I remember, Caesarion, that when I was a little girl, my father, Ptolemy XIII, whom they called the flute player, was strict. He always said that, according to Egyptian tradition, the Pharaoh and his family should follow the rule that it was not proper for the members of the royal family to play the harp. This rule was in place because the harp was an instrument played by peasants to salute and welcome the first family of Egypt.

My mother did not believe in this silly rule but she could not tell him. She did not want my life to be like hers so she composed a song to tell me this indirectly. She had composed it while playing the harp that she hid from my father. She told me this in confidence and I promised that, one day, I would take up the harp and play it like her.

After my mother died, I forgot her wish because she was no longer around to sing to me. As my father kept an eye on me, he would have been harsh with me if I had not followed tradition.

A long time afterwards, I married my brother Ptolemy XIV, whose nickname was Dionysus. So, once again, I did not really have any power. I resented Ptolemy and his laws a great deal so I revolted.
Read More

I remember, Caesarion, that when I was a little girl, my father, Ptolemy XIII, whom they called the flute player, was strict. He always said that, according to Egyptian tradition, the Pharaoh and his family should follow the rule that it was not proper for the members of the royal family to play the harp. This rule was in place because the harp was an instrument played by peasants to salute and welcome the first family of Egypt.

My mother did not believe in this silly rule but she could not tell him. She did not want my life to be like hers so she composed a song to tell me this indirectly. She had composed it while playing the harp that she hid from my father. She told me this in confidence and I promised that, one day, I would take up the harp and play it like her.

After my mother died, I forgot her wish because she was no longer around to sing to me. As my father kept an eye on me, he would have been harsh with me if I had not followed tradition.

A long time afterwards, I married my brother Ptolemy XIV, whose nickname was Dionysus. So, once again, I did not really have any power. I resented Ptolemy and his laws a great deal so I revolted.

After three years of unhappiness, I left Alexandria for the Egyptian provinces. It was then that I remembered my mother’s words. I assembled an army to fight against the injustice of laws and tradition. It was then that I fell in love with a warrior, your father Julius Caesar. Together we expelled Ptolemy from Alexandria and conquered Egypt. Your father left for Rome, for political reasons, and I followed him, shortly after. I carried with me my mother’s wish, her moving song and magnificent harp that captivates everyone who hears it with its harmonious melody.

And now I sing it to you so that you will remember your grandmother who was my collaborator and inspiration in my crusade for peace in my country. Here is the song:
Always keep your strength and courage Fight for justice When you lose your will Think of good things To divert and amuse you Play the harp It will inspire you Your body will welcome its vibrations They will banish worry You will be able to make good, fair and loyal decisions.


© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Harp

Harp

Sebastien Erard Workshop, London, England
St. Boniface Museum
c. 1803
wood and raised design in gilded and painted plaster, brass pedals, steel and gut strings
H: 171 cm, Wi: 83 cm (console), 40 cm (base)
© St. Boniface Museum


The Erard harp is in the shape of a triangle standing on end. It has 42 strings that run vertically between the neck at the top and the sound box that is on a slant. It is played by plucking the strings with the ends of the fingers. This is a single movement harp: at the bottom, seven pedals activate the mechanism that changes the pitch of each string by a semi-tone. The harp has a range of six octaves, the widest of any instrument in the symphony orchestra. It has had a place in the orchestra since the middle of the IXXth century.

This harp was manufactured in London in the workshops of the famous instrument maker Sebastien Erard, possibly before the end of the IXXth century. (Erard developed the double-movement pedal around 1810.) The harp was donated to the St. Boniface Museum by the musician, composer and conductor of the St. Boniface Orchestra, Marius Benoist, who also had a lively interest in history.

Marius Benoist played a leading role on the musical scene in St. Boniface and he influenced more than one generation of Francophone Manitobans.

Marius Benoist was born in 1896 at Sainte-Anne-des-Chênes in Manitoba and studied the piano, Read More
The Erard harp is in the shape of a triangle standing on end. It has 42 strings that run vertically between the neck at the top and the sound box that is on a slant. It is played by plucking the strings with the ends of the fingers. This is a single movement harp: at the bottom, seven pedals activate the mechanism that changes the pitch of each string by a semi-tone. The harp has a range of six octaves, the widest of any instrument in the symphony orchestra. It has had a place in the orchestra since the middle of the IXXth century.

This harp was manufactured in London in the workshops of the famous instrument maker Sebastien Erard, possibly before the end of the IXXth century. (Erard developed the double-movement pedal around 1810.) The harp was donated to the St. Boniface Museum by the musician, composer and conductor of the St. Boniface Orchestra, Marius Benoist, who also had a lively interest in history.

Marius Benoist played a leading role on the musical scene in St. Boniface and he influenced more than one generation of Francophone Manitobans.

Marius Benoist was born in 1896 at Sainte-Anne-des-Chênes in Manitoba and studied the piano, organ and singing in St. Boniface and Montreal. In addition to being choirmaster of St. Boniface Cathedral for 40 years, he was the founder and director of a number of musical ensembles: the Sinfonietta symphony orchestra, the choir of the Gounod Lyric Society as well as the Calixa-Lavallée Society, a youth orchestra made up of his music students. The harp appears in the Sinfonietta program.

Among his many musical compositions, the "Légende du vent" earned Benoist the 1977 Etrog Award (today the Genie Award) of the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television. He took up the baton for the last time in 1978 as the Sinfonietta celebrated its fiftieth anniversary.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Harp: Audio

Harp: Audio

Canadian Heritage Information Network
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Centre des recherches et études andalouses, Centre des musiques arabes et méditerranéennes Ennejma Ezzahra, Musée de la musique, Laboratoire de recherche des musiques du monde, Musée acadien de l'Université de Moncton, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Musée d'art et d'archéologie de l'Université d'Antananarivo, Musée ethnographique Alexandre Sènou Adande, Musée national du Mali, St. Boniface Museum, Lycée de langues étrangères Alexandre Dumas, Museum of the Romanian Peasant

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Understand that music is an expression in all cultures
  • Understand that the relationship between personal feelings and music transcends borders and cultures
  • Develop respect for music from a variety of cultural contexts
  • Examine traditional music practices in selected Francophone countries
  • Demonstrate geographical awareness by identifying Francophone countries
  • Be aware of the musical contributions of various cultural groups in their own community
  • Understand that all world music can be organized within a standard classification system

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Je me souviens Césarion, quand j’étais petite fille, mon père, Ptolémée XIII surnommé Aulète, était sévère. Il disait toujours que, selon les traditions égytiennes, le Pharaon et sa famille devaient suivre ce règlement : « c’est inexcusable pour les membres de la famille royale de jouer de la harpe, parce que c’est un instrument joué par les paysans pour saluer et accueillir la famille éminente d’Égypte ».

Ma mère ne croyait pas en cette loi inutile, mais ne pouvait pas le lui dire. Elle ne voulait pas que ma vie soit un reflet de la sienne, alors elle a créé une chanson pour me le dire indirectement. Elle l’a composé en jouant la harpe qu’elle cachait de mon père. Elle me l’a dit en confidence et j’ai promis qu’un jour je prendrais la harpe et que je la jouerais comme elle.

Après que ma mère fut décédée, j’ai oublié son souhait parce qu’elle n’était plus là pour me chanter. Et mon Pour en lire plus

Je me souviens Césarion, quand j’étais petite fille, mon père, Ptolémée XIII surnommé Aulète, était sévère. Il disait toujours que, selon les traditions égytiennes, le Pharaon et sa famille devaient suivre ce règlement : « c’est inexcusable pour les membres de la famille royale de jouer de la harpe, parce que c’est un instrument joué par les paysans pour saluer et accueillir la famille éminente d’Égypte ».

Ma mère ne croyait pas en cette loi inutile, mais ne pouvait pas le lui dire. Elle ne voulait pas que ma vie soit un reflet de la sienne, alors elle a créé une chanson pour me le dire indirectement. Elle l’a composé en jouant la harpe qu’elle cachait de mon père. Elle me l’a dit en confidence et j’ai promis qu’un jour je prendrais la harpe et que je la jouerais comme elle.

Après que ma mère fut décédée, j’ai oublié son souhait parce qu’elle n’était plus là pour me chanter. Et mon père était encore là pour me guetter et il m’aurait pendu si je n’avais pas suivi les traditions.

Longuement après, j’ai marié mon frère, Ptolémée XIV surnommé Dionysos. Donc, encore une fois, je n’avais pas tellement de pouvoir. J’avais beaucoup de ressentiment contre Ptolémée et ses lois, alors je me suis révoltée contre lui.

Après trois ans de malheur, je suis partie d’Alexandrie pour aller dans les provinces égyptiennes. C’est alors que je me suis souvenue des paroles de ma mère. J’ai assemblé une armée pour lutter contre l’injustice des lois et des traditions. C’est à ce temps que je suis tombée amoureuse d’un guerrier, ton père, Jules César. Ensemble, nous avons expulsé Ptolémée d’Alexandrie et nous sommes devenus les conquérants d’Égypte. Ton père est reparti à Rome pour des raisons politiques et nous l’avons rejoint un peu plus tard. J’ai apporté avec moi le souhait de ma mère, sa chanson émouvante et sa harpe magnifique qui capte l’oreille de tous avec sa mélodie harmonieuse.

Et maintenant, je te la chante pour que tu te souviennes de ta grand-mère qui a été ma collaboratrice et mon inspiration dans ma croisade pour la paix dans les pays. La voici :

Garde toujours ta force et ton courage
Lutte pour la justice
Quand tu perdras ta volonté
Pense à des bonnes choses
Pour te détendre ou pour rire
Joue de la harpe
Ça va t’inspirer
Les vibrations vont être accueillies par ton corps
Ils vont te libérer des inquiétudes
Tu pourras faire des bonnes décisions justes et loyales.


© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Harpe

Harpe

Atelier Sebastien Erard, Londres, Angleterre
Musée de Saint-Boniface, Canada
vers 1803
Bois et reliefs en plâtre peints doré, pédales en laiton, cordes en acier et en boyau
H : 171 cm, La : 83 cm (console), 40 cm(base)
© Musée de Saint-Boniface, Canada


En forme de triangle debout sur sa pointe, cette harpe a 42 cordes tendues verticalement entre la console au sommet et la caisse de résonance à l’oblique. On la joue en pinçant les cordes du bout des doigts. C’est une harpe à mouvement simple : sur sa base, sept pédales actionnent des mécanismes permettant de modifier la hauteur du son de chaque corde par un demi-ton. La harpe possède le plus grand registre des instruments de l’orchestre symphonique, s’étendant sur six octaves. Elle occupe une place dans l’orchestre depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle.

Cette harpe a été fabriquée dans les ateliers du célèbre facteur d’instruments, Sebastien Erard, à Londres, possiblement avant la fin du XIXe siècle. (Erard a mis au point, vers 1810, la pédale à double mouvement.) Elle a été donnée au Musée de Saint-Boniface par le musicien, compositeur et chef d’orchestre de Saint-Boniface, Marius Benoist, qui avait aussi un vif intérêt pour l’histoire. Pour en lire plus

En forme de triangle debout sur sa pointe, cette harpe a 42 cordes tendues verticalement entre la console au sommet et la caisse de résonance à l’oblique. On la joue en pinçant les cordes du bout des doigts. C’est une harpe à mouvement simple : sur sa base, sept pédales actionnent des mécanismes permettant de modifier la hauteur du son de chaque corde par un demi-ton. La harpe possède le plus grand registre des instruments de l’orchestre symphonique, s’étendant sur six octaves. Elle occupe une place dans l’orchestre depuis le milieu du XIXe siècle.

Cette harpe a été fabriquée dans les ateliers du célèbre facteur d’instruments, Sebastien Erard, à Londres, possiblement avant la fin du XIXe siècle. (Erard a mis au point, vers 1810, la pédale à double mouvement.) Elle a été donnée au Musée de Saint-Boniface par le musicien, compositeur et chef d’orchestre de Saint-Boniface, Marius Benoist, qui avait aussi un vif intérêt pour l’histoire.

Marius Benoist a joué un rôle prépondérant sur la scène musicale à Saint-Boniface et son influence a marqué plus d’une génération au Manitoba français.

Né en 1896, à Sainte-Anne-des-Chênes, au Manitoba, Marius Benoist étudie le piano, l’orgue et le chant à Saint-Boniface et à Montréal. En plus d’être maître de chapelle à la Cathédrale de Saint-Boniface pendant 40 ans, il est le fondateur et le directeur de plusieurs ensembles musicaux : l’orchestre symphonique de la Sinfonietta, la chorale de la Société Lyrique Gounod, ainsi que le Cercle Calixa-Lavallée, un orchestre de jeunes à qui il enseigne la musique. La harpe figure au programme de la Sinfonietta.

Parmi ses nombreuses compositions musicales, « La légende du vent » lui vaut le Prix Etrog (aujourd’hui le Prix Génie) de l’Académie canadienne du cinéma et de la télévision en 1977. Il prend la baguette pour la dernière fois en 1978, alors que la Sinfonietta fête son 50e anniversaire.


© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Harpe : audio

Harpe : audio

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Centre des recherches et études andalouses, Centre des musiques arabes et méditerranéennes Ennejma Ezzahra, Musée de la musique, Laboratoire de recherche des musiques du monde, Musée acadien de l'Université de Moncton, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Musée d'art et d'archéologie de l'Université d'Antananarivo, Musée ethnographique Alexandre Sènou Adande, Musée national du Mali, St. Boniface Museum, Lycée de langues étrangères Alexandre Dumas, Museum of the Romanian Peasant

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • comprendre que la musique est un mode d’expression dans chaque culture;
  • comprendre que la relation entre les sentiments personnels et la musique transcende les frontières et les cultures;
  • acquérir du respect pour la musique issue de divers environnements culturels;
  • examiner les pratiques musicales traditionnelles dans certains pays de la Francophonie;
  • faire preuve de sensibilisation à l’égard des régions géographiques en reconnaissant les pays francophones;
  • connaître l’apport musical des divers groupes culturels dans leur propre collectivité;
  • comprendre que toute la musique du monde peut être organisée selon un système de classification standard.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons