Eggs are not all the same shape as the chicken eggs that we eat. Even the shape of the domestic chicken egg is different from that of its wild ancestor, the Red Junglefowl. Some birds eggs are more pointed, or pyriform and, at the other extreme, some are more rounded or spherical.

Many Factors Affect Egg Shape

  • Egg shape is determined by the internal structure of the hen. Her oviduct, distribution of internal organs and shape of her pelvic bones all affect egg shape. The Mallard’s egg at the top of this picture is subelliptical (not quite spherical). The Great Horned Owl’s egg is spherical and the Red-tailed Hawk’s egg, at the bottom, is elliptical.

Consequences of Shape

  • Aristotle once suggested that males came from more pointed eggs and females from more rounded eggs. This of course, is not true. The shape of an eggshell does affect its physical properties, however. The general spherical shape of an egg maximizes shell strength while also conserving shell materials. More rounded eggs further maximize the volume of the egg for theamount of eggshell as well as ensure heat conservation.

Royal Alberta Museum
Canadian Heritage Information Network

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Il existe des œufs de toutes les formes

Les œufs n’ont pas tous la forme des œufs de poule que nous mangeons. De plus, la forme des œufs de poule d’aujourd’hui est différente de celle des œufs de l’ancêtre sauvage du poulet, le coq doré. Certains oiseaux pondent des œufs plus pointus, ou piriformes, alors que d’autres sont plus arrondis ou sphériques.

Plusieurs facteurs influencent la forme de l’œuf

  • La forme de l’œuf est déterminée par la structure interne de la poule. Son oviducte, la répartition des organes internes et la forme des os de son bassin influencent la forme de l’œuf. L’œuf du canard colvert, dans le haut de cette image, est allongé (pas tout à fait sphérique). L’œuf du grand-duc d’Amérique est sphérique, tandis que celui de la buse à queue rousse est elliptique.

Conséquences de la forme

  • Aristote a déjà insinué que les mâles provenaient d’œufs plus pointus, tandis que les femelles provenaient d’œufs plus ronds. C’est faux, évidemment. La forme de la coquille n’affecte pas les propriétés physiques. Par contre, la forme généralement sphérique d’un œuf maximise la force de l’œuf. Les œufs plus ronds offrent un volume plus élevé de coquille et assurent la conservation de la chaleur.

Royal Alberta Museum
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine

© 2006 Government of Alberta and © 1996-2006 Royal Alberta Museum.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons