Inspired by the suggestion that cobalt-60 might be a better source of radiation for cancer therapy, Johns applied to the National Research Council at Chalk River for a sample of cobalt-60. With one of the three samples produced at Chalk River in 1951, Dr. Johns designed a unit capable of safely delivering the radiation. Having been carefully tested and calibrated for three months, Dr. Johns’ unit was first used to treat a patient on 8 November 1951.

His textbook ""The Physics of Radiology,"" first published over a half-century ago, is used by radiation specialists throughout the world to this day, and ""cobalt-60"" is a treatment still widely used for therapeutic purposes. It provides a reliable and cost-effective source of radiant energy in the battle against cancer.
Canadian Heritage Information Network
Canada Museum of Science and Technology, Musée de la civilisation, Stewart Museum, Canadian Medical Hall of Fame, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program

© CHIN 2001

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le cobalt-60 pour le traitement contre le cancer

Inspiré par la suggestion selon laquelle le cobalt 60 pourrait être une meilleure source de radiations pour le traitement du cancer, Johns demanda un échantillon de cobalt 60 au Conseil national de recherches du Canada à Chalk River. Avec l’un des trois échantillons produits à Chalk River en 1951, Harold Johns conçut un dispositif capable de dispenser les radiations en toute sécurité. Après avoir été testé et étalonné avec soin pendant trois mois, l’appareil d’Harold Johns servit pour la première fois au traitement d’un patient le 8 novembre 1951.

Son ouvrage intitulé The Physics of Radiology [Physique de la radiologie], dont la première édition remonte à plus d’un demi-siècle, est utilisé encore aujourd’hui par des spécialistes des radiations partout dans le monde, et le cobalt 60 est encore largement employé à des fins thérapeutiques. Il constitue une source fiable et économique d’énergie de rayonnement dans la bataille contre le cancer.
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada, Musée de la civilisation; Musée Stewart, Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne, Museum of Health Care at Kingston, University Health Network Artifact Collection, University of Toronto Museum of Scientific Instruments, University of Toronto Museum Studies Program

© RCIP 2001

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons