The sea is never still and its changing conditions must be known and respected. From around mid July, most of the winter sea ice is breaking up and there are large areas of what is called pack ice. Depending on the winds, large areas of the sea can be ice-free. If the winds start to blow from a different direction, the sea can soon become choked with moving ice and locked in dense fog.

Usually by August, much of the sea becomes ice-free. The timing of this is different from place to place and there are some years when the ice never leaves. In September and October, the storms and strong winds of fall can quickly turn peaceful waters into violent waves making this the most dangerous and unpredictable time of the year for hunting and travel.
The sea is never still and its changing conditions must be known and respected. From around mid July, most of the winter sea ice is breaking up and there are large areas of what is called pack ice. Depending on the winds, large areas of the sea can be ice-free. If the winds start to blow from a different direction, the sea can soon become choked with moving ice and locked in dense fog.

Usually by August, much of the sea becomes ice-free. The timing of this is different from place to place and there are some years when the ice never leaves. In September and October, the storms and strong winds of fall can quickly turn peaceful waters into violent waves making this the most dangerous and unpredictable time of the year for hunting and travel.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

photo

"The great sea has set me adrift. It moves me as a weed in a great river." So spoke the Inuk Uvanuk of Igloolik.

Photo by Eric Loring

© Eric Loring


During October, the days are growing noticeably shorter and the weather noticeably colder. Snow comes to the land and ice starts to form in the sheltered bays. Then in November and usually very suddenly on a cold windless night the surface of the sea becomes locked in ice and the land and the seas seem to become a single environment.
During October, the days are growing noticeably shorter and the weather noticeably colder. Snow comes to the land and ice starts to form in the sheltered bays. Then in November and usually very suddenly on a cold windless night the surface of the sea becomes locked in ice and the land and the seas seem to become a single environment.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

man fishing

Living from the land requires skill, patience and a deep understanding of the environment and animals.

Photo by Eric Loring

© Eric Loring


As winter takes over, the sea ice expands, completely closing in some areas while in others creating what we call the sena or floe edge that separates the ice from the open water. If there is a strong storm soon after freeze-up, the surface of the ice will become rough and uneven. When the ice reaches its greatest extent and thickness, high winds can cause small cracks to open up and large ice pans to break away and move out to sea.
As winter takes over, the sea ice expands, completely closing in some areas while in others creating what we call the sena or floe edge that separates the ice from the open water. If there is a strong storm soon after freeze-up, the surface of the ice will become rough and uneven. When the ice reaches its greatest extent and thickness, high winds can cause small cracks to open up and large ice pans to break away and move out to sea.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

landscape

Floe edge.

Photo by W. Kemp

© W. Kemp


landscape

Strong winds, tides and currents can create very difficult and dangerous conditions when hunting on the floe edge.

Photo by Eric Loring

© Eric Loring


By March the days are once again growing longer and the sun stronger, but this is also the time in which the sea ice is at its maximum. By May, the snow cover on the ice begins to evaporate and melt, leaving deep blue pools of fresh water on the surface. Even though the days are much longer, nights can still be quite cold so the surface of the ice freezes. This is one of the best times for us to travel. As spring merges with summer, the ice gradually breaks up and the cycle of our natural world begins once again.
By March the days are once again growing longer and the sun stronger, but this is also the time in which the sea ice is at its maximum. By May, the snow cover on the ice begins to evaporate and melt, leaving deep blue pools of fresh water on the surface. Even though the days are much longer, nights can still be quite cold so the surface of the ice freezes. This is one of the best times for us to travel. As spring merges with summer, the ice gradually breaks up and the cycle of our natural world begins once again.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Landscape

Break-up begins in June or July.

Photo by Eric Loring

© Eric Loring


Landscape

Break-up begins in June or July.

Courtesy of Makivik Corporation.

© Makivik Corporation


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Recount the conditions of the Arctic seas throughout the four seasons
  • Relate information texts to images

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La mer n’est jamais étale et on doit savoir reconnaître et respecter les changements qui s’y trament. Depuis environ la mi-juillet, la surface glacée de la mer se brise en blocs de grande superficie donnant naissance à la banquise. Lorsque le vent souffle avec violence, les blocs s’éloignent et la mer devient dégagée sur de grandes étendues. Si, au contraire, le vent tourne, les glaces reprendront rapidement le terrain en entraînant avec elle un intense brouillard.

Généralement, en août, la banquise a fait place à la mer qui est alors dégagée sur presque toute sa surface. Cela survient plus ou moins tardivement selon les endroits et il arrive que, certaines années, les glaces ne disparaissent jamais totalement. En septembre et octobre, le temps se refroidit et les vents d’automne peuvent faire s’élever de violentes vagues là où la mer était calme, ce qui rend cette saison de l’année imprévisible et dangereuse pour chasser et se déplacer.
La mer n’est jamais étale et on doit savoir reconnaître et respecter les changements qui s’y trament. Depuis environ la mi-juillet, la surface glacée de la mer se brise en blocs de grande superficie donnant naissance à la banquise. Lorsque le vent souffle avec violence, les blocs s’éloignent et la mer devient dégagée sur de grandes étendues. Si, au contraire, le vent tourne, les glaces reprendront rapidement le terrain en entraînant avec elle un intense brouillard.

Généralement, en août, la banquise a fait place à la mer qui est alors dégagée sur presque toute sa surface. Cela survient plus ou moins tardivement selon les endroits et il arrive que, certaines années, les glaces ne disparaissent jamais totalement. En septembre et octobre, le temps se refroidit et les vents d’automne peuvent faire s’élever de violentes vagues là où la mer était calme, ce qui rend cette saison de l’année imprévisible et dangereuse pour chasser et se déplacer.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

photo

« La grande mer glacée m'a coupé des miens et m'entraîne à la dérive comme un fétu sur le fleuve. » Ainsi parlait Uvanuk, l'habitant d'Igloolik.

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


À partir d’octobre, les jours raccourcissent pour la peine et la température se fait elle aussi beaucoup plus froide. L’habitat se recouvre de neige et la glace commence à se former dans les baies les plus abritées. Puis, en novembre, généralement par une nuit sans vent, la glace se soude brusquement et la terre comme la mer ne forment plus qu’une vaste immensité glacée.
À partir d’octobre, les jours raccourcissent pour la peine et la température se fait elle aussi beaucoup plus froide. L’habitat se recouvre de neige et la glace commence à se former dans les baies les plus abritées. Puis, en novembre, généralement par une nuit sans vent, la glace se soude brusquement et la terre comme la mer ne forment plus qu’une vaste immensité glacée.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

homme qui pêche

Vivre des ressources du territoire demande du savoir-faire, de la patience et une connaissance profonde de l'environnement et de la faune.

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


Au fur et à mesure que l’hiver s’installe, la glace de mer gagne en superficie, devenant homogène à certains endroits tandis que, à d’autres, se forme la sena, ou zone de glaces disloquées séparant la nappe de glace des eaux libres. Si une tempête s’élève peu après que l’eau a pris en glace, la surface de celle-ci devient rude et inégale. Lorsque la glace atteint sa superficie et son épaisseur maximales, des vents violents peuvent transformer de petites fissures en de larges échancrures qui favorisent le détachement et la dérive vers le large de blocs de glace importants.
Au fur et à mesure que l’hiver s’installe, la glace de mer gagne en superficie, devenant homogène à certains endroits tandis que, à d’autres, se forme la sena, ou zone de glaces disloquées séparant la nappe de glace des eaux libres. Si une tempête s’élève peu après que l’eau a pris en glace, la surface de celle-ci devient rude et inégale. Lorsque la glace atteint sa superficie et son épaisseur maximales, des vents violents peuvent transformer de petites fissures en de larges échancrures qui favorisent le détachement et la dérive vers le large de blocs de glace importants.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

paysage

Zone de glaces disloquées.

Photographie de W. Kemp

© W. Kemp


paysage

La violence du vent, les marées et les courants peuvent rendre l'expédition très dangereuse lorsque l'on s'aventure dans la zone des glaces disloquées.

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


En mars, les jours s’allongent de nouveau et le soleil reprend de la vigueur, mais la glace, qui alors atteint sa superficie et son épaisseur maximales, conserve toute son emprise. En mai, la couche de neige qui recouvre la banquise commence à fondre et à s’évaporer, laissant à la surface de gigantesques flaques d’une eau bleue. Même si les jours sont beaucoup plus longs, les nuits peuvent être encore suffisamment froides pour que la glace regèle en surface, ce qui, à ce moment-là, facilite beaucoup nos déplacements. Lorsque l’été succède au printemps, la glace se fracture de nouveau et les métamorphoses de la mer entament un nouveau cycle.
En mars, les jours s’allongent de nouveau et le soleil reprend de la vigueur, mais la glace, qui alors atteint sa superficie et son épaisseur maximales, conserve toute son emprise. En mai, la couche de neige qui recouvre la banquise commence à fondre et à s’évaporer, laissant à la surface de gigantesques flaques d’une eau bleue. Même si les jours sont beaucoup plus longs, les nuits peuvent être encore suffisamment froides pour que la glace regèle en surface, ce qui, à ce moment-là, facilite beaucoup nos déplacements. Lorsque l’été succède au printemps, la glace se fracture de nouveau et les métamorphoses de la mer entament un nouveau cycle.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

paysage

La glace commence à se fissurer en juin-juillet.

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


paysage

La glace commence à se fissurer en juin-juillet.

Photo offerte par la Société Makivik.

© la Société Makivik


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • décrivre l’aspect des mers de l’Arctique au cours des quatre saisons ;
  • associer les textes d’information aux images.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons