Hello there. My name is Johnny Violin. I have just had an interesting conversation with Monique. She told me that she selected me from all the other instruments because of my elegant looks even if I am rather old. She wanted me to play for her but lately my bow hurts me more than usual so I couldn’t.

My bow is the piece that rubs on my strings to produce music. I told Monique that it is made from a piece of carved wood and horse hair but she didn’t believe me. However, it really is true. I’m actually made from 80 pieces of wood that have been carved and varnished with great care.

Monique and I talked about my ancestors who were born in XVIth century Italy. They were created by violin makers. Today, my cousins are the first stars of symphony orchestras.

I was owned by Andy De Jarlis, a famous Manitoba fiddler. He would pick me up gently and tuck me under his chin. He took my bow and slid it over my strings to make me sing. We often played together on radio and television. I was never happier than when we would go to festivals and dances because everyone would dance and laugh joyously.

My owner was the first Canadian Read More
Hello there. My name is Johnny Violin. I have just had an interesting conversation with Monique. She told me that she selected me from all the other instruments because of my elegant looks even if I am rather old. She wanted me to play for her but lately my bow hurts me more than usual so I couldn’t.

My bow is the piece that rubs on my strings to produce music. I told Monique that it is made from a piece of carved wood and horse hair but she didn’t believe me. However, it really is true. I’m actually made from 80 pieces of wood that have been carved and varnished with great care.

Monique and I talked about my ancestors who were born in XVIth century Italy. They were created by violin makers. Today, my cousins are the first stars of symphony orchestras.

I was owned by Andy De Jarlis, a famous Manitoba fiddler. He would pick me up gently and tuck me under his chin. He took my bow and slid it over my strings to make me sing. We often played together on radio and television. I was never happier than when we would go to festivals and dances because everyone would dance and laugh joyously.

My owner was the first Canadian to win the Broadcast Music Canada Award. He wrote 200 compositions during his lifetime.

Unfortunately, Monique wanted me to play for her because she wanted to dance but no one plays me today because my owner is dead and I am very brittle on account of my age. I now live in the St. Boniface Museum.

I miss the days of my youth when I was called the "heart of the orchestra" but now it is up to my cousins to do the playing.

Signed,

Johnny Violin.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Violin

Violin: top in spruce; sides, back, neck and head in curly maple; keys in rosewood; fingerboard and tailpiece in ebony. Bow: yew, tip in ivory, tail in ebony with mother-of-pearl.

John Kuzek, Prague, Czecoslovakia
St. Boniface Museum, Canada
20th Century
Violin: 20.5x9x60 cm Bow: 2.8x1.2x75cm
© St. Boniface Museum


To begin with, I have to say that I am a lucky and privileged girl. I chose this string instrument, the violin, because I was familiar with it. I could not stay in Tangier with my aunt because I have another aunt who was a piano teacher at the Music Institute in Chefchaoun. She noticed that I liked music. When I was a little girl, whenever I heard my aunt playing the piano, I came downstairs to listen to her. I also liked watching music shows on TV. I also attended musical performances with my aunt for a period of three years. I became more curious about music so my aunt registered me at the Institute in 1997 to learn the rudiments of music and Andalusian music. Outside my course schedule, my aunt used to help me with my practice at home, three hours a day. My aunt tested my skills in Andalusian music at the voice, performance and rhythm levels. It was a very important experience. I could have learned the piano with her since she had one in her home but the violin was my favourite instrument. Since I was a little girl, I could carry the bow for a long period of time while focussing on notes and rhythm. Additionally, the violin is a small and lightweight instrument that I can take Read More
To begin with, I have to say that I am a lucky and privileged girl. I chose this string instrument, the violin, because I was familiar with it. I could not stay in Tangier with my aunt because I have another aunt who was a piano teacher at the Music Institute in Chefchaoun. She noticed that I liked music. When I was a little girl, whenever I heard my aunt playing the piano, I came downstairs to listen to her. I also liked watching music shows on TV. I also attended musical performances with my aunt for a period of three years. I became more curious about music so my aunt registered me at the Institute in 1997 to learn the rudiments of music and Andalusian music. Outside my course schedule, my aunt used to help me with my practice at home, three hours a day. My aunt tested my skills in Andalusian music at the voice, performance and rhythm levels. It was a very important experience. I could have learned the piano with her since she had one in her home but the violin was my favourite instrument. Since I was a little girl, I could carry the bow for a long period of time while focussing on notes and rhythm. Additionally, the violin is a small and lightweight instrument that I can take with me everywhere to have fun with my friends.

As an amateur and apprentice, I was not familiar with the history and evolution of the violin.

As I said, I was brought up in an environment that loves music. One of my aunts was a fan of Andalusian music; the second aunt was a student at the Institute and the third was my teacher both at home and at the Institute. So why can't I be a violin player? We used to throw family parties at home. My grandmother liked listening to musical instruments and hymns so she encouraged my aunt to organize religious gatherings where Andalusian music was played and Sufi hymns were sung. We should not forget that my aunt used to buy me, from time to time, gold jewellery (earrings) or clothes. On the cultural level, as an intellectual encouragement, my aunt bought me a violin when I graduated from the Institute. I also wanted to stand out among my classmates and be better than them. I also felt that I wanted to break into the music world.

I knew that the violin was used in Andalusian music and I played it in my practice and at musical performances. It is also used in classical music. Apart from this instrument, I haven't had the opportunity to learn about other instruments.

I do not think that the violin comes in any shape other than the one we know. However, I can say that it is widely used in Morocco because it is an instrument admired by the intelligentsia, musicians as well as the élite.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Violin2

Violin

Middle East

Andalusian Study and Research Centre

Pine
Length: 58.5 cm, Bow: 70cm
© Andalusian Study and Research Centre


The violin is a stringed instrument whose sound is produced by rubbing four strings with a bow. It is built very precisely from some 80 pieces of wood.
In XVIth century Italy, violin makers modified the viol making it into the instrument we know as the violin. It quickly found its way into the first rank of instruments in symphony orchestras. Its shape has not changed very much over the past four centuries.

This violin was made in Czechoslovakia in the XXth century after a model by Guarneri and belonged to Andy De Jarlis (born André Desjarlais), a violinist of national renown. "Fiddler" means someone who plays folk music on the violin in the popular rather than the classical tradition. This tradition borrows from the Scots, the French and the Métis and traces its origins to the time of the fur trade in the Canadian West.

Andy De Jarlis was born in Woodridge, Manitoba, in 1914. He comes from a family of Métis fiddlers. One of his ancestors, Pierre Falcon, was called the "Red River Bard". Andy De Jarlis was introduced to the violin at the age of 15. In 1934, he moved to Winnipeg and as of 1937, he was playing on Read More
The violin is a stringed instrument whose sound is produced by rubbing four strings with a bow. It is built very precisely from some 80 pieces of wood.
In XVIth century Italy, violin makers modified the viol making it into the instrument we know as the violin. It quickly found its way into the first rank of instruments in symphony orchestras. Its shape has not changed very much over the past four centuries.

This violin was made in Czechoslovakia in the XXth century after a model by Guarneri and belonged to Andy De Jarlis (born André Desjarlais), a violinist of national renown. "Fiddler" means someone who plays folk music on the violin in the popular rather than the classical tradition. This tradition borrows from the Scots, the French and the Métis and traces its origins to the time of the fur trade in the Canadian West.

Andy De Jarlis was born in Woodridge, Manitoba, in 1914. He comes from a family of Métis fiddlers. One of his ancestors, Pierre Falcon, was called the "Red River Bard". Andy De Jarlis was introduced to the violin at the age of 15. In 1934, he moved to Winnipeg and as of 1937, he was playing on Winnipeg radio accompanied by the Red River Mates. His career led him to Vancouver and then to Montreal where he appeared on television programs with his band, The Early Settlers. He returned to Winnipeg where he entertained at dances and festivals.

In 1969, he was the first Canadian to win the annual Broadcast Music Canada Inc. prize. When he died in 1975, Andy De Jarlis had more than 200 musical compositions to his credit (jigs, reels, polkas and waltzes) as well as 38 records.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

The violin is the same everywhere, faithfully constructed in the same way, made out of the same woods, in an identical shape with four strings and bowed playing technique with one exception, the ultra-modern wood and steel electronic violin that has made its presence felt even in Arab and classical music. There are many music conservatory students who are interested in the violin because of its great range and difficulty. Piano, guitar or percussion players, mainly tar and darbuka players, cannot play the violin because it is extremely difficult. Players need to start to learn how to play it when they are very young. It is worth noting as well that playing the violin requires considerable levels of energy because it must be carried on the shoulder and the hand and arm must be raised to play it. It also requires intense concentration and very sensitive ears to hear the tone of the instrument.

The oldest violin in the world was found in India along with its bow and dates Back to some 5,000 years BC. The "Ravaston" is a well-known model with two or three strings. In the first century AD, the Arabs invented the four-stringed rabab which developed in the Maghreb a Read More

The violin is the same everywhere, faithfully constructed in the same way, made out of the same woods, in an identical shape with four strings and bowed playing technique with one exception, the ultra-modern wood and steel electronic violin that has made its presence felt even in Arab and classical music. There are many music conservatory students who are interested in the violin because of its great range and difficulty. Piano, guitar or percussion players, mainly tar and darbuka players, cannot play the violin because it is extremely difficult. Players need to start to learn how to play it when they are very young. It is worth noting as well that playing the violin requires considerable levels of energy because it must be carried on the shoulder and the hand and arm must be raised to play it. It also requires intense concentration and very sensitive ears to hear the tone of the instrument.

The oldest violin in the world was found in India along with its bow and dates Back to some 5,000 years BC. The "Ravaston" is a well-known model with two or three strings. In the first century AD, the Arabs invented the four-stringed rabab which developed in the Maghreb and travelled through the Indian peninsula to Europe where it was called the viola. The current violin is quite different from classical viols or the viola de gamba. The first representatives of the violin family appeared at the beginning of the 16th century and were called viola da braccio. A new development arrived in the 17th century in the form of a smaller instrument with four strings called violino in Italian, violon in French and violin in English.

The violin is held with the left hand and supported on the left shoulder. The right hand is used to hold the bow. This is in contrast with popular Moroccan tradition in which the instrument is held on the thigh in an upright position. The violin has four strings tuned in fifths. A higher and more rounded bridge can take higher string tension. It has a smooth fingerboard terminating in a pegbox. The sides of the sound box are highly curved forming the letter "C" with pronounced corners and the Back and top are slightly arched.

The quality of the instrument reflects the quality of the wood used to make the sound box, the mastery of the maker over his craft and respect for the very precise relationship between shapes and materials. From the beginning, the Tyrol area of northern Italy was renowned for making violins. The Amati was the most famous family of violin makers in the 16th and 17th centuries. In the 18th century, the Cremona School that included the Guarneri and Stradivari families brought violin-making to a level that is still unequalled. Until the present day, they remain the benchmarks for quality and perfection. The violin still holds a special place in music. Its power over the emotions makes the violin the king of all instruments for translating feelings and sentiments. The German 19th century poet Heinrich Heine said it best when commenting on the musical season of 1843, "The violin is an instrument which has almost human caprices, and which is, so to speak, in sympathetic relation to the artist. The least discomfort, the slightest mental trouble, a breath of feeling, manifests itself in a prompt and direct echo, which may well come from this, that the violin is pressed so closely to the breast, and catches the beatings of our hearts".

The violin is used so often today as a solo instrument or in an orchestra that it is difficult to believe how much scorn was heaped on it for three quarters of a century. In the 16th century, the violin was considered to be noisy, shrill and good only for making tavern customers dance. The first examples of music written especially for the violin come from Italy and include concerti for six to 16 voices by Giovanni Gabrieli (1587) and Orfeo de Monteverdi (1607).

The violin plays an important role in symphony orchestras in a variety of musical compositions including concerti with orchestra, sonatas, overtures, suites, classical dances and chamber music. In Morocco, the violin is used to play al-Ala or Andalusian music and malhoun or popular poetry, Andalusian music and the malhoun are taught according to strictly defined principles as part of Morocco’s cultural and musical heritage, along with their various scales, modes, noubas and beats.

Moreover we know that the violin is very often used to play traditional popular music, Arab and Berber folk dances as well as a variety of contemporary Moroccan music.


© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Violin: Audio

Violin: Audio

Canadian Heritage Information Network
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Centre des recherches et études andalouses, Centre des musiques arabes et méditerranéennes Ennejma Ezzahra, Musée de la musique, Laboratoire de recherche des musiques du monde, Musée acadien de l'Université de Moncton, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Musée d'art et d'archéologie de l'Université d'Antananarivo, Musée ethnographique Alexandre Sènou Adande, Musée national du Mali, St. Boniface Museum, Lycée de langues étrangères Alexandre Dumas, Museum of the Romanian Peasant

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Understand that music is an expression in all cultures
  • Understand that the relationship between personal feelings and music transcends borders and cultures
  • Develop respect for music from a variety of cultural contexts
  • Examine traditional music practices in selected Francophone countries
  • Demonstrate geographical awareness by identifying Francophone countries
  • Be aware of the musical contributions of various cultural groups in their own community
  • Understand that all world music can be organized within a standard classification system

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Bonjour, je suis Monsieur Jean Leviolon. Je viens tout juste d’avoir une conversation intéressante avec Monique. Elle me disait qu’elle m’a choisi parmi tous les autres instruments parce que j’ai une apparence élégante même si je suis vieux. Elle voulait que je joue pour elle mais, dernièrement, mon archet me fait plus mal que d’habitude, alors je n’ai pas pu.

Mon archet est la pièce qu’on frotte sur mes cordes pour produire la musique. Je disais à Monique qu’il est fait d’une pièce de bois sculpté et de crins de cheval mais elle ne m’a pas cru. Cependant, c’est bien vrai. Moi-même je suis construit de 80 pièces de bois sculpté et verni avec soin.

Nous parlions, Monique et moi, de mes ancêtres qui sont nés en Italie au XVIe siècle. Ils ont été créés par les luthiers. Aujourd’hui, mes cousins sont les premières étoiles des orchestres symphoniques.

Mon maître était Andy De Jarlis qui était un violoneux fa Pour en lire plus
Bonjour, je suis Monsieur Jean Leviolon. Je viens tout juste d’avoir une conversation intéressante avec Monique. Elle me disait qu’elle m’a choisi parmi tous les autres instruments parce que j’ai une apparence élégante même si je suis vieux. Elle voulait que je joue pour elle mais, dernièrement, mon archet me fait plus mal que d’habitude, alors je n’ai pas pu.

Mon archet est la pièce qu’on frotte sur mes cordes pour produire la musique. Je disais à Monique qu’il est fait d’une pièce de bois sculpté et de crins de cheval mais elle ne m’a pas cru. Cependant, c’est bien vrai. Moi-même je suis construit de 80 pièces de bois sculpté et verni avec soin.

Nous parlions, Monique et moi, de mes ancêtres qui sont nés en Italie au XVIe siècle. Ils ont été créés par les luthiers. Aujourd’hui, mes cousins sont les premières étoiles des orchestres symphoniques.

Mon maître était Andy De Jarlis qui était un violoneux fameux du Manitoba. Il me ramassait doucement en me plaçant sous son menton. Il prenait mon archet et le glissait sur mes cordes pour me faire chanter. Nous avons souvent joué comme ça à la radio et à la télévision. J’avais le plus de plaisir lorsqu’on allait à des fêtes et des soirées sociales puisque tous les gens dansaient et rigolaient avec joie.

Mon maître a été le premier Canadien à gagner le prix de la Broadcast Music Canada. Il a écrit 200 compositions dans sa vie.

Malheureusement, Monique voulait que je joue pour elle puisqu’elle voulait danser, mais personne ne me joue aujourd’hui depuis que mon maître est décédé, et je suis très fragile à cause de vieillesse. Je vis maintenant au Musée de Saint-Boniface.

Je manque les jours de ma jeunesse où on m’appelait le « coeur de l’orchestre » , mais maintenant c’est à mes petits-cousins de jouer.

Signé, Jean Leviolon

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Violon

Violon : devant en épinette; côtés, dos, cou et tête en érable ondé, clés en bois de rose; touche et queue en ébène Archet : buis, pointe en ivoire, queue en ébène avec du nacre de perle

John Kuzek, Prague, Tchécoslovaquie
Musée de Saint Boniface, Canada
XXe siècle
Violon : 20,5x9x60 cm Archet : 2,8x1,2x75cm
© Musée de Saint Boniface, Canada


J’avoue dès le début que je suis une fille chanceuse et privilégiée. J’ai choisi cet instrument à cordes, le violon, car je le connais bien. Je ne pouvais pas rester à Tanger avec ma tante, parce que j’avais une autre tante qui était professeur de piano au Conservatoire de Musique à Chefchaouen. Elle a remarqué que j’aimais la musique. Quand j’étais petite et chaque fois que j’entendais ma tante jouer du piano, je descendais du premier étage pour l’écouter. Je m’intéressais aussi à la chanson, dont je regardais des émissions à la télévision. J'ai assisté pendant trois ans à des spectacles musicaux en compagnie de ma tante. Comme la musique, m'attirait de plus en plus, ma tante m’a inscrite au Conservatoire de Musique en 1997 afin que j'apprenne les rudiments de la musique et la musique andalouse. En dehors de mes cours, ma tante m’aidait à répéter trois heures par jour à la maison. Elle testait mes aptitudes en musique andalouse aux niveaux de la voix, de l Pour en lire plus
J’avoue dès le début que je suis une fille chanceuse et privilégiée. J’ai choisi cet instrument à cordes, le violon, car je le connais bien. Je ne pouvais pas rester à Tanger avec ma tante, parce que j’avais une autre tante qui était professeur de piano au Conservatoire de Musique à Chefchaouen. Elle a remarqué que j’aimais la musique. Quand j’étais petite et chaque fois que j’entendais ma tante jouer du piano, je descendais du premier étage pour l’écouter. Je m’intéressais aussi à la chanson, dont je regardais des émissions à la télévision. J'ai assisté pendant trois ans à des spectacles musicaux en compagnie de ma tante. Comme la musique, m'attirait de plus en plus, ma tante m’a inscrite au Conservatoire de Musique en 1997 afin que j'apprenne les rudiments de la musique et la musique andalouse. En dehors de mes cours, ma tante m’aidait à répéter trois heures par jour à la maison. Elle testait mes aptitudes en musique andalouse aux niveaux de la voix, de l’interprétation et du rythme. Ce fut une expérience très importante. Elle aurait pu m'apprendre le piano, puisqu’elle en avait un chez elle, et moi aussi je l’apprécie, mais le violon était mon instrument préféré. Petite fille, j’étais déjà capable de tenir longtemps l’archet tout en me concentrant sur les notes et le rythme. De plus, le violon est un instrument petit et léger que je peux amener partout pour m’amuser avec mes amies.

Comme j'étais amateur et au stade d'apprentissage, je ne connaissais pas bien l'histoire et l'évolution du violon.

Comme je l’ai déjà dit, j’ai été élevée parmi des gens qui adorent la musique. L’une de mes tantes aimait beaucoup la musique andalouse ; la deuxième était une étudiante au Conservatoire et la troisième m’enseignait la musique à la maison et au Conservatoire. Alors, pourquoi ne pas devenir moi même une violoniste ? On organisait des fêtes de famille chez nous. Ma « dikr » religieuses faisant l’éloge du prophète Mohammed, et c’est pour cette raison qu’elle encouragea ma tante à organiser des réunions religieuses où l’on jouait de la musique andalouse et l’on chantait des chants soufis. Sans oublier que ma tante m’achetait de temps à autre des boucles d’oreilles ou des vêtements. Sur le plan culturel, pour m’encourager intellectuellement, ma tante m’acheta un violon quand j’ai réussi au Conservatoire. Je voulais aussi me distinguer de mes camarades et être meilleure qu’elles. J’avais aussi le désir de percer dans le monde de la musique.

Je savais que le violon était utilisé en musique andalouse, et j’en jouais pendant mes exercices et lors de spectacles musicaux. Il est également utilisé en musique classique. À part le violon, je n’ai pas eu l’occasion d’apprendre sincèrement quelque chose sur d'autres genres musicaux.

Je ne crois pas que le violon existe sous une autre forme que celle que nous connaissons. Mais, je peux dire qu’il est largement utilisé au Maroc, parce que c’est un instrument admiré par l'élite, les musiciens et les gens fortunés.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Violon2

Violon

Orient

Centre d'études et de recherches andalouses

Bois de pin
Lo : 58,5 cm, Arc : 70 cm
© Centre d'études et de recherches andalouses


Le violon est un instrument à cordes dont le son est produit par le frottement de ces quatre cordes avec un archet. Sculpté avec précision, il est fait de 80 pièces en bois.

C’est en Italie au XVIe siècle que les luthiers ont modifié la viole pour en faire l’instrument qu’on connaît comme étant le violon. Il s’est vite trouvé au premier rang des instruments de l’orchestre symphonique. Sa forme a peu changé en quatre siècles.

Fabriqué en Tchécoslovaquie au XXe siècle selon le modèle de Guarneri, ce violon a appartenu à Andy De Jarlis (né André Desjarlais), violoneux de réputation nationale. « Violoneux » désigne une personne qui joue de la musique folklorique au violon, de tradition populaire plutôt que classique. Empruntant des Écossais, des Français et des Métis, cette tradition retrace ses origines à l’époque de la traite des fourrures dans l’Ouest canadien.

Andy De Jarlis est né &agra Pour en lire plus
Le violon est un instrument à cordes dont le son est produit par le frottement de ces quatre cordes avec un archet. Sculpté avec précision, il est fait de 80 pièces en bois.

C’est en Italie au XVIe siècle que les luthiers ont modifié la viole pour en faire l’instrument qu’on connaît comme étant le violon. Il s’est vite trouvé au premier rang des instruments de l’orchestre symphonique. Sa forme a peu changé en quatre siècles.

Fabriqué en Tchécoslovaquie au XXe siècle selon le modèle de Guarneri, ce violon a appartenu à Andy De Jarlis (né André Desjarlais), violoneux de réputation nationale. « Violoneux » désigne une personne qui joue de la musique folklorique au violon, de tradition populaire plutôt que classique. Empruntant des Écossais, des Français et des Métis, cette tradition retrace ses origines à l’époque de la traite des fourrures dans l’Ouest canadien.

Andy De Jarlis est né à Woodridge, au Manitoba, en 1914. Il est descendant d’une famille de violoneux métis. Il compte parmi ses ancêtres, Pierre Falcon, surnommé le « barde de la Rivière-Rouge ». Andy De Jarlis est initié au violon à l’âge de 15 ans. En 1934, il déménage à Winnipeg, et à partir de 1937, il joue sur les ondes de la radio à Winnipeg accompagné des Red River Mates. Sa carrière l’amène à Vancouver et ensuite à Montréal où il fait des émissions pour la télévision avec son orchestre The Early Settlers. Il revient à Winnipeg où il divertit les gens dans les soirées sociales et les fêtes.

En 1969, il est le premier Canadien à remporter le prix annuel de la Broadcast Music Canada Inc. À son décès en 1975, M. De Jarlis compte à son actif plus de 200 compositions musicales (gigues, reels, polkas et valses) ainsi que plus de 38 disques enregistrés.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Par sa forme identique dans tous les pays comme par sa constitution, son bois toujours le même, le violon est surtout fidèle à ses cordes et son jeu avec un archet - une exception peut-être : le type ultra-moderne, en bois et en fer, le violon électronique qui s’est imposé jusque dans la musique arabe et la musique classique. Les élèves des Conservatoires sont nombreux à s’intéresser au violon pour sa riche diversité et sa rigueur ; les joueurs de piano, de guitare ou de percussion : terr et derbouka notamment - ne peuvent le jouer étant donné sa difficulté, ce qui exige de commencer très jeune l’apprentissage; à noter aussi qu’il exige également avec une énergie considérable liée au port de l’instrument sur l’épaule et le travail de la main levée au moment de l’exécution d’une partition, une forte concentration et une sensibilité d’écoute considérable à la sonorité de l’instrument.

Le plus ancien violon du monde est, a Pour en lire plus

Par sa forme identique dans tous les pays comme par sa constitution, son bois toujours le même, le violon est surtout fidèle à ses cordes et son jeu avec un archet - une exception peut-être : le type ultra-moderne, en bois et en fer, le violon électronique qui s’est imposé jusque dans la musique arabe et la musique classique. Les élèves des Conservatoires sont nombreux à s’intéresser au violon pour sa riche diversité et sa rigueur ; les joueurs de piano, de guitare ou de percussion : terr et derbouka notamment - ne peuvent le jouer étant donné sa difficulté, ce qui exige de commencer très jeune l’apprentissage; à noter aussi qu’il exige également avec une énergie considérable liée au port de l’instrument sur l’épaule et le travail de la main levée au moment de l’exécution d’une partition, une forte concentration et une sensibilité d’écoute considérable à la sonorité de l’instrument.

Le plus ancien violon du monde est, avec son archet, celui découvert en Inde remontant à quelque 5000 ans avant J.-C.. Avec deux ou trois cordes, le Ravaston est un modèle connu. Au premier siècle après J.-C., les arabes ont inventé le rebab avec ses quatre cordes, lequel a évolué au Machreq, transitant dans la péninsule indienne jusqu’en Europe ou il est baptisé viola. L’actuel violon est tout à fait différent des violes classiques ou viole de gambe; les premiers représentants de la famille du violon sont nés au début du XVIe siècle sous la dénomination de « viole de braccio ». Au XVIIe siècle, il connut une nouvelle évolution avec l’arrivée d’un instrument d’un type plus réduit (avec 4 cordes) appelé violina en italien, violon en français et violin en anglais.

Le violon se tient avec la main gauche, posé sur l’épaule, la main droite est utilisée pour tenir l’archet et ce, contrairement à la façon traditionnelle populaire au Maroc où l’instrument est tenu sur la cuisse en position verticale.

Le violon comprend quatre cordes accordées par quintes / chevalet plus haut et plus arqué supportant une plus forte tension des cordes / touches lisses sous les cases / caisse très échancrée sur les côtes en forme de C avec des angles accentués, le fond et la table sont légèrement bombés.

La qualité de l’instrument reflète la qualité du bois précieux composant la caisse de résonance, la perfection du travail et le respect des rapports précis des formes et de la matière. Le Tirol et le Nord de l’Italie se sont illustrés dès le départ dans la fabrication du violon. Les Amati ayant été la famille la plus célèbre parmi celles qui sont illustrées dans ce métier aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles. Les Cremona puis les Stradivari font accéder au XVIIIe siècle la fabrication du violon à un niveau encore inégalé ; elles demeurent jusqu’à l’heure actuelle des références en matière de qualité et de perfection. Le violon continue d’occuper une place privilégiée dans l’art musical ; son pouvoir sur la sensibilité fait de lui le roi de tous les instruments de musique dans la traduction des sentiments et de la conscience. Le poète allemand Haïni n’a pu mieux dire à ce sujet : « c’est l’instrument des tempéraments humains par excellence, exprime la conscience du violoniste révèle les secrets de ses sentiments, arrivant à traduire de manière aussi claire que parfaite ses moindres penchants et ses émotions les plus subtiles. Mis sur la poitrine du musicien au moment de l’interprétation, l’instrument arrive à transporter sur ses cordes les battements de son coeur ».

L’utilisation du violon, en soliste et en orchestre est aujourd’hui si courante qu’on a peine à croire au mépris dont le violon fut l’objet durant trois quarts de siècle. Au XVIe siècle, on le trouvait bruyant, aigre et tout juste bon à faire danser les clients de tavernes. Les premiers exemples de musique écrite sans équivoque pour les violons sont de provenance italienne : concerti à 6-16 voci (voix) de Gabriel Gabrieli (1587) et Orfeo de Monteverdi (1607).

Le violon joue un rôle important dans les orchestres de musique classique (symphonique) dans diverses compositions musicales : le concerto avec orchestre, la sonate, l’ouverture, les suites, les danses classiques, la musique de chambre. Au Maroc, il est présent dans la musique al Ala appelée, « musique andalouse » et dans le malhoun « poésie populaire »; en tant que patrimoine musical de la culture marocaine, la musique andalouse et le malhoun sont enseignés avec leurs diverses gammes, modes, noubas et mesures, selon des principes rigoureux bien définis. On sait par ailleurs que le violon est très présent dans la musique populaire traditionnelle, les danses folkloriques arabes et berbères, comme dans la musique de variétés et la musique marocaine moderne.


© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Violon : audio

Violon : audio

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Centre des recherches et études andalouses, Centre des musiques arabes et méditerranéennes Ennejma Ezzahra, Musée de la musique, Laboratoire de recherche des musiques du monde, Musée acadien de l'Université de Moncton, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Musée d'art et d'archéologie de l'Université d'Antananarivo, Musée ethnographique Alexandre Sènou Adande, Musée national du Mali, St. Boniface Museum, Lycée de langues étrangères Alexandre Dumas, Museum of the Romanian Peasant

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • comprendre que la musique est un mode d’expression dans chaque culture;
  • comprendre que la relation entre les sentiments personnels et la musique transcende les frontières et les cultures;
  • acquérir du respect pour la musique issue de divers environnements culturels;
  • examiner les pratiques musicales traditionnelles dans certains pays de la Francophonie;
  • faire preuve de sensibilisation à l’égard des régions géographiques en reconnaissant les pays francophones;
  • connaître l’apport musical des divers groupes culturels dans leur propre collectivité;
  • comprendre que toute la musique du monde peut être organisée selon un système de classification standard.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons