Inuit must have the knowledge to understand the sea and its ever-changing faces and successful hunters must also know and understand the locations and patterns of behavior of the marine mammals, fish and birds that make their home in the Arctic seas.

Some species, such as the ringed seal and the bearded seal, can be found in many places, while others such as the walrus, beluga whale and polar bear can only be found at specific places at certain times of the year.

Inuit have acquired specialized knowledge that enables us to understand these patterns of animal movement and behavior. Because of this deep understanding and because of our skills and technology used in hunting we have been able to successfully harvest the resources of the sea in all seasons of the year.

This type of knowledge is often not held by a single person. Women are often knowledgeable about certain travel routes or good anchorage’s and some individuals may know more about certain places or species. So knowledge and hunting is a group effort. This is strengthened by the fact that Inuit share their harvest, again reaffirming the importance of the group.
Inuit must have the knowledge to understand the sea and its ever-changing faces and successful hunters must also know and understand the locations and patterns of behavior of the marine mammals, fish and birds that make their home in the Arctic seas.

Some species, such as the ringed seal and the bearded seal, can be found in many places, while others such as the walrus, beluga whale and polar bear can only be found at specific places at certain times of the year.

Inuit have acquired specialized knowledge that enables us to understand these patterns of animal movement and behavior. Because of this deep understanding and because of our skills and technology used in hunting we have been able to successfully harvest the resources of the sea in all seasons of the year.

This type of knowledge is often not held by a single person. Women are often knowledgeable about certain travel routes or good anchorage’s and some individuals may know more about certain places or species. So knowledge and hunting is a group effort. This is strengthened by the fact that Inuit share their harvest, again reaffirming the importance of the group.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Seals

Ringed seal are agile swimmers with a strong sense of smell.

Courtesy of Parks Canada.

© Parks Canada


Stencil

Sea Dance.

Kananginak Pootoogook
Courtesy of the West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.
1994
Stonecut/stencil
© West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.


Photo

Polar bears do most of their hunting in the sea and on the sea ice. Their webbed feet make them strong swimmers.

Photo by Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


Bear with cubs

"Attiqtaliq" (Bear with cubs)

Kananginak Pootoogook
Courtesy of the West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.
1997
Stonecut
© West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.


Belouga

The arrival of beluga whales in the spring is an anxiously awaited event.

Photo by W. Kemp

© W. Kemp


Beluga with Young

Beluga with young.

Aoudla Pudlat
Courtesy of the West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.
1994
Lithograph
© West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.


Walrus herd

A walrus can weigh as much as 1,200 kilograms and be as long as 3.5 meters.

Photo by Eric Loring

© Eric Loring


walrus

Walrus Watch Newborn.

Mayoreak Ashoona
Courtesy of the West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.
1984
Stonecut/stencil
© West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Explain what it means for the Inuit to have “specialized knowledge” of the sea and its resources
  • Name and recognize some of the animals that are part of the Arctic Ocean ecosystem

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les Inuits doivent leur survie à une connaissance approfondie de la mer et de ses incessantes mutations. Les chasseurs doivent en plus connaître l’habitat et les comportements particuliers des mammifères marins, des oiseaux et des poissons qui peuplent les mers arctiques.

Certaines espèces, telles le phoque annelé et le phoque barbu, se retrouvent un peu partout tandis que d’autres, telles le morse, le bélouga et l’ours blanc, ne se retrouvent qu’à certains endroits et à certains moments de l’année.

Nous, les Inuits, avons acquis la connaissance particulière des déplacements et des comportements animaux. Grâce à cette connaissance, à notre habileté et à nos techniques de chasse, nous pouvons récolter avec succès les ressources de la mer en toute saison.

Le savoir traditionnel inuit est détenu collectivement. Lors des expéditions de chasse, ce sont souvent les femmes qui connaissent le mieux les routes et les abris. D’autres connaîtront les endroits propices ou les moeurs Pour en lire plus
Les Inuits doivent leur survie à une connaissance approfondie de la mer et de ses incessantes mutations. Les chasseurs doivent en plus connaître l’habitat et les comportements particuliers des mammifères marins, des oiseaux et des poissons qui peuplent les mers arctiques.

Certaines espèces, telles le phoque annelé et le phoque barbu, se retrouvent un peu partout tandis que d’autres, telles le morse, le bélouga et l’ours blanc, ne se retrouvent qu’à certains endroits et à certains moments de l’année.

Nous, les Inuits, avons acquis la connaissance particulière des déplacements et des comportements animaux. Grâce à cette connaissance, à notre habileté et à nos techniques de chasse, nous pouvons récolter avec succès les ressources de la mer en toute saison.

Le savoir traditionnel inuit est détenu collectivement. Lors des expéditions de chasse, ce sont souvent les femmes qui connaissent le mieux les routes et les abris. D’autres connaîtront les endroits propices ou les moeurs particulières à certaines espèces. Acquisition du savoir et chasse sont des efforts collectifs. Cette importance du groupe est du reste confirmée par le fait que les Inuits partagent les ressources de la chasse.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Phoques

Les phoques annelés sont des nageurs habiles qui possèdent un odorat très développé.

Photo offerte par Parcs Canada.

© Parcs Canada


Pouchoir

Danse marine.

Kananginak Pootoogook
Photo offerte par la West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.
1994
Gravure sur pierre / pochoir
© la West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.


Photo

Les ours blancs chassent principalement dans la mer et sur la banquise. La palmure de leurs pattes en fait de puissants nageurs.

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


ourse avec ses petits

« Attiqtaliq » (Ourse avec ses petits).

Kananginak Pootoogook
Photo offerte par la West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.
1997
Gravure sur pierre
© la West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.


bélouga

L'arrivée des bélougas au printemps est un moment fébrilement attendu.

Photographie de W. Kemp

© W. Kemp


Bélouga adulte avec son petit.

Bélouga adulte avec son petit.

Aoudla Pudlat
Photo offerte par la West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.
1994
Lithographie
© la West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.


tropeau de morses

Un morse peut atteindre 3,50 mètres et peser 1 200 kilos.

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


morse

Morse adulte surveillant un petit.

Mayoreak Ashoona
Photo offerte par la West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.
1984
Gravure sur pierre / pochoir
© la West Baffin Eskimo Co-op, Cape Dorset, Nunavut.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • expliquer ce qu’une « connaissance particulière » de la mer et de ses ressources apporte aux Inuits ;
  • nommer et identifier certains des animaux qui font partie de l’écosystème de l’océan Arctique.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons