Born in Feodosia, Crimea in 1817. Died in the same city in 1900. Aivazovsky is a renowned Russian artist—a painter of seascapes and author of about six thousand paintings done by memory. “The movement of natural elements cannot be captured by the brush: to paint lightning, a gust of wind, or the splash of a wave from nature is inconceivable,” wrote the artist. The sea in his paintings appears many-sided—now as an unbridled natural element dealing a blow to man, now as a beckoning expanse symbolizing a romantic dream. Aivazovsky studied at the Imperial Academy of Arts in St. Petersburg (1833–1839) and was an artist of the Central Naval Headquarters. He was an honorary member of the Amsterdam, Roman and Paris (1845), Florentine (1876), and Stuttgart (1878) academies. He was the holder of the Legion of Honor and a number of other foreign decorations. He traveled extensively throughout Europe, visited Turkey, Egypt and America (1892–1893) and lived in Italy for many years.

Works

Read More
Born in Feodosia, Crimea in 1817. Died in the same city in 1900. Aivazovsky is a renowned Russian artist—a painter of seascapes and author of about six thousand paintings done by memory. “The movement of natural elements cannot be captured by the brush: to paint lightning, a gust of wind, or the splash of a wave from nature is inconceivable,” wrote the artist. The sea in his paintings appears many-sided—now as an unbridled natural element dealing a blow to man, now as a beckoning expanse symbolizing a romantic dream. Aivazovsky studied at the Imperial Academy of Arts in St. Petersburg (1833–1839) and was an artist of the Central Naval Headquarters. He was an honorary member of the Amsterdam, Roman and Paris (1845), Florentine (1876), and Stuttgart (1878) academies. He was the holder of the Legion of Honor and a number of other foreign decorations. He traveled extensively throughout Europe, visited Turkey, Egypt and America (1892–1893) and lived in Italy for many years.

Works

Neapolitan Bay in Early Morning - 1897, oil on canvas, State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born in Irkutsk in 1889. Died in the same city in 1938. Andreyev is of the artists who developed the “Siberian style” in the art of the 1920–1930s. He is the author of landscapes, portraits and thematic paintings. He dedicated his creative work to the Siberian north—Yakutia. He studied in Irkutsk and in Ukraine where he joined the anarchist party in 1908. He returned to Irkutsk in 1915. He had close relations with D.D. Burliuk during his stay in Irkutsk. He occupied himself with both creative work, and public activity. During 1920–1925, he was in charge of the Irkutsk Art Gallery. The artist studied the culture of national minorities and strived to grasp the essence of their character (the Arctic Ocean expedition in 1920, trip along the Lena River in 1921). He was one of the organizers of the Artists’ Society “Novaya Sibir” (The New Siberia) (1926–1932). He established the “Gagat” art artel (co-operative association) in the 1930s. He was subjected to repression in 1937, and died in 1938. Andreyev was rehabilitated posthumously in 1957.

Works
Read More
Born in Irkutsk in 1889. Died in the same city in 1938. Andreyev is of the artists who developed the “Siberian style” in the art of the 1920–1930s. He is the author of landscapes, portraits and thematic paintings. He dedicated his creative work to the Siberian north—Yakutia. He studied in Irkutsk and in Ukraine where he joined the anarchist party in 1908. He returned to Irkutsk in 1915. He had close relations with D.D. Burliuk during his stay in Irkutsk. He occupied himself with both creative work, and public activity. During 1920–1925, he was in charge of the Irkutsk Art Gallery. The artist studied the culture of national minorities and strived to grasp the essence of their character (the Arctic Ocean expedition in 1920, trip along the Lena River in 1921). He was one of the organizers of the Artists’ Society “Novaya Sibir” (The New Siberia) (1926–1932). He established the “Gagat” art artel (co-operative association) in the 1930s. He was subjected to repression in 1937, and died in 1938. Andreyev was rehabilitated posthumously in 1957.

Works
Tomaksite - 1925, oil on canvas, Irkutsk Regional Art Museum named after V. P. Sukachev

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born in the 1906, village of Batalovo, Altai province in 1906. Died in St. Petersburg in 1993. Basmanov was a graphic artist who studied in Altai art studios from 1920 to 1922 and lived and worked in Leningrad (St. Petersburg). His pictorial realism organically combines both the traditions of the Orthodox icon and the reverberations of the post-Suprematist strivings of his day. The artist affirms the timeless world of a “lost” Russia in the “visions” of his Altai childhood as an image of the past and prototype of the future, as an ideal model of the world. “The steppe gave me the horizontal line, the figure in the steppe—the vertical line, and the slopes of the hills—the diagonal line,” said the artist about his works in which the perfect world constructed by him according to the eternal laws of nature is contrasted with the chaos of reality—collectivization, hunger and the repressions of the 1930s.

Works
Read More
Born in the 1906, village of Batalovo, Altai province in 1906. Died in St. Petersburg in 1993. Basmanov was a graphic artist who studied in Altai art studios from 1920 to 1922 and lived and worked in Leningrad (St. Petersburg). His pictorial realism organically combines both the traditions of the Orthodox icon and the reverberations of the post-Suprematist strivings of his day. The artist affirms the timeless world of a “lost” Russia in the “visions” of his Altai childhood as an image of the past and prototype of the future, as an ideal model of the world. “The steppe gave me the horizontal line, the figure in the steppe—the vertical line, and the slopes of the hills—the diagonal line,” said the artist about his works in which the perfect world constructed by him according to the eternal laws of nature is contrasted with the chaos of reality—collectivization, hunger and the repressions of the 1930s.

Works
Strolling in the Steppe - 1933, watercolor on primed paper, State Art Museum of Altayskiy Region


© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born in the village of Pomeranye in the Novgord province in 1824. Died in Paris in 1896. Bogoliubov was a landscape and seascape painter. He served in the Baltic fleet (1841–1850), and studied at the St. Petersburg Academy of Arts (1850–1853). Upon completion of his studies, he was appointed artist of the Central Marine Headquarters. He fell under the influence of I.K. Aivazovsky. Having two professions, he called himself “a seaman-artist.” From 1872, he lived mainly in Rome and Paris. Bogoliubov’s studio in Paris was the center of the Russian art colony in the 1870s. I.Ye. Repin, V.D. Polenov, I.N. Kramskoy and V.M. Vasnetsov worked there. In 1885, Bogoliubov founded an art museum in Saratov. In Bogoliubov’s work, the perspective and panoramic landscape exists parallel to the chamber landscape of the plein air type.

Works
The Neva Estuary - 1872, oil on canvas, State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow
Read More
Born in the village of Pomeranye in the Novgord province in 1824. Died in Paris in 1896. Bogoliubov was a landscape and seascape painter. He served in the Baltic fleet (1841–1850), and studied at the St. Petersburg Academy of Arts (1850–1853). Upon completion of his studies, he was appointed artist of the Central Marine Headquarters. He fell under the influence of I.K. Aivazovsky. Having two professions, he called himself “a seaman-artist.” From 1872, he lived mainly in Rome and Paris. Bogoliubov’s studio in Paris was the center of the Russian art colony in the 1870s. I.Ye. Repin, V.D. Polenov, I.N. Kramskoy and V.M. Vasnetsov worked there. In 1885, Bogoliubov founded an art museum in Saratov. In Bogoliubov’s work, the perspective and panoramic landscape exists parallel to the chamber landscape of the plein air type.

Works
The Neva Estuary - 1872, oil on canvas, State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow
The Kremlin Illuminated - 1883, oil on canvas, Omsk Regional Museum of Fine Arts named after M. A. Vrubel

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born in Irkutsk in 1889. Died in Barnaul in 1937. Borisov was born in Irkutsk to a railway worker’s family. He studied in Kharkov, Moscow, and St. Petersburg (with N.K. Roerich, A.A. Rylov and N.P. Khimona at the school of the Society for the Promotion of the Arts). He moved to the Altai territory at the beginning of the 1920s, during the civil war. By that time, he was already an established artist in the sphere of painting, theatrical décor, and revolutionary mass propaganda art. Borisov soon became one of the city’s leading painters, the secretary of the Barnaul branch of the Siberian Artists’ Society “Novaya Sibir,” the director of the Barnaul Art Museum, and a well-known teacher and stage scenery designer.

Works
View of the Elekmonar from a Hill - 1918, oil on canvas, State Art Museum of Altayskiy Region
Born in Irkutsk in 1889. Died in Barnaul in 1937. Borisov was born in Irkutsk to a railway worker’s family. He studied in Kharkov, Moscow, and St. Petersburg (with N.K. Roerich, A.A. Rylov and N.P. Khimona at the school of the Society for the Promotion of the Arts). He moved to the Altai territory at the beginning of the 1920s, during the civil war. By that time, he was already an established artist in the sphere of painting, theatrical décor, and revolutionary mass propaganda art. Borisov soon became one of the city’s leading painters, the secretary of the Barnaul branch of the Siberian Artists’ Society “Novaya Sibir,” the director of the Barnaul Art Museum, and a well-known teacher and stage scenery designer.

Works
View of the Elekmonar from a Hill - 1918, oil on canvas, State Art Museum of Altayskiy Region

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born in Saratov in 1870. Died in Tarusa in 1905. Borisov-Musatov studied at the Moscow School of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture (1890–91; 1893–95), at the Academy of Arts in St. Petersburg (1891–93), and later in Paris under Cormon. Together with M.A. Vrubel, he established Russian Symbolism in painting. His creative work is similar to the works of the French group of Nabis artists. The works of Borisov-Musatov, which tend toward the form of panel so characteristic of Art Nouveau, appear to be parts of the same painting and same idea. Though the scene and characters are recognizable, the portrayed image is far from reality—a dream, a reverie of time gone by, of lost harmony. His paintings on coarse canvas, often without priming, emphasize the vagueness of the silhouettes and diffuse colors. His palette is based on the harmonious musical combinations of blues and greens. After an early tragic death, he left his mark in Russian art and his creative work influenced the artists of the Blue Rose Society.

Works
Read More
Born in Saratov in 1870. Died in Tarusa in 1905. Borisov-Musatov studied at the Moscow School of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture (1890–91; 1893–95), at the Academy of Arts in St. Petersburg (1891–93), and later in Paris under Cormon. Together with M.A. Vrubel, he established Russian Symbolism in painting. His creative work is similar to the works of the French group of Nabis artists. The works of Borisov-Musatov, which tend toward the form of panel so characteristic of Art Nouveau, appear to be parts of the same painting and same idea. Though the scene and characters are recognizable, the portrayed image is far from reality—a dream, a reverie of time gone by, of lost harmony. His paintings on coarse canvas, often without priming, emphasize the vagueness of the silhouettes and diffuse colors. His palette is based on the harmonious musical combinations of blues and greens. After an early tragic death, he left his mark in Russian art and his creative work influenced the artists of the Blue Rose Society.

Works
Roofs - 1890s, oil on canvas, Samara Art Museum

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born on the farmstead of Semirotovshchina in the Kharkov province (now Ukraine) in 1882. Died in Long Island, USA in 1967. This artist is a member of the well-known Burliuk art dynasty. He was a painter and poet, an art critic, and one of the theoreticians of Russian Futurism. He studied at the Kazan and Odessa art schools, at Aschbe’s school and the Royal Academy in Munich, in Cormon’s studio in Paris, and at the Moscow School of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture. He was the organizer of numerous exhibitions and the “Gilea” group. He participated in the exhibitions of “The Union of Youth,” “The Jack of Diamonds” and other groups. He was a member of the German “Sturm” and “Blaue Reiter” (Blue Rider) associations of artists. In 1920, he immigrated to Japan via Siberia, and from 1922 lived in the USA. In addition to landscapes, he painted portraits, still life, and allegoric compositions in his own invariable impasto style.

Works
Read More
Born on the farmstead of Semirotovshchina in the Kharkov province (now Ukraine) in 1882. Died in Long Island, USA in 1967. This artist is a member of the well-known Burliuk art dynasty. He was a painter and poet, an art critic, and one of the theoreticians of Russian Futurism. He studied at the Kazan and Odessa art schools, at Aschbe’s school and the Royal Academy in Munich, in Cormon’s studio in Paris, and at the Moscow School of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture. He was the organizer of numerous exhibitions and the “Gilea” group. He participated in the exhibitions of “The Union of Youth,” “The Jack of Diamonds” and other groups. He was a member of the German “Sturm” and “Blaue Reiter” (Blue Rider) associations of artists. In 1920, he immigrated to Japan via Siberia, and from 1922 lived in the USA. In addition to landscapes, he painted portraits, still life, and allegoric compositions in his own invariable impasto style.

Works
A Village - 1917, oil on canvas, Samara Art Museum

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born in the Krynki hamlet in the Mogilev province in 1872. Died in Moscow in 1957. This artist studied first at the Kiev School of Graphic Art, and then at the Moscow School of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture where one of his teachers was V.D. Polenov. Byalynitsky-Birulya painted landscapes almost exclusively, continuing the lyrical line of this genre. He depicted simple, uncomplicated landscapes of the central zone of Russia. Early spring was the artist’s favorite time of year. Young, leafless solitary trees were the recognizable theme of his paintings. In 1904, Byalynitsky-Birulya joined the Association of Traveling Art Exhibitions, and in 1922, the Association of Artists of Revolutionary Russia. He was a member of the A.I. Kuindzhi Society.

Works
The Last Asters - 1920, oil on canvas, Smolensk State Museum-Reserve
Born in the Krynki hamlet in the Mogilev province in 1872. Died in Moscow in 1957. This artist studied first at the Kiev School of Graphic Art, and then at the Moscow School of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture where one of his teachers was V.D. Polenov. Byalynitsky-Birulya painted landscapes almost exclusively, continuing the lyrical line of this genre. He depicted simple, uncomplicated landscapes of the central zone of Russia. Early spring was the artist’s favorite time of year. Young, leafless solitary trees were the recognizable theme of his paintings. In 1904, Byalynitsky-Birulya joined the Association of Traveling Art Exhibitions, and in 1922, the Association of Artists of Revolutionary Russia. He was a member of the A.I. Kuindzhi Society.

Works
The Last Asters - 1920, oil on canvas, Smolensk State Museum-Reserve

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Become familiar with some of the best known landscape painters in Canada and Russia (1860-1940)
  • Relate the experiences of landscape painters, their geography, and their era, to the style and elements in their work
  • Compare the life experiences of landscape painters in Russia and Canada working during the period 1860-1940

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Né à Feodossia, en Crimée, en 1817. Mort à Feodossia, en Crimée, en 1900. Aïvazovski est un artiste russe renommé, un peintre de marines, auteur d’environ six mille tableaux exécutés de mémoire. Il a écrit : « le pinceau ne peut saisir le mouvement des éléments naturels. Il est, en effet, inconcevable de peindre un éclair, une rafale de vent ou l’éclaboussement d’une vague dans la nature ». Dans ses tableaux, la mer semble présenter de nombreux aspects : c’est tantôt un élément naturel débridé qui brutalise l’homme, tantôt une étendue attrayante qui symbolise un rêve romantique. Aïvazovski fit des études à l’Académie impériale des beaux-arts de Saint-Pétersbourg de 1833 à 1839, puis devint un artiste militaire au quartier général central de la Marine. Il fut membre honoraire des académies d’Amsterdam, de Rome et de Paris (en 1845), de Florence (en 1876) et de Stuttgart (en 1878). Il reçut la L& Pour en lire plus
Né à Feodossia, en Crimée, en 1817. Mort à Feodossia, en Crimée, en 1900. Aïvazovski est un artiste russe renommé, un peintre de marines, auteur d’environ six mille tableaux exécutés de mémoire. Il a écrit : « le pinceau ne peut saisir le mouvement des éléments naturels. Il est, en effet, inconcevable de peindre un éclair, une rafale de vent ou l’éclaboussement d’une vague dans la nature ». Dans ses tableaux, la mer semble présenter de nombreux aspects : c’est tantôt un élément naturel débridé qui brutalise l’homme, tantôt une étendue attrayante qui symbolise un rêve romantique. Aïvazovski fit des études à l’Académie impériale des beaux-arts de Saint-Pétersbourg de 1833 à 1839, puis devint un artiste militaire au quartier général central de la Marine. Il fut membre honoraire des académies d’Amsterdam, de Rome et de Paris (en 1845), de Florence (en 1876) et de Stuttgart (en 1878). Il reçut la Légion d’honneur et un certain nombre d’autres décorations étrangères. Il voyagea dans toute l’Europe, visita la Turquie, l’Égypte et l’Amérique de 1892 à 1893, et vécut en Italie pendant de nombreuses années.

Œuvres

Le Golfe de Naples tôt le matin - 1897, huile sur toile. Galerie nationale Tretiakov, Moscou.

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Né à Irkoutsk, en 1889. Mort à Irkoutsk, en 1938. Andreev compte parmi les artistes qui mirent au point le « style sibérien » de l’art des années 1920–1930. Il est l’auteur de paysages, de portraits et de tableaux thématiques. Il consacra son travail créateur à la Iakoutie, au nord de la Sibérie. Il fit ses études à Irkoutsk et en Ukraine, où il s’affilia au parti anarchiste en 1908. Il revint à Irkoutsk en 1915. Il fut en rapports étroits avec D.D. Burliuk pendant son séjour dans cette ville. Il partagea son temps entre son œuvre créatrice et son activité publique. De 1920 à 1925, il dirigea le Musée des beaux-arts d’Irkoutsk. Andreev étudia la culture des minorités nationales et il s’efforça de saisir l’essence de leur caractère (notamment lors de son expédition de 1920 sur l’océan Arctique et de son voyage de 1921 en suivant la Lena). Il fut un des organisateurs de l’association d’artistes « Novaïa Sibir » (Nouve Pour en lire plus
Né à Irkoutsk, en 1889. Mort à Irkoutsk, en 1938. Andreev compte parmi les artistes qui mirent au point le « style sibérien » de l’art des années 1920–1930. Il est l’auteur de paysages, de portraits et de tableaux thématiques. Il consacra son travail créateur à la Iakoutie, au nord de la Sibérie. Il fit ses études à Irkoutsk et en Ukraine, où il s’affilia au parti anarchiste en 1908. Il revint à Irkoutsk en 1915. Il fut en rapports étroits avec D.D. Burliuk pendant son séjour dans cette ville. Il partagea son temps entre son œuvre créatrice et son activité publique. De 1920 à 1925, il dirigea le Musée des beaux-arts d’Irkoutsk. Andreev étudia la culture des minorités nationales et il s’efforça de saisir l’essence de leur caractère (notamment lors de son expédition de 1920 sur l’océan Arctique et de son voyage de 1921 en suivant la Lena). Il fut un des organisateurs de l’association d’artistes « Novaïa Sibir » (Nouvelle Sibérie) de 1926 à 1932. Il fonda la coopérative d’artisanat Gagat dans les années 1930. Il fit l’objet de mesures de répression en 1937 et mourut en 1938. Il a, toutefois, bénéficié d’une réhabilitation posthume en 1957.

Œuvres
Tomaksite - 1925, huile sur toile. Musée régional des beaux-arts Soukatchev d’Irkoutsk

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Né dans le village de Batalovo, dans province de l’Altaï, en 1906. Mort à Saint-Pétersbourg, en 1993. Basmanov était graphiste. Il fit des études aux ateliers des beaux-arts de l’Altaï (1920–1922), mais vécut et travailla à Leningrad (Saint-Pétersbourg). Le réalisme pictural de Basmanov est une combinaison naturelle des traditions relatives à l’icône orthodoxe et des efforts postsuprématistes de son époque. Dans les « visions » de son enfance dans l’Altaï, l’artiste affirme le monde intemporel d’une Russie « disparue », à la fois image du passé et prototype de l’avenir, mais aussi modèle idéal du monde. « La steppe m’a donné la ligne horizontale ; les personnages de la steppe, la ligne verticale ; et les flancs des coteaux, la ligne diagonale », a-t-il dit en parlant de ses œuvres dans lesquelles il établit un contraste entre le monde parfait qu’il a construit selon les lois éternelles de la nature et le chaos de la réalit Pour en lire plus
Né dans le village de Batalovo, dans province de l’Altaï, en 1906. Mort à Saint-Pétersbourg, en 1993. Basmanov était graphiste. Il fit des études aux ateliers des beaux-arts de l’Altaï (1920–1922), mais vécut et travailla à Leningrad (Saint-Pétersbourg). Le réalisme pictural de Basmanov est une combinaison naturelle des traditions relatives à l’icône orthodoxe et des efforts postsuprématistes de son époque. Dans les « visions » de son enfance dans l’Altaï, l’artiste affirme le monde intemporel d’une Russie « disparue », à la fois image du passé et prototype de l’avenir, mais aussi modèle idéal du monde. « La steppe m’a donné la ligne horizontale ; les personnages de la steppe, la ligne verticale ; et les flancs des coteaux, la ligne diagonale », a-t-il dit en parlant de ses œuvres dans lesquelles il établit un contraste entre le monde parfait qu’il a construit selon les lois éternelles de la nature et le chaos de la réalité : la collectivisation, la faim et les mesures de répression des années 1930.

Œuvres
Promenade dans la steppe - 1933, aquarelle sur papier empâté. Musée national des beaux-arts de l’Altaï

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Normal 0 false false false MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 Pour en lire plus

Né au hameau de Krynki, dans la province de Mogilev, en 1872. Mort à Moscou, en 1957. Cet artiste commença par faire des études à l’École des arts graphiques de Kiev. Il les poursuivit à l’École de peinture, de sculpture et d’architecture de Moscou, où il eut notamment V.D. Polénov pour professeur. Bialynitski-Biroulia a peint presque exclusivement des paysages, continuant à travailler dans la veine lyrique propre à ce genre. Il faisait des paysages simples du centre de la Russie sans recourir au moindre effet. Le début du printemps était la période de l’année qu’il préférait. De jeunes arbres solitaires, sans feuilles, constituent un thème que l’on reconnaît dans ses tableaux. En 1904, Bialynitski-Biroulia est devenu membre de l’Association des expositions d’art itinérantes et, en 1922, membre de l’Association des artistes de la Russie révolutionnaire. Il était aussi affilé à la Société A.I. Kouïndji.

Œuvres
Les Derniers asters - 1920, huile sur toile. Musée-réserve national de Smolensk


© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Né dans le village de Poméranie, dans la province de Novgord, en 1824. Mort à Paris, en 1896. Bogolioubov fut un paysagiste et un peintre de marines. Il servit dans la flotte de la Baltique de 1841 à 1850, et fit des études à l’Académie des beaux-arts de Saint-Pétersbourg de 1850 à 1853. À la fin de ses études, il fut nommé artiste au quartier général central de la Marine. Il y subit l’influence d’I.C. Aïvazovski. Comme il avait deux professions, il se qualifiait de « marin-artiste ». À partir de 1872, il habita surtout à Rome et à Paris. Son atelier parisien était le centre de la colonie d’artistes russes dans les années 1870. I.E. Répine, V.D. Polénov, I.N. Kramskoï et V.M. Vasnetsov y ont travaillé. En 1885, Bogolioubov a fondé un musée des beaux-arts à Saratov. Dans l’œuvre de Bogolioubov, la perspective et le paysage panoramique existent parallèlement au paysage du type plein air peint en atelier.

Pour en lire plus
Né dans le village de Poméranie, dans la province de Novgord, en 1824. Mort à Paris, en 1896. Bogolioubov fut un paysagiste et un peintre de marines. Il servit dans la flotte de la Baltique de 1841 à 1850, et fit des études à l’Académie des beaux-arts de Saint-Pétersbourg de 1850 à 1853. À la fin de ses études, il fut nommé artiste au quartier général central de la Marine. Il y subit l’influence d’I.C. Aïvazovski. Comme il avait deux professions, il se qualifiait de « marin-artiste ». À partir de 1872, il habita surtout à Rome et à Paris. Son atelier parisien était le centre de la colonie d’artistes russes dans les années 1870. I.E. Répine, V.D. Polénov, I.N. Kramskoï et V.M. Vasnetsov y ont travaillé. En 1885, Bogolioubov a fondé un musée des beaux-arts à Saratov. Dans l’œuvre de Bogolioubov, la perspective et le paysage panoramique existent parallèlement au paysage du type plein air peint en atelier.

Œuvres
L’Embouchure de la Neva - 1872, huile sur toile, Galerie nationale Tretiakov (Moscou)
L’Illumination du Kremlin - 1883, huile sur toile. Musée régional des beaux-arts Vroubel d’Omsk

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Né à Nijni-Novgorod, en 1889. Mort à Barnaoul, en 1937. Borissov naquit à Nijni-Novgorod dans une famille d’employés de chemin de fer. Il fit ses études à Kharkov, Moscou et Saint-Pétersbourg (avec N.C. Rœrich, A.A. Rylov et N.P. Khimona à l’école de la Société pour la promotion des arts). Il s’installa sur le territoire de l’Altaï au début des années 1920, pendant la guerre civile. C’était alors déjà un artiste reconnu dans le domaine de la peinture, du décor de théâtre et de l’art de la propagande de masse révolutionnaire. Borissov devint bientôt l’un des principaux peintres de la ville, le secrétaire de la filiale de Barnaoul de la Société des artistes sibériens (Novaïa Sibir), le directeur du musée des beaux-arts de sa ville, enfin, un professeur et un décorateur de théâtre connu.

Œuvres
Pour en lire plus
Né à Nijni-Novgorod, en 1889. Mort à Barnaoul, en 1937. Borissov naquit à Nijni-Novgorod dans une famille d’employés de chemin de fer. Il fit ses études à Kharkov, Moscou et Saint-Pétersbourg (avec N.C. Rœrich, A.A. Rylov et N.P. Khimona à l’école de la Société pour la promotion des arts). Il s’installa sur le territoire de l’Altaï au début des années 1920, pendant la guerre civile. C’était alors déjà un artiste reconnu dans le domaine de la peinture, du décor de théâtre et de l’art de la propagande de masse révolutionnaire. Borissov devint bientôt l’un des principaux peintres de la ville, le secrétaire de la filiale de Barnaoul de la Société des artistes sibériens (Novaïa Sibir), le directeur du musée des beaux-arts de sa ville, enfin, un professeur et un décorateur de théâtre connu.

Œuvres
Vue à partir de la montagne d’Élecmonar - 1918, huile sur toile. Musée national des beaux-arts de l’Altaï

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Né à Saratov, en 1870. Mort à Tarusa, en 1905. Borissov-Moussatov fit des études à l’École de peinture, de sculpture et d’architecture de Moscou (en 1890–1891 et de 1893 à 1895), à l’Académie des beaux-arts de Saint-Pétersbourg (de 1891 à 1893), puis à Paris sous la conduite de Cormon. Il instaura, avec M.A. Vroubel, le symbolisme russe dans le domaine de la peinture. Son travail créateur s’apparente à celui du groupe des Nabis en France. Les œuvres de Borissov-Moussatov, qui revêtent souvent la forme de panneaux si caractéristiques de l’Art nouveau, semblent faire partie du même type de peinture que la leur et découler de la même idée. Bien que l’on puisse reconnaître la scène et les personnages, l’image représentée est loin de la réalité : c’est un songe, une rêverie sur le passé, sur une harmonie disparue. Ses tableaux peints sur de la toile rêche, souvent non enduite, se caractérisent surtout par la forme Pour en lire plus
Né à Saratov, en 1870. Mort à Tarusa, en 1905. Borissov-Moussatov fit des études à l’École de peinture, de sculpture et d’architecture de Moscou (en 1890–1891 et de 1893 à 1895), à l’Académie des beaux-arts de Saint-Pétersbourg (de 1891 à 1893), puis à Paris sous la conduite de Cormon. Il instaura, avec M.A. Vroubel, le symbolisme russe dans le domaine de la peinture. Son travail créateur s’apparente à celui du groupe des Nabis en France. Les œuvres de Borissov-Moussatov, qui revêtent souvent la forme de panneaux si caractéristiques de l’Art nouveau, semblent faire partie du même type de peinture que la leur et découler de la même idée. Bien que l’on puisse reconnaître la scène et les personnages, l’image représentée est loin de la réalité : c’est un songe, une rêverie sur le passé, sur une harmonie disparue. Ses tableaux peints sur de la toile rêche, souvent non enduite, se caractérisent surtout par la forme vague des silhouettes et par leurs couleurs diffuses. Sa palette est fondée sur les combinaisons musicales harmonieuses des bleus et des verts. Après une mort prématurée tragique, il a laissé son empreinte sur l’art russe et son œuvre créatrice a influencé les artistes de la Société de la rose bleue.

Œuvres
Les Toits - années 1890, huile sur toile. Musée des beaux-arts de Samara

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Né dans une ferme de Semirotovchtchina, dans la province de Kharkov (aujourd’hui en Ukraine), en 1882. Mort à Long Island, aux États-Unis, en 1967. Cet artiste est un membre de la célèbre dynastie des Burliuk. C’est un peintre et un poète, un critique d’art et l’un des théoriciens du futurisme russe. Il fit des études aux écoles des beaux-arts de Kazan et d’Odessa, puis à l’école d’Aschbe et à l’Académie royale de Munich, à l’atelier de Cormon à Paris, enfin, à l’École de peinture, de sculpture et d’architecture de Moscou. Il organisa de nombreuses expositions ainsi que le groupe Gilea. Il participa aux expositions de l’Union de la jeunesse, du Valet de carreau et d’autres groupes. Il fut membre des associations d’artistes allemandes Der Sturm et Der Blaue Reiter (le Cavalier bleu). En 1920, il immigra au Japon en passant par la Sibérie, puis vécut aux États-Unis à partir de 1922. Outre des paysages, il peignit des portraits, des natures mor Pour en lire plus
Né dans une ferme de Semirotovchtchina, dans la province de Kharkov (aujourd’hui en Ukraine), en 1882. Mort à Long Island, aux États-Unis, en 1967. Cet artiste est un membre de la célèbre dynastie des Burliuk. C’est un peintre et un poète, un critique d’art et l’un des théoriciens du futurisme russe. Il fit des études aux écoles des beaux-arts de Kazan et d’Odessa, puis à l’école d’Aschbe et à l’Académie royale de Munich, à l’atelier de Cormon à Paris, enfin, à l’École de peinture, de sculpture et d’architecture de Moscou. Il organisa de nombreuses expositions ainsi que le groupe Gilea. Il participa aux expositions de l’Union de la jeunesse, du Valet de carreau et d’autres groupes. Il fut membre des associations d’artistes allemandes Der Sturm et Der Blaue Reiter (le Cavalier bleu). En 1920, il immigra au Japon en passant par la Sibérie, puis vécut aux États-Unis à partir de 1922. Outre des paysages, il peignit des portraits, des natures mortes et des compositions allégoriques dans son propre style immuable axé sur la pâte.

Œuvres
La Campagne - 1917, huile sur toile. Musée des beaux-arts de Samara

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • approfondir ses connaissances en ce qui concerne quelques-uns des peintres paysagistes les plus réputés au Canada et en Russie (1860-1940);
  • établir des liens entre les expériences, le lieu géographique et l’époque des peintres paysagistes, et le style et les éléments de leurs œuvres;
  • comparer le vécu de peintres paysagistes qui travaillaient en Russie et au Canada de 1860 à 1940.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons