magazine

Inuktitut magazine has been published since1959 and it has acted as an important mechanism for promoting and preserving Inuit culture and language.

Courtesy of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada.

© Indian and Northern Affairs Canada


"There are only very few Inuit, but millions of qallunaaq (white people) just like mosquitoes. It is something very special and wonderful to be an Inuk- we are like the snow geese. If we abandon our Inuit ways, or no longer find it important to use our language, we will be nothing but just another mosquito."

(Abraham Okpik, 1979)
"There are only very few Inuit, but millions of qallunaaq (white people) just like mosquitoes. It is something very special and wonderful to be an Inuk- we are like the snow geese. If we abandon our Inuit ways, or no longer find it important to use our language, we will be nothing but just another mosquito."

(Abraham Okpik, 1979)

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

We speak a language that is unique to our culture and although there are some differences in the way it is spoken from one region to the next, it is possible for individuals to understand each other from the coast of Russia to Greenland. This fact now provides a strong binding force that we as Canadian Inuit are using to develop a multinational and circumpolar Inuit voice.

We are very concerned with the need to maintain our language, and not just as an expression of our cultural heritage. Our language can also be adapted to the work place and used as a powerful tool for helping to build our new political, economic and social systems through self-government. It has been said that our language is powerful and it must be used to give many great thoughts to the world. Our language must also be protected and provided with an opportunity to grow.
We speak a language that is unique to our culture and although there are some differences in the way it is spoken from one region to the next, it is possible for individuals to understand each other from the coast of Russia to Greenland. This fact now provides a strong binding force that we as Canadian Inuit are using to develop a multinational and circumpolar Inuit voice.

We are very concerned with the need to maintain our language, and not just as an expression of our cultural heritage. Our language can also be adapted to the work place and used as a powerful tool for helping to build our new political, economic and social systems through self-government. It has been said that our language is powerful and it must be used to give many great thoughts to the world. Our language must also be protected and provided with an opportunity to grow.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

We first began to read and write our language about a hundred years ago when missionaries introduced a system of writing that we call "Syllabics." There are 32 different syllabic characters in the syllabic writing system.

At first missionaries used it as a means of teaching about the bible, but we quickly started to use syllabics for many other purposes.

Not all of the Canadian Inuit use syllabic writing. In fact, Moravian missionaries who came to Labrador from Germany in 1770 introduced the first writing and reading system. This system uses the Roman alphabet for writing our language; a system still used today in Labrador. In the western Arctic the Inuvialuit also use a Roman script for writing.
We first began to read and write our language about a hundred years ago when missionaries introduced a system of writing that we call "Syllabics." There are 32 different syllabic characters in the syllabic writing system.

At first missionaries used it as a means of teaching about the bible, but we quickly started to use syllabics for many other purposes.

Not all of the Canadian Inuit use syllabic writing. In fact, Moravian missionaries who came to Labrador from Germany in 1770 introduced the first writing and reading system. This system uses the Roman alphabet for writing our language; a system still used today in Labrador. In the western Arctic the Inuvialuit also use a Roman script for writing.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Table

Syllabics Chart

Inuit Tapirisat of Canada

© Inuit Tapirisat of Canada


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Express an opinion about the importance of preserving Inuit language
  • Describe Inuit syllabic writing, and its history
  • Compare Inuit syllabic writing to their own language

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

revue

La revue Inuktitut, qui paraît depuis 1959, a joué un grand rôle dans la promotion et la préservation de la langue inuite.

Photo offerte par les Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada.

© les Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada


« Il n’existe que très peu d’Inuit tandis que, à l’instar des moustiques, les qallunaaq (hommes blancs) sont légions. C’est une chose extraordinaire et merveilleuse que d’être un Inuit – comme ce l’est, par exemple, d’être une oie des neiges. Si nous abdiquons nos manières d’être inuit, ou n’accordons plus d’importance au fait de parler notre langue, nous ne serons bientôt plus que de simples moustiques. »

(Abraham Okpik, 1979)
« Il n’existe que très peu d’Inuit tandis que, à l’instar des moustiques, les qallunaaq (hommes blancs) sont légions. C’est une chose extraordinaire et merveilleuse que d’être un Inuit – comme ce l’est, par exemple, d’être une oie des neiges. Si nous abdiquons nos manières d’être inuit, ou n’accordons plus d’importance au fait de parler notre langue, nous ne serons bientôt plus que de simples moustiques. »

(Abraham Okpik, 1979)

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Nous parlons une langue qui est issue de notre culture et, bien que celle-ci varie d’une région à l’autre, nous pouvons communiquer entre nous depuis la côte orientale de la Russie jusqu’au Groenland. Cela constitue un lien puissant auquel, en tant qu’Inuits canadiens, nous recourons pour développer une voix inuite multinationale et circumpolaire.

Nous sommes très préoccupés par le besoin de maintenir notre langue comme outil vivant et non comme simple élément de notre héritage culturel. Celle-ci peut également être adaptée à notre milieu de travail et utilisée comme un important outil pour l’édification des assises politique, économique et sociale de notre autonomie gouvernementale. On a dit que notre langue était expressive et nous devons continuer de l’utiliser pour féconder la pensée planétaire. Il faut également que notre langue soit protégée et que lui soit donné le moyen de se développer.
Nous parlons une langue qui est issue de notre culture et, bien que celle-ci varie d’une région à l’autre, nous pouvons communiquer entre nous depuis la côte orientale de la Russie jusqu’au Groenland. Cela constitue un lien puissant auquel, en tant qu’Inuits canadiens, nous recourons pour développer une voix inuite multinationale et circumpolaire.

Nous sommes très préoccupés par le besoin de maintenir notre langue comme outil vivant et non comme simple élément de notre héritage culturel. Celle-ci peut également être adaptée à notre milieu de travail et utilisée comme un important outil pour l’édification des assises politique, économique et sociale de notre autonomie gouvernementale. On a dit que notre langue était expressive et nous devons continuer de l’utiliser pour féconder la pensée planétaire. Il faut également que notre langue soit protégée et que lui soit donné le moyen de se développer.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Nous avons commencé à lire et à écrire notre langue il y a environ un siècle, lorsque les missionnaires ont introduit un système d’écriture « syllabique » de 32 caractères.

Au début, les missionnaires utilisèrent ce tableau dans un but d’enseignement biblique, mais nous commençâmes rapidement à utiliser les syllabes à de multiples autres fins.

Tous les Inuits du Canada n’utilisent pas l’écriture syllabique. En fait, ce premier système d’écriture et de lecture a été introduit au Labrador par les missionnaires allemands (Moravie) dans les années 1770. Il consiste à transcrire notre langue en alphabet latin et c’est ce que l’on fait encore aujourd’hui au Labrador. Dans la région occidentale de l’Arctique, les Inuvialuit utilisent eux aussi l’alphabet latin pour écrire.
Nous avons commencé à lire et à écrire notre langue il y a environ un siècle, lorsque les missionnaires ont introduit un système d’écriture « syllabique » de 32 caractères.

Au début, les missionnaires utilisèrent ce tableau dans un but d’enseignement biblique, mais nous commençâmes rapidement à utiliser les syllabes à de multiples autres fins.

Tous les Inuits du Canada n’utilisent pas l’écriture syllabique. En fait, ce premier système d’écriture et de lecture a été introduit au Labrador par les missionnaires allemands (Moravie) dans les années 1770. Il consiste à transcrire notre langue en alphabet latin et c’est ce que l’on fait encore aujourd’hui au Labrador. Dans la région occidentale de l’Arctique, les Inuvialuit utilisent eux aussi l’alphabet latin pour écrire.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Tableau

Tableau des caractères syllabiques.

La voix nationale des Inuits du Canada

© La voix nationale des Inuits du Canada


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • exprimer une opinion sur l’importance de préserver la langue inuite ;
  • décrire l’écriture syllabique inuite, et son histoire ;
  • comparer l’écriture syllabique inuite à sa propre langue.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons