The typical Japanese interior would have been considered very austere by the standards of Westerners arriving in Japan at the end of the nineteenth century. Rooms were simply decorated, usually with little furniture or decorative objects. Personal belongings were kept on shelves and in chests. The floors were covered with tatami, the matted flooring made in sections measuring six feet by three feet. These mats were laid on the wooden floor, which was usually raised about a foot from the ground to allow the dust of the dry summers to settle below, and to prevent the dampness of the rainy season from rising up. Walls were usually kept free of prints or paintings, with the possible exception of a hanging screen. Rooms were separated by sliding screen doors, of which there are two kinds, the shoji, a sliding door made of translucent rice paper, and the fusama, a wooden framed door heavily covered with opaque paper.
The typical Japanese interior would have been considered very austere by the standards of Westerners arriving in Japan at the end of the nineteenth century. Rooms were simply decorated, usually with little furniture or decorative objects. Personal belongings were kept on shelves and in chests. The floors were covered with tatami, the matted flooring made in sections measuring six feet by three feet. These mats were laid on the wooden floor, which was usually raised about a foot from the ground to allow the dust of the dry summers to settle below, and to prevent the dampness of the rainy season from rising up. Walls were usually kept free of prints or paintings, with the possible exception of a hanging screen. Rooms were separated by sliding screen doors, of which there are two kinds, the shoji, a sliding door made of translucent rice paper, and the fusama, a wooden framed door heavily covered with opaque paper.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

With the introduction of Western consumer goods in the Meiji period, several foreign objects made their way into the traditional Japanese interior. These frequently included a clock, lamps, and umbrella stands. Other western methods that crept into Japanese housing were the use of tiled roofs, replacing the thatched roofing in rural areas, the introduction of glass windows as a means of brightening the frequently dark interiors.
With the introduction of Western consumer goods in the Meiji period, several foreign objects made their way into the traditional Japanese interior. These frequently included a clock, lamps, and umbrella stands. Other western methods that crept into Japanese housing were the use of tiled roofs, replacing the thatched roofing in rural areas, the introduction of glass windows as a means of brightening the frequently dark interiors.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

While the Japanese were eager to build Western-style public buildings, they were less interested in living in Western-style houses. For the most part, it was only in the homes of well-to-do families that one would find the influences of the West, usually consisting of a Western parlour built onto a traditional Japanese house. Only a select few chose to live in Western-style mansions built entirely of brick and stone.

But, because so many Western-style buildings were being built for commercial or governmental use, most Japanese eventually became accustomed to existing in both styles, and elements of Western architecture crept into more residential buildings.

Bureaucrats, doctors, lawyers, and other professionals were more likely to adopt Western living arrangements in support of their government's new enthusiasm for the West. Often re-modelling the houses left vacant by departing samurai Tokugawa supporters, they added European-style second stories or additions, installed glass windows, and decorated the interiors with chairs, desks, and other decorative objects. By the end of the 1880s, an increasing number of brick and stone houses were built by members of Read More
While the Japanese were eager to build Western-style public buildings, they were less interested in living in Western-style houses. For the most part, it was only in the homes of well-to-do families that one would find the influences of the West, usually consisting of a Western parlour built onto a traditional Japanese house. Only a select few chose to live in Western-style mansions built entirely of brick and stone.

But, because so many Western-style buildings were being built for commercial or governmental use, most Japanese eventually became accustomed to existing in both styles, and elements of Western architecture crept into more residential buildings.

Bureaucrats, doctors, lawyers, and other professionals were more likely to adopt Western living arrangements in support of their government's new enthusiasm for the West. Often re-modelling the houses left vacant by departing samurai Tokugawa supporters, they added European-style second stories or additions, installed glass windows, and decorated the interiors with chairs, desks, and other decorative objects. By the end of the 1880s, an increasing number of brick and stone houses were built by members of the wealthy classes.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Typically, a Western room in a Japanese home hardly resembled the lavishly decorated interiors of late-nineteenth century Western residences, where tastes ran to the over accessorized and festooned interior. In Japan, they were more restrained in appearance, furnished with Western chairs and tables, lamps, and often a fireplace. The rooms that were most likely to be decorated in the Western style included a parlour (in addition to a traditional Japanese receiving room); a library or a gentleman’s study, which were considered suitable choices for Western styles. Just as one saw Western influences creeping into traditional Japanese interiors, one also found typical Japanese furnishings in Western interiors. These might include tatami mats, standing screens and hanging scroll paintings.
Typically, a Western room in a Japanese home hardly resembled the lavishly decorated interiors of late-nineteenth century Western residences, where tastes ran to the over accessorized and festooned interior. In Japan, they were more restrained in appearance, furnished with Western chairs and tables, lamps, and often a fireplace. The rooms that were most likely to be decorated in the Western style included a parlour (in addition to a traditional Japanese receiving room); a library or a gentleman’s study, which were considered suitable choices for Western styles. Just as one saw Western influences creeping into traditional Japanese interiors, one also found typical Japanese furnishings in Western interiors. These might include tatami mats, standing screens and hanging scroll paintings.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

The use of chairs in the home was a new phenomenon in late 19th- century Japan that was introduced by Westerners. Traditionally, the Japanese sat on low stools or tatami mats.
The use of chairs in the home was a new phenomenon in late 19th- century Japan that was introduced by Westerners. Traditionally, the Japanese sat on low stools or tatami mats.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

This high-backed chair, believed to be made for the export market or for a wealthy patron, is modelled using a mixture of Western forms and Japanese aesthetics. While the chair back features a phoenix framed by a Shinto shrine gate, and the decorative motifs remain Japanese, the classic form of the chair is more similar to Victorian chairs in the Egyptian style. The clawed feet are also a Western influence.

Vancouver Museum, Gift of Mrs Jonathan Rogers

Various woods, stain, lacquer
h.: 129.5 cm; l.: 62 cm; w.: 61.5 cm
DA 936
© Vancouver Museum


Desks were not part of traditional Japanese furniture manufacture, as the Japanese sat on the floor at low tables (bundai) for writing. Decorated with idealized Japanese landscape panels, this type of furniture was most probably intended for a Western customer.
Desks were not part of traditional Japanese furniture manufacture, as the Japanese sat on the floor at low tables (bundai) for writing. Decorated with idealized Japanese landscape panels, this type of furniture was most probably intended for a Western customer.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

The shape of this roll-top desk is an interesting marriage of Japanese and Western designs. The top section consists of a decorative roof similar to those found on domestic shrines. However the bottom roll-top, pedestal desk is typical of European and American desk designs of the nineteenth century. Decorated with idealized Japanese landscape panels, this type of furniture was most probably intended for a Western customer.

The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Gift of Vivian and David Campbell

Maki-e lacquer on wood, mounts of silver-copper alloy (Shibuichi)
171 x 105.7 x 69.5 cm
971.Df.1
© The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Describe a traditional Japanese interior
  • Describe the Western influences present during the Meiji period on homes, interiors, and furniture
  • Appreciate that cultural shifts in style are often an amalgamation of styles rather than a replacement of styles
  • Appreciate the aesthetic qualities of Japanese artistry
  • Relate traditional Japanese interiors and furniture to the interiors and furniture of their own culture

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

L’aménagement intérieur typique d’une maison japonaise aurait semblé très austère selon les normes des Occidentaux, lors de leur arrivée au Japon, à la fin du XIXe siècle. Les pièces étaient décorées simplement. De plus, les meubles et objets décoratifs étaient rares. On rangeait les effets personnels sur des étagères et dans des coffres. Les planchers étaient recouverts de tatamis, des nattes tressées faites en sections, mesurant six pieds sur trois pieds. Les nattes étaient posées sur le plancher en bois, qui était surélevé à environ un pied du sol. De cette façon, le sol recueillait la poussière durant les étés secs et il absorbait l’humidité durant la saison des pluies. Les murs étaient habituellement nus, sans estampes ni peintures, à l’exception parfois d’un rouleau. Les pièces étaient séparées par deux types de parois coulissantes, les shoji, des cloisons coulissantes faites de papier de riz Pour en lire plus
L’aménagement intérieur typique d’une maison japonaise aurait semblé très austère selon les normes des Occidentaux, lors de leur arrivée au Japon, à la fin du XIXe siècle. Les pièces étaient décorées simplement. De plus, les meubles et objets décoratifs étaient rares. On rangeait les effets personnels sur des étagères et dans des coffres. Les planchers étaient recouverts de tatamis, des nattes tressées faites en sections, mesurant six pieds sur trois pieds. Les nattes étaient posées sur le plancher en bois, qui était surélevé à environ un pied du sol. De cette façon, le sol recueillait la poussière durant les étés secs et il absorbait l’humidité durant la saison des pluies. Les murs étaient habituellement nus, sans estampes ni peintures, à l’exception parfois d’un rouleau. Les pièces étaient séparées par deux types de parois coulissantes, les shoji, des cloisons coulissantes faites de papier de riz translucide et les fusuma, des portes à glissière en papier opaque très épais.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

L'introduction de produits de consommation occidentaux au cours de l'ère Meiji entraîna l'apparition de plusieurs articles étrangers à l'intérieur des maisons japonaises traditionnelles. On y retrouvait souvent les objets suivants : une horloge, des lampes et des porte-parapluies. Des techniques occidentales s'incorporèrent aussi aux habitations japonaises : par exemple, l'usage de la tuile pour les toits, au lieu de chaume dans les régions rurales et l'introduction de fenêtres en vitre afin d'éclairer les intérieurs, qui étaient souvent sombres.
L'introduction de produits de consommation occidentaux au cours de l'ère Meiji entraîna l'apparition de plusieurs articles étrangers à l'intérieur des maisons japonaises traditionnelles. On y retrouvait souvent les objets suivants : une horloge, des lampes et des porte-parapluies. Des techniques occidentales s'incorporèrent aussi aux habitations japonaises : par exemple, l'usage de la tuile pour les toits, au lieu de chaume dans les régions rurales et l'introduction de fenêtres en vitre afin d'éclairer les intérieurs, qui étaient souvent sombres.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Même si les Japonais se montraient enthousiastes en ce qui concerne la construction d'édifices publics de style occidental, ils étaient en revanche peu intéressés à habiter dans des maisons de style occidental.  En général, l'influence occidentale, caractérisée par l'ajout d'un petit salon occidental à la maison japonaise traditionnelle, se retrouvait uniquement chez les familles bien nanties. Seulement quelques privilégiés choisirent de vivre dans des résidences construites entièrement en brique et en pierre.

Cependant, un très grand nombre d'édifices de style occidental servaient de commerces ou de bureaux gouvernementaux, c'est pourquoi la plupart des Japonais finirent par s'habituer aux deux styles architecturaux, et des éléments de l'architecture occidentale s'incorporèrent dans de plus en plus d'habitations.

Les fonctionnaires, les médecins, les avocats et les autres membres des professions libérales étaient plus portés à aménager leur maison à l'occidentale, appu Pour en lire plus
Même si les Japonais se montraient enthousiastes en ce qui concerne la construction d'édifices publics de style occidental, ils étaient en revanche peu intéressés à habiter dans des maisons de style occidental.  En général, l'influence occidentale, caractérisée par l'ajout d'un petit salon occidental à la maison japonaise traditionnelle, se retrouvait uniquement chez les familles bien nanties. Seulement quelques privilégiés choisirent de vivre dans des résidences construites entièrement en brique et en pierre.

Cependant, un très grand nombre d'édifices de style occidental servaient de commerces ou de bureaux gouvernementaux, c'est pourquoi la plupart des Japonais finirent par s'habituer aux deux styles architecturaux, et des éléments de l'architecture occidentale s'incorporèrent dans de plus en plus d'habitations.

Les fonctionnaires, les médecins, les avocats et les autres membres des professions libérales étaient plus portés à aménager leur maison à l'occidentale, appuyant ainsi le récent engouement de leur gouvernement pour l'Occident. Souvent, au moment du réaménagement des maisons laissées vacantes après le départ des samouraï partisans des Tokugawa, ils ajoutaient un premier étage de style européen ou des annexes, installaient des fenêtres en vitre et décoraient l'intérieur avec des chaises, des bureaux et d'autres objets décoratifs. Dès la fin des années 1880, un nombre croissant de maisons en briques et en pierres furent construites par des membres des classes fortunées.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

En règle générale, dans une maison japonaise, les pièces occidentales ne ressemblaient guère aux aménagements intérieurs somptueux des résidences occidentales de la fin du XIXe siècle, époque où l’on appréciait des intérieurs surchargés de décorations et d’accessoires. Au Japon, l’aménagement intérieur était plus sobre. En effet, les pièces étaient meublées de chaises et de tables occidentales, de lampes et elles comprenaient souvent un foyer. On avait tendance à aménager à l’occidentale le petit salon (en plus de la salle de réception traditionnelle japonaise), la bibliothèque ou le cabinet de travail pour homme, que l’on jugeait faits pour les styles occidentaux. Si d’une part, des influences occidentales se glissaient dans les intérieurs japonais traditionnels, d’autre part, on trouvait aussi des mobiliers typiquement japonais dans des maisons occidentales, entre autres des tatamis (nattes de paille), des paravents et des peintures sur rou Pour en lire plus
En règle générale, dans une maison japonaise, les pièces occidentales ne ressemblaient guère aux aménagements intérieurs somptueux des résidences occidentales de la fin du XIXe siècle, époque où l’on appréciait des intérieurs surchargés de décorations et d’accessoires. Au Japon, l’aménagement intérieur était plus sobre. En effet, les pièces étaient meublées de chaises et de tables occidentales, de lampes et elles comprenaient souvent un foyer. On avait tendance à aménager à l’occidentale le petit salon (en plus de la salle de réception traditionnelle japonaise), la bibliothèque ou le cabinet de travail pour homme, que l’on jugeait faits pour les styles occidentaux. Si d’une part, des influences occidentales se glissaient dans les intérieurs japonais traditionnels, d’autre part, on trouvait aussi des mobiliers typiquement japonais dans des maisons occidentales, entre autres des tatamis (nattes de paille), des paravents et des peintures sur rouleaux.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Ce n’est qu’après l’arrivée des occidentaux, vers la fin du XIXe siècle, que les chaises furent introduites au Japon. Les Japonais avaient l’habitude de s’asseoir sur des tabourets bas ou sur des tatamis.
Ce n’est qu’après l’arrivée des occidentaux, vers la fin du XIXe siècle, que les chaises furent introduites au Japon. Les Japonais avaient l’habitude de s’asseoir sur des tabourets bas ou sur des tatamis.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

On suppose que cette chaise au dossier élevé fut fabriquée pour l'exportation ou encore pour un riche client. Elle combine des formes occidentales et l'esthétique japonais. Bien que le dossier de la chaise représente un phénix entouré d'une barrière de temple shintô et que les motifs décoratifs soient de type japonais, la forme classique de la chaise ressemble davantage aux chaises victoriennes de style égyptien. Les pieds en forme de griffes d'animaux sont aussi une influence de l'occident.

Vancouver Museum, Don de Mme Jonathan Rogers

Différentes essences de bois, teinture, laque
h. : 129,5 cm ; l. : 62 cm ; larg. : 61,5 cm
DA 936
© Vancouver Museum


Les bureaux ne faisaient pas partie des meubles traditionnels fabriqués au Japon, puisque les Japonais s’assoyaient par terre pour écrire sur des tables basses (bundai). Ce genre de meuble était probablement destiné à un client occidental.
Les bureaux ne faisaient pas partie des meubles traditionnels fabriqués au Japon, puisque les Japonais s’assoyaient par terre pour écrire sur des tables basses (bundai). Ce genre de meuble était probablement destiné à un client occidental.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

La forme de ce bureau à cylindre est un mariage intéressant de motifs japonais et occidentaux. La partie supérieure comprend un toit décoratif semblable à ceux que l'on retrouvait dans les résidences japonaises, mais le reste du meuble, soit le bureau à cylindre avec les pieds à colonnes est un modèle courant de bureau européen et américain du XIXe siècle.

Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, Don de Vivian et de David Campbell

Bois, laqué en hiramaki, hirame, aogai et fundame sur fond de shu-nutri
h. : 171cm ; larg. : 105,7cm ; prof. : 69,5cm
971.Df.1
© Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :

  • décrire un décor intérieur japonais traditionnel;
  • expliquer les influences occidentales qui ont teinté l’architecture, l’aménagement intérieur et l’ameublement pendant l’ère Meiji;
  • constater que l’évolution culturelle des styles donne souvent lieu à un mélange plutôt qu’à un remplacement des styles;
  • apprécier la qualité esthétique de l’art japonais;
  • faire un parallèle entre l’ameublement et l’aménagement intérieur traditionnels du Japon avec ceux de sa propre culture.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons