196,000 Jewish immigrants came to Canada between 1880 and 1930.

Prior to this immigration, the founders of the Toronto and Montreal Jewish communities came from other parts of the British Empire. The first Jewish immigrants arrived after the British Empire took possession of New France following the 1763 Treaty of Paris that ended the Seven Years War.

Early Jewish Canadians were either fur traders or served in the British Army.  Many were merchants and participated in international and local trade.
  • The first Jewish congregation was established in Montreal.
  • Canada's first synagogue was built in 1768.
  • Purim has been celebrated in Canada since the first congregation was established in Montreal.
Purim is a Jewish festival which celebrates survival in a foreign land or in exile.  It is a one-day festival which takes place four weeks before Passover, either in February or early March.

When the story of Esther is read out loud, groggers are used to drown out the name of the villain in the story.  This man, named Haman, planned to kill all the Jews in ancient Persia.  Esther is the name of the queen who foiled (blocked) Haman’s plans.

Even though the story of Esther is over 2,500 years old, the moral of this story is still very significant.  One of the hallmarks of this Jewish holiday is that Purim is not rooted in the Land of Israel, but in the Diaspora experience – the experience of Jews living outside of Israel.

Purim can also be seen as a universal story of immigrant or refugee survival in a distant land.  This is the happiest holiday in the Jewish calendar and is associated in most people’s minds with costumes, hilarity, food, and fun.  Purim is a day of unrestrained revelry and irreverence.  Each Purim, Jewish people everywhere remember the dangers that they faced in exile and they celebrate the miracle of their existence.

However, before the Second World War, when millions of Jews in Europe were being persecuted, and during the War when they were being exterminated, Canada and other Western countries refused to open their doors.  The Jewish people seeking refuge in Canada were not as fortunate as the people in Esther’s story.  At the time there was no policy here in favour of accepting refugees, and immigration was restricted to British and American citizens.  Regrettably, thousands of Jewish people who were trying to escape to safety were turned away.
  • During the Depression and the Second World War Canada drastically limited immigration.
  • During the Holocaust (the mass killing of Jews and other people in Europe by the Nazis), Canada gave sanctuary to only 5,000 Jews.
  • Six million Jews were killed during the Holocaust.
_________________________
Royal Ontario Museum

© 2006, Royal Ontario Museum. All Rights Reserved.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La fête de Pourim et les Canadiens d'origine juive

Entre 1880 et 1930, 196 000 Juifs ont immigré au Canada.

Avant cette vague d'immigration, des Juifs originaires d'autres parties de l'Empire britannique avaient fondé des communautés à Montréal et Toronto. Les premiers immigrants juifs sont arrivés au Canada après que les Britanniques eurent pris possession de la Nouvelle-France à la suite du Traité de Paris (1763), lequel mettait fin à la guerre de Sept Ans.

Les premiers Canadiens d'origine juive étaient des négociants en fourrures ou des soldats de l'armée britannique. Nombre d'entre eux étaient des marchands qui faisaient du commerce au niveau local et international.
  • La première congrégation juive a été établie à Montréal.
  • La première synagogue canadienne a été érigée en 1768.
  • La fête de Pourim est célébrée au Canada depuis l'établissement de la première congrégation juive à Montréal.
Pourim est une fête juive au cours de laquelle on célèbre la survie sur une terre étrangère ou en exil. La fête dure une journée et a lieu quatre semaines avant la Pâque, en février ou au début de mars.

Quand on lit le Livre d'Esther à voix haute, la crécelle sert à couvrir le nom du méchant de l'histoire chaque fois qu'il est prononcé. Cet homme, appelé Aman, projetait de tuer tous les Juifs de Perse. Esther est le nom de la reine qui a déjoué les projets d'Aman.

Même si l'histoire d'Esther remonte à plus de 2 500 ans, la morale est toujours d'actualité. L'une des caractéristiques de la fête de Pourim est qu'elle ne plonge pas ses racines dans la terre d'Israël, mais plutôt au sein de la diaspora la communauté juive vivant à l'extérieur d'Israël.

La fête de Pourim a des résonances universelles, car elle peut s'appliquer à la survie de tout immigrant ou de tout réfugié vivant dans un pays lointain. C'est la fête la plus joyeuse du calendrier juif. Pour la plupart des gens, elle est associée aux déguisements, aux rires, à la bonne chère et au plaisir. Cette journée est marquée par un esprit festif et irrévérencieux effréné. Lors de la fête de Pourim, les Juifs, partout dans le monde, se souviennent des dangers encourus en exil et célèbrent le miracle de leur existence.

Cependant, quand des millions de Juifs étaient persécutés en Europe avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, puis exterminés durant la guerre, beaucoup de pays occidentaux y compris le Canada ont refusé de les accueillir. Les Juifs qui cherchaient refuge au Canada n'ont pas eu autant de chance que dans l'histoire d'Esther. À l'époque, il n'existait aucune politique favorisant l'accueil des réfugiés et l'immigration était limitée aux citoyens américains et britanniques. Des milliers de Juifs qui tentaient d'échapper à un triste sort ont malheureusement été refoulés.
  • Durant la Grande Dépression et la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le Canada a radicalement limité l'immigration.
  • Durant l'Holocauste (l'extermination massive des Juifs et d'autres populations européennes par les nazis), le Canada n'a accordé refuge qu'à 5 000 Juifs.
  • Six millions de Juifs ont été tués durant l'Holocauste.
_________________________
Musée royal de l'Ontario

© 2006, Musée royal de l'Ontario. Tous droits réservés.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons