Icebergs are very dramatic in their appearance, taking many shapes and varying greatly in size. The Greenland glaciers are the birthplace of most major icebergs in the Northern Hemisphere. They are created when the slow moving glacial ice reaches the sea and begins to break off into large masses. The movement of icebergs is caused by currents, winds and tides. As they move about, large pieces may break off forming smaller icebergs.
Icebergs are very dramatic in their appearance, taking many shapes and varying greatly in size. The Greenland glaciers are the birthplace of most major icebergs in the Northern Hemisphere. They are created when the slow moving glacial ice reaches the sea and begins to break off into large masses. The movement of icebergs is caused by currents, winds and tides. As they move about, large pieces may break off forming smaller icebergs.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Photo

Iceberg

Photo by Eric Loring

© Eric Loring


Photo

Iceberg

Photo by Eric Loring

© Eric Loring


For Inuit hunters, icebergs can be dangerous in the summer because they can break apart or shift position in the water without warning. In winter icebergs can be a welcome site if they are frozen into the solid ice. They are helpful to us as places to find freshwater, a place to find shelter from the wind, and as a place where we can rest. They are also used in the winter as meeting places or landmarks when traveling on wide expanses of flat sea ice.
For Inuit hunters, icebergs can be dangerous in the summer because they can break apart or shift position in the water without warning. In winter icebergs can be a welcome site if they are frozen into the solid ice. They are helpful to us as places to find freshwater, a place to find shelter from the wind, and as a place where we can rest. They are also used in the winter as meeting places or landmarks when traveling on wide expanses of flat sea ice.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Photo

Iceberg

Photo by Eric Loring

© Eric Loring


Photo

Iceberg

Photo by Eric Loring

© Eric Loring


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Describe icebergs and how they are formed
  • Explain how icebergs are both dangerous and helpful to the Inuit

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les icebergs ont souvent un aspect spectaculaire, tant par leur forme que par leur taille, qui est très variable. La plupart des icebergs qui se trouvent dans l’hémisphère nord sont issus des glaciers du Groenland. Ils prennent naissance lorsque, s’étant déplacés jusqu’à la mer dans un lent et incessant mouvement, les masses glaciaires se fragmentent en blocs de grande taille. Courants, vents et marées assurent ensuite cette dérive pendant laquelle de nouveaux fractionnements donnent naissance à des icebergs plus petits.
Les icebergs ont souvent un aspect spectaculaire, tant par leur forme que par leur taille, qui est très variable. La plupart des icebergs qui se trouvent dans l’hémisphère nord sont issus des glaciers du Groenland. Ils prennent naissance lorsque, s’étant déplacés jusqu’à la mer dans un lent et incessant mouvement, les masses glaciaires se fragmentent en blocs de grande taille. Courants, vents et marées assurent ensuite cette dérive pendant laquelle de nouveaux fractionnements donnent naissance à des icebergs plus petits.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Photo

Iceberg

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


Photo

Iceberg

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


Pour les chasseurs inuit, les icebergs peuvent être dangereux l’été en raison de la fonte qui occasionne de nouvelles fissures ou des changements inopinés de position. L’hiver, au contraire, ils peuvent constituer des lieux de prédilection s’ils sont soudés à la banquise. Vaste réserve d’eau douce, les icebergs offrent un abri contre le vent et, souvent, un lieu de halte. Ils nous servent également l’hiver de lieu de ralliement ou de point de repère lorsque nous nous déplaçons sur les grandes étendues planes de la banquise.
Pour les chasseurs inuit, les icebergs peuvent être dangereux l’été en raison de la fonte qui occasionne de nouvelles fissures ou des changements inopinés de position. L’hiver, au contraire, ils peuvent constituer des lieux de prédilection s’ils sont soudés à la banquise. Vaste réserve d’eau douce, les icebergs offrent un abri contre le vent et, souvent, un lieu de halte. Ils nous servent également l’hiver de lieu de ralliement ou de point de repère lorsque nous nous déplaçons sur les grandes étendues planes de la banquise.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Photo

Iceberg

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


Photo

Iceberg

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • décrire les icebergs et leur mode de formation ;
  • expliquer comment les icebergs représentent à la fois un danger et un bienfait pour les Inuit.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons