Music has been and still is very important in social and family life everywhere in Madagascar. You can always hear music at all the great events of the Malagasy people. One day, I bumped into a friend who invited me to join a group of young researchers who were working on Malagasy music. This really excited me. This is why I am pleased to share my research on the zither or lokanga voatavo with you. Even if I have not yet heard it played, I think that it is an instrument that is worthy of study.

In Madagascar, the zither has two names, lokanga voatavo or gourd instrument and dzedzy or jejy in Swahili, a word that appears to date back to the name of an ancient Egyptian harp, the "dede". In the western part of Madagascar, a corruption of the name, "dzédzivoatavo", can even be found. It is widespread throughout Madagascar with the exception of the northern region of the island.

The zither is made in much the same way as the European viol or violin. Its size can vary a great deal, reaching 50 to 80 cm in length. Its soundbox may take several shapes, made either from a gourd or quite simply from an oil can.

It was first play Read More
Music has been and still is very important in social and family life everywhere in Madagascar. You can always hear music at all the great events of the Malagasy people. One day, I bumped into a friend who invited me to join a group of young researchers who were working on Malagasy music. This really excited me. This is why I am pleased to share my research on the zither or lokanga voatavo with you. Even if I have not yet heard it played, I think that it is an instrument that is worthy of study.

In Madagascar, the zither has two names, lokanga voatavo or gourd instrument and dzedzy or jejy in Swahili, a word that appears to date back to the name of an ancient Egyptian harp, the "dede". In the western part of Madagascar, a corruption of the name, "dzédzivoatavo", can even be found. It is widespread throughout Madagascar with the exception of the northern region of the island.

The zither is made in much the same way as the European viol or violin. Its size can vary a great deal, reaching 50 to 80 cm in length. Its soundbox may take several shapes, made either from a gourd or quite simply from an oil can.

It was first played by the nobility and then abandoned to slaves musicians. Today, zither players are still called mpilalao. Their musical repertory owes a great deal to the songs of popular entertainers. A musician on the outskirts of Antananarivo seems to have specialized in making zithers of this kind and played the jejy throughout the streets of the capital.

The zither is of African origin and can be found in several different shapes with various names depending on the region.

The zither is a stand-alone plucked stringed instrument. It is made of three raffia-fibre strings (although there may be as many as ten) fitted along a strip of wood that acts as a handle. Steel strings greatly improve the sound quality. The gourd that serves as a resonator is pressed against the chest. The neck slants at a 40-degree angle with three deep projections for the first finger, middle finger and ring finger. The right hand, which supports the neck close to the gourd, plucks the string with the middle finger.

The lokanga voatavo is not used in ceremonies but only for choral speaking, stories, legends and satires. It is also used for entertainment at family celebrations and village festivals as well as to amuse small children in the evening around the fire before dinner. In the "faritany" of Antananarivo, it is more than just a decorative object in some houses.

The zither is a particularly interesting instrument but unfortunately it is disappearing in some areas and has a certain notoriety among the Betsileo. Because it is well known, zither players generally play as duos. An analysis of their playing technique reveals that they play alternately at all levels.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Jejy Voatavo (Stick Zither)

Jejy voatavo (stick zither)

Ancient Egypt

Museum of Art and Archeology of the University of Antananarivo, Madagascar

A gourd, a stick, sisal or steel strings
69.7 cm
© Museum of Art and Archeology of the University of Antananarivo, Madagascar


Jejy Voatavo (Stick Zither) 2

Jejy voatavo (or stick zither)

Ancient Egypt

Museum of Art and Archeology of the University of Antananarivo, Madagascar

A gourd, a stick, sisal or steel strings
69.7 cm
© Museum of Art and Archeology of the University of Antananarivo, Madagascar


The stick zither is a stringed instrument of the family of chordophones.

It is made from a gourd and a stick. There are frets attached to the neck that serve to support the string and tune the instrument.

Originally, there were one or two sisal strings.

Modern stick zithers have 11 to 13 strings, most often in steel.

The jejy voatavo were once played mainly in the highlands but they could also be found more or less throughout Madagascar.

Today, they are played mostly by the Betsimisaraka (people of eastern Madagascar) to accompany rija, chanted stories. The rija are a literary heritage of this region and generally concern epic topics.

The jejy voatavo are played only by men and not everyone are allowed to play them. Knowledge is passed down from father to son. The men who play them must have received their father's blessing. Moreover, players must show signs of maturity, like white hair, because the jejy voatavo are considered to be difficult instruments and players must have a great deal of experience to play them.
The stick zither is a stringed instrument of the family of chordophones.

It is made from a gourd and a stick. There are frets attached to the neck that serve to support the string and tune the instrument.

Originally, there were one or two sisal strings.

Modern stick zithers have 11 to 13 strings, most often in steel.

The jejy voatavo were once played mainly in the highlands but they could also be found more or less throughout Madagascar.

Today, they are played mostly by the Betsimisaraka (people of eastern Madagascar) to accompany rija, chanted stories. The rija are a literary heritage of this region and generally concern epic topics.

The jejy voatavo are played only by men and not everyone are allowed to play them. Knowledge is passed down from father to son. The men who play them must have received their father's blessing. Moreover, players must show signs of maturity, like white hair, because the jejy voatavo are considered to be difficult instruments and players must have a great deal of experience to play them.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Understand that music is an expression in all cultures
  • Understand that the relationship between personal feelings and music transcends borders and cultures
  • Develop respect for music from a variety of cultural contexts
  • Examine traditional music practices in selected Francophone countries
  • Demonstrate geographical awareness by identifying Francophone countries
  • Be aware of the musical contributions of various cultural groups in their own community
  • Understand that all world music can be organized within a standard classification system

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La musique a occupé et occupe toujours une grande place dans la vie sociale et familiale de tout Madagascar. Elle est omniprésente dans tous les grands événements du peuple malgache. Un jour, je me suis trouvée face à un ami qui m’a invitée à rejoindre un groupe de jeunes chercheurs, travaillant sur la musique malgache et j’en été fascinée. C’est pourquoi j’ai le plaisir de vous faire part de mes recherches sur la cithare sur bâton ou lokanga voatavo. Même si je n’en ai encore jamais entendu jouer, j’estime qu’il est l’un des instruments qui méritent d’être étudiés.

À Madagascar, la cithare sur bâton est connue sous deux noms : lokanga voatavo (instruments à calebasse) et en swahili dzedzy ou jejy : mot qui paraît remonter d’un nom de la harpe de l’Égypte ancienne « ede ». On rencontre même à l’Ouest la contamination « dzédzivoatavo ». Elle est répandue dans tout Madagascar, exception faite dans la r&e Pour en lire plus
La musique a occupé et occupe toujours une grande place dans la vie sociale et familiale de tout Madagascar. Elle est omniprésente dans tous les grands événements du peuple malgache. Un jour, je me suis trouvée face à un ami qui m’a invitée à rejoindre un groupe de jeunes chercheurs, travaillant sur la musique malgache et j’en été fascinée. C’est pourquoi j’ai le plaisir de vous faire part de mes recherches sur la cithare sur bâton ou lokanga voatavo. Même si je n’en ai encore jamais entendu jouer, j’estime qu’il est l’un des instruments qui méritent d’être étudiés.

À Madagascar, la cithare sur bâton est connue sous deux noms : lokanga voatavo (instruments à calebasse) et en swahili dzedzy ou jejy : mot qui paraît remonter d’un nom de la harpe de l’Égypte ancienne « ede ». On rencontre même à l’Ouest la contamination « dzédzivoatavo ». Elle est répandue dans tout Madagascar, exception faite dans la région nord de l’île.

La cithare sur bâton a une similarité de fabrication d’avec le viole-violon européen. De taille très variable, elle peut atteindre 50 cm à 80 cm de longueur. Sa caisse de résonance peut revêtir plusieurs formes : en calebasse ou fabriqué tout simplement avec un bidon d’huile.

Elle était jouée et abandonnée aux esclaves, puis aux citharèdes d’aujourd’hui, appelés encore mpilalao et dont le répertoire musical relève plutôt de la ritournelle des amuseurs. Il semble qu’un musicien de la périphérie d’Antananarivo a eu la spécialité de fabriquer de cithares de ce genre et a joué du jejy à travers les rues de la capitale. Elle est d’origine africaine, se présente sous plusieurs formes et porte des noms différents selon les régions.

La cithare sur bâton est un instrument autonome dont le son est produit par pincement. Elle se compose de trois cordes (pouvant aller jusqu’à dix), en fibres de raphia adaptées le long d’une planchette en guise de manche. Ses cordes échangées en câbles améliorent beaucoup sa sonorité. La calebasse, servant d’amplificateur, est pressée contre la poitrine et le bâton descend de biais dans un angle de 40° de manière à offrir les 3 ressauts à l’index, au médium et à l’annulaire. Par contre, la main droite supportant le bâton près de la calebasse, pince la corde avec son médium.

La lokanga voatavo ne s’emploie pas dans des cérémonies, mais seulement dans les chants récitatifs, contes, légendes et satires. Elle est aussi utilisée pour la délectation à l’occasion des réjouissances familiales et les fêtes villageoises, ainsi que pour amuser les petits enfants le soir, auprès du feu, avant le dîner. Dans le faritany d’Antananarivo, il n’est plus qu’un simple objet de décoration dans certaines maisons. Instrument particulièrement intéressant, mais malheureusement en voie de disparition dans certaines régions, la cithare sur bâton garde une notoriété certaine en pays betsileo ; le fait d’être connus d’une manière certaine, les citharèdes jouent généralement en duo et l’analyse de leur technique d’exécution fait comprendre qu’ils pratiquent l’alternance à tous les niveaux.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Jejy voatavo (cithare sur bâton)

Jejy voatavo (ou cithare sur bâton, lokanga voatavo)

Égypte ancienne

Musée d'art et d'archéologie de l'Université d'Antananarivo, Madagascar

Une calebasse, un bâton, des cordes en sisal ou en acier
69,7 cm
© Musée d'art et d'archéologie de l'Université d'Antananarivo, Madagascar


Jejy voatavo (cithare sur bâton) 2

Jejy voatavo (ou cithare sur bâton, lokanga voatavo)

Égypte ancienne

Musée d'art et d'archéologie de l'Université d'Antananarivo, Madagascar

Une calebasse, un bâton, des cordes en sisal ou en acier
69,7 cm
© Musée d'art et d'archéologie de l'Université d'Antananarivo, Madagascar


C’est un instrument de la famille des cordophones.
Il comprend une calebasse et un bâton. Sur le manche sont fixés les chevalets qui servent à maintenir les cordes et à accorder l’instrument.

À l’origine, les cordes étaient en sisal. Elles sont au nombre de 1 à 2.

Actuellement, elles vont jusqu’à 11 ou 13 et sont le plus souvent en acier.

Les jejy voatavo se jouaient autrefois surtout sur les Hautes-Terres mais aussi on en trouvait un peu partout à Madagascar.

De nos jours, il ne se joue plus que chez les Betsimisaraka (population de l’Est de Madagascar) pour accompagner les Rija qui sont des proses chantées. Les Rija représentent un patrimoine littéraire de cette région. Les sujets sont généralement épiques.

Le jejy voatavo n’est joué que par les hommes. N’importe qui ne peut pas l’utiliser. La connaissance se trasmet de père en fils et celui qui en joue doit avoir reçu le bénédiction de son parent. De plus, il doit avoir de Pour en lire plus
C’est un instrument de la famille des cordophones.
Il comprend une calebasse et un bâton. Sur le manche sont fixés les chevalets qui servent à maintenir les cordes et à accorder l’instrument.

À l’origine, les cordes étaient en sisal. Elles sont au nombre de 1 à 2.

Actuellement, elles vont jusqu’à 11 ou 13 et sont le plus souvent en acier.

Les jejy voatavo se jouaient autrefois surtout sur les Hautes-Terres mais aussi on en trouvait un peu partout à Madagascar.

De nos jours, il ne se joue plus que chez les Betsimisaraka (population de l’Est de Madagascar) pour accompagner les Rija qui sont des proses chantées. Les Rija représentent un patrimoine littéraire de cette région. Les sujets sont généralement épiques.

Le jejy voatavo n’est joué que par les hommes. N’importe qui ne peut pas l’utiliser. La connaissance se trasmet de père en fils et celui qui en joue doit avoir reçu le bénédiction de son parent. De plus, il doit avoir des signes de maturité comme les cheveux blancs, car on estime, que le jejy voatavo était un instrument difficile, et il faut être expérimenté pour en jouer.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • comprendre que la musique est un mode d’expression dans chaque culture;
  • comprendre que la relation entre les sentiments personnels et la musique transcende les frontières et les cultures;
  • acquérir du respect pour la musique issue de divers environnements culturels;
  • examiner les pratiques musicales traditionnelles dans certains pays de la Francophonie;
  • faire preuve de sensibilisation à l’égard des régions géographiques en reconnaissant les pays francophones;
  • connaître l’apport musical des divers groupes culturels dans leur propre collectivité;
  • comprendre que toute la musique du monde peut être organisée selon un système de classification standard.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons