Between 1860 and 1940, Russia and Canada had radically different cultural and artistic environments. Literature, theatre, music, ballet and the visual arts reached new heights in Russia at the turn of the twentieth century, due to enlightened patronage. In Canada, although there was some emerging activity in the 1860s, the development of the arts was more modest because artists were still marginal figures in a society that was essentially concerned with its economic growth.

Nonetheless, the painters of both countries were driven by the desire to represent the local landscape and to highlight its special characteristics. Their works reflected the importance of landscape in Russian and Canadian identity. Their modes of representation gradually cast off outside influences. The painters focused mainly on rural scenes yet cityscapes sometimes drew their attention, attesting to changing lifestyles and their subsequent effect on the architectural environment.

This "national" affirmation went through a variety of phases. In Russia, from the very first travelling exhibition of itinerant artists known as the Wanderers in 1871, artists asserted their intention Read More
Between 1860 and 1940, Russia and Canada had radically different cultural and artistic environments. Literature, theatre, music, ballet and the visual arts reached new heights in Russia at the turn of the twentieth century, due to enlightened patronage. In Canada, although there was some emerging activity in the 1860s, the development of the arts was more modest because artists were still marginal figures in a society that was essentially concerned with its economic growth.

Nonetheless, the painters of both countries were driven by the desire to represent the local landscape and to highlight its special characteristics. Their works reflected the importance of landscape in Russian and Canadian identity. Their modes of representation gradually cast off outside influences. The painters focused mainly on rural scenes yet cityscapes sometimes drew their attention, attesting to changing lifestyles and their subsequent effect on the architectural environment.

This "national" affirmation went through a variety of phases. In Russia, from the very first travelling exhibition of itinerant artists known as the Wanderers in 1871, artists asserted their intention to reject foreign painting conventions. Later, other painters would draw inspiration from Russian popular culture in order to arrive at a new form of art. In Canada, as early as the 1870s, the Luminist painters adopted a more American perspective on painting. At the end of the nineteenth century, some artists adapted Impressionist techniques to conditions specific to Canada. In the 1920s, the Group of Seven were taken with the uncharted wilderness, leading to a distinctive image of the Canadian landscape.

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Painting

Winter Landscap, par Alexei Kondratyevich Savrasov (1830-1897).

Alexei Kondratyevich Savrasov
Musée des beaux-arts de Samara
n.d.
oil on canvas
54 x 71.5 cm
© Musée des beaux-arts de Samara


Savrasov’s work around Moscow, in the northern provinces and near the Volga, was prolific. Winter Landscape reminds us of the emotions so aptly expressed by the Russian poet Nikolai Alexeyevich Nekrasov: “Nature is the ally of the poverty that surrounds us!” The empty road that attracts our gaze, leading to a small village barely visible on the hillside, evokes a painful feeling of poverty and abandonment. The dark grey colours accentuate this negative impression that nature is as unhappy as man.
Savrasov’s work around Moscow, in the northern provinces and near the Volga, was prolific. Winter Landscape reminds us of the emotions so aptly expressed by the Russian poet Nikolai Alexeyevich Nekrasov: “Nature is the ally of the poverty that surrounds us!” The empty road that attracts our gaze, leading to a small village barely visible on the hillside, evokes a painful feeling of poverty and abandonment. The dark grey colours accentuate this negative impression that nature is as unhappy as man.

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Painting

Poplars, by Fyodor Aleksandrovich Vasiliev (1850-1873), 1870.

Fiodor Alexandrovitch Vassiliev
Smolensk State Museum-Reserve
1870
oil on canvas
43.7 x 65.2 cm
© Smolensk State Museum-Reserve


This painting by Fyodor Vasiliev was painted shortly before his death in Ukraine, at “Khoten,” the estate of Count S.G. Stroganov. The composition is typical of the artist’s style; as is almost always the case with Vasiliev, there is a lane crossing the painting diagonally. The line of the lane is interrupted towards the centre of the canvas by a small white building. Vasiliev’s tragic premonition that he would die soon comes forcefully to the surface in this landscape. The contrasts between light and shadow, the alternation of horizontal planes, and the heavy clouds in a stormy sky all combine to powerfully reflect not only the individuality of the landscape itself, but also the torment in the artist’s soul.
This painting by Fyodor Vasiliev was painted shortly before his death in Ukraine, at “Khoten,” the estate of Count S.G. Stroganov. The composition is typical of the artist’s style; as is almost always the case with Vasiliev, there is a lane crossing the painting diagonally. The line of the lane is interrupted towards the centre of the canvas by a small white building. Vasiliev’s tragic premonition that he would die soon comes forcefully to the surface in this landscape. The contrasts between light and shadow, the alternation of horizontal planes, and the heavy clouds in a stormy sky all combine to powerfully reflect not only the individuality of the landscape itself, but also the torment in the artist’s soul.

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Painting

The Rooks Have Arrived, by Alexei Kondratyevich Savrasov, 1871.

Alexeї Kondratievitch Savrassov
State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow
1871
oil on canvas
62 x 48.5 cm
© State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow


This painting, Savrasov’s most famous, is one of the best examples of poetic realism in landscape art. The artist painted this work in the village of Molvitino in the Kostroma region. The theme is very modest: Savrasov shows a dull spring day with some small curved birch trees, a tiny church badly in need of fresh paint, rooks heralding the spring with cawing, and dark earth beginning to show under the melting snow. The whole of nature is awaiting the renewal of life that comes with spring. Behind this thoroughly familiar corner of Central Russia is a vast panorama showing a flat valley and a river showing through the ice. The sunlight breaking through the cloud cover enlivens the whole landscape. This masterpiece of Russian painting introduces the theme of harmony between nature and the moods of man, a theme also depicted by Levitan in his country paintings, which show evidence of the painter’s emotions. Savrasov was one of the first to choose the path of artistic comprehension of reality. He was criticized by some who felt that his interpretation of painting was too prosaic. In fact, what he was Read More
This painting, Savrasov’s most famous, is one of the best examples of poetic realism in landscape art. The artist painted this work in the village of Molvitino in the Kostroma region. The theme is very modest: Savrasov shows a dull spring day with some small curved birch trees, a tiny church badly in need of fresh paint, rooks heralding the spring with cawing, and dark earth beginning to show under the melting snow. The whole of nature is awaiting the renewal of life that comes with spring. Behind this thoroughly familiar corner of Central Russia is a vast panorama showing a flat valley and a river showing through the ice. The sunlight breaking through the cloud cover enlivens the whole landscape. This masterpiece of Russian painting introduces the theme of harmony between nature and the moods of man, a theme also depicted by Levitan in his country paintings, which show evidence of the painter’s emotions. Savrasov was one of the first to choose the path of artistic comprehension of reality. He was criticized by some who felt that his interpretation of painting was too prosaic. In fact, what he was attempting was to unite the “truth of life” and the “poetry of art.”

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Painting

A Thaw, by Fydor Alexandrovich Vasiliev (1850-1873), 1871.

Fiodor Alexandrovitch Vassiliev
State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow
1871
oil on canvas
53.5 x 107 cm
© State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow


Vasiliev’s world-view was not far removed from that of Romanticism. By aspiring to express strong feelings, the artist was attempting to depict the complex metamorphoses of the sky, as well as spectacular and unusual states of nature: the tension before a storm or the thaw in midwinter. The painting uses the warm range of gold, brown and olive colours that the painter loved so dearly; the look is almost monochromatic. The work, which is characterized by complex relationships among the colours, was admired by Vasiliev’s contemporaries because of the carefully chosen colours and refined execution. The horizontal composition of the painting accentuates the silent and interminable nature of the valley landscape. Two solitary travellers have stopped, hesitant, in the middle of the road, before a large expanse of melted snow near a stream. They appear to be lost in the sad winter space of Central Russia, a space that is overwhelming because of its immensity. A tentative sunbeam, which seems to be blessing the travellers on their forlorn journey, breaks through a dense cover of grey cloud. This painting Read More
Vasiliev’s world-view was not far removed from that of Romanticism. By aspiring to express strong feelings, the artist was attempting to depict the complex metamorphoses of the sky, as well as spectacular and unusual states of nature: the tension before a storm or the thaw in midwinter. The painting uses the warm range of gold, brown and olive colours that the painter loved so dearly; the look is almost monochromatic. The work, which is characterized by complex relationships among the colours, was admired by Vasiliev’s contemporaries because of the carefully chosen colours and refined execution. The horizontal composition of the painting accentuates the silent and interminable nature of the valley landscape. Two solitary travellers have stopped, hesitant, in the middle of the road, before a large expanse of melted snow near a stream. They appear to be lost in the sad winter space of Central Russia, a space that is overwhelming because of its immensity. A tentative sunbeam, which seems to be blessing the travellers on their forlorn journey, breaks through a dense cover of grey cloud. This painting was purchased by P.M. Tretyakov, and a copy was commissioned by Emperor Alexander III for the Russian Museum.

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Painting

A Coppice (at midday), by Ivan Ivanovich Shishkin (1832-1898), 1872.

Ivan Ivanovich Shishkin
Irkutsk Regional Art Museum named after V. P. Sukachev
1872
oil on canvas
121 x 207 cm
© Irkutsk Regional Art Museum


This Shishkin painting shows a clearing in a forest grove. This work, which touches us and at the same time gives the impression of déjà vu, is striking in terms of the dimensions of the landscape represented. The tiny silhouettes of the peasants and of the cows grazing in the meadow are not the main subject, but rather an organic part of the work, which makes it more alive and more authentic. Although full of imagery, this canvas shows no signs of artifice. The painter found in nature itself a way to create this expressive composition, a remarkable landscape that abounds in air and light. The observer’s eye is effortlessly drawn to the moist meadow, the clods of earth in the swamp, and the smooth surface of the lake, and is eventually attracted to the depths of the painting. The paint is applied to the canvas in thick, dense and rich layers, which harmonizes the moss-covered clumps of earth, the clouds pierced by the rays of the sun, and the delicate ornamentation of the branches.
This Shishkin painting shows a clearing in a forest grove. This work, which touches us and at the same time gives the impression of déjà vu, is striking in terms of the dimensions of the landscape represented. The tiny silhouettes of the peasants and of the cows grazing in the meadow are not the main subject, but rather an organic part of the work, which makes it more alive and more authentic. Although full of imagery, this canvas shows no signs of artifice. The painter found in nature itself a way to create this expressive composition, a remarkable landscape that abounds in air and light. The observer’s eye is effortlessly drawn to the moist meadow, the clods of earth in the swamp, and the smooth surface of the lake, and is eventually attracted to the depths of the painting. The paint is applied to the canvas in thick, dense and rich layers, which harmonizes the moss-covered clumps of earth, the clouds pierced by the rays of the sun, and the delicate ornamentation of the branches.

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Painting

A Birch Grove, by Arkhip Ivanovich Kuindzhi (1842-1910), 1879.

Arkhip Ivanovich Kuindzhi
State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow
1879
oil on canvas
97 x 181 cm
© State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow


A Birch Grove is one of the few paintings by Kuindzhi in which a panoramic approach and a very high sky are absent. In this painting, he depicts a mundane theme—nature in Central Russia. In a green clearing, among birch trees illuminated by the bright rays of a summer sun, the forest stream flows along its winding path. Despite the simplicity of the theme, there is nothing of the ordinary about the painting. The difference in lighting on the right and left gives the impression of artistic experimentation. The rather ornamental style is strengthened by the daring simplification of the shapes, the flattened treatment of the background and the accurate symmetry and consistent alternation of light and shadow. All of this anticipates discoveries of a later genre in painting, more specifically art nouveau. Also noteworthy are the intensity of the bright stream, which emanates from the sky, as well as the absence of a luminous atmosphere that would soften the contrasts between the bright colours, reminiscent of festive summer hues. Those contrasts might be considered so Read More
A Birch Grove is one of the few paintings by Kuindzhi in which a panoramic approach and a very high sky are absent. In this painting, he depicts a mundane theme—nature in Central Russia. In a green clearing, among birch trees illuminated by the bright rays of a summer sun, the forest stream flows along its winding path. Despite the simplicity of the theme, there is nothing of the ordinary about the painting. The difference in lighting on the right and left gives the impression of artistic experimentation. The rather ornamental style is strengthened by the daring simplification of the shapes, the flattened treatment of the background and the accurate symmetry and consistent alternation of light and shadow. All of this anticipates discoveries of a later genre in painting, more specifically art nouveau. Also noteworthy are the intensity of the bright stream, which emanates from the sky, as well as the absence of a luminous atmosphere that would soften the contrasts between the bright colours, reminiscent of festive summer hues. Those contrasts might be considered somewhat daring for advocates of realism.

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Develop an understanding of the geographic influences on culture
  • Understand that art can represent the experience of people
  • Examine how major dominant European art movements influenced the interpretation of the landscape in Russian painting
  • Be aware of similarities and differences in landscape painting between Russia and Canada prior to 1940
  • Appreciate the development of a distinctly Russian style of landscape painting
  • Respond critically to a variety of art styles
  • Recognize the emotional impact of art

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Entre 1860 et 1940, les milieux culturels et artistiques de la Russie et du Canada sont radicalement différents. En Russie, la littérature, le théâtre, la musique, le ballet et les arts visuels sont soutenus par un mécénat éclairé et connaissent un apogée au début du 20e siècle. Au Canada, bien que l’on perçoive une émulation dans les années 1860, la vie artistique se manifeste de façon beaucoup plus modeste ; les artistes font encore figure de marginaux dans un milieu essentiellement préoccupé par son développement économique.

Pourtant, une même volonté de représenter le paysage local selon ses propres caractéristiques anime les peintres des deux pays. L’idée de considérer le paysage comme un reflet de l’identité russe ou canadienne se manifeste dans leurs œuvres. Les styles de représentation se libèrent peu à peu des influences extérieures. Les peintres s’attachent le plus souvent à représenter le paysage rura Pour en lire plus
Entre 1860 et 1940, les milieux culturels et artistiques de la Russie et du Canada sont radicalement différents. En Russie, la littérature, le théâtre, la musique, le ballet et les arts visuels sont soutenus par un mécénat éclairé et connaissent un apogée au début du 20e siècle. Au Canada, bien que l’on perçoive une émulation dans les années 1860, la vie artistique se manifeste de façon beaucoup plus modeste ; les artistes font encore figure de marginaux dans un milieu essentiellement préoccupé par son développement économique.

Pourtant, une même volonté de représenter le paysage local selon ses propres caractéristiques anime les peintres des deux pays. L’idée de considérer le paysage comme un reflet de l’identité russe ou canadienne se manifeste dans leurs œuvres. Les styles de représentation se libèrent peu à peu des influences extérieures. Les peintres s’attachent le plus souvent à représenter le paysage rural, mais ils s’intéressent parfois aussi au paysage urbain, qui exprime à la fois les transformations qui s’opèrent dans les modes de vie et leurs conséquences sur l’environnement architectural.

Cette affirmation « nationale » connaît différentes phases. En Russie, dès la première exposition itinérante des peintres « Ambulants », en 1871, les artistes déclarent leur intention de rejeter les grands courants de la peinture étrangère. Plus tard, d’autres peintres puiseront leur inspiration au cœur de la riche culture populaire russe afin de créer un art nouveau. Au Canada, dès les années 1870, les peintres « luministes » posent un regard plus américain sur le paysage. À la fin du 19e siècle, certains adaptent les techniques impressionnistes aux conditions particulières du pays. Dans les années 1920, l’intérêt du Groupe des Sept pour les espaces sauvages et inexplorés impose une image typique du paysage canadien.

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Peinture

>i>Paysage d’hiver, by Alexeї Kondratievitch Savrassov (1830-1897).

Alexeї Kondratievitch Savrassov
Musée des beaux-arts de Samara
n.d.
huile sur toile
54 x 71,5 cm
© Musée des beaux-arts de Samara


Le travail effectué par Savrassov dans les environs de Moscou, ainsi que dans les provinces du nord et près de la Volga, a été très productif. Le tableau Paysage d’hiver nous rappelle bien l’émotion si justement exprimée par le poète russe NikolaÏ Alexeïevitch Nekrassov : « La nature est l’alliée de la pauvreté qui nous entoure ! » Le chemin désert qui entraîne notre regard vers un petit village perdu sur la colline, provoque un sentiment douloureux de misère et d’abandon. Le coloris gris foncé accentue cette impression négative : la nature est aussi malheureuse que l’homme.
Le travail effectué par Savrassov dans les environs de Moscou, ainsi que dans les provinces du nord et près de la Volga, a été très productif. Le tableau Paysage d’hiver nous rappelle bien l’émotion si justement exprimée par le poète russe NikolaÏ Alexeïevitch Nekrassov : « La nature est l’alliée de la pauvreté qui nous entoure ! » Le chemin désert qui entraîne notre regard vers un petit village perdu sur la colline, provoque un sentiment douloureux de misère et d’abandon. Le coloris gris foncé accentue cette impression négative : la nature est aussi malheureuse que l’homme.

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Peinture

Les Peupliers, par Fiodor Alexandrovitch Vassiliev (1850-1873), 1870.

Fiodor Alexandrovitch Vassiliev
Musée-réserve national de Smolensk
1870
huile sur toile
43,7 x 65,2 cm
© Musée-réserve national de Smolensk


Ce tableau de Fiodor Vassiliev a été peint, peu de temps avant sa mort, en Ukraine, à « Khoten », le domaine du comte S.G. Stroganov. La composition de cette toile est typique du style de l’artiste ; comme c’est presque toujours le cas chez Vassiliev, le spectateur peut apercevoir une allée s’enfonçant, de façon diagonale, dans la toile. La rupture du dessin de cette allée se produit au centre du tableau, au moyen d’une petite construction blanche. Le pressentiment tragique du peintre se sachant condamné à une mort proche, s’exprime dans ce paysage avec une très grande force. Les contrastes de la lumière et de l’ombre, l’alternance des plans horizontaux, les nuages lourds du ciel orageux reflètent, avec la même puissance, la spécificité du paysage, ainsi que les tourments de l’âme de l’artiste.
Ce tableau de Fiodor Vassiliev a été peint, peu de temps avant sa mort, en Ukraine, à « Khoten », le domaine du comte S.G. Stroganov. La composition de cette toile est typique du style de l’artiste ; comme c’est presque toujours le cas chez Vassiliev, le spectateur peut apercevoir une allée s’enfonçant, de façon diagonale, dans la toile. La rupture du dessin de cette allée se produit au centre du tableau, au moyen d’une petite construction blanche. Le pressentiment tragique du peintre se sachant condamné à une mort proche, s’exprime dans ce paysage avec une très grande force. Les contrastes de la lumière et de l’ombre, l’alternance des plans horizontaux, les nuages lourds du ciel orageux reflètent, avec la même puissance, la spécificité du paysage, ainsi que les tourments de l’âme de l’artiste.

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Peinture

Les Freux sont arrivés, par Alexeї Kondratievitch Savrassov, 1871.

Alexeї Kondratievitch Savrassov
Galerie nationale Tretiakov (Moscou)
1871
huile sur toile
62 x 48,5 cm
© Galerie nationale Tretiakov (Moscou)


Cette toile, la plus célèbre de Savrassov, est l’un des meilleurs exemples du réalisme poétique dans l’art paysager. L’artiste a peint cette œuvre dans le village de Molvitino, dans la région de Kostroma. Le motif choisi est très modeste : Savrassov met en scène une journée printanière peu ensoleillée, de petits bouleaux courbés, une église menue qui n’a pas été repeinte depuis longtemps, des freux qui croassent, annonciateurs du printemps, une terre noire qui se libère de la neige fondante. Toute la nature qui attend le renouvellement prochain de la vie évoque le réveil du printemps. Derrière ce recoin si familier de la Russie centrale, s’ouvre un large panorama présentant une vallée plane et une rivière brisant la glace. La lumière du soleil qui donne vie à tout le paysage transperce les nuages qui couvrent le ciel. Ce chef-d’œuvre de la peinture russe introduit le thème de l’harmonie entr Pour en lire plus
Cette toile, la plus célèbre de Savrassov, est l’un des meilleurs exemples du réalisme poétique dans l’art paysager. L’artiste a peint cette œuvre dans le village de Molvitino, dans la région de Kostroma. Le motif choisi est très modeste : Savrassov met en scène une journée printanière peu ensoleillée, de petits bouleaux courbés, une église menue qui n’a pas été repeinte depuis longtemps, des freux qui croassent, annonciateurs du printemps, une terre noire qui se libère de la neige fondante. Toute la nature qui attend le renouvellement prochain de la vie évoque le réveil du printemps. Derrière ce recoin si familier de la Russie centrale, s’ouvre un large panorama présentant une vallée plane et une rivière brisant la glace. La lumière du soleil qui donne vie à tout le paysage transperce les nuages qui couvrent le ciel. Ce chef-d’œuvre de la peinture russe introduit le thème de l’harmonie entre l’état de la nature et les états d’âme de l’homme, thème repris par Lévitan dans ses tableaux paysagers qui rendent l’émotion du peintre. Savrassov fut l’un des premiers à avoir choisi la voie de la compréhension artistique de la réalité. Il fut critiqué par certains qui considéraient que son interprétation de la peinture était trop prosaïque, mais il s’agissait dans les faits d’une tentative de réunion de la « vérité de la vie » et de la « poésie de l’art ».

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Peinture

Le Dégel, par Fiodor Alexandrovitch Vassiliev (1850-1873), 1871.

Fiodor Alexandrovitch Vassiliev
Galerie nationale Tretiakov (Moscou)
1871
huile sur toile
53,5 x 107 cm
© Galerie nationale Tretiakov (Moscou)


La vision du monde de Vassiliev était proche de celle du romantisme. En aspirant à exprimer de forts sentiments, il cherchait à représenter les métamorphoses complexes du ciel et les états spectaculaires et inhabituels de la nature : la tension avant l’orage ou le dégel au milieu de l’hiver. Le tableau est exécuté dans la gamme chaude des couleurs doré, brun et olive, si aimée du peintre. Il semble presque monochrome. L’œuvre, caractérisée par la complexité des rapports entre les teintes, provoquait l’admiration des contemporains de Vassiliev par la finesse de la gamme de ses couleurs et le raffinement de son exécution. La composition horizontale du tableau accentue le caractère silencieux et interminable du paysage de la vallée. Deux voyageurs solitaires se sont arrêtés, indécis, au milieu du chemin, devant une large étendue de neige fondue près d’un ruisseau. Ils semblent être perdus dans l’espace triste de la Pour en lire plus
La vision du monde de Vassiliev était proche de celle du romantisme. En aspirant à exprimer de forts sentiments, il cherchait à représenter les métamorphoses complexes du ciel et les états spectaculaires et inhabituels de la nature : la tension avant l’orage ou le dégel au milieu de l’hiver. Le tableau est exécuté dans la gamme chaude des couleurs doré, brun et olive, si aimée du peintre. Il semble presque monochrome. L’œuvre, caractérisée par la complexité des rapports entre les teintes, provoquait l’admiration des contemporains de Vassiliev par la finesse de la gamme de ses couleurs et le raffinement de son exécution. La composition horizontale du tableau accentue le caractère silencieux et interminable du paysage de la vallée. Deux voyageurs solitaires se sont arrêtés, indécis, au milieu du chemin, devant une large étendue de neige fondue près d’un ruisseau. Ils semblent être perdus dans l’espace triste de la nature hivernale de la Russie centrale, espace qui accable par son immensité. Un rayon de soleil craintif, qui semble bénir les voyageurs dans leur pénible périple, transperce une couche dense de nuages gris. Le tableau a été acheté par P.M. Tretiakov, tandis que sa copie fut commandée par l’empereur Alexandre III, pour le Musée russe.

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Peinture

Le Taillis (Midi), par Ivan Ivanovitch Chichkine (1832-1898), 1872.

Ivan Ivanovitch Chichkine
Musée régional des beaux-arts Soukatchev d’Irkoutsk
1872
huile sur toile
121 x 207 cm
© Musée régional des beaux-arts Soukatchev d’Irkoutsk


Sur ce tableau de Chichkine, on peut apercevoir une clairière entourée d’un bocage. Cette œuvre, qui à la fois nous touche et produit l’impression de déjà-vu, étonne par les dimensions du paysage représenté. Les petites silhouettes des paysans et des vaches qui paissent dans le pré ne sont pas le sujet principal de cette toile, mais constituent plutôt une partie organique de l’œuvre, la rendant plus vivante et plus authentique. Malgré son caractère très imagé, le tableau ne crée pas l’impression d’artifice. C’est dans la nature que le peintre trouva le lieu d’une composition aussi expressive. Ce paysage remarquable regorge d’air et de lumière. Le regard de l’observateur glisse aisément du pré humide et des mottes de terre du marécage à la superficie lisse du lac, pour se perdre finalement dans les profondeurs du tableau. La matière est appliquée sur la toile en masses pâteuses, denses et Pour en lire plus
Sur ce tableau de Chichkine, on peut apercevoir une clairière entourée d’un bocage. Cette œuvre, qui à la fois nous touche et produit l’impression de déjà-vu, étonne par les dimensions du paysage représenté. Les petites silhouettes des paysans et des vaches qui paissent dans le pré ne sont pas le sujet principal de cette toile, mais constituent plutôt une partie organique de l’œuvre, la rendant plus vivante et plus authentique. Malgré son caractère très imagé, le tableau ne crée pas l’impression d’artifice. C’est dans la nature que le peintre trouva le lieu d’une composition aussi expressive. Ce paysage remarquable regorge d’air et de lumière. Le regard de l’observateur glisse aisément du pré humide et des mottes de terre du marécage à la superficie lisse du lac, pour se perdre finalement dans les profondeurs du tableau. La matière est appliquée sur la toile en masses pâteuses, denses et riches, qui créent l’agencement des mottes couvertes de mousse, des nuages traversés par les rayons du soleil et des ornements délicats des branches.

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Peinture

La Boulaie, par Arkhip Ivanovitch Kouïndji (1842-1910), 1879.

Arkhip Ivanovitch Kouïndji
Galerie nationale Tretiakov (Moscou)
1879
huile sur toile
97 x 181 cm
© Galerie nationale Tretiakov (Moscou)


La Boulaie est un des rares tableaux créés par Kouïndji, dans lequel la composition panoramique et le ciel très élevé sont absents. Il représente l’un des thèmes les plus ordinaires de la nature de la Russie centrale : au milieu d’une lisière verte, parmi les bouleaux éclairés par les vifs rayons d’un soleil d’été, le ruisseau de la forêt court et serpente. Malgré la simplicité du motif choisi, le tableau ne donne pas l’impression d’une image banale. La différence d’éclairage des parties droite et gauche du tableau donne l’impression d’une expérimentation artistique. Le caractère quelque peu ornemental est renforcé par la simplification courageuse des formes, la présentation aplanie du dernier plan, la symétrie précise et l’alternance rythmée de zones éclairées et ombragées. Tout ceci annonce les découvertes de la Pour en lire plus
La Boulaie est un des rares tableaux créés par Kouïndji, dans lequel la composition panoramique et le ciel très élevé sont absents. Il représente l’un des thèmes les plus ordinaires de la nature de la Russie centrale : au milieu d’une lisière verte, parmi les bouleaux éclairés par les vifs rayons d’un soleil d’été, le ruisseau de la forêt court et serpente. Malgré la simplicité du motif choisi, le tableau ne donne pas l’impression d’une image banale. La différence d’éclairage des parties droite et gauche du tableau donne l’impression d’une expérimentation artistique. Le caractère quelque peu ornemental est renforcé par la simplification courageuse des formes, la présentation aplanie du dernier plan, la symétrie précise et l’alternance rythmée de zones éclairées et ombragées. Tout ceci annonce les découvertes de la peinture d’une époque plus tardive, plus exactement de l’Art nouveau. Notons également que l’intensité du courant brillant, qui émane du ciel, ainsi que l’absence d’atmosphère lumineuse qui adoucirait les contrastes des couleurs vives, contrastes peut-être un peu audacieux pour les tenants du réalisme, rappellent le caractère festif des teintes de l’été.

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • comprendre l’influence de la géographie sur la culture;
  • comprendre que l’art peut représenter des expériences vécues par les gens;
  • examiner comment les principaux mouvements artistiques européens ont influencé l’interprétation des paysages dans la peinture russe;
  • connaître les différences et les similitudes entre la peinture de paysage russe et canadienne avant 1940;
  • se rendre compte du développement d’un style de peinture de paysage typiquement russe;
  • être capable de poser un regard critique sur différents styles artistiques;
  • reconnaître les émotions que peut susciter l’art.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons