup de gens croient à tort que les maisons d'Eaton sont préfabriquées. Bien qu'elles soient expédiées en un seul envoi, ces maisons ne sont pas préfabriquées; même le bois n'est pas coupé. Des entreprises, comme Canadian Aladdin, offrent des maisons prétaillées, alors qu'une autre propose des matériaux préfabriqués.
Texte par Les Henry

© Société du Musée canadien des civilisations

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons