People who have not visited our territory often think of the Arctic as simply being flat, snow covered for most of the year and without any trees or even vegetation. It is certainly true that most of our territory lies above the tree line and it is also true that there are vast expanses where you can see for miles. But even places that might seem flat and monotonous to an outsider are full of interesting things to see.
People who have not visited our territory often think of the Arctic as simply being flat, snow covered for most of the year and without any trees or even vegetation. It is certainly true that most of our territory lies above the tree line and it is also true that there are vast expanses where you can see for miles. But even places that might seem flat and monotonous to an outsider are full of interesting things to see.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

landscape

The winter landscape is sculpted into the snow.

Photo by Eric Loring

© Eric Loring


Landscape

The deep green tundra of an Arctic summer.

Photo by Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


One thing that the visitor to our territory should try to understand is that the diversity of the land is often created by many micro environments that are not only important ecologically but that also provide variety to the educated eye.
One thing that the visitor to our territory should try to understand is that the diversity of the land is often created by many micro environments that are not only important ecologically but that also provide variety to the educated eye.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

plants

Vegetation flourishes during the short Arctic summers.

Photo by Eric Loring

© Eric Loring


Flowers

Nodding Lychnis

Photo by Scot Nickels.

© Scot Nickels


Parts of our Arctic territory are very mountainous and rugged. There are large lakes and fast flowing rivers. In some places these rivers run through very deep, wide valleys.
Parts of our Arctic territory are very mountainous and rugged. There are large lakes and fast flowing rivers. In some places these rivers run through very deep, wide valleys.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Trail Marker

Trail marker in weasel valley.

Courtesy of Parks Canada.

© Parks Canada


landscape

River in the Arctic

Photo by Grant Klassen.
Courtesy of Parks Canada.

© Parks Canada


Vegetation is abundant as ground cover but only along the southern margin and in parts of Labrador and the Mackenzie Delta can coniferous trees be found. In other places bushes and even small trees can be found, usually in the deep valleys or in places sheltered from the wind.
Vegetation is abundant as ground cover but only along the southern margin and in parts of Labrador and the Mackenzie Delta can coniferous trees be found. In other places bushes and even small trees can be found, usually in the deep valleys or in places sheltered from the wind.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Landscape

Small clusters of trees in protected valleys.

Courtesy of Parks Canada.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


bones

The enduring cycle of life.

Photo by Eric Loring

© Eric Loring


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Describe aspects of the Arctic landscape, with examples
  • Describe the geography and vegetation of the Arctic
  • Explain why an outsider might miss some of the diversity of the Arctic landscape

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les gens qui ne sont jamais venus sous nos latitudes pensent souvent que l’Arctique est un grand territoire plat, couvert de neige la majeure partie de l’année et dépourvu d’arbres et de végétation. Il est vrai que la majeure partie de notre territoire est située au nord de la limite des arbres et que, dans certaines zones, la visibilité y est à perte de vue. Mais même une région monotone et sans relief pour un étranger recèle des tonnes de choses intéressantes à voir.
Les gens qui ne sont jamais venus sous nos latitudes pensent souvent que l’Arctique est un grand territoire plat, couvert de neige la majeure partie de l’année et dépourvu d’arbres et de végétation. Il est vrai que la majeure partie de notre territoire est située au nord de la limite des arbres et que, dans certaines zones, la visibilité y est à perte de vue. Mais même une région monotone et sans relief pour un étranger recèle des tonnes de choses intéressantes à voir.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

hiver

Paysage hivernal sculpté dans la neige.

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


Paysage

Toundra verdoyante pendant l'été arctique.

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


Une chose que le visiteur doit s’efforcer de comprendre au sujet de notre territoire est que la diversité du paysage est souvent tributaire de microclimats qui non seulement ont une grande importance sur le plan écologique, mais qui offrent également à l’œil éduqué un spectacle très diversifié.
Une chose que le visiteur doit s’efforcer de comprendre au sujet de notre territoire est que la diversité du paysage est souvent tributaire de microclimats qui non seulement ont une grande importance sur le plan écologique, mais qui offrent également à l’œil éduqué un spectacle très diversifié.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

plantes

La végétation progresse pendant les brefs étés arctiques.

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


Fleurs

Nodding Lychnis

Photographie de Scot Nickels.

© Scot Nickels


Certaines parties de l'Arctique sont très accidentées et montagneuses. On y trouve des lacs, de même que des rivières dont le flot tumultueux coule au fond de vallées larges et profondes.
Certaines parties de l'Arctique sont très accidentées et montagneuses. On y trouve des lacs, de même que des rivières dont le flot tumultueux coule au fond de vallées larges et profondes.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Pisteur

Pisteur dans la vallée de la belette.

Photo offerte par de Parcs Canada.

© Parcs Canada


paysage

Rivière dans l’Arctique

Photographie de Grant Klassen.
Photo offerte par Parcs Canada.

© Parcs Canada


Le couvert végétal forme partout une abondante végétation, mais on ne trouve des conifères que dans le sud et dans certaines parties du Labrador et le Delta du Mackenzie. Ailleurs, on trouve des arbustes et même de petits arbres, généralement dans des vallées encaissées ou dans des endroits à l'abri du vent.
Le couvert végétal forme partout une abondante végétation, mais on ne trouve des conifères que dans le sud et dans certaines parties du Labrador et le Delta du Mackenzie. Ailleurs, on trouve des arbustes et même de petits arbres, généralement dans des vallées encaissées ou dans des endroits à l'abri du vent.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Paysage

Petits bouquets d'arbres dans des vallées protégées.

Photo offerte par Parcs Canada.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


des os

Le cycle perpétuel de la vie.

Photographie d'Eric Loring.

© Eric Loring


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • décrire les aspects du paysage arctique, à l’aide d’exemples ;
  • décrire la géographie et la végétation de l’Arctique ;
  • expliquer pourquoi une personne d’ailleurs manquerait certains aspects de la diversité du paysage arctique.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons