Today, a new generation of artists is carrying on the tradition of beading. Among these, Pauline Loft has beaded since childhood, having been taught this art by older women in the community of Kahnawake. She chose very bright colours for this beaded bag and a floral motif that suits the traditional Kanien’kehá:ka costume well.
Today, a new generation of artists is carrying on the tradition of beading. Among these, Pauline Loft has beaded since childhood, having been taught this art by older women in the community of Kahnawake. She chose very bright colours for this beaded bag and a floral motif that suits the traditional Kanien’kehá:ka costume well.

© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Bag

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artist: Pauline Loft, Photographer: Martin A. Loft
Private Collection
1996
Kahnawake, Quebec, CANADA
© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


This beaded headdress or "crown" was designed by Pauline Loft in 1996. The flower and bird motif recalls some historical works created over a century ago. This type of headdress was worn by young girls and is part of the traditional costume.
This beaded headdress or "crown" was designed by Pauline Loft in 1996. The flower and bird motif recalls some historical works created over a century ago. This type of headdress was worn by young girls and is part of the traditional costume.

© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Headdress

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artist: Pauline Loft, Photographer: Martin A. Loft
Private Collection
1996
Kahnawake, Quebec, CANADA
© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


The Kanien’kehá:ka Roatitiahkwa Cultural Centre, established in 1978, is recognized as the cultural institution of Kahnawake. Beading classes are one of the major activities organized by the Centre. The Centre is ensuring that the tradition of manufacturing is maintained and that beading remains an integral part of the Iroquois identity by helping to train future artists.

The Kanien’kehá:ka Roatitiahkwa Cultural Centre in Kahnawake offers classes where adults and children can learn the art of beading. Pauline Loft teaches here and shows young students the various beading stitches. Kanien’kehá:ka children can thus grow up understanding the meaning and significance of beading as their mothers and grandmothers did before them.
The Kanien’kehá:ka Roatitiahkwa Cultural Centre, established in 1978, is recognized as the cultural institution of Kahnawake. Beading classes are one of the major activities organized by the Centre. The Centre is ensuring that the tradition of manufacturing is maintained and that beading remains an integral part of the Iroquois identity by helping to train future artists.

The Kanien’kehá:ka Roatitiahkwa Cultural Centre in Kahnawake offers classes where adults and children can learn the art of beading. Pauline Loft teaches here and shows young students the various beading stitches. Kanien’kehá:ka children can thus grow up understanding the meaning and significance of beading as their mothers and grandmothers did before them.

© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Beading

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Kanien'kehá:ka Roatitiahkwa Cultural Centre
1997
Kahnawake, Quebec, CANADA
© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Beading Technique

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Kanien'kehá:ka Roatitiahkwa Cultural Centre

Kahnawake, Quebec, CANADA
Modern Photograph
© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Robyn Delaronde (Kanien’kehá:ka) is a self-taught artist from Kahnawake. A full-time teacher, she works at beading in her spare time. She prefers the traditional Iroquois style of beading, developing relief floral motifs on a velvet background. This 1996 pin cushion is inspired by the pin cushions made at the turn of the century for sale to tourists.
Robyn Delaronde (Kanien’kehá:ka) is a self-taught artist from Kahnawake. A full-time teacher, she works at beading in her spare time. She prefers the traditional Iroquois style of beading, developing relief floral motifs on a velvet background. This 1996 pin cushion is inspired by the pin cushions made at the turn of the century for sale to tourists.

© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Pin Cushion

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artist: Robyn Delaronde, Photographer: Martin A. Loft
Private Collection
1996
Kahnawake, Quebec, CANADA
© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Like many other artists who work in beading, Robyn Delaronde is not intimidated by the challenge of different shapes. This 1996 beaded vase is a striking example. Nonetheless, its motif recalls those produced at the turn of the century. Beaded vases were designed to meet Euro-Canadian demand. They were intended to be placed in a living room as conversation pieces.
Like many other artists who work in beading, Robyn Delaronde is not intimidated by the challenge of different shapes. This 1996 beaded vase is a striking example. Nonetheless, its motif recalls those produced at the turn of the century. Beaded vases were designed to meet Euro-Canadian demand. They were intended to be placed in a living room as conversation pieces.

© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Vase

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artist: Robyn Delaronde, Photographer: Martin A. Loft
Private Collection
1996
© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Photograph frames were also highly prized by tourists at the end of the 19th century. Robyn Delaronde not only recreates this genre but reinvents it for 1996, incorporating a bird motif (very popular). Robyn is a perfectionist and her work is sought after not only by collectors in her own community of Kahnawake but by major Eastern Canadian museums.
Photograph frames were also highly prized by tourists at the end of the 19th century. Robyn Delaronde not only recreates this genre but reinvents it for 1996, incorporating a bird motif (very popular). Robyn is a perfectionist and her work is sought after not only by collectors in her own community of Kahnawake but by major Eastern Canadian museums.

© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Photograph Frame

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artist: Robyn Delaronde, Photographer: Martin A. Loft
Private Collection
1996
© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Sandra McComber (Kanien’kehá:ka) from Kahnawake, has created and sold beaded works for most of her adult life. She is one of a small group of craftspeople who can support themselves financially by their beading work. Her style has developed in response to the demand of her clients. This year she is creating headdresses or "crowns" like the one illustrated here, as well as matching arm bands designed to be worn at important events.
Sandra McComber (Kanien’kehá:ka) from Kahnawake, has created and sold beaded works for most of her adult life. She is one of a small group of craftspeople who can support themselves financially by their beading work. Her style has developed in response to the demand of her clients. This year she is creating headdresses or "crowns" like the one illustrated here, as well as matching arm bands designed to be worn at important events.

© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Headdress

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artist: Sandra McComber, Photographer: Martin A. Loft
Private Collection
1997
© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Elva Diabo (Kanien’kehá:ka) is a self-taught artist from Kahnawake. Although she likes to make beaded objects for her family and friends, she has refused to sell any, claiming that it takes too much time to produce them. We see her style in this leather handbag made in 1997. It demonstrates the link between traditional content and contemporary style very well.
Elva Diabo (Kanien’kehá:ka) is a self-taught artist from Kahnawake. Although she likes to make beaded objects for her family and friends, she has refused to sell any, claiming that it takes too much time to produce them. We see her style in this leather handbag made in 1997. It demonstrates the link between traditional content and contemporary style very well.

© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

bag

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artist: Elva Diabo
Private Collection
1997
Kahnawake, Quebec, CANADA
© 1997, Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Using examples, describe the patterns, colours, and motifs in contemporary Iroquois beadwork
  • Explain the importance of beading to contemporary Iroquois culture and reflect on the connection between art and function

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Aujourd’hui, une nouvelle génération d’artistes perpétue la tradition du perlage. Parmi celle-ci, Pauline Loft travaille le perlage depuis son enfance, cet art lui ayant été enseigné par des femmes plus âgées de la communauté de Kahnawake. Elle a choisi, pour ce sac perlé, des couleurs très vives et un motif floral qui s’harmonisent avec le costume traditionnel Kanien’kehá:ka.
Aujourd’hui, une nouvelle génération d’artistes perpétue la tradition du perlage. Parmi celle-ci, Pauline Loft travaille le perlage depuis son enfance, cet art lui ayant été enseigné par des femmes plus âgées de la communauté de Kahnawake. Elle a choisi, pour ce sac perlé, des couleurs très vives et un motif floral qui s’harmonisent avec le costume traditionnel Kanien’kehá:ka.

© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Sac

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artiste : Pauline Loft, Photographe : Martin A. Loft
Collection privée
1996
Kahnawake, Québec, CANADA
© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Cette coiffure perlée, ou « couronne », a été conçue par Pauline Loft en 1996. Le motif de fleurs et d’oiseau rappelle celui de certaines œuvres historiques faites il y a plus d’un siècle. Ce type de coiffure était porté par des jeunes filles et faisait partie du costume traditionnel.
Cette coiffure perlée, ou « couronne », a été conçue par Pauline Loft en 1996. Le motif de fleurs et d’oiseau rappelle celui de certaines œuvres historiques faites il y a plus d’un siècle. Ce type de coiffure était porté par des jeunes filles et faisait partie du costume traditionnel.

© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Coiffure

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artiste : Pauline Loft, Photographe : Martin A. Loft
Collection privée
1996
Kahnawake, Québec, CANADA
© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Fondé en 1978, le Centre Culturel Kanien’kehá:ka Roatitohkwa est reconnu comme l’institution culturelle de Kahnawake. Les classes de perlage sont une des activités importantes organisées par le Centre. En participant à la formation de futures artistes, telles que ces deux filles, le Centre assure la continuation de cette tradition – la fabrication et l’utilisation du perlage – qui demeure une partie intégrante de l’identité iroquoise.

Le Centre Culturel Kanien’kehá:ka Roatitiohkwa, à Kahnawake, propose des classes où adultes et enfants peuvent apprendre l’art du perlage. Pauline Loft, qui y enseigne, démontre à ses jeunes étudiantes les différents points du perlage. Ainsi, les enfants Kanien’kehá:ka grandissent en connaissant la signification et l’importance du perlage, comme l’ont fait leurs mères et leurs grand-mères avant eux.

Fondé en 1978, le Centre Culturel Kanien’kehá:ka Roatitohkwa est reconnu comme l’institution culturelle de Kahnawake. Les classes de perlage sont une des activités importantes organisées par le Centre. En participant à la formation de futures artistes, telles que ces deux filles, le Centre assure la continuation de cette tradition – la fabrication et l’utilisation du perlage – qui demeure une partie intégrante de l’identité iroquoise.

Le Centre Culturel Kanien’kehá:ka Roatitiohkwa, à Kahnawake, propose des classes où adultes et enfants peuvent apprendre l’art du perlage. Pauline Loft, qui y enseigne, démontre à ses jeunes étudiantes les différents points du perlage. Ainsi, les enfants Kanien’kehá:ka grandissent en connaissant la signification et l’importance du perlage, comme l’ont fait leurs mères et leurs grand-mères avant eux.


© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

perlage

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Centre Culturel Kanien'kehá:ka Raotitiohkwa
1997
Kahnawake, Québec, CANADA
© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Technique de perlage

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Centre Culturel Kanien'kehá:ka Raotitiohkwa

Kahnawake, Québec, CANADA
Photographie contemporaine
© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Robyn Delaronde (Kanien’kehá:ka) est une artiste autodidacte de Kahnawake. Professeure à temps plein, elle travaille le perlage dans ses temps libres. Elle préfère le style traditionnel iroquois de perlage, élaborant sur un fond de velours des motifs floraux en relief. Cette pelote à épingles, faite en 1996, s’inspire de pelotes à épingles confectionnées au tournant du siècle pour la vente aux touristes.
Robyn Delaronde (Kanien’kehá:ka) est une artiste autodidacte de Kahnawake. Professeure à temps plein, elle travaille le perlage dans ses temps libres. Elle préfère le style traditionnel iroquois de perlage, élaborant sur un fond de velours des motifs floraux en relief. Cette pelote à épingles, faite en 1996, s’inspire de pelotes à épingles confectionnées au tournant du siècle pour la vente aux touristes.

© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Pelote à épingles

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artiste : Robyn Delaronde, Photographe : Martin A. Loft
Collection privée
1996
Kahnawake, Québec, CANADA
© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Comme tant d’autres artistes qui travaillent le perlage, Robyn Delaronde n’est pas intimidée par le défi des formes. Ce vase perlé, fait en 1996, en est un exemple frappant. Pourtant, son motif rappelle ceux produits au tournant du siècle. Les vases perlés étaient conçus pour satisfaire à la demande euro-canadienne. Ils étaient destinés à être placés dans un salon comme objet de conversation.
Comme tant d’autres artistes qui travaillent le perlage, Robyn Delaronde n’est pas intimidée par le défi des formes. Ce vase perlé, fait en 1996, en est un exemple frappant. Pourtant, son motif rappelle ceux produits au tournant du siècle. Les vases perlés étaient conçus pour satisfaire à la demande euro-canadienne. Ils étaient destinés à être placés dans un salon comme objet de conversation.

© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Vase

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artiste : Robyn Delaronde, Photographe : Martin A. Loft
Collection privée
1996
© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Le cadre à photo était également un article extrêmement convoité par les touristes à la fin du XIXe siècle. Robyn Delaronde reprend ce genre mais le réinvente pour 1996, y incorporant le motif de l’oiseau (très populaire). Robyn est perfectionniste, et son travail est recherché non seulement par des collectionneurs de sa propre communauté de Kahnawake mais par de grande musées de l’est canadien.
Le cadre à photo était également un article extrêmement convoité par les touristes à la fin du XIXe siècle. Robyn Delaronde reprend ce genre mais le réinvente pour 1996, y incorporant le motif de l’oiseau (très populaire). Robyn est perfectionniste, et son travail est recherché non seulement par des collectionneurs de sa propre communauté de Kahnawake mais par de grande musées de l’est canadien.

© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Cadre à photo

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artiste : Robyn Delaronde, Photographe : Martin A. Loft
Collection privée
1996
© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Sandra McComber (Kanien’kehá:ka), de Kahnawake, confectionne et vend ses œuvres perlées pour la plupart de sa vie adulte. Elle fait partie d'un petit groupe d’artisans, qui se soutiennent financièrement par laur travail du perlage. Son style évolue selon la demande de ses clients. Cette année, elle s’est mise à créer des coiffures ou « couronnes », telle que celle illustrée, ainsi que des manchettes assorties, destinées à être portées lors d’événements importants.
Sandra McComber (Kanien’kehá:ka), de Kahnawake, confectionne et vend ses œuvres perlées pour la plupart de sa vie adulte. Elle fait partie d'un petit groupe d’artisans, qui se soutiennent financièrement par laur travail du perlage. Son style évolue selon la demande de ses clients. Cette année, elle s’est mise à créer des coiffures ou « couronnes », telle que celle illustrée, ainsi que des manchettes assorties, destinées à être portées lors d’événements importants.

© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Coiffure

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artiste : Sandra McComber, Photographe : Martin A. Loft
Collection privée
1997
© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Elva Diabo (Kanien’kehá:ka) est une artiste autodidacte de Kahnawake. Si elle aime faire des objets perlés pour sa famille et ses amis, elle se refuse d’en confectionner pour la vente, considérant le temps exigé pour leur production trop long. Son style, à l’exemple de ce sac à main en cuir fait en 1997, démontre bien l’association du contenu traditionnel au style contemporain.
Elva Diabo (Kanien’kehá:ka) est une artiste autodidacte de Kahnawake. Si elle aime faire des objets perlés pour sa famille et ses amis, elle se refuse d’en confectionner pour la vente, considérant le temps exigé pour leur production trop long. Son style, à l’exemple de ce sac à main en cuir fait en 1997, démontre bien l’association du contenu traditionnel au style contemporain.

© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

sac

Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk)

Artiste : Elva Diabo
Collection privée
1997
Kahnawake, Québec, CANADA
© 1997, Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • au moyen d’exemples, décrire les dessins, les couleurs et les motifs propres au perlage iroquois contemporain;
  • expliquer l’importance du perlage au sein de la culture iroquoise contemporaine et réfléchir au lien entre l’art et la fonction.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons