The activities include reference to Howard Gardner’s theory of Multiple Intelligences (Verbal-Linguistic; Logical-Mathematical; Bodily-Kinesthetic; Visual-Spatial; Musical; Interpersonal; Intrapersonal; Naturalist). It is hoped that this will reflect the variety of learning styles within the classroom setting.

• “Many of the Western influences on Japanese culture at this time are still evident today.”
o Have students discuss such influences and other instances of cultural borrowing – e.g. can students identify Japanese products that they use (e.g. electronics, language, food, animation/film etc.) (Interpersonal – group discussion)
o Have students create a contemporary portrait (fictional) of someone showing two historical cultural fashions (e.g. tattoos, body piercing) and identify where they originated. (Visual-Spatial – drawing)
o Have students make a poster illustrating one aspect of everyday life that has remained unchanged and one aspect that has changed in Japan. (Visual-Spatial – drawing)
• Illustrate the role of the emperor throughout Japanese hist Read More

The activities include reference to Howard Gardner’s theory of Multiple Intelligences (Verbal-Linguistic; Logical-Mathematical; Bodily-Kinesthetic; Visual-Spatial; Musical; Interpersonal; Intrapersonal; Naturalist). It is hoped that this will reflect the variety of learning styles within the classroom setting.

• “Many of the Western influences on Japanese culture at this time are still evident today.”
o Have students discuss such influences and other instances of cultural borrowing – e.g. can students identify Japanese products that they use (e.g. electronics, language, food, animation/film etc.) (Interpersonal – group discussion)
o Have students create a contemporary portrait (fictional) of someone showing two historical cultural fashions (e.g. tattoos, body piercing) and identify where they originated. (Visual-Spatial – drawing)
o Have students make a poster illustrating one aspect of everyday life that has remained unchanged and one aspect that has changed in Japan. (Visual-Spatial – drawing)
• Illustrate the role of the emperor throughout Japanese history, from ancient times to present day. (Visual-Spatial – drawing; Logic-Mathematical – linear ordering)
• Create a tourist brochure of Japanese history describing the important events and periods – include interesting sites of places of interest. (Verbal-Linguistic – writing; Visual-Spatial – drawing)
• Create an illustrated timeline showing how the Japanese governed themselves from ancient times to present day – include the role of emperors, daimyo, and shogun. (Visual-Spatial – drawing; Logic-Mathematical – linear ordering)


© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.

Click Meiji or Pre-Meiji to decide what time period the image below is from.

Art Gallery of Greater Victoria

JAPAN
© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The following learning objectives have been created with considerable and specific reference to the Prescribed Learning Outcomes (PLOs) for various grades and subjects as outlined by the Ministry of Education for the province of British Columbia. The portions that directly reflect curricula language have been italicized. All applicable texts, websites, and other learning resources are listed in the bibliography under References.

• It is hoped that after engaging in the suggested activities students will:
o Identify some characteristics of Japanese culture and society.
o Compare some cultural elements of Japan to those of their own cultural backgrounds.
o Analyze elements and characteristics that contribute to the identity of civilizations, such as symbolic structures of power and authority.
o Demonstrate appreciation of contributions of a variety of cultures to Canada and the world.


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les activités incluent des références à la théorie des intelligences multiples de Howard Gardner (verbal-linguistique; logique-mathématique; corporel-kinesthétique; visuel-spatial; musical; interpersonnel; naturaliste). On espère que cela reflétera la variété de styles d’apprentissage au sein de la classe.

• « Plusieurs des influences occidentales sur la culture japonaise de cette époque sont encore visibles aujourd’hui. »
o Demandez aux élèves de discuter de telles influences et d’autres cas d’emprunts culturels – ex. : les élèves peuvent-ils identifier les produits japonais qu’ils utilisent (ex. : produits électroniques, langue, aliments, bandes dessinées/films, etc.) (Interpersonnel – discussion de groupe)
o Demandez aux élèves de créer un portrait contemporain (fictif) de quelqu’un montrant deux modes culturelles historiques (ex. : tatouages, perçage corporel) et d’identifier leur origine (Visuel-spatial – dessin)
o Demand Pour en lire plus

Les activités incluent des références à la théorie des intelligences multiples de Howard Gardner (verbal-linguistique; logique-mathématique; corporel-kinesthétique; visuel-spatial; musical; interpersonnel; naturaliste). On espère que cela reflétera la variété de styles d’apprentissage au sein de la classe.

• « Plusieurs des influences occidentales sur la culture japonaise de cette époque sont encore visibles aujourd’hui. »
o Demandez aux élèves de discuter de telles influences et d’autres cas d’emprunts culturels – ex. : les élèves peuvent-ils identifier les produits japonais qu’ils utilisent (ex. : produits électroniques, langue, aliments, bandes dessinées/films, etc.) (Interpersonnel – discussion de groupe)
o Demandez aux élèves de créer un portrait contemporain (fictif) de quelqu’un montrant deux modes culturelles historiques (ex. : tatouages, perçage corporel) et d’identifier leur origine (Visuel-spatial – dessin)
o Demandez aux élèves de faire une affiche illustrant un aspect de la vie quotidienne qui est demeuré inchangé et un aspect qui a changé au Japon. (Visuel-spatial – dessin)
• Illustrez le rôle de l’empereur au cours de l’histoire japonaise à partir des temps anciens jusqu’à aujourd’hui. (Visuel-Spatial –dessin; logique-mathématique – ordre linéaire)
• Créez une brochure touristique de l’histoire japonaise décrivant les événements et les périodes importants – ajoutez les lieux intéressants des points d’intérêt (Verbal-Linguistique – écriture; visuel-spatial – dessin)
• Créez un calendrier illustré montrant comment les Japonais se sont gouvernés à partir des temps anciens jusqu’à aujourd’hui – ajoutez le rôle des empereurs, des daimyos et des shoguns (Visuel-spatial – dessin; logique- mathématique – ordre linéaire)


© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.

Cliquez sur Meiji ou Pré-Meiji pour décider de quelle période provient l’image ci-dessous.

La Galerie d'art du Grand Victoria

JAPON
© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les objectifs d’apprentissage suivants ont été créés avec des références nombreuses et spécifiques aux Résultats d’apprentissage prescrit (RAP) pour diverses années scolaires et sujets tels que décrits par le ministère de l’Éducation de la province de la Colombie-Britannique. Les parties qui reflètent directement les matières de langue sont en italique. Tous les textes applicables et les autres ressources d’apprentissage sont énumérés dans les bibliographies.

• Il est souhaitable qu’après avoir participé aux activités, les élèves :
o Identifieront certaines caractéristiques de la culture et de la société japonaises.
o Compareront certains éléments culturels du Japon avec ceux de leurs propres cultures
o Analyseront les éléments et les caractéristiques qui contribuent à l’identité des civilisations, tels que les structures symboliques du pouvoir et de l’autorité.
o Montreront une appréciation des contributions de diverses cultures au Canada et au monde.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons