The ancient art of sumo has been a Japanese tradition for over a thousand years, where both form and ceremony continue to play a major role in creating the atmosphere surrounding each bout.

The wrestling takes place in an arena of sand, which was traditionally covered by a fourpillared roof modelled on those of religious buildings. The practice of wrapping these pillars in green, red, white, and black was initiated in the spring of 1858. Each colour represents one of the four seasons: green for spring, the East and Seiryu, the Green Dragon; red for summer, the South and Shujaku, a mythical bird; white for autumn, the West and Byakko, the White Tiger; and black for winter, the North and Genbu, a water spirit. At the foot of each pillar sits a sumo elder who acts as referee.
The ancient art of sumo has been a Japanese tradition for over a thousand years, where both form and ceremony continue to play a major role in creating the atmosphere surrounding each bout.

The wrestling takes place in an arena of sand, which was traditionally covered by a fourpillared roof modelled on those of religious buildings. The practice of wrapping these pillars in green, red, white, and black was initiated in the spring of 1858. Each colour represents one of the four seasons: green for spring, the East and Seiryu, the Green Dragon; red for summer, the South and Shujaku, a mythical bird; white for autumn, the West and Byakko, the White Tiger; and black for winter, the North and Genbu, a water spirit. At the foot of each pillar sits a sumo elder who acts as referee.

© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Baskets of salt are found at the base of two opposite pillars. Salt is symbolic in Japan as a purifying agent. Prior to each match, each combatant scatters salt around the arena in order to cleanse the area in which a violent match is about to take place. The scattering of salt is a tradition that has been practised at every sumo match since it was introduced in the 17th century.
Baskets of salt are found at the base of two opposite pillars. Salt is symbolic in Japan as a purifying agent. Prior to each match, each combatant scatters salt around the arena in order to cleanse the area in which a violent match is about to take place. The scattering of salt is a tradition that has been practised at every sumo match since it was introduced in the 17th century.

© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

An artist’s depiction of sumo wrestlers

National Museum of Western Art, Tokyo, Vancouver Museum, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, The Montre

© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Actually, the art of sumo was less favoured in the Meiji era when Japanese who were more interested in new activities frequently shunned the traditions of earlier times. Today, however, sumo is once again popular, not only in Japan, but also in many Western countries.
Actually, the art of sumo was less favoured in the Meiji era when Japanese who were more interested in new activities frequently shunned the traditions of earlier times. Today, however, sumo is once again popular, not only in Japan, but also in many Western countries.

© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

The formalities of the prebout exercises, during which the opponents stomp their feet, clap noisily, throw salt, glare, and make threatening false starts, contribute to the excitement of the event. However, the bout itself rarely exceeds a minute. The wrestlers focus on pushing, a technique essential to sumo. The winner must either push his opponent out of the ring or cause any part of his body other than his feet to touch the ground. For a sumo wrestler to become Yokozuna, the highest class attainable, he must not only win matches, but also be of sumo "spirit".
The formalities of the prebout exercises, during which the opponents stomp their feet, clap noisily, throw salt, glare, and make threatening false starts, contribute to the excitement of the event. However, the bout itself rarely exceeds a minute. The wrestlers focus on pushing, a technique essential to sumo. The winner must either push his opponent out of the ring or cause any part of his body other than his feet to touch the ground. For a sumo wrestler to become Yokozuna, the highest class attainable, he must not only win matches, but also be of sumo "spirit".

© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.

Triptych woodblock print of a sumo wrestling match with the wrestlers in action, under the buddhist-styled roof, surrounded by an audience-filled arena

Edo-Tokyo Museum

93200920-22
© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Describe sumo wrestling, including its history, traditional practices, the events during a bout, and its spiritual and cultural significance to Japan
  • Explain why sumo was not as popular during the Meiji period as it was previously
  • Relate traditional Japanese sports to traditional sports in their own culture

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le Sumo, discipline ancienne, fait partie des traditions japonaises depuis plus d'un millénaire. De plus, la forme et le cérémonial continuent à jouer un rôle important dans la création de l'atmosphère entourant chaque combat.

Le combat prend place dans une arène recouverte de sable tassé, qui était traditionnellement surplombée par une toiture à quatre piliers, rappelant l'architecture d'édifices religieux. Les piliers furent enveloppés de soie de couleur verte, rouge, blanche ou noire, pour la première fois au printemps 1858. Chaque couleur symbolise l'une des quatre saisons : le vert représente le printemps, l'est et Seiryu, le dragon vert; le rouge, l'été, le sud et Shujaku, un oiseau fabuleux; le blanc, l'automne, l'ouest et Byakko, le tigre blanc et le noir représente l'hiver, le nord et Genbu, un esprit marin. Un ancien lutteur est assis au pied de chaque pilier et agit comme arbitre en cas de désaccord.
Le Sumo, discipline ancienne, fait partie des traditions japonaises depuis plus d'un millénaire. De plus, la forme et le cérémonial continuent à jouer un rôle important dans la création de l'atmosphère entourant chaque combat.

Le combat prend place dans une arène recouverte de sable tassé, qui était traditionnellement surplombée par une toiture à quatre piliers, rappelant l'architecture d'édifices religieux. Les piliers furent enveloppés de soie de couleur verte, rouge, blanche ou noire, pour la première fois au printemps 1858. Chaque couleur symbolise l'une des quatre saisons : le vert représente le printemps, l'est et Seiryu, le dragon vert; le rouge, l'été, le sud et Shujaku, un oiseau fabuleux; le blanc, l'automne, l'ouest et Byakko, le tigre blanc et le noir représente l'hiver, le nord et Genbu, un esprit marin. Un ancien lutteur est assis au pied de chaque pilier et agit comme arbitre en cas de désaccord.

© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. Tous droits réservés.

Des boîtes de sel sont placées au pied de deux piliers opposés. Le sel est un agent purificateur symbolique au Japon. Les lutteurs lancent des poignées de sel sur l’arène avant leur combat. Le lancement du sel vise à purifier la surface avant la lutte intense. La tradition fut introduite au XVIIe siècle.
Des boîtes de sel sont placées au pied de deux piliers opposés. Le sel est un agent purificateur symbolique au Japon. Les lutteurs lancent des poignées de sel sur l’arène avant leur combat. Le lancement du sel vise à purifier la surface avant la lutte intense. La tradition fut introduite au XVIIe siècle.

© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. Tous droits réservés.

Représentation de lutteurs sumo par un artiste.

National Museum of Western Art, Tokyo, Vancouver Museum, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, The Montre

© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. Tous droits réservés.


En fait, le sumo fut délaissé lors de la période Meiji. À cette époque, les Japonais étaient très fascinés par les nouvelles activités et étaient souvent portés à abandonner les anciennes traditions. Heureusement, de nos jours, le sumo est à nouveau populaire, non seulement au Japon, mais aussi dans un grand nombre de pays occidentaux.
En fait, le sumo fut délaissé lors de la période Meiji. À cette époque, les Japonais étaient très fascinés par les nouvelles activités et étaient souvent portés à abandonner les anciennes traditions. Heureusement, de nos jours, le sumo est à nouveau populaire, non seulement au Japon, mais aussi dans un grand nombre de pays occidentaux.

© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. Tous droits réservés.

Les exercices précédant le combat, au cours desquels les adversaires tapent du pied, frappent bruyamment dans leurs mains, jettent du sel en l’air, se regardent fixement et effectuent des faux départs menaçants, tiennent les spectateurs en haleine et font monter la tension. Néanmoins, le combat lui-même ne dure rarement plus d’une minute. Les lutteurs se concentrent sur le poussage de l’adversaire, technique essentielle du Sumo. Le vainqueur doit, soit projeter son adversaire hors de l’arène, soit lui fait toucher le sol autrement qu’avec ses pieds. Pour qu’un lutteur de Sumo obtienne le titre de Yokozuna, la catégorie suprême à laquelle il aspire, il doit non seulement remporter des combats, mais aussi posséder «l’esprit» Sumo.
Les exercices précédant le combat, au cours desquels les adversaires tapent du pied, frappent bruyamment dans leurs mains, jettent du sel en l’air, se regardent fixement et effectuent des faux départs menaçants, tiennent les spectateurs en haleine et font monter la tension. Néanmoins, le combat lui-même ne dure rarement plus d’une minute. Les lutteurs se concentrent sur le poussage de l’adversaire, technique essentielle du Sumo. Le vainqueur doit, soit projeter son adversaire hors de l’arène, soit lui fait toucher le sol autrement qu’avec ses pieds. Pour qu’un lutteur de Sumo obtienne le titre de Yokozuna, la catégorie suprême à laquelle il aspire, il doit non seulement remporter des combats, mais aussi posséder «l’esprit» Sumo.

© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. Tous droits réservés.

Triptique d'estampes sur bois d'une partie de sumo avec les lutteurs en action, sous un toit au style boudhiste, entouré de spectateurs

Musée Edo-Tokyo

93200920-22
© 1999, CHIN-Canadian Heritage Information Network. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L'apprenant va :

  • Description du sumo, y compris son histoire, ses pratiques traditionnelles, ses combats ainsi que sa signification spirituelle et culturelle au Japon.
  • Expliquer la perte de popularité du sumo pendant l’ère Meiji.
  • Faire un parallèle entre les sports japonais traditionnels et ceux de sa propre culture.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons