To get around the lack of photographs, artists have drawn portraits of religious leaders and the founders of the major Senegalese brotherhoods: the Mourides and Sheik Amadou Bamba, the Tidjanya and El Hadj Malick Sy, etc.

During the colonial period, the French forbade the spreading of the ideas and images of religious leaders who were opposed to French policy. Sheik Ahmadou Bamba (1850-1927) was accused by the colonial administration of disturbing law and order and was deported to Gabon (1895-1902). There is a tradition that he was forbidden to pray on the boat taking him to Gabon but that divine intervention enabled him to perform his religious duty on a carpet held up by angels rolled out on top of the waves.
To get around the lack of photographs, artists have drawn portraits of religious leaders and the founders of the major Senegalese brotherhoods: the Mourides and Sheik Amadou Bamba, the Tidjanya and El Hadj Malick Sy, etc.

During the colonial period, the French forbade the spreading of the ideas and images of religious leaders who were opposed to French policy. Sheik Ahmadou Bamba (1850-1927) was accused by the colonial administration of disturbing law and order and was deported to Gabon (1895-1902). There is a tradition that he was forbidden to pray on the boat taking him to Gabon but that divine intervention enabled him to perform his religious duty on a carpet held up by angels rolled out on top of the waves.

© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Glass Painting

The Exile of Sheik Ahmadou Bamba Mbacké

Alexis Ngom
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Musée de la Femme "Henriette Bathily"
c. 1997
© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


There are many hairdressers in Dakar. The true "professionals" who own a salon are very few. Most have only a mirror, a chair, a hair clipper, a comb and a razor. They set up shop on the sidewalks, in the squares or under the shade of trees and post pictures of the various fashionable haircuts they can do along with the applicable rates. These paintings are most often done on wood blocks that can stand up to hard knocks and the weather but sometimes they are painted on glass like glass pictures. These are, apparently, less expensive.
There are many hairdressers in Dakar. The true "professionals" who own a salon are very few. Most have only a mirror, a chair, a hair clipper, a comb and a razor. They set up shop on the sidewalks, in the squares or under the shade of trees and post pictures of the various fashionable haircuts they can do along with the applicable rates. These paintings are most often done on wood blocks that can stand up to hard knocks and the weather but sometimes they are painted on glass like glass pictures. These are, apparently, less expensive.

© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Glass Painting

Sign: Beauty Salon

Sall
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Musée de la Femme "Henriette Bathily"

© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Some glass pictures serve only as decoration depicting wild or domestic animals, multicoloured birds and flowers. The artist here does not care much about the proportions of the animals.
Some glass pictures serve only as decoration depicting wild or domestic animals, multicoloured birds and flowers. The artist here does not care much about the proportions of the animals.

© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Glass Painting

The Toucan and the Elephants

Alexis Ngom
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Musée de la Femme "Henriette Bathily"
c. 1996
© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


It should be remembered that the primary function of this art in Senegal is religious, more especially Islamic, using holy images from the Near East (Noah’s ark, Adam’s fall, the sacrifice of Abraham...).
It should be remembered that the primary function of this art in Senegal is religious, more especially Islamic, using holy images from the Near East (Noah’s ark, Adam’s fall, the sacrifice of Abraham...).

© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Glass Painting

Noah's Ark

Diène Djibril Fall
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Musée de la Femme "Henriette Bathily"

© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Copy of the cover page of "The Adventures of Tintin: Destination Moon"

Tourist interest in glass pictures has contributed to thematic shifts and the use of Western and Japanese comic book heroes and non-representational art. This artistic revival using subjects from popular imagery is flourishing today on the streets and sidewalks of Senegal’s cities.
Copy of the cover page of "The Adventures of Tintin: Destination Moon"

Tourist interest in glass pictures has contributed to thematic shifts and the use of Western and Japanese comic book heroes and non-representational art. This artistic revival using subjects from popular imagery is flourishing today on the streets and sidewalks of Senegal’s cities.

© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Comic Strip

"Tintin, Destination Moon" Comic strip hero.

Vieux Ndiaye
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Musée de la Femme "Henriette Bathily"

© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Mami Wata is a very beautiful female genie with masses of smooth hair. This genie originates in the waters of Nigeria.
Mami Wata is a very beautiful female genie with masses of smooth hair. This genie originates in the waters of Nigeria.

© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Glass Painting

Mami Wata

Alexis Ngom
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Musée de la Femme "Henriette Bathily"
c. 1996
© 1997, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • describe elements of life in Senegal, with emphasis on societal messages;
  • describe the colours and patterns utilized by glass painting artists and analyze how these artistic elements relate to the purpose of the finished product;
  • describe the role of glass painting in Senegal’s culture.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Pour pallier le manque de photographies, les artistes ont représenté les chefs religieux, fondateurs des grandes confréries sénégalaises : le mouridisme avec Cheikh Amadou Bamba, la Tidjanya avec El Hadj Malick Sy, etc.

Durant l’époque coloniale, les Français ont interdit la propagation des idées et des images des chefs religieux opposés à la politique française. Le Cheikh Amadou Bamba (1850-1927), accusé par l’administration coloniale de troubler l’ordre public, est déporté au Gabon (1895-1902). La tradition rapporte qu’on lui interdit de prier dans le bateau pendant son voyage vers le Gabon, mais que, grâce à l’intervention divine, il accomplit son devoir de croyant sur son tapis déroulé au dessus des flots, assisté par les anges.
Pour pallier le manque de photographies, les artistes ont représenté les chefs religieux, fondateurs des grandes confréries sénégalaises : le mouridisme avec Cheikh Amadou Bamba, la Tidjanya avec El Hadj Malick Sy, etc.

Durant l’époque coloniale, les Français ont interdit la propagation des idées et des images des chefs religieux opposés à la politique française. Le Cheikh Amadou Bamba (1850-1927), accusé par l’administration coloniale de troubler l’ordre public, est déporté au Gabon (1895-1902). La tradition rapporte qu’on lui interdit de prier dans le bateau pendant son voyage vers le Gabon, mais que, grâce à l’intervention divine, il accomplit son devoir de croyant sur son tapis déroulé au dessus des flots, assisté par les anges.

© 1997, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Peinture sous verre

L'exil de Cheikh Ahmadou Bamba Mbacké

Alexis Ngom
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée de la Femme « Henriette Bathily »
vers 1997
© 1997, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Les coiffeurs sont nombreux à Dakar. Les vrais « professionnels » qui possèdent un salon sont rares. Les plus nombreux sont ceux qui ont, comme tout matériel : un miroir, une chaise, une tondeuse, un peigne et un rasoir. Ils s’installent sur les trottoirs, sur les places, à l’ombre d’un arbre et affichent la représentation des différentes coupes à la mode qu’ils sont capables d’effectuer ainsi que les tarifs qu’ils appliquent. Le plus souvent ces dessins sont réalisés sur des plaques de bois résistantes aux coups et aux intempéries mais quelquefois, ils sont peints sur des verres à la manière des fixés. Le prix de revient est, paraît-il, moins cher.
Les coiffeurs sont nombreux à Dakar. Les vrais « professionnels » qui possèdent un salon sont rares. Les plus nombreux sont ceux qui ont, comme tout matériel : un miroir, une chaise, une tondeuse, un peigne et un rasoir. Ils s’installent sur les trottoirs, sur les places, à l’ombre d’un arbre et affichent la représentation des différentes coupes à la mode qu’ils sont capables d’effectuer ainsi que les tarifs qu’ils appliquent. Le plus souvent ces dessins sont réalisés sur des plaques de bois résistantes aux coups et aux intempéries mais quelquefois, ils sont peints sur des verres à la manière des fixés. Le prix de revient est, paraît-il, moins cher.

© 1997, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Peinture sous-verre

Enseigne : Salon de coiffure

Sall
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée de la Femme « Henriette Bathily »

© 1997, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Certains fixés n’ont qu’un rôle de décoration : animaux sauvages ou domestiques, oiseaux aux mille couleurs, fleurs, etc. L’artiste fait fi des proportions.
Certains fixés n’ont qu’un rôle de décoration : animaux sauvages ou domestiques, oiseaux aux mille couleurs, fleurs, etc. L’artiste fait fi des proportions.

© 1997, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Peinture sous verre

Le toucan et les éléphants

Alexis Ngom
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée de la Femme « Henriette Bathily »
vers 1996
© 1997, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Il ne faut pas oublier que la première fonction de cet art au Sénégal est religieuse, plus particulièrement musulmane, des images pieuses rapportées du Proche-orient (arche de Noé, le péché originel, le sacrifice d’Abraham).
Il ne faut pas oublier que la première fonction de cet art au Sénégal est religieuse, plus particulièrement musulmane, des images pieuses rapportées du Proche-orient (arche de Noé, le péché originel, le sacrifice d’Abraham).

© 1997, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Peinture sous verre

L'Arche de Noé

Diène Djibril Fall
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée de la Femme « Henriette Bathily »

© 1997, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Copie de la page de couverture des aventures de Tintin : Objectif lune.

L’attrait des touristes pour les fixés a contribué à modifier les thèmes abordés : héros des bandes dessinées occidentales et japonaises, œuvres non figuratives, etc. Ce renouveau artistique, introduisant des sujets qui s’éloignent de l’imagerie populaire, fleurit aujourd’hui les rues et trottoirs de nos cités.
Copie de la page de couverture des aventures de Tintin : Objectif lune.

L’attrait des touristes pour les fixés a contribué à modifier les thèmes abordés : héros des bandes dessinées occidentales et japonaises, œuvres non figuratives, etc. Ce renouveau artistique, introduisant des sujets qui s’éloignent de l’imagerie populaire, fleurit aujourd’hui les rues et trottoirs de nos cités.

© 1997, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

bande dessinée

Tintin : Objectif lune héros des bandes dessinées

Vieux Ndiaye
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée de la Femme « Henriette Bathily »

© 1997, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Mami Wata est un génie féminin d’une grande beauté, avec une chevelure abondante et lisse. Ce génie est originaire des eaux du Nigeria.
Mami Wata est un génie féminin d’une grande beauté, avec une chevelure abondante et lisse. Ce génie est originaire des eaux du Nigeria.

© 1997, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Peinture sous verre

Mami Wata

Alexis Ngom
Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine, Musée de la Femme « Henriette Bathily »
vers 1996
© 1997, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • décrire certains éléments de la vie quotidienne au Sénégal, en insistant plus particulièrement sur les messages à vocation sociale;
  • décrire les couleurs et les motifs utilisés par les artisans de la peinture sous verre, et analyser la façon dont ces éléments artistiques se situent par rapport au thème dont fait état le produit fini;
  • décrire le rôle de la peinture sous verre dans la culture du Sénégal.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons