The full significance of a symbol cannot be captured or defined by the written word alone. Although many interpretations can be found for symbols, the concept of a symbol is complex. Symbols are timeless and make up an international language that transcends usual means of communication. J.C. Cooper explains that "the symbol is a key to a realm greater than itself and greater than the man who employs it." He also points out that the symbol does not merely equate to a set definition but reveals some essential part of what is to be understood. The Hindu philosopher Ananda K. Coomaraswamy defines symbolism as "the art of thinking in images.
The full significance of a symbol cannot be captured or defined by the written word alone. Although many interpretations can be found for symbols, the concept of a symbol is complex. Symbols are timeless and make up an international language that transcends usual means of communication. J.C. Cooper explains that "the symbol is a key to a realm greater than itself and greater than the man who employs it." He also points out that the symbol does not merely equate to a set definition but reveals some essential part of what is to be understood. The Hindu philosopher Ananda K. Coomaraswamy defines symbolism as "the art of thinking in images.

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

But the question remains, what do these images symbolize? According to Peter Fingesten, "the tradition of symbolism connects us to a prehistoric and prescientific mode of thinking. It contributes to a magic world view." He elaborates, stating that the separation of the sacred (the things of the gods) and the profane (everyday activities) changed the magic. Nonetheless, symbols still communicate the essential magical elements of the sacred.
But the question remains, what do these images symbolize? According to Peter Fingesten, "the tradition of symbolism connects us to a prehistoric and prescientific mode of thinking. It contributes to a magic world view." He elaborates, stating that the separation of the sacred (the things of the gods) and the profane (everyday activities) changed the magic. Nonetheless, symbols still communicate the essential magical elements of the sacred.

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

There exist universal concepts from an unspoken realm which are expressed through symbols. These symbols may have a universal meaning but assume a different emphasis depending on cultural context. In German-Canadian folk art, for example, a heart depicted on a chair symbolizes affection and understanding within the home. If the same image appears on a handkerchief given to a sweetheart, however, the emphasis changes to romantic love.
There exist universal concepts from an unspoken realm which are expressed through symbols. These symbols may have a universal meaning but assume a different emphasis depending on cultural context. In German-Canadian folk art, for example, a heart depicted on a chair symbolizes affection and understanding within the home. If the same image appears on a handkerchief given to a sweetheart, however, the emphasis changes to romantic love.

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Aspects of culture reinforce group values, and symbols are no exception. Within German-Canadian culture, the majority of immigrants are Christian and even the most cursory comparison shows similarities to German, Austrian, and Swiss traditions. Examining the culture gives us a context in which to situate the origins of German-Canadian symbols.
Aspects of culture reinforce group values, and symbols are no exception. Within German-Canadian culture, the majority of immigrants are Christian and even the most cursory comparison shows similarities to German, Austrian, and Swiss traditions. Examining the culture gives us a context in which to situate the origins of German-Canadian symbols.

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

In some instances the interpretation of a symbol has changed suddenly or dramatically, perhaps the best example being the swastika. The word is derived from the Sanskrit svasti, meaning "well-being." The symbol, which appears in many cultures, including Tibetan, Indian, Chinese, and Celtic, has stood for friendliness since ancient times. Yet in the course of only a few years after it was appropriated by the German National Socialist Party in the 1930s, the meaning shifted to one of racial intolerance, among other things, completely contrary to the original intention.

The meaning given to symbols does not usually change as rapidly as this example. And many meanings that were appropriate in the rural societies of earlier times are no longer valid in the modern world. Still, when contemporary artists use these symbols, as in the rooster created by Collins Eisenhauer, they demonstrate pride in their roots.
In some instances the interpretation of a symbol has changed suddenly or dramatically, perhaps the best example being the swastika. The word is derived from the Sanskrit svasti, meaning "well-being." The symbol, which appears in many cultures, including Tibetan, Indian, Chinese, and Celtic, has stood for friendliness since ancient times. Yet in the course of only a few years after it was appropriated by the German National Socialist Party in the 1930s, the meaning shifted to one of racial intolerance, among other things, completely contrary to the original intention.

The meaning given to symbols does not usually change as rapidly as this example. And many meanings that were appropriate in the rural societies of earlier times are no longer valid in the modern world. Still, when contemporary artists use these symbols, as in the rooster created by Collins Eisenhauer, they demonstrate pride in their roots.

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Since there are no witnesses to tell us what these symbols meant when the objects shown here were created, the interpretations provided are suggestions rather than definitions. In any case, these symbols were unlikely to have been defined precisely; rather, their meanings were implied non-verbally.

It is difficult to define precisely what a particular symbol means. The messages suggested here for some common symbols in German-Canadian folk art are only a few among many possible meanings, which can vary depending on context. We invite you to rekindle your imagination and use your mind and intuition to explore what messages these symbols might communicate in the context of when they were created.
Since there are no witnesses to tell us what these symbols meant when the objects shown here were created, the interpretations provided are suggestions rather than definitions. In any case, these symbols were unlikely to have been defined precisely; rather, their meanings were implied non-verbally.

It is difficult to define precisely what a particular symbol means. The messages suggested here for some common symbols in German-Canadian folk art are only a few among many possible meanings, which can vary depending on context. We invite you to rekindle your imagination and use your mind and intuition to explore what messages these symbols might communicate in the context of when they were created.

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Symbols

Left to Right: Rose ( love, joy, life, heavenly perfection, earthly passion), Trinity tulip (equivalent to lily, faith, hope, and charity), Flower in a vase/Tree of Life (happiness, immortality, joy, links heaven and earth), Flowers (transition, spring, beauty, passive principle)

Canadian Heritage Information Network
Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and Deutsche Telekom, Ananas Productions, Schule ans netz, Alexander Von Humboldt Schule, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Carl-Friedrich Gauß Schule, Confederation High School, Deutsachherren-Gymnasium, German Historical Museum, Gymnasium Isernhagen, Horton High School/Acadia University, Integrierte Gesamtschule Bonne-Beuel,

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Symbols

Symbol: Stars (Meaning: divine guidance and favour) Symbol: Five-pointed star (Meaning: health, wisdom, good luck, prevents evil) Symbol: Six-pointed star (Meaning: light and darkness, heaven and earth, spirit and body, perfect marriage, wards off danger) Symbol: Eight-pointed star (Meaning: rising sun, regeneration)

Canadian Heritage Information Network
Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and Deutsche Telekom, Ananas Productions, Schule ans netz, Alexander Von Humboldt Schule, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Carl-Friedrich Gauß Schule, Confederation High School, Deutsachherren-Gymnasium, German Historical Museum, Gymnasium Isernhagen, Horton High School/Acadia University, Integrierte Gesamtschule Bonne-Beuel,

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Symbols

Symbol: Birds (Meaning: bringers of luck, thoughts, imagination, freedom, winged souls ) Symbol: Rooster (Meaning: sun symbol, vigilance, watches out for evil in all directions, victory over evil)

Canadian Heritage Information Network
Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and Deutsche Telekom, Ananas Productions, Schule ans netz, Alexander Von Humboldt Schule, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Carl-Friedrich Gauß Schule, Confederation High School, Deutsachherren-Gymnasium, German Historical Museum, Gymnasium Isernhagen, Horton High School/Acadia University, Integrierte Gesamtschule Bonne-Beuel,

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Symbols

Symbol: Heart (Meaning: affection, compassion, love, understanding, courage)

Canadian Heritage Information Network
Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and Deutsche Telekom, Ananas Productions, Schule ans netz, Alexander Von Humboldt Schule, Canadian Museum of Civilization, Carl-Friedrich Gauß Schule, Confederation High School, Deutsachherren-Gymnasium, German Historical Museum, Gymnasium Isernhagen, Horton High School/Acadia University, Integrierte Gesamtschule Bonne-Beuel,

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Cirlot, J.E. A Dictionary of Symbols. 1962.

Cooper, J.C. An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Traditional Symbols. 1990.

Einarsson, Magnús, and Helga Benndorf Taylor, eds. Just for Nice: German-Canadian Folk Art (exhibition catalogue). 1993.

Fingesten, Peter. The Eclipse of Symbolism. 1970.

Goldsmith, Elisabeth. Ancient Pagan Symbols. 1929.

Urban, Wilbur Marshall. Language and Reality: The Philosophy of Language and the Principles of Symbolism. 1939
Cirlot, J.E. A Dictionary of Symbols. 1962.

Cooper, J.C. An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Traditional Symbols. 1990.

Einarsson, Magnús, and Helga Benndorf Taylor, eds. Just for Nice: German-Canadian Folk Art (exhibition catalogue). 1993.

Fingesten, Peter. The Eclipse of Symbolism. 1970.

Goldsmith, Elisabeth. Ancient Pagan Symbols. 1929.

Urban, Wilbur Marshall. Language and Reality: The Philosophy of Language and the Principles of Symbolism. 1939

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Define symbol
  • Recognize that interpreting symbols is complex
  • Express ideas about what symbolism means to cultures
  • Describe how the meaning of a symbol can change over time, and give an example
  • Relate Canadian-German folk art symbols to their meanings

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le sens profond du symbole ne peut pas se rendre ou se définir seulement par l’écrit. Les symboles peuvent être interprétés de bien des façons, mais le concept du symbole demeure complexe. Les symboles sont éternels et ils forment une langue internationale qui dépasse les moyens de communication habituels. J.C. Cooper explique que « le symbole est la clé d’un royaume qui est plus grand que l’image et plus grand que l’homme qui y fait appel ». Il affirme aussi que le symbole n’est pas qu’une simple définition, mais qu’il contient une partie essentielle de ce qu’il faut comprendre. Le philosophe hindou Ananda K. Coomaraswamy définit le symbolisme comme « l’art de penser à l’aide d’images ».
Le sens profond du symbole ne peut pas se rendre ou se définir seulement par l’écrit. Les symboles peuvent être interprétés de bien des façons, mais le concept du symbole demeure complexe. Les symboles sont éternels et ils forment une langue internationale qui dépasse les moyens de communication habituels. J.C. Cooper explique que « le symbole est la clé d’un royaume qui est plus grand que l’image et plus grand que l’homme qui y fait appel ». Il affirme aussi que le symbole n’est pas qu’une simple définition, mais qu’il contient une partie essentielle de ce qu’il faut comprendre. Le philosophe hindou Ananda K. Coomaraswamy définit le symbolisme comme « l’art de penser à l’aide d’images ».

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Mais la question demeure : que symbolisent ces images? Selon Peter Fingesten : « La tradition du symbolisme remonte à un mode de pensée préhistorique et antérieur à la science qui s’inscrivait dans une façon de voir le monde rempli de phénomènes magiques. » Il poursuit en expliquant que la distinction entre le sacré (ce qui avait trait aux dieux) et le profane (les activités quotidiennes) a transformé les phénomènes magiques. Néanmoins, les symboles communiquent encore les éléments magiques essentiels au sacré.
Mais la question demeure : que symbolisent ces images? Selon Peter Fingesten : « La tradition du symbolisme remonte à un mode de pensée préhistorique et antérieur à la science qui s’inscrivait dans une façon de voir le monde rempli de phénomènes magiques. » Il poursuit en expliquant que la distinction entre le sacré (ce qui avait trait aux dieux) et le profane (les activités quotidiennes) a transformé les phénomènes magiques. Néanmoins, les symboles communiquent encore les éléments magiques essentiels au sacré.

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Les symboles représentent des concepts universels venus d’un royaume inexprimé. La signification de ces symboles peut être universelle, mais on insistera sur un aspect différent selon le contexte culturel. Par exemple, dans l’art populaire germano-canadien, un cœur représenté sur une chaise symbolise l’affection et la bonne entente qui règnent dans la maison. La même image représentée sur un mouchoir que l’on offre à l’être cher représente l’amour romantique.
Les symboles représentent des concepts universels venus d’un royaume inexprimé. La signification de ces symboles peut être universelle, mais on insistera sur un aspect différent selon le contexte culturel. Par exemple, dans l’art populaire germano-canadien, un cœur représenté sur une chaise symbolise l’affection et la bonne entente qui règnent dans la maison. La même image représentée sur un mouchoir que l’on offre à l’être cher représente l’amour romantique.

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Les aspects culturels renforcent les valeurs du groupe, et les symboles n’y font pas exception. Dans le cadre de la culture germano-canadienne, la majorité des immigrants sont chrétiens et toute comparaison, même superficielle, montre des similitudes entre les traditions allemandes, autrichiennes et suisses. L’examen de la culture nous permet de situer les origines des symboles germano-canadiens.
Les aspects culturels renforcent les valeurs du groupe, et les symboles n’y font pas exception. Dans le cadre de la culture germano-canadienne, la majorité des immigrants sont chrétiens et toute comparaison, même superficielle, montre des similitudes entre les traditions allemandes, autrichiennes et suisses. L’examen de la culture nous permet de situer les origines des symboles germano-canadiens.

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Dans certains cas, l’interprétation d’un symbole a changé soudainement ou de façon spectaculaire. Le meilleur exemple en est peut-être la croix gammée ou « svastika » qui dérive de « svasti » signifiant « bien-être » en sanskrit. Ce symbole qui appartenait à de nombreuses cultures, y compris celle des Tibétains, des Indiens, des Chinois et des Celtes, signifiait gentillesse depuis les temps anciens. Pourtant, quelques années ont suffi au parti allemand national-socialiste des années 1930 pour lui donner, entre autres, le sens d’intolérance raciale, ce qui était totalement contraire à l’idée d’origine.

La signification des symboles ne change habituellement pas aussi rapidement que dans l’exemple précédent. Et de nombreux sens qui convenaient aux anciennes sociétés rurales ne sont plus valables de nos jours. Tout de même, lorsque des artistes contemporains font appel à ces symboles, comme le coq créé par Collins Eisenhauer, ils montrent qu’ils sont fiers de leurs racines.
Dans certains cas, l’interprétation d’un symbole a changé soudainement ou de façon spectaculaire. Le meilleur exemple en est peut-être la croix gammée ou « svastika » qui dérive de « svasti » signifiant « bien-être » en sanskrit. Ce symbole qui appartenait à de nombreuses cultures, y compris celle des Tibétains, des Indiens, des Chinois et des Celtes, signifiait gentillesse depuis les temps anciens. Pourtant, quelques années ont suffi au parti allemand national-socialiste des années 1930 pour lui donner, entre autres, le sens d’intolérance raciale, ce qui était totalement contraire à l’idée d’origine.

La signification des symboles ne change habituellement pas aussi rapidement que dans l’exemple précédent. Et de nombreux sens qui convenaient aux anciennes sociétés rurales ne sont plus valables de nos jours. Tout de même, lorsque des artistes contemporains font appel à ces symboles, comme le coq créé par Collins Eisenhauer, ils montrent qu’ils sont fiers de leurs racines.

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Puisqu’il n’y a pas de témoins pour nous expliquer ce que ces symboles signifiaient lorsque les objets présentés ici ont été créés, les interprétations sont en fait des suggestions plutôt que des définitions. De toute façon, il est peu probable que ces symboles aient été définis précisément; leur signification était plutôt implicite et non verbale.

Il est difficile de préciser le sens particulier d’un symbole. Les messages proposés ici pour certains symboles courants de l’art populaire germano-canadien ne constituent que quelques possibilités parmi tant d’autres qui peuvent varier selon le contexte. Faites preuve d’imagination et fiez-vous à votre intuition pour découvrir les messages contenus dans ces symboles en vous reportant à l’époque de leur création.
Puisqu’il n’y a pas de témoins pour nous expliquer ce que ces symboles signifiaient lorsque les objets présentés ici ont été créés, les interprétations sont en fait des suggestions plutôt que des définitions. De toute façon, il est peu probable que ces symboles aient été définis précisément; leur signification était plutôt implicite et non verbale.

Il est difficile de préciser le sens particulier d’un symbole. Les messages proposés ici pour certains symboles courants de l’art populaire germano-canadien ne constituent que quelques possibilités parmi tant d’autres qui peuvent varier selon le contexte. Faites preuve d’imagination et fiez-vous à votre intuition pour découvrir les messages contenus dans ces symboles en vous reportant à l’époque de leur création.

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Symboles

Rose (amour, joie, vie, perfection divine, passion terrestre); Tulipe de la trinité (équivalent du lis, de la foi, de l'espoir et de la charité); Fleur dans un vase / Arbre de la vie (bonheur, immortalité, joie, liens avec le ciel et la terre); Fleurs (transition, printemps, beauté, principe du passif)

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and Deutsche Telekom, Ananas Productions, Schule ans netz, Alexander Von Humboldt Schule, Musée canadien des civilisations, Carl-Friedrich Gauß Schule, Confederation High School, Deutsachherren-Gymnasium, Musée d’histoire allemande, Gymnasium Isernhagen, Horton High School/Acadia University, Integrierte Gesamtschule Bonne-Beuel,

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Symboles

Étoiles (faveur et conseils divins); Pentacle (santé, sagesse, chance, protection contre les forces diaboliques); Étoile à six branches (lumière et obscurité, ciel et terre, esprit et corps, mariage parfait, protection contre le danger); Étoile à huit branches (soleil levant, régénération)

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and Deutsche Telekom, Ananas Productions, Schule ans netz, Alexander Von Humboldt Schule, Musée canadien des civilisations, Carl-Friedrich Gauß Schule, Confederation High School, Deutsachherren-Gymnasium, Musée d’histoire allemande, Gymnasium Isernhagen, Horton High School/Acadia University, Integrierte Gesamtschule Bonne-Beuel,

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Symboles

Oiseaux (porteurs de la chance, des pensées, de l'imagination et de la liberté, âmes ailées); Coq (symbole du soleil, vigilance, surveille les forces diaboliques d'où elles peuvent provenir, victoire sur les forces diaboliques)

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and Deutsche Telekom, Ananas Productions, Schule ans netz, Alexander Von Humboldt Schule, Musée canadien des civilisations, Carl-Friedrich Gauß Schule, Confederation High School, Deutsachherren-Gymnasium, Musée d’histoire allemande, Gymnasium Isernhagen, Horton High School/Acadia University, Integrierte Gesamtschule Bonne-Beuel,

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Symboles

Cœur (affection, compassion, amour, compréhension, courage)

Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine
Federal Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF) and Deutsche Telekom, Ananas Productions, Schule ans netz, Alexander Von Humboldt Schule, Musée canadien des civilisations, Carl-Friedrich Gauß Schule, Confederation High School, Deutsachherren-Gymnasium, Musée d’histoire allemande, Gymnasium Isernhagen, Horton High School/Acadia University, Integrierte Gesamtschule Bonne-Beuel,

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Cirlot, J.E., A Dictionary of Symbols, 1962.

Cooper, J.C., An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Traditional Symbols, 1990.

Einarsson, Magnús, et Helga Benndorf Taylor (dir), Un brin de folie: German-Canadian Folk Art ( catalogue d'exposition), 1993.

Fingesten, Peter, The Eclipse of Symbolism,1970.

Goldsmith, Elisabeth, Ancient Pagan Symbols, 1929.

Urban, Wilbur Marshall, Language and Reality: The Philosophy of Language and the Principles of Symbolism, 1939.
Cirlot, J.E., A Dictionary of Symbols, 1962.

Cooper, J.C., An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Traditional Symbols, 1990.

Einarsson, Magnús, et Helga Benndorf Taylor (dir), Un brin de folie: German-Canadian Folk Art ( catalogue d'exposition), 1993.

Fingesten, Peter, The Eclipse of Symbolism,1970.

Goldsmith, Elisabeth, Ancient Pagan Symbols, 1929.

Urban, Wilbur Marshall, Language and Reality: The Philosophy of Language and the Principles of Symbolism, 1939.

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant  va :
  • définir ce qu’est un symbole;
  • constater que l’interprétation des symboles est une opération complexe;
  • exprimer des idées sur ce que le symbolisme représente dans une culture;
  • décrire comment la signification d’un symbole peut changer avec le temps et donner un exemple;
  • lier les symboles de l’art populaire germano-canadien à leur signification.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons