The Meiji emperor and empress served as examples to promote the new policy of westernization. When the emperor cut off his traditional top-knot, it set off a revolution in men’s hair fashion, and once the empress was seen dressed in western fashion wealthy ladies raced to outdo each other with current trends in dresses and shoes. By 1872 western attire was required for all court functions.

Despite constant correction, the emperor never learned to ride his horse sitting upright but always slumped forward like a warlord. The empress, however, was a beautiful figurehead for all things western.

Guests would arrive at social clubs and balls teetering on their new shoes, attempting to control their voluminous dresses and greeting each other with the new custom of shaking hands. Guests might be served such exotic food as beef, bread, and beer. Some Japanese learned to play piano or violin and studied European musical composition – completely different from traditional Japanese music.

The Meiji emperor and empress served as examples to promote the new policy of westernization. When the emperor cut off his traditional top-knot, it set off a revolution in men’s hair fashion, and once the empress was seen dressed in western fashion wealthy ladies raced to outdo each other with current trends in dresses and shoes. By 1872 western attire was required for all court functions.

Despite constant correction, the emperor never learned to ride his horse sitting upright but always slumped forward like a warlord. The empress, however, was a beautiful figurehead for all things western.

Guests would arrive at social clubs and balls teetering on their new shoes, attempting to control their voluminous dresses and greeting each other with the new custom of shaking hands. Guests might be served such exotic food as beef, bread, and beer. Some Japanese learned to play piano or violin and studied European musical composition – completely different from traditional Japanese music.

© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.

The Meiji imperial family visiting Yasukuni Shrine, the resting place of Japanese Army and Navy soldiers.

The Meiji imperial family is visiting Yasukuni Shrine on Kudan-zaka Hill, the resting place of Japanese Imperial Army and Navy soldiers.

Inoue Yasuji
Gift of Lunds Auctioneer and Appraisers Ltd. Purchase Fund
c. 1888
JAPAN
AGGV 2004.033.001
© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.


The emperor, empress, and attendant ride in a horse drawn coach as part of a procession for their silver anniversary.

The emperor, empress, and attendant ride in a horse drawn coach as part of a procession for their silver (25th) anniversary.

Watanabe Nobukazu
Gift of Mr. Norman Christie
c. 1894
JAPAN
AGGV 1989.034.006
© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.


Commissioned by Mitsui Clothing store - a family in a western-style living room looking at patterns of the new Autumn season.

Number seven in a series of twelve commissioned by Mitsui Clothing Store to promote its new image. It shows a family in a western-style living room looking at dress patterns of the new autumn season.

Mizuno Toshikata
Given in memory of Jo-Ann Lajeunesse by her daughter Carrie Lajeunesse and family.

JAPAN
AGGV T2006.004.003
© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.


The Mitsui Clothing store changed its name to Mitsukoshi in 1904 - this is one of its department stores today.

The Mitsui Clothing store (as it was known during the Meiji period, though it originated as a dry goods store in 1673) changed its name to Mitsukoshi in 1904 - this is one of its many department stores today.

Unknown
Wikimedia Commons
c. 2005
Tokyo, JAPAN
Public Domain


A traditional Japanese dinner consisting of several small courses and beautifully presented.

Though Japan has been significantly influenced by western culture, including food, its traditional cuisine still remains. Kaiseki Ryori is a traditional Japanese dinner consisting of several small courses, usually about ten. Each course is beautifully presented in special dinnerware and often things from nature, such as flowers or tree leaves, accompany the dish for decoration.

Photograph taken by Jonathan Lathigee
c. 2004
JAPAN
© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The following learning objectives have been created with considerable and specific reference to the Prescribed Learning Outcomes (PLOs) for various grades and subjects as outlined by the Ministry of Education for the province of British Columbia. The portions that directly reflect curricula language have been italicized. All applicable texts, websites, and other learning resources are listed in the bibliography under References.

• Students will appreciate the lifestyle of the emperor and empress and their role as figureheads in promoting the new regime in order to ease the cultural transition thus allowing students to analyze how such methods of cultural transmission contribute to the identity of civilizations.
• Students will understand western influence on Japanese mores through an analysis of court dress and procedures and describe ways social and political organizations satisfy needs and wants in a variety of cultures.
• Students will realize the immense changes of this pivotal break with tradition witnessed by everyday Japanese wherein everything from food to music to dress was under review and make logical connections between historical and contemporary events and issues.


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

L’empereur et l’impératrice Meiji servaient d’exemples pour promouvoir la nouvelle politique d’occidentalisation. Lorsque l’empereur a coupé son chignon traditionnel, cela a créé une révolution dans le style de coiffure des hommes et lorsque l’impératrice a été vue habillée à l’occidentale, les femmes riches se sont pressées de rivaliser entre elles pour être les premières à exhiber la nouvelle mode de robes et de souliers. En 1872, l’habillement occidental était devenu une exigence pour toutes les activités de la cour.

Malgré des corrections constantes, l’empereur n’a jamais appris à monter son cheval avec une posture droite, car il se tenait toujours penché vers l’avant comme un seigneur de la guerre. L’impératrice, cependant, était une magnifique figure de proue pour tout ce qui était occidental.

Les invitées arrivaient en chancelant dans leurs souliers neufs, essayant de maîtriser leurs robes volumineuses et de se salue Pour en lire plus
L’empereur et l’impératrice Meiji servaient d’exemples pour promouvoir la nouvelle politique d’occidentalisation. Lorsque l’empereur a coupé son chignon traditionnel, cela a créé une révolution dans le style de coiffure des hommes et lorsque l’impératrice a été vue habillée à l’occidentale, les femmes riches se sont pressées de rivaliser entre elles pour être les premières à exhiber la nouvelle mode de robes et de souliers. En 1872, l’habillement occidental était devenu une exigence pour toutes les activités de la cour.

Malgré des corrections constantes, l’empereur n’a jamais appris à monter son cheval avec une posture droite, car il se tenait toujours penché vers l’avant comme un seigneur de la guerre. L’impératrice, cependant, était une magnifique figure de proue pour tout ce qui était occidental.

Les invitées arrivaient en chancelant dans leurs souliers neufs, essayant de maîtriser leurs robes volumineuses et de se saluer en utilisant la nouvelle mode de se donner la main. Les invités pouvaient recevoir des aliments exotiques tels que du bœuf, du pain et de la bière. Certains Japonais ont appris à jouer le piano et le violon et ont étudié la composition européenne de musique, qui est complètement différente de la musique traditionnelle japonaise.

© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.

La famille impériale Meiji visitant le sanctuaire Yasukuni, lieu de repos de soldats et des marins japonais.

La famille impériale visite le sanctuaire Yasukuni sur la colline Kudan-zaka, lieu de repos des soldats de l’armée et de la marine impériale japonaise.

Inoue Yasuji
Don du Fonds d’achat de Lund Auctioneers and Appraisers Ltd.
vers 1888
JAPON
AGGV 2004.033.001
© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.


L’empereur, l’impératrice et un domestique à bord d’un carrosse tiré par un cheval lors de la procession du 25e anni

L’empereur, l’impératrice et un domestique à bord d’un carrosse tiré par un cheval lors de la procession du 25e anniversaire.

Watanabe Nobukazu
Don de M Norman Christie
vers 1894
JAPON
AGGV 1989.034.006
© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.


Commandé par le magasin de linge Mitsui – une famille dans un salon de style occidental regarde des patrons pour la nouvel

Numéro sept d’une série de douze commandée par le magasin de linge Mitsui pour promouvoir sa nouvelle image. Il montre une famille dans un salon de style occidental regardant des patrons de robes pour la nouvelle saison d’automne.

Mizuno Toshikata

JAPON
AGGV T2006.004.003
© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.


Le magasin de vêtements Mitsui a changé son nom pour Mitsukoshi en 1904.  C’est un des nombreux magasins à rayons aujour

Le magasin de vêtements Mitsui (comme il était connu durant la période Meiji. On croit qu’il était une mercerie à l’origine en 1673) a changé son nom pour Mitsukoshi en 1904. C’est un des nombreux magasins à rayons aujourd’hui.

Inconnu
Wikimedia Commons
vers 2005
Tokyo, JAPON
Domaine public


Un repas japonais traditionnel composé de plusieurs plats et magnifiquement présenté.

Même si le Japon a été considérablement influencé par la culture occidentale, y compris les aliments, sa cuisine traditionnelle existe toujours. Le Kaiseki Ryori est un repas japonais traditionnel composé de plusieurs plats, habituellement environ dix. Chaque plat est magnifiquement présenté dans de la vaisselle particulière et souvent des choses de la nature, comme des fleurs ou des feuilles d’arbres, accompagnent le plat comme décoration.

Photos prises par Jonathan Lathigee
vers 2004
JAPON
© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les objectifs d’apprentissage suivants ont été créés avec des références nombreuses et spécifiques aux Résultats d’apprentissage prescrit (RAP) pour diverses années scolaires et sujets tels que décrits par le ministère de l’Éducation de la province de la Colombie-Britannique. Les parties qui reflètent directement les matières de langue sont en italique. Tous les textes applicables et les autres ressources d’apprentissage sont énumérés dans les bibliographies.

• Les élèves apprécieront le style de vie de l’empereur et de l’impératrice et leurs rôles à titre de figures de proue dans la promotion du nouveau régime afin d’adoucir la transition culturelle permettant ainsi aux élèves d’analyser comment de telles méthodes de transmission culturelles contribuent à l’identité des civilisations.
• Les élèves comprendront l’influence occidentale sur la société Meiji par une analyse de l’habillement et des procédures de la cour et décriront les façons dont les organisations sociales et politiques satisfont les besoins et les désirs dans diverses cultures.
• Les élèves se rendront compte des immenses changements vécus lors de cette rupture avec la tradition tel que vécue par les Japonais où tout allant de la nourriture à la musique en passant l’habillement était revu et feront un lien logique entre les événements et questions historiques et contemporaines.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons