During the Edo period, metalworkers were kept busy making swords, daggers, and tsubas for samurai clients. However, the metalworkers turned to other means of survival when the Restoration government prevented samurai from wearing swords. During the Meiji, metalworkers made vases, sculptures, and other decorative objects for their new clients in Japan and abroad. Japanese artists working in bronze and other metals were recognized for their excellence at the Vienna exhibition of 1873, and the later Exposition of metalwork in Nuremberg, in 1885.
During the Edo period, metalworkers were kept busy making swords, daggers, and tsubas for samurai clients. However, the metalworkers turned to other means of survival when the Restoration government prevented samurai from wearing swords. During the Meiji, metalworkers made vases, sculptures, and other decorative objects for their new clients in Japan and abroad. Japanese artists working in bronze and other metals were recognized for their excellence at the Vienna exhibition of 1873, and the later Exposition of metalwork in Nuremberg, in 1885.

© 1999, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

This bronze elephant shows the influence of French animal sculptors such Antoine-Louis Barye (1796-1875), whose bronze sculptures of elephants closely resemble this one.

Mark of Jozan or Josan
Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, Bequest of George J. Alexander

Bronze, ivory and glass
h.: 52 cm
© Art Gallery of Greater Victoria


The shape of these incense burners shows the influence of Victorian silver designs, resembling large urns, or kettles that one might find in a Western interior. Each burner stands on five legs that grow out of the mouth of monsters. There are two dragons for handles, and another sitting on the lid. Incised both front and back with Japanese motifs, they are an example of Japanese interpretation of the confusion of Victorian designs that were introduced to Japan during the Meiji period.

The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Gift of Dr. William H. Pugsley

Bronze inlaid with gold
53.3 x 20.3 x 19.2 cm
1981.Ee.3a-b
© The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts


This rectangular, gold-decorated, copper covered box is in the form of two intersecting boxes. The central decoration of a an elderly man facing a young child holding a plum branch may be an allusion to the artist-poet Sugaware-no-Michizane, chancellor to the 9th century Emperor Daigo. The box, intended for use during the incense game, is decorated in several colours of gold.

Komei
The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Gift of Mr. and Mrs. Neil B. Ivory

Copper alloy inlaid with gold
4.7 x 8.8 x 7 cm
1983.Ee.7
© The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts


These elongated, baluster-shaped bronze vases were undoubtably made for the export market, or for use in a Western-style interior found in a Japanese house. The busy design, which covers the vases front and back, is more Victorian in style than Japanese.

The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Anomymous gift

Bronze inlaid with copper alloy
1989.Ee.2-3
© The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Contrast the metalwork of Japan, before and during Meiji period
  • Describe the Western influences present during the Meiji period on metalwork
  • Appreciate the aesthetic qualities of Japanese artistry
  • Recognize, in words and pictures, elements of Japanese decorative arts
  • Relate Japanese decorative art themes and objects made from metals to those found in their own culture

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Au cours de la période Edo, les ferronniers étaient occupés à la tâche, fabriquant épées, dagues et tsuba pour les samouraïs. Ils durent néanmoins trouver un nouveau gagne-pain au moment où le gouvernement Meiji interdit aux samouraïs de porter le sabre. Durant l’époque Meiji, les ferronniers produisirent des vases, des sculptures et d’autres objets décoratifs pour leurs nouveaux clients au Japon et à l’étranger. Cet éléphant en bronze fait ressortir l’influence des sculpteurs animaliers français, comme Antoine-Louis Barye (1796 - 1875), qui fabriquait des sculptures en bronze comparables à celle-ci. Les artistes japonais travaillant le bronze et d’autres métaux furent reconnus pour la qualité de leur travail à l’Exposition internationale de Vienne en 1873 et plus tard à l’exposition de travail des métaux à Nuremberg en 1885.
Au cours de la période Edo, les ferronniers étaient occupés à la tâche, fabriquant épées, dagues et tsuba pour les samouraïs. Ils durent néanmoins trouver un nouveau gagne-pain au moment où le gouvernement Meiji interdit aux samouraïs de porter le sabre. Durant l’époque Meiji, les ferronniers produisirent des vases, des sculptures et d’autres objets décoratifs pour leurs nouveaux clients au Japon et à l’étranger. Cet éléphant en bronze fait ressortir l’influence des sculpteurs animaliers français, comme Antoine-Louis Barye (1796 - 1875), qui fabriquait des sculptures en bronze comparables à celle-ci. Les artistes japonais travaillant le bronze et d’autres métaux furent reconnus pour la qualité de leur travail à l’Exposition internationale de Vienne en 1873 et plus tard à l’exposition de travail des métaux à Nuremberg en 1885.

© 1999, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Cet éléphant en bronze fait ressortir l'influence des sculpteurs animaliers français, comme Antoine-Louis Barye (1796 - 1875), qui fabriquait des sculptures en bronze comparables à celle-ci.

Marque de Jozan ou Josan
Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, Don de George J. Alexander

Bronze, ivoire et verre
haut. : 52 cm
© Art Gallery of Greater Victoria


La forme de ces brûle-parfum révèle l'influence des pièces d'argenterie victoriennes, elle rappelle les urnes ou bouilloires que l'on pourrait trouver dans une maison occidentale. Chaque brûle-parfum se tient sur cinq pieds qui jaillissent de la bouche de monstres. Deux dragons servent de poignées, et un troisième est sur le couvercle. Des motifs japonais qui sont gravés présentent un exemple de l'interprétation japonaise du désordre des motifs victoriens qui furent introduits durant l'ère Meiji

Musée des beaux-arts de Montéal, Don du Dr William H. Pugsley

Bronze, incrustations d'or
53,3 cm x 20,3 cm x 19,2 cm
1981.Ee.3a-b
© Musée des beaux-arts de Montéal


Ce coffret rectangulaire incrusté d'or et recouvert de cuivre a l'aspect de deux boîtes qui s'entrecroisent. La décoration principale, qui représente un vieil homme assis devant un jeune enfant tenant une branche de prunier, fait peut-être allusion à l'artiste poète Sugawara-no-Michizane, un homme d'État auprès de l'empereur Daigo, au IXe siècle. Le coffret, utilisé durant la cérémonie de l'encens, est orné de plusieurs teintes d'or.

Komei
Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, Don de M. et de Mme Neil B. Ivory

Alliage de cuivre, incrustations d'or
4,7 cm x 8,8 cm x 7 cm
1983.Ee.7
© Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal


Ces vases-balustres allongés en bronze furent sans aucun doute produits pour le marché d'exportation ou pour décorer l'une des pièces d'une maison japonaise aménagée à l'occidentale. Le motif à dessin serré, qui couvre les deux faces des vases, rappelle davantage le style Victorien que le style japonais.

Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, Don anonyme

Bronze, alliage de cuivre
1989.Ee.2-3
© Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • comparer le travail des métaux au Japon avant et pendant l’ère Meiji ;
  • décrire les influences occidentales qui ont teinté les objets de métal de l’ère Meiji ;
  • apprécier la qualité esthétique de l’art japonais ;
  • reconnaître, par des mots et des images, des objets d’art décoratifs japonais ;
  • faire un parallèle entre les thèmes et objets d’art décoratifs faits de métal au Japon, et ceux de sa propre culture.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons