By the end of the summer, some bushes are loaded with berries and their roots are used to make teas and medicines. Even though we now have access to medicines from outside, we still use medicinal plants.
By the end of the summer, some bushes are loaded with berries and their roots are used to make teas and medicines. Even though we now have access to medicines from outside, we still use medicinal plants.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Blueberries

Blueberry bush.

Photo by E. Cundill.

© Elizabeth Cundill


Some places are barren of all vegetation with only the ancient rocks forming the surface. In most places, the land is covered with mosses and lichen that hide a thin layer of soil. Underneath this layer the ground is permanently frozen, and only the top fifty centimeters or so thaws in the summertime. When this happens it is difficult for the water to drain away, and this either creates large areas of shallow water or will form a surface known as "muskeg" which is a wonderful breeding ground for mosquitoes and almost impossible to walk on.
Some places are barren of all vegetation with only the ancient rocks forming the surface. In most places, the land is covered with mosses and lichen that hide a thin layer of soil. Underneath this layer the ground is permanently frozen, and only the top fifty centimeters or so thaws in the summertime. When this happens it is difficult for the water to drain away, and this either creates large areas of shallow water or will form a surface known as "muskeg" which is a wonderful breeding ground for mosquitoes and almost impossible to walk on.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Swampy area

Muskeg is swampy, poorly drained soil that provides an excellent breeding ground for mosquitoes.

Photo by E. Cundill.

© Elizabeth Cundill


The stars and lights of the winter night sky has been the companion and guide to Inuit for thousands of years. After all, in the northern part of our territory the winter night lasts for several months.

We have come to know the stars, have given them names and can use them to navigate our way across the vast expanses that we encounter in our travels on the land and sea ice. On the darkest of nights, stars carry their light down to the snow covered surface enabling us to walk with a sense of safety.

In times past, and maybe even today the stars, moon and northern lights have carried mysterious powers that could be used by the shaman. It is told that the most powerful of our shamen could travel to the moon and stars, and there is a story we tell about the women who married the moon spirit, bringing his child back down to earth.
The stars and lights of the winter night sky has been the companion and guide to Inuit for thousands of years. After all, in the northern part of our territory the winter night lasts for several months.

We have come to know the stars, have given them names and can use them to navigate our way across the vast expanses that we encounter in our travels on the land and sea ice. On the darkest of nights, stars carry their light down to the snow covered surface enabling us to walk with a sense of safety.

In times past, and maybe even today the stars, moon and northern lights have carried mysterious powers that could be used by the shaman. It is told that the most powerful of our shamen could travel to the moon and stars, and there is a story we tell about the women who married the moon spirit, bringing his child back down to earth.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

sky

Northern lights.

Courtesy of Makivik Corporation.

© Makivik Corporation


"Northern Lights are mysteriously dancing
Dancing to the music of the ancient Inuit
Dangerously beautiful
They are attracting the eyes of all"
Anonymous, Iqaluit School
"Northern Lights are mysteriously dancing
Dancing to the music of the ancient Inuit
Dangerously beautiful
They are attracting the eyes of all"
Anonymous, Iqaluit School

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

One of the most spectacular features of the Arctic environment is the northern lights. At times, they are said to dance across the horizon while at other times they appear to stretch forever. They are constantly moving and changing in shape. They are of endless fascination to observers of the Arctic night and are the subject of many Inuit stories and legends.

Over the years there have been many scientific explanations of phenomenon. The most widely accepted explanation is that the northern lights are created by ionic dust in the upper atmosphere attracted by the magnetic north pole. The northern lights are visible throughout the year, but appear to be most intense in the fall and late winter.
One of the most spectacular features of the Arctic environment is the northern lights. At times, they are said to dance across the horizon while at other times they appear to stretch forever. They are constantly moving and changing in shape. They are of endless fascination to observers of the Arctic night and are the subject of many Inuit stories and legends.

Over the years there have been many scientific explanations of phenomenon. The most widely accepted explanation is that the northern lights are created by ionic dust in the upper atmosphere attracted by the magnetic north pole. The northern lights are visible throughout the year, but appear to be most intense in the fall and late winter.

© 2000, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Sculpture

Whistling at Aurora.

Courtesy of La Fédération des Coopératives du Nouveau-Québec, 1999.

© La Fédération des Coopératives du Nouveau-Québec, 1999.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Describe aspects of the effects of seasons on the Arctic landscape
  • Define muskeg
  • Define northern lights and explain what causes this phenomenon
  • Describe the importance of the winter sky to Inuit

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Vers la fin de l’été, certains arbustes, dont on se sert pour faire tisanes et médicaments, regorgent de baies. Même si nous avons maintenant accès aux médicaments venus de l’extérieur, nous continuons d’utiliser les plantes médicinales.
Vers la fin de l’été, certains arbustes, dont on se sert pour faire tisanes et médicaments, regorgent de baies. Même si nous avons maintenant accès aux médicaments venus de l’extérieur, nous continuons d’utiliser les plantes médicinales.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Bluettes

Buisson de bleuets.

Photographie d'Elizabeth Cundill.

© Elizabeth Cundill


Certaines landes sont des lieux totalement dépourvus de végétation où seules affleurent d'antiques formations rocheuses. Dans la plupart des régions, la mousse et le lichen protègent de l'érosion une mince couche de terre sous laquelle, sauf jusqu'à une profondeur d'une cinquantaine de centimètres, le sol est gelé en permanence, sauf l'été. Toutefois, lorsque le dégel se produit, l'eau qui ne peut filtrer dans le sol inonde superficiellement de grandes superficies de terrain créant alors de vastes « muskeg » où l'homme peut difficilement s'aventurer et où les moustiques prolifèrent.
Certaines landes sont des lieux totalement dépourvus de végétation où seules affleurent d'antiques formations rocheuses. Dans la plupart des régions, la mousse et le lichen protègent de l'érosion une mince couche de terre sous laquelle, sauf jusqu'à une profondeur d'une cinquantaine de centimètres, le sol est gelé en permanence, sauf l'été. Toutefois, lorsque le dégel se produit, l'eau qui ne peut filtrer dans le sol inonde superficiellement de grandes superficies de terrain créant alors de vastes « muskeg » où l'homme peut difficilement s'aventurer et où les moustiques prolifèrent.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

une zone marécageuse

Un « muskeg » est une zone marécageuse qui s'égoutte rarement et où les moustiques prolifèrent.

Photographie d'Elizabeth Cundill.

© Elizabeth Cundill


Les étoiles et la lumière de la nuit boréale guident les Inuit dans leurs déplacements depuis des millénaires. Et pour cause, puisque, l’hiver, dans la partie septentrionale de notre territoire, le jour cesse de succéder à la nuit pendant des mois.

Nous avons appris à connaître les étoiles, auxquelles nous avons donné des noms, et sur lesquelles nous nous repérons pour parcourir de très grandes distances tant dans les terres que sur la banquise. Même les nuits sans lune, les étoiles éclairent suffisamment notre route pour que nous puissions progresser d’un pas assuré.

Dans les temps anciens, et peut-être encore aujourd’hui, les étoiles, la lune et les aurores boréales étaient douées de pouvoirs mystérieux dont se servaient les chamans. On raconte que les plus puissants parmi ceux-ci pouvaient visiter la lune et les étoiles et que, selon le récit, l’esprit de la lune aurait épousé une femme à laquelle il aurait donné un fils que celle-ci au Pour en lire plus
Les étoiles et la lumière de la nuit boréale guident les Inuit dans leurs déplacements depuis des millénaires. Et pour cause, puisque, l’hiver, dans la partie septentrionale de notre territoire, le jour cesse de succéder à la nuit pendant des mois.

Nous avons appris à connaître les étoiles, auxquelles nous avons donné des noms, et sur lesquelles nous nous repérons pour parcourir de très grandes distances tant dans les terres que sur la banquise. Même les nuits sans lune, les étoiles éclairent suffisamment notre route pour que nous puissions progresser d’un pas assuré.

Dans les temps anciens, et peut-être encore aujourd’hui, les étoiles, la lune et les aurores boréales étaient douées de pouvoirs mystérieux dont se servaient les chamans. On raconte que les plus puissants parmi ceux-ci pouvaient visiter la lune et les étoiles et que, selon le récit, l’esprit de la lune aurait épousé une femme à laquelle il aurait donné un fils que celle-ci aurait ramené avec elle sur terre.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

ceil

Aurores boréales.

Photo offerte par la Société Makivik.

© la Société Makivik


« Danse mystérieuse et envoûtante,
Chorégraphie céleste inspirée des Anciens,
Les aurores boréales offrent un spectacle
Dont l’inquiétante beauté fascine »

Inconnu, école d’Iqaluit
« Danse mystérieuse et envoûtante,
Chorégraphie céleste inspirée des Anciens,
Les aurores boréales offrent un spectacle
Dont l’inquiétante beauté fascine »

Inconnu, école d’Iqaluit

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

L’un des phénomènes les plus spectaculaires de l’environnement arctique est sans contredit les aurores boréales. À certains moments, celles-ci semblent danser tandis que, d’autres fois, elles s’étirent sans fin en un ballet de formes constamment changeantes. L’observateur des nuits arctiques ne se lasse pas d’admirer ce spectacle qui a inspiré de si nombreuses histoires et légendes inuites.

Au cours des années, les scientifiques ont avancé plusieurs hypothèses pour expliquer ce phénomène. La plus communément admise est celle selon laquelle les aurores boréales résulteraient de poussières d’ions qui s’accumuleraient dans la partie supérieure de l’atmosphère sous l’effet de l’attraction magnétique du pôle nord. Il peut se produire des aurores boréales à n’importe quel moment de l’année, mais celles-ci sont plus intenses à l’automne et à la fin de l’hiver.
L’un des phénomènes les plus spectaculaires de l’environnement arctique est sans contredit les aurores boréales. À certains moments, celles-ci semblent danser tandis que, d’autres fois, elles s’étirent sans fin en un ballet de formes constamment changeantes. L’observateur des nuits arctiques ne se lasse pas d’admirer ce spectacle qui a inspiré de si nombreuses histoires et légendes inuites.

Au cours des années, les scientifiques ont avancé plusieurs hypothèses pour expliquer ce phénomène. La plus communément admise est celle selon laquelle les aurores boréales résulteraient de poussières d’ions qui s’accumuleraient dans la partie supérieure de l’atmosphère sous l’effet de l’attraction magnétique du pôle nord. Il peut se produire des aurores boréales à n’importe quel moment de l’année, mais celles-ci sont plus intenses à l’automne et à la fin de l’hiver.

© 2000, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Sculpture

Siffleur appelant Aurora.

Photo offerte par La Fédération des Coopératives du Nouveau-Québec, 1999.

© La Fédération des Coopératives du Nouveau-Québec, 1999.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • décrire les aspects de l’effet des saisons sur le paysage de l’Arctique ;
  • définir le mot « muskeg » ;
  • définir les aurores boréales et expliquer ce qui cause ce phénomène ;
  • décrire l’importance du ciel d’hiver pour les Inuits.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons