My favourite instrument, the guitar, belongs to the family of string instruments. I chose this instrument because I was a little bit familiar with it.

I remember that when I was between 6 and 9 years old, I used to take a gasoline can, nail a wooden bar to the can and attach nylon strings to it. This instrument is called Genbri, an instrument similar to that used in folk music bands. I used to make this instrument in the traditional way for other children in the neighbourhood so that we could assemble and play music. There are other personal reasons that made me choose this instrument. When my family members would watch an Andalusian film or a musical show on television, I would retire to my room to play the Genbri. Nobody can tell me what to do, though my father sometimes tells me that studying at night is better than playing the guitar. Whenever I saw somebody playing the guitar, I sat beside him so that I could touch the guitar or play with it to satisfy a deep desire. That was why my father bought me a small piano but the guitar remained my instrument of choice. I was fond of its fine tunes. My appetite for learning was so big that in 1997 I decided to enroll at Read More

My favourite instrument, the guitar, belongs to the family of string instruments. I chose this instrument because I was a little bit familiar with it.

I remember that when I was between 6 and 9 years old, I used to take a gasoline can, nail a wooden bar to the can and attach nylon strings to it. This instrument is called Genbri, an instrument similar to that used in folk music bands. I used to make this instrument in the traditional way for other children in the neighbourhood so that we could assemble and play music. There are other personal reasons that made me choose this instrument. When my family members would watch an Andalusian film or a musical show on television, I would retire to my room to play the Genbri. Nobody can tell me what to do, though my father sometimes tells me that studying at night is better than playing the guitar. Whenever I saw somebody playing the guitar, I sat beside him so that I could touch the guitar or play with it to satisfy a deep desire. That was why my father bought me a small piano but the guitar remained my instrument of choice. I was fond of its fine tunes. My appetite for learning was so big that in 1997 I decided to enroll at the Music Institute despite my age. It is the only music institute in Morocco that sets no age limit for admission. I borrowed some money to pay the tuition fees.

The fact that I dropped out of school in 1995 prevented me from keeping abreast with the development of the guitar. But my second hobby, i.e. drawing, which I learned when I was a kid, allowed me to draw this magnificent instrument. This musical instrument had an impact on my social life. According to tradition, I was not supposed to play the Genbri in the living room among my family since it bothered them.

Besides, the presence of patriarchal authority was strong. Under such circumstances, the respect for adults is required and silence is often recommended. Whenever, my parents go out, I play the Genbri. As for the cultural effect, the Genbri is an alternative to school monotony, particularly, after I come Back from school. It makes me feel comfortable. I also used to pass time by drawing to satisfy my artistic desire while I was saving some money. My teacher bought me, with that money, a valuable guitar from Spain. As for religious events, they presented no opportunity for me to practice my hobby at home.

To my knowledge, guitars are used in classical music, folk music, rap, rock, etc.. Due to social and economic factors, I could not leave my town to find out how many types of guitars there are in the world. However, thanks to visual means, I was able to learn about that subject. The Greeks and the Portugese have special guitars. Their shape is almost round and their tunes are fantastic. The Mexican guitar has a classical shape but its size is smaller than other guitars. But its tunes are harmonious and complementary. As for the geographic distribution, apart from the above-mentioned countries and Spain, I totally ignore the situation in other countries. As far as the cultural value is concerned, I understand that the guitar is an expensive instrument, affordable only to the middle and the financially and intellectually prosperous classes of our society.


© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Guitar

Guitar

Andalusian Study and Research Centre

Cedar, walnut, plane, mahogany and ebony
Overall length:1m, Length (soundboard): 50 cm
© Centre d'études et de recherches andalouses


Guitar2

Guitar

Andalusian Study and Research Centre


Cedar, walnut, plane, mahogany and ebony
Overall length:1m, Length (soundboard): 50 cm
© Andalusian Study and Research Centre


Although it belongs to the same chordophone family as the violin and the piano, the guitar with its characteristic shape is essentially a plucked string instrument, whereas the violin is played with a bow and the piano with keys. Guitarists can imitate the sounds of the violin or piano by using certain sound effects despite the fact that there are major differences between these instruments and the guitar. Nonetheless, guitars can evoke their sound and can also replicate percussion instruments like the tar and the darbuka.

The guitar’s country of origin, however, cannot be identified definitively since, according to archaeologists, it is still rather vague although its etymology presupposes it may have evolved from the Greek cithara, the Chaldean quitarra or the Persian sitar.

Ancient Egypt had a stringed instrument that looked much like our modern guitar. Although its precise origin cannot really be determined, Greek mythology tends to confuse it with the Egyptian lyre supposedly invented by Tehuti, the God of Wisdom whom the Greeks assimilated as Hermes or Pan and that the Hebrews identified with Judas. The oldest stringed instrument was discovered Read More

Although it belongs to the same chordophone family as the violin and the piano, the guitar with its characteristic shape is essentially a plucked string instrument, whereas the violin is played with a bow and the piano with keys. Guitarists can imitate the sounds of the violin or piano by using certain sound effects despite the fact that there are major differences between these instruments and the guitar. Nonetheless, guitars can evoke their sound and can also replicate percussion instruments like the tar and the darbuka.

The guitar’s country of origin, however, cannot be identified definitively since, according to archaeologists, it is still rather vague although its etymology presupposes it may have evolved from the Greek cithara, the Chaldean quitarra or the Persian sitar.

Ancient Egypt had a stringed instrument that looked much like our modern guitar. Although its precise origin cannot really be determined, Greek mythology tends to confuse it with the Egyptian lyre supposedly invented by Tehuti, the God of Wisdom whom the Greeks assimilated as Hermes or Pan and that the Hebrews identified with Judas. The oldest stringed instrument was discovered in a Babylonian palace but today there as many models of guitar as there are musicians who play it around the world.

Instruments identical to the guitar can also be found, for example, in the tomb of a Pharaoh dating Back to 9500 BC. We actually do not know much about the history of the guitar. According to the hypotheses of anthropologists, archeologists, historians and musicologists, primitive man built guitars after having first made them from animal or human skulls or from turtle shells. Legend has it that the first guitarist was none other than the grandson of Adam, the son of Cain and that King David played the nabla or Greek lyre extremely well.

Musicians play the guitar with their left foot raised on a low stool. The instrument rests at a slant on their left thigh.

The guitar is made of a number of different woods. The top is of German cedar, the Back of walnut, the sides of plane wood and the neck of mahogany. The neck has frets made of pieces of ebony and the fingerboard has six strings attached at the top and at the bridge. Guitar construction can vary from one guitar maker to another and a variety of precious woods can be used. Building a guitar requires serious knowledge of geometry and acoustics. Friedrich, Yamaha, Montoya are some of the best known guitar makers. The guitar can be found from South America to China and its shape is similar throughout the world. On the other hand, the guitar can be used to play a great variety of music, ranging from the classical guitar of flamenco, to jazz guitar, gypsy music and electric guitars.

The classical guitar may be heard in famous concert halls, churches, cathedrals and theatres and has a soft insinuating sound to everyone’s ears. It is to the world of music what the Venus de Milo is to the world of beauty. Hector Berlioz, who knew this noble and aristocratic instrument very well, said that it was a small orchestra all to itself. This solo instrument can also play along with an orchestra where it can be the lead instrument. The guitar can be used to play all kinds of music - classical, scholarly, popular, traditional, popular modern music and contemporary music.


© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Guitar: Audio

Guitar: Audio

Canadian Heritage Information Network
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Centre des recherches et études andalouses, Centre des musiques arabes et méditerranéennes Ennejma Ezzahra, Musée de la musique, Laboratoire de recherche des musiques du monde, Musée acadien de l'Université de Moncton, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Musée d'art et d'archéologie de l'Université d'Antananarivo, Musée ethnographique Alexandre Sènou Adande, Musée national du Mali, St. Boniface Museum, Lycée de langues étrangères Alexandre Dumas, Museum of the Romanian Peasant

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
•Understand that music is an expression in all cultures
•Understand that the relationship between personal feelings and music transcends borders and cultures
•Develop respect for music from a variety of cultural contexts
•Examine traditional music practices in selected Francophone countries
•Demonstrate geographical awareness by identifying Francophone countries
•Be aware of the musical contributions of various cultural groups in their own community
•Understand that all world music can be organized within a standard classification system

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La guitare, mon instrument préféré, appartient à la famille des instruments à cordes.

J’ai choisi cet instrument, parce que je le connais un peu. Je me souviens que, lorsque j’avais entre 6 et 9 ans, je clouais une planche de bois sur un bidon d’essence en lui attachant des cordes de nylon. Cet instrument s’appelle le gembri (petite mandoline à trois cordes). Il est semblable à celui utilisé dans les orchestres de musique folklorique. Je fabriquais cet instrument de façon traditionnelle comme les autres enfants, pour jouir d’un moment d’intimité avec les amis du quartier. J’ai également choisi cet instrument pour des raisons personnelles : lorsque chaque membre de la famille regardait la télévision selon son propre désir, un film ou un spectacle de musique andalouse, moi pour ma part, je me retirais dans ma chambre pour jouer du gembri. Personne ne me force à faire ce dont je n'ai pas envie, bien que mon père me gronde parfois en me disant qu’il vaut mieux réviser les cours la nuit que jouer de la guitare Pour en lire plus
La guitare, mon instrument préféré, appartient à la famille des instruments à cordes.

J’ai choisi cet instrument, parce que je le connais un peu. Je me souviens que, lorsque j’avais entre 6 et 9 ans, je clouais une planche de bois sur un bidon d’essence en lui attachant des cordes de nylon. Cet instrument s’appelle le gembri (petite mandoline à trois cordes). Il est semblable à celui utilisé dans les orchestres de musique folklorique. Je fabriquais cet instrument de façon traditionnelle comme les autres enfants, pour jouir d’un moment d’intimité avec les amis du quartier. J’ai également choisi cet instrument pour des raisons personnelles : lorsque chaque membre de la famille regardait la télévision selon son propre désir, un film ou un spectacle de musique andalouse, moi pour ma part, je me retirais dans ma chambre pour jouer du gembri. Personne ne me force à faire ce dont je n'ai pas envie, bien que mon père me gronde parfois en me disant qu’il vaut mieux réviser les cours la nuit que jouer de la guitare. Chaque fois que je voyais quelqu’un jouer de la guitare, je m’asseyais à côté de lui afin d’en jouer ou au moins de la prendre dans mes mains pour satisfaire un désir profond. C’est pour combler ce désir que mon père m’acheta un petit piano. Mais la guitare est demeurée l’instrument qui me passionne pour la douceur de ses accords. Mon envie d’apprendre était si grand qu’en 1997, j’ai décidé de m’inscrire au Conservatoire de Musique, malgré mon âge. C’est l’unique Conservatoire au Maroc qui ne fixe pas d’âge limité pour l’admission. J’ai emprunté de l’argent pour payer mes frais de scolarité.

Le fait d’avoir abandonné l’école en 1995 m’a empêché de me tenir au fait de l’évolution de la forme de la guitare. Par contre, mon deuxième passe-temps, le dessin, que j’ai appris lorsque j’étais enfant, me permet de dessiner ce magnifique instrument qui m’est très cher. Cet instrument a eu un impact sur ma vie sociale. Je n’étais pas autorisé, par respect de la tradition, à jouer du gembri dans la salle de séjour lorsque ma famille y était, parce que ça la dérangeait.

En outre, mon père était très autoritaire. Dans de telles circonstances, il faut respecter les adultes et garder parfois le silence. Chaque fois que mes parents sortent, je joue du gembri. D’un point de vue culturel, le gembri est un moyen d’échapper à la monotonie de l’école, surtout au retour à la maison. J'éprouve une sensation de bien-être quand je joue. Je passais aussi mon temps libre à dessiner pour satisfaire mes besoins artistiques, tout en économisant de l’argent. Avec cet argent, mon professeur m’a acheté une bonne guitare classique venant d’Espagne. Quant aux événements religieux, ils ne me donnaient pas l’occasion de jouer de la guitare à la maison.

À ma connaissance, on utilise la guitare dans l'interprétation de musique classique, la musique folklorique, le rap, le rock, etc.

Des facteurs socio-économiques m’ont empêché de quitter ma ville pour découvrir combien de types de guitare il existe au monde. Par contre, grâce à moyens visuels, j’ai pu m’informer sur le sujet. Les Grecs et les Portugais ont des guitares particulières. Leur forme est presque ronde, et leurs accords sont fantastiques. La guitare mexicaine a une forme classique, mais sa taille est plus petite que les autres guitares. En revanche, ses accords sont harmonieux et complémentaires. Quand à la distribution géographique des guitares, à part l’Espagne et les pays susmentionnés, je ne sais absolument rien des autres pays. Pour ce qui est de la valeur culturelle, je crois savoir que la guitare est un instrument coûteux et que seules les classes moyennes et celles qui sont financièrement et intellectuellement privilégiées peuvent s'en offrir une.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Guitare

Guitare

Centre d'études et de recherches andalouses

Bois de cèdre, de noix, de platane, d'acajou, d'ébène
Lo : 1m, Lo (table harmonique) : 50 cm
© Andalusian Study and Research Centre


Guitare2

Guitare

Centre d'études et de recherches andalouses
Edmonton Art Gallery

Bois de cèdre, de noix, de platane, d'acajou, d'ébène
Lo : 1m, Lo (table harmonique) : 50 cm
© Centre d'études et de recherches andalouses


Pour être de la même famille que le violon, la guitare est avec sa forme spécifique, essentiellement un instrument à cordes pincées, au moment où le violon se joue avec un archet et le piano par ses touches. Le guitariste arrive à imiter les sons de ces instruments, usant de certains effets sonores, malgré la différence entre eux et la guitare. Celle-ci peut évoquer et jouer à la place des instruments de percussion comme le terr et la derbouka .

Par ailleurs, on ne peut définir précisément le pays d’origine de la guitare. Cela reste encore obscur d’après les archéologues, néanmoins l’étymologie suppose l’évolution de sa forme en relation avec la citara grecque, la qitâra chaldéenne et la sitâra persane. On observe également que l’Égypte a connu un instrument à cordes semblable à notre guitare moderne. Mais on ne peut rien trancher quant à son origine précise bien que la mythologie grecque tend à la confondre avec la lira égyptienne inven Pour en lire plus

Pour être de la même famille que le violon, la guitare est avec sa forme spécifique, essentiellement un instrument à cordes pincées, au moment où le violon se joue avec un archet et le piano par ses touches. Le guitariste arrive à imiter les sons de ces instruments, usant de certains effets sonores, malgré la différence entre eux et la guitare. Celle-ci peut évoquer et jouer à la place des instruments de percussion comme le terr et la derbouka .

Par ailleurs, on ne peut définir précisément le pays d’origine de la guitare. Cela reste encore obscur d’après les archéologues, néanmoins l’étymologie suppose l’évolution de sa forme en relation avec la citara grecque, la qitâra chaldéenne et la sitâra persane. On observe également que l’Égypte a connu un instrument à cordes semblable à notre guitare moderne. Mais on ne peut rien trancher quant à son origine précise bien que la mythologie grecque tend à la confondre avec la lira égyptienne inventée par Thot Trismégiste, que les Grecs l’attribuent à Hermès et que les Hébreux à Juda. C’est dans un palais de Babylone que fut découvert le plus ancien instrument à cordes dont les modèles sont aussi nombreux que les musiciens qui en jouent à travers le monde.

On a pu également faire la découverte d’instruments identiques à la guitare, l’un d’entre eux a été trouvé dans la sépulture d’un pharaon remontant à 9500 avant J.-C.. En fait, on connaît mal l’histoire de la guitare. D’après certaines hypothèses avancées par des anthropologues, des archéologues, des historiens et des musicologues, l’homme primitif a reproduit la fabrication de la guitare après l’avoir construite au départ à partir de crânes d’animaux ou d’humains ou avec les carapaces de tortues. La mythologie avance que le premier joueur de cet instrument n’est autre que le petit fils de Adam, le fils de Caïn et que le prophète David jouait à la perfection du Nabla .

On dépose la guitare sur la cuisse gauche, le pied gauche sur le taboulé, l’instrument restant incliné. Plusieurs types de bois composent la guitare : la face est faite en bois de cèdre allemand, le dos de noyer, ses cotes de platane et son bras d’acajou ; le dessus offre des cases constituées d’un morceau de bois noir appelé bois d’ébène ; le clavier contient 6 cordes attachées entre lui et le chevalier.

La fabrication d’une guitare varie d’un artisan à l’autre. Différents bois précieux s’associent dans l’ouvrage, lequel exige surtout de sérieuses connaissances de géométrie et d’acoustique. Parmi ses plus célèbres constructeurs, on compte Fridrich, Yamaha, Montoya. S’étendant sur une aire géographique allant de l’Amérique du sud à la Chine, la guitare connaît avec une nette ressemblance à travers le monde autant de variétés que les différentes musiques qu’elle est appelée à jouer la guitare classique du flamenco, les guitares de Jazz, tzigane, électrique.

La guitare classique se produit dans les salles de haute prestance, les Églises, les Cathédrales et les théâtres . C’est un instrument d’une douce sonorité lui attachant toute personne qui l’écoute. C’est un Vénus dénudé dans le monde de la beauté. L’instrument de noblesse et d’aristocratie sait par excellence Hector Berlioz qui dit à propos de lui : « c’est un petit orchestre ». Cet instrument du soliste s’associe à un seul orchestre où le soliste peut représenter le rôle essentiel dans l’orchestre. La guitare jouant différents types de musiques classique, académique, populaire traditionnelle, la musique populaire moderne et la musique contemporaine.


© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Guitare : audio

Guitare : audio

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Centre des recherches et études andalouses, Centre des musiques arabes et méditerranéennes Ennejma Ezzahra, Musée de la musique, Laboratoire de recherche des musiques du monde, Musée acadien de l'Université de Moncton, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Musée d'art et d'archéologie de l'Université d'Antananarivo, Musée ethnographique Alexandre Sènou Adande, Musée national du Mali, St. Boniface Museum, Lycée de langues étrangères Alexandre Dumas, Museum of the Romanian Peasant

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • comprendre que la musique est un mode d’expression dans chaque culture;
  • comprendre que la relation entre les sentiments personnels et la musique transcende les frontières et les cultures;
  • acquérir du respect pour la musique issue de divers environnements culturels;
  • examiner les pratiques musicales traditionnelles dans certains pays de la Francophonie;
  • faire preuve de sensibilisation à l’égard des régions géographiques en reconnaissant les pays francophones;
  • connaître l’apport musical des divers groupes culturels dans leur propre collectivité;
  • comprendre que toute la musique du monde peut être organisée selon un système de classification standard.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons