Health is an issue for each and every one of us and, as such, has shown up in artistic representations of the body throughout history. We see this concern echoed, for example, in the body assailed by illness and the ravages of epidemics like leprosy or the plague; in the vivisections of anatomy lessons; and in portraits of individuals beset by mental illness. While curative powers were attributed to certain images during the Renaissance, the art of today confronts us with scourges like AIDS and cancer; it gives us a different perspective on the world of contemporary pharmaceuticals; and it places us squarely before a body marked by suffering and, at times, by shame. Biological, neurological and medical knowledge resonate in the works brought together for this exhibition, and show how the borders between art and science are gradually becoming more porous.
Health is an issue for each and every one of us and, as such, has shown up in artistic representations of the body throughout history. We see this concern echoed, for example, in the body assailed by illness and the ravages of epidemics like leprosy or the plague; in the vivisections of anatomy lessons; and in portraits of individuals beset by mental illness. While curative powers were attributed to certain images during the Renaissance, the art of today confronts us with scourges like AIDS and cancer; it gives us a different perspective on the world of contemporary pharmaceuticals; and it places us squarely before a body marked by suffering and, at times, by shame. Biological, neurological and medical knowledge resonate in the works brought together for this exhibition, and show how the borders between art and science are gradually becoming more porous.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. All rights reserved

15 minutes d’insubordination

10 multifaceted interventions carried out over the course of a year in the pharmaceutical department of the Montreal General Hospital (4 internentions shown: discrete Interventions, Badges and Stories, Ouvrez-moi - Help Yourself, the Calendar). Various supports

Caroline Boileau
Galerie de l'UQAM

© Caroline Boileau


Caroline Boileau is interested in the motif of the body and looks at the idea of public health in relation to popular beliefs and brief anecdotes that she collects. Her project 15 minutes d’insubordination [15 minutes of insubordination] consists of a series of interventions that she carried out during breaks from her work as a technician in the pharmaceutical department of the Montreal General Hospital. The project took a year to complete, but the idea for it goes back to 1998.

Taking her work environment as raw material, the artist looked around to see if she could see things differently, in the process photographing specific actions, recycling waste, collecting souvenirs, coordinating activities and recruiting accomplices from among her colleagues. The "15 minutes of insubordination" accumulated, forming weeks in which the artist discovered a community with a rhythm all its own. Boileau infiltrated the highly regulated and organized system of a hospital pharmacy, making her process of experimentation the focus of her work.

The titles of the individual interventions are as follows: Read More
Caroline Boileau is interested in the motif of the body and looks at the idea of public health in relation to popular beliefs and brief anecdotes that she collects. Her project 15 minutes d’insubordination [15 minutes of insubordination] consists of a series of interventions that she carried out during breaks from her work as a technician in the pharmaceutical department of the Montreal General Hospital. The project took a year to complete, but the idea for it goes back to 1998.

Taking her work environment as raw material, the artist looked around to see if she could see things differently, in the process photographing specific actions, recycling waste, collecting souvenirs, coordinating activities and recruiting accomplices from among her colleagues. The "15 minutes of insubordination" accumulated, forming weeks in which the artist discovered a community with a rhythm all its own. Boileau infiltrated the highly regulated and organized system of a hospital pharmacy, making her process of experimentation the focus of her work.

The titles of the individual interventions are as follows: Interventions discrètes [Discrete Interventions]; Des macarons et des histoires [Badges and Stories]; Ouvrez-moi - Help Yourself and Le calendrier [The Calendar].

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. All rights reserved

Interventions discrètes [Discrete Interventions]

photographed interventions on various supports

I have always collected medical toys. Among them were small plastic figures like doctors and nurses complete with hospital beds, stretchers and wheelchairs. Then there were all those sets of medical instruments tucked away in tiny plastic medicine kits made with curious kids in mind. During my work breaks I used these toys to develop and document scenarios I set in my work space, in the midst of its own tools and medicines. At first glance, the photographs I took of these scenes seem quite ordinary-that is, until you stop and look at the details, at those playful scenes receding discreetly, like images in facing mirrors, in a place already overloaded with meaning.

Find the mistake.

.- Caroline Boileau
Interventions discrètes [Discrete Interventions]

photographed interventions on various supports

I have always collected medical toys. Among them were small plastic figures like doctors and nurses complete with hospital beds, stretchers and wheelchairs. Then there were all those sets of medical instruments tucked away in tiny plastic medicine kits made with curious kids in mind. During my work breaks I used these toys to develop and document scenarios I set in my work space, in the midst of its own tools and medicines. At first glance, the photographs I took of these scenes seem quite ordinary-that is, until you stop and look at the details, at those playful scenes receding discreetly, like images in facing mirrors, in a place already overloaded with meaning.

Find the mistake.

.- Caroline Boileau

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. All rights reserved

Photographed interventions on various supports,

Caroline Boileau
2005 - 2006
© Caroline Boileau


500 coloured badges

I drew on this stock of photographic interventions for images I could put into circulation in the hospital. I’d pick an image and use it to make a badge, which I’d then pin to my smock. I’d go on working as usual. I’d offer a badge to everyone who stopped to look at mine-but only in exchange for a story. Why do you do this job? Could you describe a work-related moment or event that you often think about? These stories were initially whispered in my ear, for we were always rushed and couldn’t stop for more than a few seconds… I transcribed the stories during my breaks, trying to recall the words that were used, as well as the tones of voice and facial expressions. But I really liked the shape of the words on paper. So I asked people to write their stories down for me, using a form designed for this purpose. The stories slowly began to pile up, and the badges went on circulating throughout the various hospital departments, from the pharmacy all the way to the intensive care unit in surgery.
500 coloured badges

I drew on this stock of photographic interventions for images I could put into circulation in the hospital. I’d pick an image and use it to make a badge, which I’d then pin to my smock. I’d go on working as usual. I’d offer a badge to everyone who stopped to look at mine-but only in exchange for a story. Why do you do this job? Could you describe a work-related moment or event that you often think about? These stories were initially whispered in my ear, for we were always rushed and couldn’t stop for more than a few seconds… I transcribed the stories during my breaks, trying to recall the words that were used, as well as the tones of voice and facial expressions. But I really liked the shape of the words on paper. So I asked people to write their stories down for me, using a form designed for this purpose. The stories slowly began to pile up, and the badges went on circulating throughout the various hospital departments, from the pharmacy all the way to the intensive care unit in surgery.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. All rights reserved

500 coloured badges

Caroline Boileau
2005 - 2006
© Caroline Boileau


an intervention carried out with pharmacy employees, involving a homemade photo kit: a converted plastic medical case, a disposable camera, bilingual instructions and a digital colour photograph

installation: digital photographs, acrylic magnifying boxes, sheet magnifier, foam board

I suggested that my colleagues take part in a number of "pharma-ludic" studies, asking them, for example, to photograph the insides of their medicine cabinets at home. I passed around a photo kit. The home pharmacy is an intimate and secretive space, one that retains traces of bumps and collisions, of (acknowledged or unacknowledged) problems, of somatic wishes and desires. But what do you put in a home medicine cabinet when you work in a hospital pharmacy? I digitized each photograph I got back, reduced it and inserted it into a tiny magnifying box. The boxes were then assembled into a grid on a sheet of foam board and displayed using a sheet magnifier. These tiny light boxes had to be observed from very close up; the images were unclear, imprecise; secrets had been well kept and intimacy preserved.
an intervention carried out with pharmacy employees, involving a homemade photo kit: a converted plastic medical case, a disposable camera, bilingual instructions and a digital colour photograph

installation: digital photographs, acrylic magnifying boxes, sheet magnifier, foam board

I suggested that my colleagues take part in a number of "pharma-ludic" studies, asking them, for example, to photograph the insides of their medicine cabinets at home. I passed around a photo kit. The home pharmacy is an intimate and secretive space, one that retains traces of bumps and collisions, of (acknowledged or unacknowledged) problems, of somatic wishes and desires. But what do you put in a home medicine cabinet when you work in a hospital pharmacy? I digitized each photograph I got back, reduced it and inserted it into a tiny magnifying box. The boxes were then assembled into a grid on a sheet of foam board and displayed using a sheet magnifier. These tiny light boxes had to be observed from very close up; the images were unclear, imprecise; secrets had been well kept and intimacy preserved.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. All rights reserved

An intervention carried out with pharmacy employees, involving a homemade photo kit: a converted plastic medical case, a disposable camera, bilingual instructions and a digital colour photograph installation: digital photographs, acrylic magnifying boxes, sheet magnifier, foam board

Caroline Boileau
2005 - 2006
© Caroline Boileau


digital prints on matte photographic paper, 10 months out of part of a year

100 x 32.5 cm each

I designed a calendar on which each month represented the total number of days I spent in a department where the work, humanly speaking, is very hard. I’m referring to the surgical intensive care unit. I made overlays with daily reports copied onto transparent sheets, which became harder to decipher as the number of days increased. I could hardly make out the few words I managed to read, since they were codes, abbreviations of the names of medicines that resembled lines in a drawing. This was a doubly technical process involving, on the one hand, carefully recording lists of patients’ bedside medication (noting concentrations, flow rates, release times, etc.) and, on the other hand, digitizing each page of each report for each month. Strangely enough, by the end of the process the digital drawings had taken on the colours of bruises. I say strangely because the colours did not represent an aesthetic choice, but were the composite product of the colour of the original page and computer digitizing.
digital prints on matte photographic paper, 10 months out of part of a year

100 x 32.5 cm each

I designed a calendar on which each month represented the total number of days I spent in a department where the work, humanly speaking, is very hard. I’m referring to the surgical intensive care unit. I made overlays with daily reports copied onto transparent sheets, which became harder to decipher as the number of days increased. I could hardly make out the few words I managed to read, since they were codes, abbreviations of the names of medicines that resembled lines in a drawing. This was a doubly technical process involving, on the one hand, carefully recording lists of patients’ bedside medication (noting concentrations, flow rates, release times, etc.) and, on the other hand, digitizing each page of each report for each month. Strangely enough, by the end of the process the digital drawings had taken on the colours of bruises. I say strangely because the colours did not represent an aesthetic choice, but were the composite product of the colour of the original page and computer digitizing.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. All rights reserved

Digital prints on matt photographic paper, 10 months out of part of a year

Caroline Boileau
2005 - 2006
© Caroline Boileau


Caroline Boileau lives and works in Montréal. She holds a bachelor’s degree in visual art from UQAM and is currently pursuing a master’s degree in the Open Media program of the Visual Arts Department of Montreal’s Concordia University. Her work reflects a pervasive interest in the medical and pharmaceutical world, which translates into a multidisciplinary practice combining drawing, video, installation, intervention and performance.

selected exhibitions
2006 Mémoires sauvées du vent, 3e Impérial, Granby (Québec) 2004 La table du corps, Maison de la culture Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal (Québec) 2003 Carnets de voyages \ Diarios de viaje \ Travel Logs, Sala 1, Centro Cultural Antiguo Instituto, Gijón (Spain) 1999 Ce que tu me racontes, ce que je te cache, Galerie B-312, Montréal (Québec)
Caroline Boileau lives and works in Montréal. She holds a bachelor’s degree in visual art from UQAM and is currently pursuing a master’s degree in the Open Media program of the Visual Arts Department of Montreal’s Concordia University. Her work reflects a pervasive interest in the medical and pharmaceutical world, which translates into a multidisciplinary practice combining drawing, video, installation, intervention and performance.

selected exhibitions
  • 2006 Mémoires sauvées du vent, 3e Impérial, Granby (Québec)
  • 2004 La table du corps, Maison de la culture Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal (Québec)
  • 2003 Carnets de voyages \ Diarios de viaje \ Travel Logs, Sala 1, Centro Cultural Antiguo Instituto, Gijón (Spain)
  • 1999 Ce que tu me racontes, ce que je te cache, Galerie B-312, Montréal (Québec)

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. All rights reserved

artistic intervention
An art activity that takes place in a non-art venue, and that grows out of the most concrete types of environments. From performance and the concept of the site-specific, intervention borrows the idea of a singular experience which the artist only partially controls.

public health
Refers to the study of the physiological and psychic determinants of the health of a population, as well as to actions meant to fight and prevent illness. Various Canadian public health departments have launched initiatives covering areas relating, among other things, to physical activity, nutrition, pandemics, environmental health, the blood distribution system, tobacco use and vaccination.
artistic intervention
An art activity that takes place in a non-art venue, and that grows out of the most concrete types of environments. From performance and the concept of the site-specific, intervention borrows the idea of a singular experience which the artist only partially controls.

public health
Refers to the study of the physiological and psychic determinants of the health of a population, as well as to actions meant to fight and prevent illness. Various Canadian public health departments have launched initiatives covering areas relating, among other things, to physical activity, nutrition, pandemics, environmental health, the blood distribution system, tobacco use and vaccination.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. All rights reserved

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • demonstrate an understanding of how science and art can be linked;
  • try to explain the state of mind of the artist when she made this art piece.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La santé est une préoccupation qui touche chacun d’entre nous. Tout au long de l’histoire, elle s’est manifestée dans la représentation artistique des corps : assaillis par la maladie et par la dévastation d’épidémies telle la peste ou la lèpre; révélés par les leçons d’anatomie ou les portraits d’individus atteints de maladie mentale, etc. Si, à la Renaissance, un pouvoir de guérison était attribué à certaines images, aujourd’hui, l’art nous met en face des fléaux que sont entre autres le sida et le cancer; il nous montre autrement l’univers pharmaceutique contemporain; il nous place devant un corps où s’inscrivent la souffrance et parfois la gêne. Les connaissances en biologie, en neurologie ou en médecine se répercutent dans les œuvres réunies ici et montrent comment s’estompe l’étanchéité entre art et science.
La santé est une préoccupation qui touche chacun d’entre nous. Tout au long de l’histoire, elle s’est manifestée dans la représentation artistique des corps : assaillis par la maladie et par la dévastation d’épidémies telle la peste ou la lèpre; révélés par les leçons d’anatomie ou les portraits d’individus atteints de maladie mentale, etc. Si, à la Renaissance, un pouvoir de guérison était attribué à certaines images, aujourd’hui, l’art nous met en face des fléaux que sont entre autres le sida et le cancer; il nous montre autrement l’univers pharmaceutique contemporain; il nous place devant un corps où s’inscrivent la souffrance et parfois la gêne. Les connaissances en biologie, en neurologie ou en médecine se répercutent dans les œuvres réunies ici et montrent comment s’estompe l’étanchéité entre art et science.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. Tous droits réservés.

15 minutes d’insubordination

10 interventions multiformes réalisées sur une période d’un an au département de pharmacie de l’Hôpital général de Montréal ( 4 Interventions présentées : Interventions discrètes, Des macarons et des histoires, Ouvrez-moi - Help Yourself, Le calendreer ). Support variés

Caroline Boileau
Galerie de l'UQAM

© Caroline Boileau


Caroline Boileau s’intéresse à la figure du corps et réfléchit sur la notion de santé publique relativement aux croyances populaires et à de petites anecdotes qu’elle collecte. Le projet 15 minutes d’insubordination consiste en une série d’interventions réalisées durant les périodes de pause de l’artiste, qui est technicienne au département de pharmacie de l’Hôpital général de Montréal. Le projet s’est échelonné sur une période d’un an, mais ses prémisses remontent à 1998.

En prenant ainsi son environnement de travail comme matière première, l’artiste regarde autour d’elle pour voir les choses différemment, photographier des gestes, recycler des déchets, recueillir des souvenirs, coordonner des actions et faire de ses collègues de nouveaux complices. Les « 15 minutes d’insubordination » s’accumulent pour former des semaines et l’artiste y découvre une communauté au rythme bien particulier. Caroline Boileau s’infiltre dans le système très régulé et organisé d’une pharmacie d’hôpital, faisant de son processus d’expérimen Pour en lire plus
Caroline Boileau s’intéresse à la figure du corps et réfléchit sur la notion de santé publique relativement aux croyances populaires et à de petites anecdotes qu’elle collecte. Le projet 15 minutes d’insubordination consiste en une série d’interventions réalisées durant les périodes de pause de l’artiste, qui est technicienne au département de pharmacie de l’Hôpital général de Montréal. Le projet s’est échelonné sur une période d’un an, mais ses prémisses remontent à 1998.

En prenant ainsi son environnement de travail comme matière première, l’artiste regarde autour d’elle pour voir les choses différemment, photographier des gestes, recycler des déchets, recueillir des souvenirs, coordonner des actions et faire de ses collègues de nouveaux complices. Les « 15 minutes d’insubordination » s’accumulent pour former des semaines et l’artiste y découvre une communauté au rythme bien particulier. Caroline Boileau s’infiltre dans le système très régulé et organisé d’une pharmacie d’hôpital, faisant de son processus d’expérimentation l’objet même de sa création.

Chacune des interventions s’intitulent individuellement Interventions discrètes, Des macarons et des histoires, Ouvrez-moi – Help Yourself et Le calendrier.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. Tous droits réservés.

Interventions discrètes

interventions photographiques, supports variés

Depuis toujours, je collectionne les jouets médicaux. Parmi ces jouets, il y a de petites figurines de plastique : médecins et infirmières avec lits d’hôpital, civières et chaises roulantes. Il y a aussi toutes ces panoplies d’instruments médicaux rangés dans de petites trousses de plastique et destinées aux enfants curieux. Durant ma période de pause, je mets en scène ces jouets dans mon espace de travail parmi les outils et médicaments. Je documente la scène. Les photographies semblent de prime abord banales sauf si l’on s’attarde aux détails, à ces petites scènes ludiques, des mises en abyme discrètes dans un lieu déjà surchargé de sens.

Trouvez l’erreur.

- Caroline Boileau
Interventions discrètes

interventions photographiques, supports variés

Depuis toujours, je collectionne les jouets médicaux. Parmi ces jouets, il y a de petites figurines de plastique : médecins et infirmières avec lits d’hôpital, civières et chaises roulantes. Il y a aussi toutes ces panoplies d’instruments médicaux rangés dans de petites trousses de plastique et destinées aux enfants curieux. Durant ma période de pause, je mets en scène ces jouets dans mon espace de travail parmi les outils et médicaments. Je documente la scène. Les photographies semblent de prime abord banales sauf si l’on s’attarde aux détails, à ces petites scènes ludiques, des mises en abyme discrètes dans un lieu déjà surchargé de sens.

Trouvez l’erreur.

- Caroline Boileau

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. Tous droits réservés.

Interventions photographiques, supports variés.

Caroline Boileau
2005 - 2006
© Caroline Boileau


macarons de couleur, 500 exemplaires

De cette banque d’interventions photographiques, je cherche à faire circuler les images à l’intérieur de l’hôpital. À partir de l’une d’elles, je conçois un macaron que j’épingle à mon sarrau. Je travaille normalement. À chaque personne qui s’y attarde, je lui en offre un gratuitement en échange d’une histoire. Pourquoi faites-vous ce travail? Décrivez-moi un moment ou un événement lié au travail et auquel vous repensez souvent. En premier lieu, leurs histoires m’ont été contées au creux de l’oreille, car le temps presse et on ne peut pas s’arrêter pour plus de quelques instants… Je retranscris leurs histoires durant ma pause en essayant de me souvenir des mots employés, du ton de la voix et de l’expression du visage. Mais j’aime bien le dessin de leurs mots sur le papier. Ainsi, je leur demande maintenant de m’écrire leurs histoires sur papier, sur un formulaire prévu à cet effet. Les histoires Pour en lire plus
macarons de couleur, 500 exemplaires

De cette banque d’interventions photographiques, je cherche à faire circuler les images à l’intérieur de l’hôpital. À partir de l’une d’elles, je conçois un macaron que j’épingle à mon sarrau. Je travaille normalement. À chaque personne qui s’y attarde, je lui en offre un gratuitement en échange d’une histoire. Pourquoi faites-vous ce travail? Décrivez-moi un moment ou un événement lié au travail et auquel vous repensez souvent. En premier lieu, leurs histoires m’ont été contées au creux de l’oreille, car le temps presse et on ne peut pas s’arrêter pour plus de quelques instants… Je retranscris leurs histoires durant ma pause en essayant de me souvenir des mots employés, du ton de la voix et de l’expression du visage. Mais j’aime bien le dessin de leurs mots sur le papier. Ainsi, je leur demande maintenant de m’écrire leurs histoires sur papier, sur un formulaire prévu à cet effet. Les histoires s’accumulent lentement, les macarons circulent maintenant dans quelques départements de l’hôpital, de la pharmacie jusqu’aux soins intensifs chirurgicaux.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. Tous droits réservés.

Macarons de couleur, 500 exemplaires

Caroline Boileau
2005 - 2006
© Caroline Boileau


intervention auprès des employés de la pharmacie, trousse de photo maison : trousse de plastique transformée, appareil-photo jetable, instructions bilingues, photographie numérique couleur

installation dans l’isoloir : photographies numériques, boîtes-loupes en acrylique, loupe de lecture en feuille, carton-mousse

Je propose à mes collègues de participer à des études pharmaco-ludiques en leur demandant, par exemple, de photographier l’intérieur de leur pharmacie maison. Une trousse photo est passée de main en main. La pharmacie personnelle est un espace intime, secret qui accueille les traces des heurts, les problèmes avoués ou non, les souhaits et désirs somatiques. Mais que met-on dans une pharmacie maison lorsque l’on travaille dans une pharmacie d’hôpital? Chacune des photographies recueillies est numérisée, miniaturisée et insérée dans une petite boîte-loupe. Les boîtes sont ensuite encastrées en forme de grille dans une feuille de carton-mousse placée en vitrine Pour en lire plus
intervention auprès des employés de la pharmacie, trousse de photo maison : trousse de plastique transformée, appareil-photo jetable, instructions bilingues, photographie numérique couleur

installation dans l’isoloir : photographies numériques, boîtes-loupes en acrylique, loupe de lecture en feuille, carton-mousse

Je propose à mes collègues de participer à des études pharmaco-ludiques en leur demandant, par exemple, de photographier l’intérieur de leur pharmacie maison. Une trousse photo est passée de main en main. La pharmacie personnelle est un espace intime, secret qui accueille les traces des heurts, les problèmes avoués ou non, les souhaits et désirs somatiques. Mais que met-on dans une pharmacie maison lorsque l’on travaille dans une pharmacie d’hôpital? Chacune des photographies recueillies est numérisée, miniaturisée et insérée dans une petite boîte-loupe. Les boîtes sont ensuite encastrées en forme de grille dans une feuille de carton-mousse placée en vitrine. On doit observer ces petites boîtes lumineuses de très près, les images sont floues, imprécises, les secrets sont bien gardés, l’intimité préservée.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. Tous droits réservés.

Intervention auprès des employés de la pharmacie, trousse de photo maison : trousse de plastique transformée, appareil-photo jetable, instructions bilingues, photographie numérique couleur installation dans l’isoloir : photographies numériques, boîtes-loupes en acrylique, loupe de lecture en feuille, carton-mouss

Caroline Boileau
2005 - 2006
© Caroline Boileau


impressions numériques sur papier photographique mat, 10 mois d’une année incomplète

100 x 32,5 cm chacune

J’ai conçu un calendrier où chaque mois représente la somme de jours travaillés dans un département humainement difficile, les soins intensifs chirurgicaux. J’ai superposé par transparence des rapports journaliers qui perdent en clarté plus le nombre de jours travaillés augmente. On ne peut déchiffrer les quelques mots que l’on parvient à lire car ce sont des codes, des abréviations de noms de médicaments qui nous renvoient aux traits d’un dessin. Il s’agit ici d’un processus doublement technique, d’une part dans le fait de recueillir soigneusement au chevet des patients la liste de leur médicaments, la concentration, le débit, l’heure de péremption et, d’autre part, de numériser chaque page de chaque rapport pour chacun des mois concernés. En fin de parcours, ces dessins numériques prennent étrangement la couleur d’ecchymoses. Étr Pour en lire plus
impressions numériques sur papier photographique mat, 10 mois d’une année incomplète

100 x 32,5 cm chacune

J’ai conçu un calendrier où chaque mois représente la somme de jours travaillés dans un département humainement difficile, les soins intensifs chirurgicaux. J’ai superposé par transparence des rapports journaliers qui perdent en clarté plus le nombre de jours travaillés augmente. On ne peut déchiffrer les quelques mots que l’on parvient à lire car ce sont des codes, des abréviations de noms de médicaments qui nous renvoient aux traits d’un dessin. Il s’agit ici d’un processus doublement technique, d’une part dans le fait de recueillir soigneusement au chevet des patients la liste de leur médicaments, la concentration, le débit, l’heure de péremption et, d’autre part, de numériser chaque page de chaque rapport pour chacun des mois concernés. En fin de parcours, ces dessins numériques prennent étrangement la couleur d’ecchymoses. Étrangement car les couleurs ne représentent pas un choix esthétique, mais sont plutôt le résultat combiné de la couleur du papier d’origine et du processus de numérisation par l’ordinateur.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. Tous droits réservés.

Impressions numériques sur papier photographique mat, 10 mois d’une année incomplète.

Caroline Boileau
2005 - 2006
© Caroline Boileau


Caroline Boileau vit et travaille à Montréal. Elle détient un baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’UQAM et poursuit des études de maîtrise en arts plastiques à l’Université Concordia (Montréal) dans le programme Open Media. Sa démarche est imprégnée d’un intérêt pour le milieu médical et l’univers pharmacologique qui se traduit dans une pratique multidisciplinaire alliant le dessin, la vidéo, l’installation, l’intervention et la performance.

expositions (sélection)
2006 Mémoires sauvées du vent, 3e Impérial, Granby (Québec) 2004 La table du corps, Maison de la culture Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal (Québec) 2003 Carnets de voyages \ Diarios de viaje \ Travel Logs, Sala 1, Centro Cultural Antiguo Instituto, Gijón (Espagne) 2001 Ce que tu me racontes, ce que je te cache, Galerie B-312, Montréal (Québec)
Caroline Boileau vit et travaille à Montréal. Elle détient un baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’UQAM et poursuit des études de maîtrise en arts plastiques à l’Université Concordia (Montréal) dans le programme Open Media. Sa démarche est imprégnée d’un intérêt pour le milieu médical et l’univers pharmacologique qui se traduit dans une pratique multidisciplinaire alliant le dessin, la vidéo, l’installation, l’intervention et la performance.

expositions (sélection)
  • 2006 Mémoires sauvées du vent, 3e Impérial, Granby (Québec)
  • 2004 La table du corps, Maison de la culture Côte-des-Neiges, Montréal (Québec)
  • 2003 Carnets de voyages \ Diarios de viaje \ Travel Logs, Sala 1, Centro Cultural Antiguo Instituto, Gijón (Espagne)
  • 2001 Ce que tu me racontes, ce que je te cache, Galerie B-312, Montréal (Québec)

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. Tous droits réservés.

intervention artistique

Pratique se déroulant dans un cadre non artistique, tributaire de l’environnement le plus concret qui soit. L’intervention emprunte à la performance et à la notion d’in situ l’idée d’une expérience singulière, dont l’artiste ne maîtrise pas tous les paramètres.

santé publique

Concerne l’étude des déterminants physiologiques et psychiques liés à la santé d’une population, ainsi que les actions destinées à combattre et à prévenir les maladies. L’action des différents ministères canadiens de la santé couvre notamment les domaines liés à l’activité physique, à la nutrition, aux pandémies, à la santé environnementale, au système de distribution du sang, au tabagisme et à la vaccination.
intervention artistique

Pratique se déroulant dans un cadre non artistique, tributaire de l’environnement le plus concret qui soit. L’intervention emprunte à la performance et à la notion d’in situ l’idée d’une expérience singulière, dont l’artiste ne maîtrise pas tous les paramètres.

santé publique

Concerne l’étude des déterminants physiologiques et psychiques liés à la santé d’une population, ainsi que les actions destinées à combattre et à prévenir les maladies. L’action des différents ministères canadiens de la santé couvre notamment les domaines liés à l’activité physique, à la nutrition, aux pandémies, à la santé environnementale, au système de distribution du sang, au tabagisme et à la vaccination.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • démontrer qu’il comprend le lien qui existe entre la science et l’art;
  • tenter d’expliquer l’état d’esprit de l’artiste au moment où elle a réalisé cette œuvre.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons