The history of shipbuilding in the Sorel region began in the 18th century. This industry peaked during World War II (1939-1945), when thousands of workers were employed at Marine Industries Limited, a company founded in 1937 by the Simard brothers, three sons of a navigator from Baie-Saint-Paul.

The eldest brother, Joseph, moved to Sorel in 1909. Eight years later, he purchased a workshop, Les Chantiers Manseau Limited, and went into business repairing, maintaining and building dredges. His brother Édouard joined him in Sorel in 1927. They were able to obtain a lucrative contract to dredge a shipping channel between Montreal and Quebec. The third brother, Ludger, joined the family business in 1931. Together, they purchased the shipyard from the government in 1937; this was the official beginning of Marine Industries Limited.

This company, based on the west bank of the Richelieu not far from the St. Lawrence, played a central role in the regional economy for many decades. The shipyard was one of Canada’s most important shipbuilding centres.

During World War II, the shipyard was open 24 hours a day. It operated at a frenetic pace, taking as little as a week to build an entire Liberty Ship.

Marine Industries delivered 30 Liberty ships to the Royal Canadian Navy, as well as many minesweepers, light frigates, barges to transport troops and equipment, and fleet oilers.

After the war, Marine Industries Limited diversified its production, building ferries, icebreakers, and oil tankers.

The "Sir William Alexander" was the last ship built entirely at the Marine Industrie Limitée (in French since that time) shipyard, in 1987. It was intended for the Canadian Coast Guard.

The Ludger-Simard regional industrial park mainly houses companies in the metallurgy and environmental technology industries. It is located on the former site of Marine Industrie Limitée, which shut down completely in 1991.
Biophare

© 2013, Biophare. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

L’aventure de la construction navale débute au XVIIIe siècle dans la région de Sorel. Elle connaîtra son apogée durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale (1939-1945) en offrant des milliers d’emplois chez Marine Industries Limited, une compagnie créée en 1937 par trois fils de navigateur venus de Baie-Saint-Paul.

L’aîné, Joseph, s’installe à Sorel en 1909. Huit ans plus tard, il achète les Chantiers Manseau Limited. Il se lance alors dans la réparation, l’entretien et la construction de dragues. Son frère Édouard le rejoint en 1927. Un contrat important leur est donné pour les travaux d’excavation du chenal de navigation entre Montréal et Québec. Ludger se joint à ses frères en 1931. Ils font ensemble l’acquisition du chantier maritime du gouvernement en 1937. C’est la naissance officielle de Marine Industries Limited.

Pendant plusieurs décennies, cette compagnie, située sur la rive ouest de la rivière Richelieu non loin du Saint-Laurent, joue un rôle de premier plan dans l’économie régionale. Ce chantier devient l’un des plus importants centre de production navale du Canada.

Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le chantier est actif 24 heures sur 24. Lors des pointes de production, on met à l’eau jusqu’à un « Liberty Ship » par semaine. La construction navale suit un rythme effréné.

Marine Industries Limited livre à la Marine royale canadienne trente « Liberty Ships », de nombreux balayeurs de mines, des corvettes, des barges d’invasion pour le transport des troupes avec leur équipement et des pétroliers-ravitailleurs.

Suite à la période de guerre, Marine Industries Limited diversifiera sa production en construisant différents types de navires tels que des traversiers, des brise-glaces et des pétroliers.

Le Sir William Alexander est le dernier bateau entièrement construit au chantier naval de Marine Industrie Limitée (nom francisé à partir de cette époque) en 1987. Ce brise-glace était destiné à la Garde côtière canadienne.

Le Parc industriel régional Ludger-Simard accueille principalement des entreprises des secteurs de la métallurgie et de l’environnement. Il occupe l’ancien site de Marine Industries Limitée qui cessa complètement ses activités en 1991.
Biophare

© 2013, Biophare. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons