The Flat Disk Replaces the Cylinder and the Battle of Speeds

The brand new Victrola XI was the star of the 1913 Eaton's Catalogue and was sold at the same price as in the 1912 Berliner Gramophone catalogue. In 1913-14, Eaton's offered the popular Victrola VIII and IX. Since consumers preferred records to the cumbersome cylinders because they were easier to store and less fragile, the company stopped selling cylinder phonographs in 1914.

In 1917-18, Eaton's offered His Master's Voice gramophones, and, starting in 1918, devoted a whole page in the catalogue to Victor and Columbia records. In 1919-20, the company sold floor models of gramophones under the brand name of Symphony, which was changed to Eatonola the following year. Portable record players in suitcases were introduced in 1924 and sold for several years.

Until the end of the 1930s, the Eaton's Catalogue featured only mechanical gramophones. The Victor Orthophonic, marketed as a revolution in sound technology, was introduced in 1925 by Victor Talking Machine. By 1929-30, Eaton's was selling the new Model 43 Victor Orthophonic. In its 1939-40 catalogue, Eaton's offered the first electric model record player, under its own brand name, Viking; this model included a radio. Table models of Viking record players were released in 1946. The following year, Eaton's offered the Astra, a model that featured a radio and a record player and was very modern in design. In the early 1950s, the company still sold a battery-operated combined model for homes without electricity.

"Battle of the Speeds"

The late 1940s saw the emergence of the "speed war." In 1948, Columbia introduced the long-playing record (33 rpm on vinyl) to replace the 78 rpm. RCA Victor responded the following year by launching the 45 rpm.

In 1952-53, Eaton's offered the popular RCA Victor record player, which was made of plastic and appeared on the market at the same time as the 45 rpm. This model could be connected to a radio or television speaker. At the time, record players had three speeds - 33, 45 and 78 rpm - and Eaton's introduced its first Viking model with that feature.
by Nicole Cloutier

© Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Disparition du cylindre au profit du disque plat

Disparition du cylindre au profit du disque plat

Le tout nouveau Victrola XI trône dans le catalogue d'Eaton de 1913 : il se vend au même prix que dans le catalogue de la Berliner de 1912. En 1913 et en 1914, Eaton met en vente les populaires Victrola VIII et IX. Comme les consommateurs préfèrent les disques, plus faciles à entreposer et moins fragiles, aux embarrassants cylindres, la compagnie cesse, en 1914, de vendre des phonographes à cylindre.

Eaton, en 1917 et en 1918, propose des gramophones His Master's Voice. À partir de 1918, elle consacre une page complète aux disques Victor et Columbia. En 1919 et en 1920, la compagnie vend des gramophones, modèles au plancher, sous la marque Symphony, qui change de nom, l'année suivante, pour Eatonola. Les tourne-disques portables, intégrés dans une valise, apparaissent en 1924; ils se vendront pendant plusieurs années.

Jusqu'à la fin des années 1930, le catalogue Eaton ne propose que des gramophones mécaniques. Le Victor Orthophonic, présenté comme une révolution dans la technologie du son, est mis en marché en 1925 par la Victor Talking Machine. En 1929 et en 1930, Eaton offre le nouveau modèle 43 Victor Orthophonic. Dans son catalogue de 1939-1940, elle met en vente le premier modèle électrique, qui comprend aussi une radio, sous sa marque, Viking, marque qui mettra en vente, en 1946, des tourne-disques de table. L'année suivante, Eaton présente un modèle qui combine radio et tourne-disques, le Astra, au design très moderne. Au début des années 1950, la compagnie vend toujours un combiné à pile pour les foyers sans électricité.

La guerre des vitesses

La fin des années 1940 a vu apparaître ce que l'on a appelé « la guerre des vitesses ». En effet, en 1948, Columbia met sur le marché le disque long jeu (33 tours, sur vinyle) pour remplacer le 78 tours. RCA Victor réplique en lançant, l'année suivante, le disque 45 tours.

En 1952 et en 1953, Eaton offre le populaire tourne-disques de plastique de RCA Victor, mis en marché en même temps que l'arrivée du 45 tours. Ce modèle a l'avantage de se brancher sur le haut-parleur d'un récepteur radio ou celui d'un téléviseur. À cette époque, les tourne-disques possédaient trois vitesses - 33, 45, 78 tours - et Eaton introduit son premier modèle Viking présentant cette caractéristique.
Texte de Nicole Cloutier

© Société du Musée canadien des civilisations

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons