Born in London, England in 1837. Died in Kingston, Ontario in 1903. Forshaw Day RCA studied architecture in Dublin in 1857 (Royal Dublin Society). He settled in Halifax in 1862, where he taught at the Technological Institute until 1879. In that year, he moved to Kingston, where he taught drawing at the Royal Military College until 1897. Day spent a great deal of time painting in England and Ireland, in addition to Switzerland and various parts of Canada (the Maritimes, Ontario, British Columbia and the Northwest Territories). This prolific painter’s preferred subjects were landscapes and seascapes. Day, who was a member of the Ontario Society of Artists, regularly exhibited his works at the shows of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts.

Works
Purcell’s Cove; Spectacle Island - no date. oil on canvas, Art Gallery of Nova Scotia


Born in London, England in 1837. Died in Kingston, Ontario in 1903. Forshaw Day RCA studied architecture in Dublin in 1857 (Royal Dublin Society). He settled in Halifax in 1862, where he taught at the Technological Institute until 1879. In that year, he moved to Kingston, where he taught drawing at the Royal Military College until 1897. Day spent a great deal of time painting in England and Ireland, in addition to Switzerland and various parts of Canada (the Maritimes, Ontario, British Columbia and the Northwest Territories). This prolific painter’s preferred subjects were landscapes and seascapes. Day, who was a member of the Ontario Society of Artists, regularly exhibited his works at the shows of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts.

Works
Purcell’s Cove; Spectacle Island - no date. oil on canvas, Art Gallery of Nova Scotia


© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born in Nova Scotia in 1884. Died in the same province in 1961. After studying in New Brunswick, Mabel Killam Day went to New York, where she studied with Robert Henri of the Group of Eight. She then spent several years working in the United States before moving back to Maritimes.

Works
Paddy’s Head - circa 1928, oil on canvas. Art Gallery of Nova Scotia
Born in Nova Scotia in 1884. Died in the same province in 1961. After studying in New Brunswick, Mabel Killam Day went to New York, where she studied with Robert Henri of the Group of Eight. She then spent several years working in the United States before moving back to Maritimes.

Works
Paddy’s Head - circa 1928, oil on canvas. Art Gallery of Nova Scotia

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born in Stanbridge, Quebec in 1846. Died in Glen Sutton, Quebec in 1888. In 1864, Allan Edson RCA went to London to complete his artistic training. He began to make his mark as early as 1866, when he was noted not only for his talents, but also for his involvement in art associations. He was a founding member of the Society of Canadian Artists in 1867 and showed some of his work in its first exhibition the following year. He was also one of the first members of the Ontario Society of Artists, which was founded 1872. In 1880, Edson was one of the founding members of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts. Although described by his contemporaries as a modest man, he was from 1870 onward considered one of Canada’s best-known landscape painters. In the early 1880s, he lived in France and also travelled to London in 1886–1887. Several of his works were influenced by the American Hudson River School of Painting.

Works
The Coming Storm, Lake Memphremagog - 1880, oil on canva Read More
Born in Stanbridge, Quebec in 1846. Died in Glen Sutton, Quebec in 1888. In 1864, Allan Edson RCA went to London to complete his artistic training. He began to make his mark as early as 1866, when he was noted not only for his talents, but also for his involvement in art associations. He was a founding member of the Society of Canadian Artists in 1867 and showed some of his work in its first exhibition the following year. He was also one of the first members of the Ontario Society of Artists, which was founded 1872. In 1880, Edson was one of the founding members of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts. Although described by his contemporaries as a modest man, he was from 1870 onward considered one of Canada’s best-known landscape painters. In the early 1880s, he lived in France and also travelled to London in 1886–1887. Several of his works were influenced by the American Hudson River School of Painting.

Works
The Coming Storm, Lake Memphremagog - 1880, oil on canvas. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec
Untitled - 1883, watercolour and gouache. Musée des beaux-arts de Sherbrooke

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

In 1895, Katharine Evans came from Pennsylvania to head the Victoria School of Design in Halifax. Her reputation as an artist, mainly as a watercolourist, ensured a warm welcome for her in Nova Scotia.

Works
Steele’s Pond, Halifax - 1898, watercolour on paper. Art Gallery of Nova Scotia
In 1895, Katharine Evans came from Pennsylvania to head the Victoria School of Design in Halifax. Her reputation as an artist, mainly as a watercolourist, ensured a warm welcome for her in Nova Scotia.

Works
Steele’s Pond, Halifax - 1898, watercolour on paper. Art Gallery of Nova Scotia

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born in Sainte-Rose, Quebec in 1888. Died in Macamic, Quebec in 1970. Marc-Aurèle Fortin RCA studied the rudiments of painting with Ludger Larose and Edmond Dyonnet from 1904 to 1908, when he left for Edmonton, Alberta, to work in a bank from 1908 to 1910. Before returning to Montréal in 1912, he studied at the Art Institute of Chicago, and made trips to New York and Boston. Fortin exhibited his work in Chicago in 1929, and the following year in Pretoria, South Africa. In 1935, he travelled to the south of France and northern Italy. After that, he exhibited regularly. Fortin, who was well known as a landscape painter, depicted various regions of Quebec with considerable originality by using new techniques. After becoming seriously ill in the late 1950s, he stopped painting.

Works
Elm Tree at Pont-Viau - between 1925 and 1930. oil on canvas. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec
Born in Sainte-Rose, Quebec in 1888. Died in Macamic, Quebec in 1970. Marc-Aurèle Fortin RCA studied the rudiments of painting with Ludger Larose and Edmond Dyonnet from 1904 to 1908, when he left for Edmonton, Alberta, to work in a bank from 1908 to 1910. Before returning to Montréal in 1912, he studied at the Art Institute of Chicago, and made trips to New York and Boston. Fortin exhibited his work in Chicago in 1929, and the following year in Pretoria, South Africa. In 1935, he travelled to the south of France and northern Italy. After that, he exhibited regularly. Fortin, who was well known as a landscape painter, depicted various regions of Quebec with considerable originality by using new techniques. After becoming seriously ill in the late 1950s, he stopped painting.

Works
Elm Tree at Pont-Viau - between 1925 and 1930. oil on canvas. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born in Montréal, Quebec in 1866. Died in the same city in 1921. Joseph-Charles Franchère RCA studied at the Conseil des arts et manufactures and at the École de l’abbé Chabert in Montréal. He apprenticed in the studio of scenic artist F.X.E. Meloche, before leaving for Paris, where he spent two years at the Julian and Colarossi academies. In 1890, he was admitted to the École des Beaux-Arts in Paris. From that time on, he submitted his works to the exhibitions of the Art Association of Montreal and the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts, as well as at various world expositions (Chicago in 1893, Buffalo in 1901 and St. Louis in 1904). Franchère taught at the Conseil des arts et manufactures and at the Monument National. He was an academic painter who specialized in depictions of rural life, but he also illustrated books and painted several official portraits.

Works
View of Sillery from the Plains of Abraham Read More
Born in Montréal, Quebec in 1866. Died in the same city in 1921. Joseph-Charles Franchère RCA studied at the Conseil des arts et manufactures and at the École de l’abbé Chabert in Montréal. He apprenticed in the studio of scenic artist F.X.E. Meloche, before leaving for Paris, where he spent two years at the Julian and Colarossi academies. In 1890, he was admitted to the École des Beaux-Arts in Paris. From that time on, he submitted his works to the exhibitions of the Art Association of Montreal and the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts, as well as at various world expositions (Chicago in 1893, Buffalo in 1901 and St. Louis in 1904). Franchère taught at the Conseil des arts et manufactures and at the Monument National. He was an academic painter who specialized in depictions of rural life, but he also illustrated books and painted several official portraits.

Works
View of Sillery from the Plains of Abraham
- 1895, oil on canvas. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born in London, England in 1838. Died in New York, United States in 1898. After leaving England in 1858, J. A. Fraser RCA worked in the studios of Montréal photographer William Notman, where he retouched photographs. He was a member of the Society of Canadian Artists in 1867 and the first vice-president of the Ontario Society of Artists, which was established in 1872. He also taught in his own art school in 1878. His landscapes were highly praised by the critics of the day for their photographic realism. His quick temper was the source of conflict with his colleagues. Fraser left Canada and spent the last 14 years of his life in the United States, in Boston and New York.

Works
Fraser River Line of the CPR - 1886. watercolour on paper. Art Gallery of Hamilton
Born in London, England in 1838. Died in New York, United States in 1898. After leaving England in 1858, J. A. Fraser RCA worked in the studios of Montréal photographer William Notman, where he retouched photographs. He was a member of the Society of Canadian Artists in 1867 and the first vice-president of the Ontario Society of Artists, which was established in 1872. He also taught in his own art school in 1878. His landscapes were highly praised by the critics of the day for their photographic realism. His quick temper was the source of conflict with his colleagues. Fraser left Canada and spent the last 14 years of his life in the United States, in Boston and New York.

Works
Fraser River Line of the CPR - 1886. watercolour on paper. Art Gallery of Hamilton

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Born in Montréal, Quebec in 1881. Died in the same city in 1942. In 1897, Clarence Gagnon RCA studied under William Brymner at the Art Association of Montreal. After winning a number of prizes in 1899, he left for Paris in 1904, where he worked in the studio of painter Jean-Paul Laurens at the Julian Academy. After returning to Quebec, he became an associate member of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts in 1910 and a member in 1922. Between 1924 and 1936, Gagnon spent time in Paris and travelled throughout Europe. It was during this period that he illustrated a number of books, including Louis Hémon’s Maria Chapdelaine and Rouquette’s Le grand silence blanc. He returned to Quebec in 1936.

Works
Summer Breeze at Dinard - 1907, oil on canvas. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec
Overlooking the Vallée du Gouffre, Charle Read More
Born in Montréal, Quebec in 1881. Died in the same city in 1942. In 1897, Clarence Gagnon RCA studied under William Brymner at the Art Association of Montreal. After winning a number of prizes in 1899, he left for Paris in 1904, where he worked in the studio of painter Jean-Paul Laurens at the Julian Academy. After returning to Quebec, he became an associate member of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts in 1910 and a member in 1922. Between 1924 and 1936, Gagnon spent time in Paris and travelled throughout Europe. It was during this period that he illustrated a number of books, including Louis Hémon’s Maria Chapdelaine and Rouquette’s Le grand silence blanc. He returned to Quebec in 1936.

Works
Summer Breeze at Dinard - 1907, oil on canvas. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec
Overlooking the Vallée du Gouffre, Charlevoix - circa 1915, oil on panel. The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
Evening, Sienna - circa 1918, oil on canvas. Edmonton Art Gallery
Laurentian Village - between 1921 and 1927, oil on canvas. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec

© 2003, CHIN. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Become familiar with some of the best known landscape painters in Canada and Russia (1860-1940)
  • Relate the experiences of landscape painters, their geography, and their era, to the style and elements in their work
  • Compare the life experiences of landscape painters in Russia and Canada working during the period 1860-1940

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Né à Londres (Angleterre), en 1837. Mort à Kingston (Ontario), en 1903. Forshaw Day, ARC, étudie l’architecture à Dublin en 1857 (Royal Dublin Society). Il s’installe à Halifax en 1862 où il enseigne au Technological Institute jusqu’en 1879. Dans la même année, il part pour Kingston où, jusqu’en 1897, il enseigne le dessin au Royal Military College. Day peint abondamment en Angleterre et en Irlande, mais aussi en Suisse ainsi que dans différentes régions du Canada (Maritimes, Ontario, Colombie-Britannique et Territoires du Nord-Ouest). Les sujets de prédilection de ce peintre prolifique sont le paysage et les marines. Membre de l’Ontario Society of Artists, Forshaw Day a régulièrement présenté ses œuvres aux expositions de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada (ARC).

Pour en lire plus
Né à Londres (Angleterre), en 1837. Mort à Kingston (Ontario), en 1903. Forshaw Day, ARC, étudie l’architecture à Dublin en 1857 (Royal Dublin Society). Il s’installe à Halifax en 1862 où il enseigne au Technological Institute jusqu’en 1879. Dans la même année, il part pour Kingston où, jusqu’en 1897, il enseigne le dessin au Royal Military College. Day peint abondamment en Angleterre et en Irlande, mais aussi en Suisse ainsi que dans différentes régions du Canada (Maritimes, Ontario, Colombie-Britannique et Territoires du Nord-Ouest). Les sujets de prédilection de ce peintre prolifique sont le paysage et les marines. Membre de l’Ontario Society of Artists, Forshaw Day a régulièrement présenté ses œuvres aux expositions de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada (ARC).

Œuvres
Purcell’s Cove ; Spectacle Island - non daté, huile sur toile. Art Gallery of Nova Scotia



© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Née en Nouvelle-Écosse, en 1884. Morte en Nouvelle-Écosse, en 1961. Après des études au Nouveau-Brunswick, Mabel Killam Day se rend à New York où elle suit les cours de Robert Henri, du Groupe des Huit. Elle travaille alors plusieurs années aux États-Unis avant de revenir s’installer dans les Maritimes.

Normal 0 false false false Pour en lire plus
Née en Nouvelle-Écosse, en 1884. Morte en Nouvelle-Écosse, en 1961. Après des études au Nouveau-Brunswick, Mabel Killam Day se rend à New York où elle suit les cours de Robert Henri, du Groupe des Huit. Elle travaille alors plusieurs années aux États-Unis avant de revenir s’installer dans les Maritimes.

Œuvres
Le Cap de Paddy - vers 1928, huile sur toile. Art Gallery of Nova Scotia

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Né à Stanbridge (Québec), en 1846. Mort à Glen Sutton (Québec), en 1888. En 1864, Allan Edson, ARC, se rend à Londres pour parfaire sa formation artistique. Il commence à s’illustrer dès 1866, en se faisant remarquer par son talent et par ses activités dans les associations artistiques. Membre fondateur de la Society of Canadian Artists en 1867, il participe à leur première exposition l’année suivante. Il est aussi l’un des premiers membres de l’Ontario Society of Artists, fondée en 1872. En 1880, Edson figure parmi les membres fondateurs de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada (ARC). Décrit par ses contemporains comme un homme modeste, il est considéré, dès 1870, comme l’un des paysagistes les plus en vue au Canada. Au début des années 1880, il vit en France, puis il séjourne à Londres en 1886–1887. Plusieurs de ses œuvres sont influencées par l’American Hudson River School of Painting.

Pour en lire plus
Né à Stanbridge (Québec), en 1846. Mort à Glen Sutton (Québec), en 1888. En 1864, Allan Edson, ARC, se rend à Londres pour parfaire sa formation artistique. Il commence à s’illustrer dès 1866, en se faisant remarquer par son talent et par ses activités dans les associations artistiques. Membre fondateur de la Society of Canadian Artists en 1867, il participe à leur première exposition l’année suivante. Il est aussi l’un des premiers membres de l’Ontario Society of Artists, fondée en 1872. En 1880, Edson figure parmi les membres fondateurs de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada (ARC). Décrit par ses contemporains comme un homme modeste, il est considéré, dès 1870, comme l’un des paysagistes les plus en vue au Canada. Au début des années 1880, il vit en France, puis il séjourne à Londres en 1886–1887. Plusieurs de ses œuvres sont influencées par l’American Hudson River School of Painting.

Œuvres
Le temps est à l’orage, lac Memphrémagog - 1880, huile sur toile. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec
Sans titre - 1883, aquarelle et gouache, Musée des beaux-arts de Sherbrooke

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Lieu, dates de naissance et de décès inconnus. En 1895, Katharine Evans arrive de Pennsylvanie afin de prendre la direction du Victoria School of Design à Halifax. Son arrivée attendue en Nouvelle-Écosse fut très appréciée en vertu de sa réputation d’artiste, principalement comme aquarelliste.

Normal 0 false false false Pour en lire plus
Lieu, dates de naissance et de décès inconnus. En 1895, Katharine Evans arrive de Pennsylvanie afin de prendre la direction du Victoria School of Design à Halifax. Son arrivée attendue en Nouvelle-Écosse fut très appréciée en vertu de sa réputation d’artiste, principalement comme aquarelliste.

Œuvres
L’Étang de Steele, Halifax - 1898, aquarelle sur papier. Art Gallery of Nova Scotia

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Né à Sainte-Rose (Québec), en 1888. Mort à Macamic (Québec), en 1970. Marc-Aurèle Fortin, ARC, étudie les rudiments de la peinture avec Ludger Larose et Edmond Dyonnet, entre 1904 et 1908, année où il part travailler à Edmonton, en Alberta, comme employé de banque (1908–1910). Avant de revenir à Montréal en 1912, il fréquente les ateliers de l’Art Institute of Chicago et fait des voyages à New York et à Boston. Fortin expose à Chicago en 1929 et l’année suivante à Pretoria (Afrique du Sud). En 1935, il se rend dans le sud de la France et dans le nord de l’Italie. À partir de ce moment, il expose régulièrement. Bien connu comme peintre de paysages, Fortin représente diverses régions du Québec avec beaucoup d’originalité en se servant de nouvelles techniques. Atteint d’une grave maladie à la fin des années 1950, il cesse de peindre.

Pour en lire plus
Né à Sainte-Rose (Québec), en 1888. Mort à Macamic (Québec), en 1970. Marc-Aurèle Fortin, ARC, étudie les rudiments de la peinture avec Ludger Larose et Edmond Dyonnet, entre 1904 et 1908, année où il part travailler à Edmonton, en Alberta, comme employé de banque (1908–1910). Avant de revenir à Montréal en 1912, il fréquente les ateliers de l’Art Institute of Chicago et fait des voyages à New York et à Boston. Fortin expose à Chicago en 1929 et l’année suivante à Pretoria (Afrique du Sud). En 1935, il se rend dans le sud de la France et dans le nord de l’Italie. À partir de ce moment, il expose régulièrement. Bien connu comme peintre de paysages, Fortin représente diverses régions du Québec avec beaucoup d’originalité en se servant de nouvelles techniques. Atteint d’une grave maladie à la fin des années 1950, il cesse de peindre.

Œuvres
L’Orme à Pont-Viau - entre 1925 et 1930. huile sur toile. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Né à Montréal (Québec), en 1866. Mort à Montréal (Québec), en 1921. Joseph-Charles Franchère, ARC, étudie au Conseil des arts et manufactures et à l’école de l’abbé Chabert à Montréal. Il effectue un stage dans l’atelier du peintre décorateur F.X.E. Meloche avant de partir pour Paris en 1888, où il fréquente pendant deux ans les académies Julian et Colarossi. En 1890, il est reçu à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Paris. Dès cette époque, il soumet ses œuvres aux expositions de l’Art Association of Montreal et de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada (ARC) ainsi qu’aux expositions universelles (Chicago en 1893, Buffalo en 1901, et Saint-Louis en 1904). Franchère enseigne au Conseil des arts et manufactures et au Monument national. Peintre de formation académique, il se spécialise dans des tableaux idéalisant la vie rurale, mais il illustre aussi des livres et peint plusieurs portraits officiels.

Pour en lire plus
Né à Montréal (Québec), en 1866. Mort à Montréal (Québec), en 1921. Joseph-Charles Franchère, ARC, étudie au Conseil des arts et manufactures et à l’école de l’abbé Chabert à Montréal. Il effectue un stage dans l’atelier du peintre décorateur F.X.E. Meloche avant de partir pour Paris en 1888, où il fréquente pendant deux ans les académies Julian et Colarossi. En 1890, il est reçu à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Paris. Dès cette époque, il soumet ses œuvres aux expositions de l’Art Association of Montreal et de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada (ARC) ainsi qu’aux expositions universelles (Chicago en 1893, Buffalo en 1901, et Saint-Louis en 1904). Franchère enseigne au Conseil des arts et manufactures et au Monument national. Peintre de formation académique, il se spécialise dans des tableaux idéalisant la vie rurale, mais il illustre aussi des livres et peint plusieurs portraits officiels.

Œuvres
Sillery vu des Plaines d’Abraham - 1895, huile sur toile. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Né à Londres (Angleterre), en 1838. Mort à New York (États-Unis), en 1898. Après son départ d’Angleterre en 1858, J.A. Fraser, ARC, travaille dans les studios du photographe montréalais William Notman où il s’occupe de nuancer les photographies. Membre de la Society of Canadian Artists en 1867 et premier vice-président de l’Ontario Society of Artists, formée en 1872, il enseigne dans son école d’art en 1878. Ses paysages ont été louangés par la critique de l’époque pour leur réalisme photographique. Son caractère fougueux est à la source de conflits avec ses collègues. Fraser quitte le Canada pour passer les quatorze dernières années de sa vie aux États-Unis, à Boston et à New York.

Pour en lire plus
Né à Londres (Angleterre), en 1838. Mort à New York (États-Unis), en 1898. Après son départ d’Angleterre en 1858, J.A. Fraser, ARC, travaille dans les studios du photographe montréalais William Notman où il s’occupe de nuancer les photographies. Membre de la Society of Canadian Artists en 1867 et premier vice-président de l’Ontario Society of Artists, formée en 1872, il enseigne dans son école d’art en 1878. Ses paysages ont été louangés par la critique de l’époque pour leur réalisme photographique. Son caractère fougueux est à la source de conflits avec ses collègues. Fraser quitte le Canada pour passer les quatorze dernières années de sa vie aux États-Unis, à Boston et à New York.

Œuvres
Ligne du Fraser du CP
- 1886, aquarelle sur papier. Art Gallery of Hamilton

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Né à Montréal (Québec), en 1881. Mort à Montréal (Québec), en 1942. En 1897, Clarence Gagnon, ARC, est l’élève de William Brymner à l’Art Association of Montreal. Récipiendaire de quelques prix en 1899, il part pour Paris en 1904 où il entre dans l’atelier du peintre Jean-Paul Laurens à l’académie Julian. De retour au Québec, il est associé à l’Académie royale des arts du Canada (ARC) en 1910 et il en devient membre en 1922. Entre 1924 et 1936, Gagnon séjourne à Paris et il voyage en Europe. À cette époque, il illustre quelques livres dont Maria Chapdelaine de Louis Hémon et Le grand silence blanc de Rouquette. Il revient au Québec en 1936.

Oeuvres
Brise d’été à Dinard - 1907, huile sur toile. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec Pour en lire plus
Né à Montréal (Québec), en 1881. Mort à Montréal (Québec), en 1942. En 1897, Clarence Gagnon, ARC, est l’élève de William Brymner à l’Art Association of Montreal. Récipiendaire de quelques prix en 1899, il part pour Paris en 1904 où il entre dans l’atelier du peintre Jean-Paul Laurens à l’académie Julian. De retour au Québec, il est associé à l’Académie royale des arts du Canada (ARC) en 1910 et il en devient membre en 1922. Entre 1924 et 1936, Gagnon séjourne à Paris et il voyage en Europe. À cette époque, il illustre quelques livres dont Maria Chapdelaine de Louis Hémon et Le grand silence blanc de Rouquette. Il revient au Québec en 1936.

Oeuvres
Brise d’été à Dinard - 1907, huile sur toile. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec
Vue de la vallée du Gouffre, Charlevoix - vers 1915, huile sur panneau. Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
Soir à Sienne - vers 1918, huile sur toile. Edmonton Art Gallery
Village laurentien - entre 1921 et 1927, huile sur toile. Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec

© 2003, RCIP. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • approfondir ses connaissances en ce qui concerne quelques-uns des peintres paysagistes les plus réputés au Canada et en Russie (1860-1940);
  • établir des liens entre les expériences, le lieu géographique et l’époque des peintres paysagistes, et le style et les éléments de leurs œuvres;
  • comparer le vécu de peintres paysagistes qui travaillaient en Russie et au Canada de 1860 à 1940.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons