Based on the teachings of Confucius (551 to 479 BCE), Confucianism originated in China where, dominant for more than 2000 years, it influenced poetry, history, government, and social life.

Confucianism professed the ‘Golden Rule’ – treat others as you wish to be treated. It believed in one’s innate moral sense and that one must demonstrate goodness with good deeds. Confucius taught that one fully achieved potential within the family, where we all have duties and obligations. We see from his five human relationships: father/son, husband/wife, older brother/younger brother, friend/friend, and ruler/subject that Confucius was patriarchal, favouring age over youth, valuing family and encouraging respect for authority, which was most appreciated by Japan’s emperors.

The Confucianism that entered Japan in the 6th century trusted in the yin/yang forces and the five elements: wood, metal, fire, water, and earth. Confucianism believed in ancestral worship and harmony between people and nature.

Based on the teachings of Confucius (551 to 479 BCE), Confucianism originated in China where, dominant for more than 2000 years, it influenced poetry, history, government, and social life.

Confucianism professed the ‘Golden Rule’ – treat others as you wish to be treated. It believed in one’s innate moral sense and that one must demonstrate goodness with good deeds. Confucius taught that one fully achieved potential within the family, where we all have duties and obligations. We see from his five human relationships: father/son, husband/wife, older brother/younger brother, friend/friend, and ruler/subject that Confucius was patriarchal, favouring age over youth, valuing family and encouraging respect for authority, which was most appreciated by Japan’s emperors.

The Confucianism that entered Japan in the 6th century trusted in the yin/yang forces and the five elements: wood, metal, fire, water, and earth. Confucianism believed in ancestral worship and harmony between people and nature.

© 2006, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. All Rights Reserved.

Confucius developed many expressions to illustrate his teachings.

Image - Unknown
Image - Wikipedia – The Free Encyclopedia

CHINA
JAPAN
© Public Domain


Learning Objectives

The following learning objectives have been created with considerable and specific reference to the Prescribed Learning Outcomes (PLOs) for various grades and subjects as outlined by the Ministry of Education for the province of British Columbia. The portions that directly reflect curricula language have been italicized. All applicable texts, websites, and other learning resources are listed in the bibliography under References.

• Students will learn the difference between a behavioural code and religious belief and as such demonstrate an understanding of various value systems within and among cultures and also how belief systems incorporated into daily activities can contribute to the identity of civilizations.
• Students will understand and evaluate the code established by Confucius and have some understanding of the cultural influences and values which caused its popularity and how many of those influences still persist in contemporary Japan. For example, the notion that everyone has his/her place complete with duties and obligations, favouring age over youth and respect for authority, allows students to compare individual rights and social responsibilities in various cultures.
• Students will learn a variety of sayings and teachings (or philosophical view points) related to Confucianism allowing students to evaluate the components of value systems within and among cultures.


Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Basé sur l’enseignement de Confucius (551 à 479 avant notre ère), le confucianisme est né en Chine où, dominant pendant plus de deux mille ans, il a influencé la poésie, l’histoire, le gouvernement et la vie sociale.

Le confucianisme prêchait la « règle d’or », traiter les autres comme vous aimeriez être traité. Il croyait au sens moral inné de chacun et que chacun devait montrer sa bonté par de bonnes actions. Confucius enseignait qu’une personne atteignait pleinement son potentiel à l’intérieur de sa famille, où nous avons tous des devoirs et des obligations. Nous voyons dans ses cinq relations humaines, père/fils, mari/femme, frère aîné/ frère cadet, ami/ami et souverain/sujet, que Confucius était patriarche, favorisant l’âge au détriment de la jeunesse, valorisant la famille et encourageant le respect de l’autorité, ce qui était grandement apprécié des empereurs japonais.

Le confucianisme qui a fait son entr&eac Pour en lire plus
Basé sur l’enseignement de Confucius (551 à 479 avant notre ère), le confucianisme est né en Chine où, dominant pendant plus de deux mille ans, il a influencé la poésie, l’histoire, le gouvernement et la vie sociale.

Le confucianisme prêchait la « règle d’or », traiter les autres comme vous aimeriez être traité. Il croyait au sens moral inné de chacun et que chacun devait montrer sa bonté par de bonnes actions. Confucius enseignait qu’une personne atteignait pleinement son potentiel à l’intérieur de sa famille, où nous avons tous des devoirs et des obligations. Nous voyons dans ses cinq relations humaines, père/fils, mari/femme, frère aîné/ frère cadet, ami/ami et souverain/sujet, que Confucius était patriarche, favorisant l’âge au détriment de la jeunesse, valorisant la famille et encourageant le respect de l’autorité, ce qui était grandement apprécié des empereurs japonais.

Le confucianisme qui a fait son entrée au Japon au 6e siècle faisait confiance aux forces yin/yang et aux cinq éléments : le bois, le métal, le feu, l’eau et la terre. Le confucianisme croyait à la vénération ancestrale et à l’harmonie entre les personnes et la nature.

© 2006, La Galerie d'art du Grand Victoria. Tous droits réservés.

spiritualité, le confucianisme, Confucius, philosophie, positivité, chance, générosité, honnêteté, initiative, chances, la patience, futur, erreurs

l'image - Inconnu
l'image - Wikipédia, l’encyclopédie libre

CHINE
JAPON
© Domaine public


Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les objectifs d’apprentissage suivants ont été créés avec des références nombreuses et spécifiques aux Résultats d’apprentissage prescrit (RAP) pour diverses années scolaires et sujets tels que décrits par le ministère de l’Éducation de la province de la Colombie-Britannique. Les parties qui reflètent directement les matières de langue sont en italique. Tous les textes applicables et les autres ressources d’apprentissage sont énumérés dans les bibliographies.

• Les élèves apprendront la différence entre un code de comportement et une croyance religieuse et démontreront ainsi une compréhension des divers systèmes de valeurs dans les cultures et aussi comment les systèmes de croyance incorporés aux activités quotidiennes peuvent contribuer à l’identité des civilisations.
• Les élèves comprendront et évalueront le code établi par Confucius et auront une certaine compréhension des influences culturelles qui ont causé sa popularité et comment plusieurs de ces influences persistent encore dans le Japon contemporain. Par exemple, la notion que chacun a sa place avec ses devoirs et ses obligations, favorisant l’âge au détriment de la jeunesse et le respect de l’autorité permettra aux élèves de comparer les droits individuels et les responsabilités sociales dans diverses cultures.
• Les élèves apprendront une variété de dictons et d’enseignements (ou points de vue philosophiques) associés au confucianisme permettant aux élèves d’évaluer les éléments de systèmes de valeurs dans et entre les cultures.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons