"Zongorã" is the name given to the guitar in the villages in northern Transylvania (Maramures, Oas). It seems that the instrument, which probably existed to play the "serious" music of the local aristocracy for some hundreds of years, filtered down to country music towards the end of the last century. During Béla Bartók’s survey of the region in 1913, he discovered the zongorã in Maramures and noted that it had only two strings tuned at a perfect fifth apart (D - A).

Since then, a number of strings have been added to the guitar- zongorã which now has four tuned in a major scale (D - F# - A or A - C# - E), a sign that country people have already associated their music with "classical" scales. Towards the 1960s, the guitar-zongorã also became the accompanying instrument in neighbouring Oas.

The zongorã is played by musicians of moderate talent, who do not have to know anything more than how to strum the strings (with a wood or plastic pick or plectrum). A regular rhythm is dictated by the melody and to change the tuning from time to time by moving the index finger of the left Read More
"Zongorã" is the name given to the guitar in the villages in northern Transylvania (Maramures, Oas). It seems that the instrument, which probably existed to play the "serious" music of the local aristocracy for some hundreds of years, filtered down to country music towards the end of the last century. During Béla Bartók’s survey of the region in 1913, he discovered the zongorã in Maramures and noted that it had only two strings tuned at a perfect fifth apart (D - A).

Since then, a number of strings have been added to the guitar- zongorã which now has four tuned in a major scale (D - F# - A or A - C# - E), a sign that country people have already associated their music with "classical" scales. Towards the 1960s, the guitar-zongorã also became the accompanying instrument in neighbouring Oas.

The zongorã is played by musicians of moderate talent, who do not have to know anything more than how to strum the strings (with a wood or plastic pick or plectrum). A regular rhythm is dictated by the melody and to change the tuning from time to time by moving the index finger of the left hand up and down the neck, pressing all the strings down at the same time. Zongorã musicians buy their instrument in stores, replace the strings and play it in an unusual position, with the curved side pressed against their left side (or right if the musician is left-handed like the musician in the photograph) and the face of the instrument turned slightly towards the face. Zongorã players are often singers as well and perform folk songs, drinking songs (song de bãut) and dances (dant). They also call dance tunes (Bãrbãtescul and Învârtita in Maramures, the Dantul and Roata in Oas).

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Zongorã (Maramures Guitar)

The zongorã (Maramures guitar)

This instrument does not belong to the Museum’s collection but is on loan from a private collector.

Museum of the Romanian Peasant

wood, plastic, metal strings
94 cm x 34 cm, H : 8 cm
© Museum of the Romanian Peasant


Zongorã (converted guitar from Maramures)

This instrument does not belong to the Museum’s collection but is on loan from a private collector.

Museum of the Romanian Peasant

wood, plastic, metal strings
94 cm x 34 cm, H : 8 cm
© Museum of the Romanian Peasant


According to some historians, the guitar was introduced into Romania during the 16th century. At first it was a musical instrument of the upper classes. Only 150 years ago, people still thought that well educated ladies should learn to play in effort to entertain family guests. At the same time, the guitar became popular and was taken up by musicians in small traditional groups in Oltenia (to the south) and in Maramures (in the extreme north west of the country). In Oltenia, the guitar replaced the local folk lute called the cobzã. In Maramures, where it does not seem to have replaced any previous instrument, the guitar was called the zongorã. This name means "piano" in Hungarian and is further testimony to its "serious" origin.

Rural musicians have transformed the guitar-zongorã into a harmony and rhythm accompanying instrument. This functional development has had an impact on its tuning, the way the instrument is held and its playing technique. The zongorã has only three or four strings (at the beginning of the century it had two), tuned in major tuning (at the beginning of the century it was tuned in perfect fifths). I Read More

According to some historians, the guitar was introduced into Romania during the 16th century. At first it was a musical instrument of the upper classes. Only 150 years ago, people still thought that well educated ladies should learn to play in effort to entertain family guests. At the same time, the guitar became popular and was taken up by musicians in small traditional groups in Oltenia (to the south) and in Maramures (in the extreme north west of the country). In Oltenia, the guitar replaced the local folk lute called the cobzã. In Maramures, where it does not seem to have replaced any previous instrument, the guitar was called the zongorã. This name means "piano" in Hungarian and is further testimony to its "serious" origin.

Rural musicians have transformed the guitar-zongorã into a harmony and rhythm accompanying instrument. This functional development has had an impact on its tuning, the way the instrument is held and its playing technique. The zongorã has only three or four strings (at the beginning of the century it had two), tuned in major tuning (at the beginning of the century it was tuned in perfect fifths). In order to obtain successions of three-note chords, zongorã musicians press the instrument firmly against their side or left knee, move the index finger of the left hand up and down the neck, thereby changing the note, and strike the strings with a pick or plectrum. Today, no one can imagine that the guitar-zongorã could have ever played tunes since musicians now only know how to play rhythm backup, mainly for dance tunes.



© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Zongorã: Audio

Zongorã: Audio

Canadian Heritage Information Network
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Centre des recherches et études andalouses, Centre des musiques arabes et méditerranéennes Ennejma Ezzahra, Musée de la musique, Laboratoire de recherche des musiques du monde, Musée acadien de l'Université de Moncton, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Musée d'art et d'archéologie de l'Université d'Antananarivo, Musée ethnographique Alexandre Sènou Adande, Musée national du Mali, St. Boniface Museum, Lycée de langues étrangères Alexandre Dumas, Museum of the Romanian Peasant

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:

  • Understand that music is an expression in all cultures
  • Understand that the relationship between personal feelings and music transcends borders and cultures
  • Develop respect for music from a variety of cultural contexts
  • Examine traditional music practices in selected Francophone countries
  • Demonstrate geographical awareness by identifying Francophone countries
  • Be aware of the musical contributions of various cultural groups in their own community
  • Understand that all world music can be organized within a standard classification system

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Zongorã est le nom de la guitare dans les villages du nord de la Transylvanie (Maramures, l’Oas). Il parait que l’instrument, qui (probablement) existe dans la musique « savante » de la protipendade locale depuis plusieurs centaines d’années, pénètre dans la musique paysanne vers la fin du siècle dernier. Béla Bartók, au cours de ses enquêtes de terrain de 1913, le « découvre » en Maramures et signale le fait qu’il n’a que deux cordes, placées à une distance de quinte juste (ré - la).

Depuis lors, la guitare-zongorã multiplie le nombre de ses cordes : maintenant elle en a quatre, accordées en accord majeur (ré - fa# - la ou la - do# - mi), signe que les gens du pays rapportent déjà résolument leur musique à la tonalité « classique » . Vers les années 60, elle devient aussi l’instrument d’accompagnement de l’Oas voisin.

La zongorã est maniée par des musiciens modérément doués, qui ne doivent pas sa Pour en lire plus
Zongorã est le nom de la guitare dans les villages du nord de la Transylvanie (Maramures, l’Oas). Il parait que l’instrument, qui (probablement) existe dans la musique « savante » de la protipendade locale depuis plusieurs centaines d’années, pénètre dans la musique paysanne vers la fin du siècle dernier. Béla Bartók, au cours de ses enquêtes de terrain de 1913, le « découvre » en Maramures et signale le fait qu’il n’a que deux cordes, placées à une distance de quinte juste (ré - la).

Depuis lors, la guitare-zongorã multiplie le nombre de ses cordes : maintenant elle en a quatre, accordées en accord majeur (ré - fa# - la ou la - do# - mi), signe que les gens du pays rapportent déjà résolument leur musique à la tonalité « classique » . Vers les années 60, elle devient aussi l’instrument d’accompagnement de l’Oas voisin.

La zongorã est maniée par des musiciens modérément doués, qui ne doivent pas savoir autre chose que de frapper ses cordes (avec un plectre en bois ou en matière plastique) dans un rythme régulier - celui imposé par la mélodie - et de changer de temps en temps l’accord, en déplaçant l’index de la main gauche sur toutes les cordes à la fois. Les musiciens (zongoras) achètent l’instrument dans les magasins, en remplacent les cordes et l’utilisent dans une position inhabituelle : avec l’éclise appuyée contre leur flanc gauche (ou droit s’il est gaucher comme le musicien apparaissant sur la photo), la face de l’instrument plus ou moins tournée vers le visage. Les zongoras sont souvent des chanteurs : ils interprètent des chansons lyriques, les chants de bãut (à boire), les dant et les criées pour les mélodies de danse ( Bãrbãtescul et Învârtita en Maramures, Dantul et Roata en Oas).

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Zongorã (la guitare préparée de Maramures)

La zongorã (la guitare préparée de Maramures)

L'instrument n'existe pas dans les collections du Musée ; il a été prêté par un collectionneur privé.

Musée du paysan roumain, Roumanie

Bois, plastique, cordes métalliques
94 cm x 34 cm, H : 8 cm
© Musée du paysan roumain, Roumanie


La zongorã (la guitare préparée de Maramures)

L'instrument n'existe pas dans les collections du Musée ; il a été prêté par un collectionneur privé

Musée du paysan roumain, Roumanie

Bois, plastique, cordes métalliques
94 cm x 34 cm, H : 8 cm
© Musée du paysan roumain, Roumanie


Selon quelques historiens, la guitare pénètre dans les territoires roumains au cours du XVIe siècle. Elle est tout d’abord l’instrument musical des élites : il n’y a que 150 ans, il était encore bien vu pour les demoiselles bien éduquées d’apprendre à jouer un peu, pour pouvoir divertir les invités de la famille. Dans la même période, la guitare, adoptée par les musiciens des petits ensembles traditionnels d’Olténie (dans le Sud) et de Maramures (extrémité Nord-Ouest du pays), devient « populaire ». En Olténie, elle remplace le luth local appelé cobzã. En Maramures, où elle n’a pas l’air de remplacer aucun instrument antérieur, la guitare prend le nom de zongorã. Ce nom - qui signifie en hongrois « piano » - témoigne encore sur son origine « savante ».

Les musiciens paysans transforment la guitare-zongorã en instrument d’accompagnement harmonico-rythmique. Cette mutation fonctionnelle a des répercussion sur l&rs Pour en lire plus

Selon quelques historiens, la guitare pénètre dans les territoires roumains au cours du XVIe siècle. Elle est tout d’abord l’instrument musical des élites : il n’y a que 150 ans, il était encore bien vu pour les demoiselles bien éduquées d’apprendre à jouer un peu, pour pouvoir divertir les invités de la famille. Dans la même période, la guitare, adoptée par les musiciens des petits ensembles traditionnels d’Olténie (dans le Sud) et de Maramures (extrémité Nord-Ouest du pays), devient « populaire ». En Olténie, elle remplace le luth local appelé cobzã. En Maramures, où elle n’a pas l’air de remplacer aucun instrument antérieur, la guitare prend le nom de zongorã. Ce nom - qui signifie en hongrois « piano » - témoigne encore sur son origine « savante ».

Les musiciens paysans transforment la guitare-zongorã en instrument d’accompagnement harmonico-rythmique. Cette mutation fonctionnelle a des répercussion sur l’accordage, la façon de tenir l’instrument et la technique de son jeu. La zongorã n’a que trois ou quatre cordes (au début du siècle elle en avait deux), accordées en accord majeur (au début du siècle en quinte juste). Pour pouvoir obtenir des successions de trisons plaqués, les musiciens (zongoras) appuient fermement l’instrument sur leur flanc ou le genou gauche, déplacent l’index de la main gauche sur le manche (en changeant de cette manière l’accord) et frappent les cordes avec un plectre. De nos jours, il n’est pas imaginable que la guitare-zongorã joue des mélodies. Tout ce que les musiciens savent faire est de bien souligner le rythme, surtout celui des mélodies de danse.


© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Zongorã : audio

Zongorã : audio

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Canadian Heritage Information Network, Centre des recherches et études andalouses, Centre des musiques arabes et méditerranéennes Ennejma Ezzahra, Musée de la musique, Laboratoire de recherche des musiques du monde, Musée acadien de l'Université de Moncton, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Musée d'art et d'archéologie de l'Université d'Antananarivo, Musée ethnographique Alexandre Sènou Adande, Musée national du Mali, St. Boniface Museum, Lycée de langues étrangères Alexandre Dumas, Museum of the Romanian Peasant

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • comprendre que la musique est un mode d’expression dans chaque culture;
  • comprendre que la relation entre les sentiments personnels et la musique transcende les frontières et les cultures;
  • acquérir du respect pour la musique issue de divers environnements culturels;
  • examiner les pratiques musicales traditionnelles dans certains pays de la Francophonie;
  • faire preuve de sensibilisation à l’égard des régions géographiques en reconnaissant les pays francophones;
  • connaître l’apport musical des divers groupes culturels dans leur propre collectivité;
  • comprendre que toute la musique du monde peut être organisée selon un système de classification standard.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons