Canada's Coming of Age: 1945-1970

By the end of the Second World War,  a large part of Europe was in ruins, with 62 million people dead.

Nuclear bombs had been dropped for the first time, on two cities in Japan, Hiroshima and Nagasaki, destroying them. The race for a new kind of weapon with the ability to destroy an entire continent and even the world had begun.

The United States of America and the Soviet Union emerged as two super-powers.  Both of them held the keys that controlled these nuclear weapons of mass destruction.

This was the beginning of the Cold War era.

It was also the start of Canada’s peacekeeping efforts.  Through the United Nations, Canada played a significant role in promoting peace and workable compromises in world affairs.  During the Suez Canal crisis of 1956, Canada initiated the first international peacekeeping mission, which defused a volatile situation.

Here at home, Newfoundland and Labrador joined Confederation and became the tenth province.

After the Second World War, Canada encouraged new patterns of immigration. Our country accepted many displaced persons and refugees for humanitarian reasons.  Up to 65,000 war brides and other Europeans, many of them Italians, also made this land their home.  They settled in urban areas and helped to expand a growing industrial sector.

First Peoples also tried to improve their situation but the Indian Act posed a key obstacle. Even though many returned to Canada as war heroes, they would have to wait another 15 years before being given the right to vote in federal elections.

During this era in Quebec, immigration more than doubled. There was a climate of change, which enabled people to question and reject certain institutions and values.  Making a break from the past, the province went through a process of change that was nothing short of a Revolution, albeit a quiet one.
_________________________
Royal Ontario Museum
Historical Advisors: Alison Faulknor, The Dominion Institute; Nick Brune, author and history teacher; Scott Carpenter, Métis Nation of Ontario; Caroline Cholette, Hydro-Québec Archives
1945 - 1970
© 2006, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

L’entrée en scène du Canada : 1945-1970

À la fin de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, une grande partie de l’Europe est en ruine, et 62 millions de personnes sont mortes.

La première bombe atomique est larguée sur deux villes japonaises, Hiroshima et Nagasaki. Elles seront détruites. La course vers un nouveau type d’armement capable d’anéantir un continent tout entier, voire le monde, a commencé.

Deux superpuissances émergent de ce conflit : les États-Unis d’Amérique et l’Union soviétique. Toutes deux détiennent les clés qui contrôlent cet arsenal nucléaire de destruction massive.

C’est le début de la Guerre froide.

C’est aussi l’entrée du Canada dans le mouvement de maintien de la paix. À travers les Nations Unies, le Canada joue un rôle déterminant dans les affaires mondiales en faisant la promotion de la paix et des compromis raisonnables. Durant la crise du canal de Suez, en 1956, le Canada initie la première mission internationale de maintien de la paix qui désamorcera cette situation volatile.

Ici, au pays, Terre-Neuve et le Labrador rejoignent la Confédération pour former la dixième province.


Après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, le Canada s’ouvre à de nouveaux types d’immigration et accueille, pour des raisons humanitaires, de nombreuses personnes déplacées et réfugiées. Près de 65 000 épouses de guerre et Européens, ces derniers en majorité des Italiens, choisissent également de s’établir au Canada. Ils s’installent dans les villes et contribuent à l’essor du secteur industriel.

Les premiers peuples essaient eux aussi d’améliorer leur sort, mais la Loi sur les indiens est un obstacle majeur. De nombreux Canadiens autochtones reviennent au pays en héros de guerre, pourtant il leur faudra attendre encore 15 ans le droit de voter aux élections fédérales.

Pendant cette période, le taux d’immigration au Québec fait plus que doubler. Le changement est dans l’air et les Québécois remettent en question, et rejettent, certaines institutions et valeurs établies. Rompant avec le passé, la province traverse une sorte de révolution que l’on qualifiera de « tranquille ».
_________________________
Musée royal de l'Ontario
Conseillers historiques : Alison Faulknor, Institut du Dominion; Nick Brune, auteur et professeur d’histoire; Scott Carpenter, Métis Nation of Ontario; Caroline Cholette, Archives d’Hydro-Québec
1945 - 1970
© 2006, Musée royal de l'Ontario. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons