Dominion Square

Left:Dominion Square, about 1898

Right:Dominion Square from C.P.R Building Montreal, QC, after Notman. Taken July 22nd 1999, 1:10 p.m.

Photographers: Left: William Notman, Right: Andrzej Maciejewski
McCord Museum of Canadian History

© McCord Museum of Canadian History


Date/Time: July 22, 1999, 1:10 p.m.

Notman took this photograph from the tower of Windsor Station on a summer afternoon. Finding the vantage point was simple, as it was the only elevated spot around. To line up my camera I counted stones on a church wall. To discern the time of day I watched the shadows on the church's tower. This was the first time I had the experience of watching shadows fall perfectly into their expected place, like pieces in a big puzzle. It was, and still is, an incredible feeling of having proved the obvious - that the sun travels the same route and casts light at the same angles with daily regularity.
Date/Time: July 22, 1999, 1:10 p.m.

Notman took this photograph from the tower of Windsor Station on a summer afternoon. Finding the vantage point was simple, as it was the only elevated spot around. To line up my camera I counted stones on a church wall. To discern the time of day I watched the shadows on the church's tower. This was the first time I had the experience of watching shadows fall perfectly into their expected place, like pieces in a big puzzle. It was, and still is, an incredible feeling of having proved the obvious - that the sun travels the same route and casts light at the same angles with daily regularity.

© 2002, McCord Museum of Canadian History. All Rights Reserved.

Map

This Map of Montreal depicts the location where the photographs by Notman and Maciejewski were taken.

McCord Museum of Canadian History

© 2002, McCord Museum of Canadian History. All Rights Reserved.


Created during the Victorian Era, public squares were shaded places to relax. Unlike parks, they permitted citizens to admire the surrounding cityscapes. Created in 1870 in the city's poshest neighbourhood, Dominion Square was a must visit for distinguished visitors. In 1895, it was even becoming the heart of the new downtown, adding to the sector that we now call Old Montreal. All the new city neighbourhoods, even the poorer ones such as St. Henri, had their squares, around which institutions and the homes of the local elite were located. As the photo illustrates, these squares were usually served by the new electric tramways, as well as by horse-drawned cabs (see detail using "Explore").
Created during the Victorian Era, public squares were shaded places to relax. Unlike parks, they permitted citizens to admire the surrounding cityscapes. Created in 1870 in the city's poshest neighbourhood, Dominion Square was a must visit for distinguished visitors. In 1895, it was even becoming the heart of the new downtown, adding to the sector that we now call Old Montreal. All the new city neighbourhoods, even the poorer ones such as St. Henri, had their squares, around which institutions and the homes of the local elite were located. As the photo illustrates, these squares were usually served by the new electric tramways, as well as by horse-drawned cabs (see detail using "Explore").
Printed Documents

  • Choko, Marc H. 1987. Les grandes places publiques de Montréal. Montreal : Éditions du Méridien.
  • Laplante, Jean de. 1990. Les parcs de Montréal : Des origines à nos jours. Montreal : Éditions du Méridien.
  • Marsan, Jean-Claude. 1994. Montréal en évolution : Historique du développement de l'architecture et de l'environnement urbain montréalais. Montreal : Éditions du Méridien.

© 2002, McCord Museum of Canadian History. All Rights Reserved.

Outremont Park

The town of Outremont, on the slopes of Mount Royal, is now in the heart of greater Montreal, but was considered to be a suburb in 1910. The middle classes, especially, preferred the suburbs. With a streetcar system, outlying areas could attract people looking for peace and quiet, away from the hubbub of the city.

Anonymous
McCord Museum of Canadian History - Gift of Mr. Stanley G. Triggs

Coloured ink on paper mounted on card - Photolithography
8 x 13 cm
MP-0000.888.11
© 2002, McCord Museum of Canadian History. All Rights Reserved.


Dominion Square!

The tramway car moves along the rails next to the Square. Some passengers get off here, while others clamber aboard. In bygone days, trams were pulled by horses. Once electric cars were introduced, tramways became a much more regular feature of city life: the cars could hold a growing number of passengers, and more lines were laid down. With time, ticket prices became more affordable and workers, who were now capable of paying for them, no longer had to live near their workplaces.
Dominion Square!

The tramway car moves along the rails next to the Square. Some passengers get off here, while others clamber aboard. In bygone days, trams were pulled by horses. Once electric cars were introduced, tramways became a much more regular feature of city life: the cars could hold a growing number of passengers, and more lines were laid down. With time, ticket prices became more affordable and workers, who were now capable of paying for them, no longer had to live near their workplaces.

© 2002, McCord Museum of Canadian History. All Rights Reserved.

Streetcar

The rounded roof of this vehicle, called a Montreal roof, was characteristic of streetcars manufactured in Montreal from 1896 to 1913.

Unknown
McCord Museum of Canadian History - Gift of the Estate of M. Omer Lavallée
c. 1900-1920
Wood
29 x 115 cm
M992.110.10
© McCord Museum of Canadian History


It is not known what this scale model of a type of streetcar used in Montreal at the beginning of the 20th century was used for. It could either be a demonstration model, a child's toy or a collector's item.

The electrification of the tramway, which began in 1892, had unprecedented effects on the Montreal public transportation network. Electricity was more reliable than animal traction, and made it possible to equip vehicles with more powerful motors. This advance doubled, then quadrupled, the speed of the streetcars while increasing the passenger capacity. The long rod on the roof of the streetcar is a trolley pole, a device that rolls or slides along the overhead wires and supplies the vehicle with electricity.

The influence of the new technology went far beyond the public transportation services since it required the installation of a network of electrical wires, which could also be used to light the streets of the city.
It is not known what this scale model of a type of streetcar used in Montreal at the beginning of the 20th century was used for. It could either be a demonstration model, a child's toy or a collector's item.

The electrification of the tramway, which began in 1892, had unprecedented effects on the Montreal public transportation network. Electricity was more reliable than animal traction, and made it possible to equip vehicles with more powerful motors. This advance doubled, then quadrupled, the speed of the streetcars while increasing the passenger capacity. The long rod on the roof of the streetcar is a trolley pole, a device that rolls or slides along the overhead wires and supplies the vehicle with electricity.

The influence of the new technology went far beyond the public transportation services since it required the installation of a network of electrical wires, which could also be used to light the streets of the city.

© 2002, McCord Museum of Canadian History. All Rights Reserved.

Tram No. 529

This photograph shows a streetcar travelling along Notre Dame Street with a few passengers on board.

Anonymous
McCord Museum of Canadian History - Gift of Mr. Edgar Tissot
c. 1906
Silver salts on glass - Gelatin dry plate process
20 x 25 cm
MP-1986.53.6
© 2002, McCord Museum of Canadian History. All Rights Reserved.


In 1892, only 11% of workers took the tramway every day. By 1901, this percentage had climbed to 41%. Several factors explain this sudden popularity. First, fares did not increase until 1910, which was not the case with the workers' wages, and second, the electrification of the network, completed in 1894, increased the speed and power of the vehicles. These improvements made the tramway more attractive to workers who wanted to live a distance form their place of work.

In fact, the electrification of the tramway contributed to the increasing spread of the urban population and contributed to the concentration of economic activities.
In 1892, only 11% of workers took the tramway every day. By 1901, this percentage had climbed to 41%. Several factors explain this sudden popularity. First, fares did not increase until 1910, which was not the case with the workers' wages, and second, the electrification of the network, completed in 1894, increased the speed and power of the vehicles. These improvements made the tramway more attractive to workers who wanted to live a distance form their place of work.

In fact, the electrification of the tramway contributed to the increasing spread of the urban population and contributed to the concentration of economic activities.

© 2002, McCord Museum of Canadian History. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • Identify the changes that were operated within Canadian society over two decades (territory, population, economy, etc.);
  • Describe in details changes that he/she is able to observe;
  • Explain and speculate about the reasons that could justify these changes;
  • Make connections between the differences and similarities of the two eras.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Square Dominion

Gauche: Square Dominion

Droite: Le square Dominion depuis l'édifice du C.P. Montréal, QC. D'après Notman. 22 juillet 1999, 13h 10

Photographes: Gauche : William Notman, Droite : Andrzej Maciejewski
Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne

© Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne


Date/heure : 22 juillet 1999, 13 h 10

La photo originale a été prise de la tour de la garde Windsor par une après-midi d'été. Je n'ai pas eu de mal à trouver l'emplacement, car c'était le seul lieu en hauteur. Pour ajuster mes points de repère, j'ai compté les pierres d'un mur d'église et, pour établir l'heure, j'ai étudié les ombres sur la tour de l'église. Pour la première fois, j'ai vu les ombres s'étirer jusqu'à se mettre parfaitement en place, comme les morceaux d'un gros casse-tête. C'était, et c'est encore, un sentiment incroyable de pouvoir prouver l'évidence – que le soleil suit la même route et projette une lumière selon les mêmes angles, avec une immuable régularité.
Date/heure : 22 juillet 1999, 13 h 10

La photo originale a été prise de la tour de la garde Windsor par une après-midi d'été. Je n'ai pas eu de mal à trouver l'emplacement, car c'était le seul lieu en hauteur. Pour ajuster mes points de repère, j'ai compté les pierres d'un mur d'église et, pour établir l'heure, j'ai étudié les ombres sur la tour de l'église. Pour la première fois, j'ai vu les ombres s'étirer jusqu'à se mettre parfaitement en place, comme les morceaux d'un gros casse-tête. C'était, et c'est encore, un sentiment incroyable de pouvoir prouver l'évidence – que le soleil suit la même route et projette une lumière selon les mêmes angles, avec une immuable régularité.

© 2002, Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne. Tous droits réservés.

Carte

Cette carte de Montréal représente les endroits où les photographies de Notman et de Maciejewski ont été prises.

Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne

© 2002, Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne. Tous droits réservés.


Créés à l'époque victorienne, les squares publics sont des lieux de détente ombragés qui permettent, à la différence des parcs, d'admirer les paysages urbains environnants. Créé en 1870 dans le quartier le plus chic de la ville, le square Dominion est obligatoirement le lieu de passage des visiteurs de marque. En 1895, il est même en voie de devenir le cœur d'un nouveau centre-ville, qui s'ajoutera au quartier des affaires que nous appelons aujourd'hui le Vieux-Montréal. Tous les nouveaux secteurs, y compris les quartiers plus pauvres, tel Saint-Henri, ont leur square autour duquel s'installent établissements et notables locaux. Comme l'illustre la photo, ces squares sont généralement desservis par les nouveaux tramways électriques, de même que par les taxis d'été que sont les calèches (voir détail grâce à « Explorez »).
Créés à l'époque victorienne, les squares publics sont des lieux de détente ombragés qui permettent, à la différence des parcs, d'admirer les paysages urbains environnants. Créé en 1870 dans le quartier le plus chic de la ville, le square Dominion est obligatoirement le lieu de passage des visiteurs de marque. En 1895, il est même en voie de devenir le cœur d'un nouveau centre-ville, qui s'ajoutera au quartier des affaires que nous appelons aujourd'hui le Vieux-Montréal. Tous les nouveaux secteurs, y compris les quartiers plus pauvres, tel Saint-Henri, ont leur square autour duquel s'installent établissements et notables locaux. Comme l'illustre la photo, ces squares sont généralement desservis par les nouveaux tramways électriques, de même que par les taxis d'été que sont les calèches (voir détail grâce à « Explorez »).
Documents imprimés
  • Choko, Marc H. 1987. Les grandes places publiques de Montréal. Montreal : Éditions du Méridien.
  • Laplante, Jean de. 1990. Les parcs de Montréal : Des origines à nos jours. Montreal : Éditions du Méridien.
  • Marsan, Jean-Claude. 1994. Montréal en évolution : Historique du développement de l'architecture et de l'environnement urbain montréalais. Montreal : Éditions du Méridien.

© 2002, Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne. Tous droits réservés.

Parc Outremont

Située sur les flans du mont Royal, la ville d'Outremont, qui occupe désormais une situation centrale dans l'agglomération urbaine de Montréal, était considérée comme la banlieue montréalaise en 1910. La banlieue résidentielle constitue un milieu de vie particulièrement apprécié par la classe moyenne. Équipés d'un réseau de tramways, les quartiers périphériques attirent une population en quête d'un cadre de vie paisible, à l'écart du tumulte de la ville.

Anonyme
Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne - Don de Mr. Stanley G. Triggs

Encre de couleur sur papier monté sur carton - Photolithographie
8 x 13 cm
MP-0000.888.11
© 2002, Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne. Tous droits réservés.


Place Dominion!

La voiture du tramway s'avance sur les rails en longeant la place. Quelques passagers s'arrêtent ici tandis que d'autres grimpent à bord. Autrefois, les tramways étaient tirés par des chevaux. Depuis que le réseau est électrifié, la fréquence des tramways est beaucoup plus régulière, les voitures peuvent contenir un nombre grandissant de passagers et les trajets sont plus nombreux. Avec le temps, le prix du billet devient plus accessible et les ouvriers, dorénavant capables d'en débourser le coût, ne sont plus tenus de vivre à proximité de leur lieu de travail.
Place Dominion!

La voiture du tramway s'avance sur les rails en longeant la place. Quelques passagers s'arrêtent ici tandis que d'autres grimpent à bord. Autrefois, les tramways étaient tirés par des chevaux. Depuis que le réseau est électrifié, la fréquence des tramways est beaucoup plus régulière, les voitures peuvent contenir un nombre grandissant de passagers et les trajets sont plus nombreux. Avec le temps, le prix du billet devient plus accessible et les ouvriers, dorénavant capables d'en débourser le coût, ne sont plus tenus de vivre à proximité de leur lieu de travail.

© 2002, Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne. Tous droits réservés.

Tramway

Le toit arrondi de ce véhicule, appelé Montreal roof, caractérise les tramways fabriqués à Montréal entre 1896 et 1913.

Inconnu
Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne - Don de la succession de M. Omer Lavallée
vers 1900-1920
Bois
29 x 115 cm
M992.110.10
© Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne


L'utilisation de ce modèle réduit d'un type de tramway utilisé à Montréal au début du XXe siècle ne peut être établi. Il peut aussi bien s'agir d'une maquette démonstrative ou d'un jouet d'enfant que d'un objet de collection.

L'électrification du tramway, amorcée en 1892, a des effets sans précédent sur le réseau de transport public montréalais. Plus fiable que la traction animale, l'électricité permet de doter les véhicules de moteurs plus puissants. Ce progrès double, puis quadruple, la vitesse des tramways tout en augmentant leur capacité d'accueil. La perche sur la toit du tramway est un trolley, dispositif qui roule ou glisse sur des fils aériens et qui alimente le tramway en électricité.

L'influence de cette nouvelle technique va au-delà des services de transport public dans la mesure où l'aménagement d'un réseau de fils électriques permet aussi d'éclairer les rues de la ville.
L'utilisation de ce modèle réduit d'un type de tramway utilisé à Montréal au début du XXe siècle ne peut être établi. Il peut aussi bien s'agir d'une maquette démonstrative ou d'un jouet d'enfant que d'un objet de collection.

L'électrification du tramway, amorcée en 1892, a des effets sans précédent sur le réseau de transport public montréalais. Plus fiable que la traction animale, l'électricité permet de doter les véhicules de moteurs plus puissants. Ce progrès double, puis quadruple, la vitesse des tramways tout en augmentant leur capacité d'accueil. La perche sur la toit du tramway est un trolley, dispositif qui roule ou glisse sur des fils aériens et qui alimente le tramway en électricité.

L'influence de cette nouvelle technique va au-delà des services de transport public dans la mesure où l'aménagement d'un réseau de fils électriques permet aussi d'éclairer les rues de la ville.

© 2002, Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne. Tous droits réservés.

Tramway no 529

Cette photographie illustre un tramway circulant sur la rue Notre-Dame avec quelques passagers à bord.

Anonyme
Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne - Don de Mr. Edgar Tissot
vers 1906
Plaque sèche à la gélatine
20 x 25 cm
MP-1986.53.6
© 2002, Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne. Tous droits réservés.


En 1892, seulement 11% des ouvriers prennent le tramway quotidiennement. En 1901, ce pourcentage a grimpé à 41%. Plusieurs facteurs expliquent cette soudaine popularité. D'un côté, les tarifs n'augmentent pas avant 1910, ce qui n'est pas le cas des salaires des ouvriers, de l'autre, l'électrification du réseau, achevée en 1894, augmente la vitesse et la puissance des véhicules. Ces améliorations rendent le tramway plus attrayant pour les ouvriers désireux de vivre à quelque distance de leur lieu de travail.

En fait, l'électrification du tramway contribue à accroître l'étalement urbain de la population et contribue à la concentration des activités économiques.
En 1892, seulement 11% des ouvriers prennent le tramway quotidiennement. En 1901, ce pourcentage a grimpé à 41%. Plusieurs facteurs expliquent cette soudaine popularité. D'un côté, les tarifs n'augmentent pas avant 1910, ce qui n'est pas le cas des salaires des ouvriers, de l'autre, l'électrification du réseau, achevée en 1894, augmente la vitesse et la puissance des véhicules. Ces améliorations rendent le tramway plus attrayant pour les ouvriers désireux de vivre à quelque distance de leur lieu de travail.

En fait, l'électrification du tramway contribue à accroître l'étalement urbain de la population et contribue à la concentration des activités économiques.

© 2002, Musée McCord d'histoire canadienne. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • nommer les changements qui sont survenus au sein de la société canadienne en deux décennies (territoire, population, économie, etc.);
  • décrire en détails les changements qu’il ou elle est en mesure d’observer;
  • expliquer et émettre des hypothèses quant aux raisons qui pourraient justifier ces changements;
  • faire des liens entre les différences et les similitudes des deux époques.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons