A short Account of the Colony and the present state of it

"that the Climate is as healthy, and the Soil as Rich and fertile as any other of the British colonies, affording, when cultivated, all the Comforts and Conveniences of Life. That the Seacoast abounds with Fish in greater plenty and variety than any other part of America and is peculiarly adapted to Commerce and Navigation. . . That the Inland Parts are very proper for the cultivation and Produce of Grain, Hemp, Flax and all other Commodities that are to be found or produced in other parts of America, and which are now produced in all such parts of this Province as have been hitherto cultivated. That a number of British Subjects were this year sent from England to settle... That the said Settlers have had constant Supplies of fresh provisions from the French Inhabitants of the said province who remained there after the Treaty of Utrecht ... and whose Farms produce Corn and Cattle in great Abundance...."
A short Account of the Colony and the present state of it

"that the Climate is as healthy, and the Soil as Rich and fertile as any other of the British colonies, affording, when cultivated, all the Comforts and Conveniences of Life. That the Seacoast abounds with Fish in greater plenty and variety than any other part of America and is peculiarly adapted to Commerce and Navigation. . . That the Inland Parts are very proper for the cultivation and Produce of Grain, Hemp, Flax and all other Commodities that are to be found or produced in other parts of America, and which are now produced in all such parts of this Province as have been hitherto cultivated. That a number of British Subjects were this year sent from England to settle... That the said Settlers have had constant Supplies of fresh provisions from the French Inhabitants of the said province who remained there after the Treaty of Utrecht ... and whose Farms produce Corn and Cattle in great Abundance...."

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Handbill

A German handbill circulated by John Dick to recruit settlers

Institution: Public Archives of Nova Scotia
c. 1750
© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


From its humble beginnings, Lunenburg grew and prospered. In the 19th century, sailing ships built there were world-famous for their sturdiness and speed. It had a large fishing fleet and fish-processing plants. At one time, Lunenburg claimed more millionaires per capita than any other town in North America. The beauty and the historical importance of the old part of the town contributed to it becoming a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1995.
From its humble beginnings, Lunenburg grew and prospered. In the 19th century, sailing ships built there were world-famous for their sturdiness and speed. It had a large fishing fleet and fish-processing plants. At one time, Lunenburg claimed more millionaires per capita than any other town in North America. The beauty and the historical importance of the old part of the town contributed to it becoming a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1995.

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Lunenburg

View of Lunenburg from Kaulback's Head, c. 1901. In the foreground are fish flakes for drying cod in the sun.

Photographer: Unknown
c. 1901
© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


The decline of the fishing stocks have imposed new hardships on Lunenburg, but tourism is thriving. As always, Lunenburgers meet adversity with the resiliency and resourcefulness shown by the first settlers.
The decline of the fishing stocks have imposed new hardships on Lunenburg, but tourism is thriving. As always, Lunenburgers meet adversity with the resiliency and resourcefulness shown by the first settlers.

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

View from Wharf, Lunenburg

Still an important fishing town, Lunenburg is also developing its tourism.

Photographer: Heather Holm
c. 1998
© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


St. John's Church, Lunenburg

St. John's Anglican Church in Lunenburg today has expanded far beyond its original size. Inset: the church in 1754. At first, three different denominations used the church.

Photographer: Heather Holm
c. 1998
© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Lunenburgers continued to speak their own German dialect until the 20th century, and remnants of it can still be heard in the local accent and expressions.

Many of the German settlers of the 1750s stayed in Halifax and contributed greatly to the city’s development. The "Little Dutch Church" built in the 1750’s still stands in their memory.
Lunenburgers continued to speak their own German dialect until the 20th century, and remnants of it can still be heard in the local accent and expressions.

Many of the German settlers of the 1750s stayed in Halifax and contributed greatly to the city’s development. The "Little Dutch Church" built in the 1750’s still stands in their memory.

© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

The "Little Dutch Church"

Halifax's "Little Dutch Church," built 1754-55. Some of the gravestones mark the passing of original German settlers.

Artist: Heather Holm
c. 1998
© 2009, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Connect traditions and culture of modern day Lunenburg, Nova Scotia with the German origins of its people
  • Understand how German emigrants were enticed to come to Nova Scotia

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Extraits d’un compte rendu sur la colonie et son état actuel :

« Le climat y est sain et le sol aussi riche et aussi fertile que dans n’importe quelle autre colonie britannique, ce qui permet, lorsqu’on le cultive, d’en attendre tous les conforts et toutes les commodités de la vie. La côte, qui abrite des poissons en plus grand nombre et plus nombreuses variétés que n’importe quel autre littoral américain, est particulièrement propice au commerce et à la navigation. L’arrière-pays est quant à lui très propice à la culture et à la production de céréales, de chanvre, de lin et de tous autres produits de base que l’on trouve ailleurs en Amérique ou qui sont maintenant produits sur toutes les autres terres de la province cultivées à ce jour. Un certain nombre de sujets britanniques y ont, cette année, été envoyés d’Angleterre pour s’y établir. Ils y ont trouvé des provisions fraîches auprès des habitants français de la province qui sont demeurés sur place après la signature du traité d’Utrecht..., et dont les fermes produisent du maïs et du bétail en grande abondance... »
Extraits d’un compte rendu sur la colonie et son état actuel :

« Le climat y est sain et le sol aussi riche et aussi fertile que dans n’importe quelle autre colonie britannique, ce qui permet, lorsqu’on le cultive, d’en attendre tous les conforts et toutes les commodités de la vie. La côte, qui abrite des poissons en plus grand nombre et plus nombreuses variétés que n’importe quel autre littoral américain, est particulièrement propice au commerce et à la navigation. L’arrière-pays est quant à lui très propice à la culture et à la production de céréales, de chanvre, de lin et de tous autres produits de base que l’on trouve ailleurs en Amérique ou qui sont maintenant produits sur toutes les autres terres de la province cultivées à ce jour. Un certain nombre de sujets britanniques y ont, cette année, été envoyés d’Angleterre pour s’y établir. Ils y ont trouvé des provisions fraîches auprès des habitants français de la province qui sont demeurés sur place après la signature du traité d’Utrecht..., et dont les fermes produisent du maïs et du bétail en grande abondance... »

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Prospectus

Prospectus en langue allemande diffusé par John Dick pour recruter des colons.

Institution : Public Archives of Nova Scotia
vers 1750
© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


À partir de ces humbles origines, Lunenburg s’est développé et a prospéré. Au XIXe siècle, les bateaux à voiles construits dans ses chantiers navals étaient reconnus mondialement pour leur robustesse et leur rapidité. Lunenburg possédait une flotte de pêche importante ainsi que d’importantes conserveries de poisson. À une certaine époque, la ville se targuait de posséder plus de millionnaires parmi ses résidants que n’importe quelle autre ville de population comparable en Amérique du Nord. La beauté et l’importance historique de la vieille ville sont telles que, en 1995, l’UNESCO a déclaré celle-ci site du « patrimoine mondial ».
À partir de ces humbles origines, Lunenburg s’est développé et a prospéré. Au XIXe siècle, les bateaux à voiles construits dans ses chantiers navals étaient reconnus mondialement pour leur robustesse et leur rapidité. Lunenburg possédait une flotte de pêche importante ainsi que d’importantes conserveries de poisson. À une certaine époque, la ville se targuait de posséder plus de millionnaires parmi ses résidants que n’importe quelle autre ville de population comparable en Amérique du Nord. La beauté et l’importance historique de la vieille ville sont telles que, en 1995, l’UNESCO a déclaré celle-ci site du « patrimoine mondial ».

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Lunenburg

Vue de Lunenburg de la Kaulback's Head, v. 1901. À l'avant-plan se trouvent des claies sur lesquelles on étend les morues pour le séchage au soleil.

Photographe : Inconnu
vers 1901
© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


Le déclin des stocks de poissons fait de nouveau traverser des temps difficiles à Lunenburg, mais le tourisme y est en plein essor. Comme toujours, les « Lunenbourgeois » font face à l’adversité avec l’énergie et l’ingéniosité dont ont su faire preuve les premiers colons.
Le déclin des stocks de poissons fait de nouveau traverser des temps difficiles à Lunenburg, mais le tourisme y est en plein essor. Comme toujours, les « Lunenbourgeois » font face à l’adversité avec l’énergie et l’ingéniosité dont ont su faire preuve les premiers colons.

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

Vue du quai, Lunenburg

Important port de pêche encore aujourd'hui, Lunenburg tâche de développer également son tourisme.

Photographe : Heather Holm
vers 1998
© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


St. John's Church, Lunenburg

La St. John's Anglican Church qui se trouve à Lunenburg aujourd'hui est beaucoup plus grande que la version originale. Médaillon : l'église en 1754. Au début, trois confessions religieuses se partageaient le lieu.

Photographe : Heather Holm
vers 1998
© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.


La population de Lunenburg a continué jusqu’au début du XXe siècle de parler un dialecte allemand bien à elle, dialecte dont on trouve encore aujourd’hui des vestiges dans l’accent et le parler locaux.

Nombre des colons germanophones qui arrivèrent à Halifax en 1750 s’y installèrent et contribuèrent grandement à son développement. La Little Dutch Church, construite en 1750, témoigne encore aujourd’hui de leur présence.
La population de Lunenburg a continué jusqu’au début du XXe siècle de parler un dialecte allemand bien à elle, dialecte dont on trouve encore aujourd’hui des vestiges dans l’accent et le parler locaux.

Nombre des colons germanophones qui arrivèrent à Halifax en 1750 s’y installèrent et contribuèrent grandement à son développement. La Little Dutch Church, construite en 1750, témoigne encore aujourd’hui de leur présence.

© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoine. Tous droits réservés.

La « Little Dutch Church »

La « Little Dutch Church » de Halifax, construite en 1754-1755. Certaines pierres tombales conservent aujourd'hui encore la trace du passage des premiers colons allemands.

Artiste : Heather Holm
vers 1988
© 2009, RCIP-Réseau canadien d'information sur le patrimoinek. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • associer les traditions et la culture d’aujourd’hui de Lunenburg (Nouvelle-Écosse) aux origines allemandes de ses habitants;
  • comprendre ce qui a incité les émigrants allemands à venir en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons