The laboratory is a place devoted to inquiry and the creation of new knowledge. As such, it can be compared to the artist's studio, which also proves to be a research venue as well as a place for the production of original knowledge and forms infused with the complexity of the world around us. This part of the exhibition deals with the work of artists who recapitulate the scientific process by devising various experimental procedures, revealing an often bookish relationship to knowledge, patenting their discoveries or handling living matter that evolves and transforms itself. Their creations involve collaborations with scientists, take advantage of the possibilities offered by instruments from outside the field of art, and evoke a desire for mastery over the unknown.
The laboratory is a place devoted to inquiry and the creation of new knowledge. As such, it can be compared to the artist's studio, which also proves to be a research venue as well as a place for the production of original knowledge and forms infused with the complexity of the world around us. This part of the exhibition deals with the work of artists who recapitulate the scientific process by devising various experimental procedures, revealing an often bookish relationship to knowledge, patenting their discoveries or handling living matter that evolves and transforms itself. Their creations involve collaborations with scientists, take advantage of the possibilities offered by instruments from outside the field of art, and evoke a desire for mastery over the unknown.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. All rights reserved

Petri dishes, agar-agar and fungal cultures inoculated in the laboratory.

Photo: Annie Thibault
Annie Thibault
2004
© Annie Thibault, courtesy of Pierre François Ouellette art contemporain, Montréal


Petri dishes, agar-agar and fungal cultures inoculated in the laboratory.

Photo: Annie Thibault
2004
© Annie Thibault, courtesy of Pierre François Ouellette art contemporain, Montréal


LABORATOIRE. Sous l’antre de la Chambre stérile [LABORATORY. In the Shelter of the Sterile Chamber] constitutes the culmination of work that Annie Thibault embarked on during a residency at the Instituto de Biología Molecular of Barcelona. The laboratory becomes her studio, where she works with living substances, namely, fungal cultures (yeast, mould) in a creative context. Suspended from the ceiling, the hung version of the Fairy Ring installation draws its inspiration from certain exobiological theories stating that life originated from stardust (spores) deposited on the Earth by dew. The title alludes to the circular formation that certain mushroom colonies assume as they grow in the shadows of underbrush. The two works establish links between the macrocosm and the microcosm. As with all her work, these two pieces combine aesthetic and scientific questioning and borrow the arsenal of the microbiologist: agar-agar, flasks, microorganisms, and so on. Annie Thibault draws with fungal and bacterial cultures, using Petri dishes, glass beakers and wax moulds to create installations that reflect her desire to work with living matter, in order to create worlds that Read More
LABORATOIRE. Sous l’antre de la Chambre stérile [LABORATORY. In the Shelter of the Sterile Chamber] constitutes the culmination of work that Annie Thibault embarked on during a residency at the Instituto de Biología Molecular of Barcelona. The laboratory becomes her studio, where she works with living substances, namely, fungal cultures (yeast, mould) in a creative context. Suspended from the ceiling, the hung version of the Fairy Ring installation draws its inspiration from certain exobiological theories stating that life originated from stardust (spores) deposited on the Earth by dew. The title alludes to the circular formation that certain mushroom colonies assume as they grow in the shadows of underbrush. The two works establish links between the macrocosm and the microcosm. As with all her work, these two pieces combine aesthetic and scientific questioning and borrow the arsenal of the microbiologist: agar-agar, flasks, microorganisms, and so on. Annie Thibault draws with fungal and bacterial cultures, using Petri dishes, glass beakers and wax moulds to create installations that reflect her desire to work with living matter, in order to create worlds that exist at the crossroads of the artist’s studio, the natural history museum and the laboratory.

The two works, executed and presented following a residency at the Fundacio Rafael Tous d’art contemporaini METRÒNOM (located in Barcelona, Spain), were done in conjunction with the molecular biology laboratory of the University of Barcelona.

To see interviews with the artist Annie Thibault from Beyond Science, please follow this link.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. All rights reserved

Photograph on Lexan, blown acrylic and mineral oil.

Photo: Annie Thibault et Jorsi Nieva
2004
© Annie Thibault, courtesy of Pierre François Ouellette art contemporain, Montréal


Photograph on Lexan, blown acrylic and mineral oil.

Photo: Annie Thibault et Jorsi Nieva
2004
© Annie Thibault, courtesy of Pierre François Ouellette art contemporain, Montréal


Annie Thibault lives and works in Gatineau. After initially studying the pure sciences, she obtained a bachelor's degree in visual art form the Université du Québec en Outaouais and a graphic design workshop (UQAM). This dual training has marked all of her work, which is intended to be a hybrid of art and biology. The artist was awarded a gold medal for sculpture at the Francophone Games in 2001; prior to that, in 1998, she received a Claudia De Hueck Fellowship in Art and Science.

selected exhibitions
2007 De-cons-tructions, National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa (Ontario) Apprivoisements fugaces, Pierre-François Ouellette Art Contemporain, Montréal (Québec) 2005 Ils causent des systèmes : Acquisitions récentes en art actuel, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (Québec) 2004 Beyond Science, Metrònom, Barcelona (Spain) 2002 LASIVARASTO: L’entrepôt de verre, Axenéo7, Gatineau (Québec) 1998 Chambre des cultures, Read More
Annie Thibault lives and works in Gatineau. After initially studying the pure sciences, she obtained a bachelor's degree in visual art form the Université du Québec en Outaouais and a graphic design workshop (UQAM). This dual training has marked all of her work, which is intended to be a hybrid of art and biology. The artist was awarded a gold medal for sculpture at the Francophone Games in 2001; prior to that, in 1998, she received a Claudia De Hueck Fellowship in Art and Science.

selected exhibitions
  • 2007 De-cons-tructions, National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa (Ontario)
  • Apprivoisements fugaces, Pierre-François Ouellette Art Contemporain, Montréal (Québec)
  • 2005 Ils causent des systèmes : Acquisitions récentes en art actuel, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (Québec)
  • 2004 Beyond Science, Metrònom, Barcelona (Spain)
  • 2002 LASIVARASTO: L’entrepôt de verre, Axenéo7, Gatineau (Québec)
  • 1998 Chambre des cultures, Centre des arts actuels Skol, Montréal (Québec)

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. All rights reserved

agar-agar

A viscous substance obtained from any of various kinds of red seaweed. Liquid when heated and gelatinous when cooled, it is used as a culture medium in bacteriology and as a food thickener (in jams and candies).

fungal cultures

Growths of mould or mushrooms, that is, of microscopic filamentous vegetation that feeds on organic substances.

Petri dish

A closed dish used in biology to grow cultures of microorganisms. Shallow and round, it can be made of glass or plastic.
agar-agar

A viscous substance obtained from any of various kinds of red seaweed. Liquid when heated and gelatinous when cooled, it is used as a culture medium in bacteriology and as a food thickener (in jams and candies).

fungal cultures

Growths of mould or mushrooms, that is, of microscopic filamentous vegetation that feeds on organic substances.

Petri dish

A closed dish used in biology to grow cultures of microorganisms. Shallow and round, it can be made of glass or plastic.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. All rights reserved

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • demonstrate an understanding of how science and art can be linked;
  • try to explain the state of mind of the artist when she made this art piece.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le laboratoire est un lieu d’investigation et de création de savoirs nouveaux. Nous pouvons le comparer à l’atelier d’un artiste, lequel s’avère également un lieu de recherche tout autant que de production de connaissances et de formes inédites. La complexité du monde qui nous entoure s’y trouve investie. Cette partie de l’exposition aborde le travail d’artistes qui rendent compte du processus scientifique en inventant différents protocoles d’expérimentation, en révélant une relation souvent livresque au savoir, en brevetant leur découverte ou, encore, en manipulant une matière vivante qui évolue et se transforme. Leurs créations engagent la collaboration de scientifiques, tirent profit des possibilités offertes par des instruments étrangers à l’art et suggèrent un désir de maîtriser l’inconnu.
Le laboratoire est un lieu d’investigation et de création de savoirs nouveaux. Nous pouvons le comparer à l’atelier d’un artiste, lequel s’avère également un lieu de recherche tout autant que de production de connaissances et de formes inédites. La complexité du monde qui nous entoure s’y trouve investie. Cette partie de l’exposition aborde le travail d’artistes qui rendent compte du processus scientifique en inventant différents protocoles d’expérimentation, en révélant une relation souvent livresque au savoir, en brevetant leur découverte ou, encore, en manipulant une matière vivante qui évolue et se transforme. Leurs créations engagent la collaboration de scientifiques, tirent profit des possibilités offertes par des instruments étrangers à l’art et suggèrent un désir de maîtriser l’inconnu.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. Tous droits réservés.

Boîtes de Pétri, gélose et cultures fongiques inoculées en laboratoire.

Photo : Annie Thibault
Annie Thibault
2004
© Annie Thibault, gracieusement fourni par Pierre François Ouellette art contemporain, Montréal


Boîtes de Pétri, gélose et cultures fongiques inoculées en laboratoire.

Photo : Annie Thibault
2004
© Annie Thibault, gracieusement fourni par Pierre François Ouellette art contemporain, Montréal


L’œuvre LABORATOIRE. Sous l’antre de la chambre stérile constitue l’aboutissement de travaux entrepris par Annie Thibault lors d’une résidence à l’Instituto Biología Molecular de Barcelone. Le laboratoire devient ici son atelier où elle y manipule des substances vivantes, à savoir des cultures fongiques (levures, moisissures), dans un contexte de création. Au plafond, l’installation Cercle de sorcières s’inspire de certaines théories exobiologiques stipulant que l’origine de la vie proviendrait de poussières d’étoiles (spores) déposées sur la Terre par la rosée. Le titre fait référence à la formation circulaire que prennent certains champignons lors de leur apparition dans les sous-bois. Les deux œuvres établissent des liens entre le macrocosme et le microcosme. Comme pour l’ensemble de la production d’Annie Thibault, elles allient un questionnement tant esthétique que scientifique et empruntent l’arsenal du microbiologiste : géloses, fioles de verre, micro-org Pour en lire plus
L’œuvre LABORATOIRE. Sous l’antre de la chambre stérile constitue l’aboutissement de travaux entrepris par Annie Thibault lors d’une résidence à l’Instituto Biología Molecular de Barcelone. Le laboratoire devient ici son atelier où elle y manipule des substances vivantes, à savoir des cultures fongiques (levures, moisissures), dans un contexte de création. Au plafond, l’installation Cercle de sorcières s’inspire de certaines théories exobiologiques stipulant que l’origine de la vie proviendrait de poussières d’étoiles (spores) déposées sur la Terre par la rosée. Le titre fait référence à la formation circulaire que prennent certains champignons lors de leur apparition dans les sous-bois. Les deux œuvres établissent des liens entre le macrocosme et le microcosme. Comme pour l’ensemble de la production d’Annie Thibault, elles allient un questionnement tant esthétique que scientifique et empruntent l’arsenal du microbiologiste : géloses, fioles de verre, micro-organismes, etc. L’artiste dessine avec des cultures fongiques et bactériennes, crée des installations avec des boîtes de Pétri, des fioles de verre, des modelages en cire, dans le désir de travailler avec le vivant pour créer des mondes à la croisée de l’atelier de l’artiste, du musée d’histoire naturelle et du laboratoire.

Les deux œuvres ont été réalisées et présentées suite à une résidence effectuée à la Fundacio Rafael Tous d’art contemporaini METRÒNOM située à Barcelone (Espagne) et en collaboration avec le laboratoire de biologie moléculaire de l’Université de Barcelone.

Pour voir des entrevues avec l’artiste Annie Thibault, tirées de Beyond Science, suivez ce lien.

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. Tous droits réservés.

Photographie sur lexan, acrylique soufflé et huile minérale.

Photo : Annie Thibault et Jorsi Nieva
2004
© Annie Thibault, gracieuseté de Pierre François Ouellette art contemporain, Montréal


Photographie sur lexan, acrylique soufflé et huile minérale.

Photo : Annie Thibault et Jorsi Nieva
2004
© Annie Thibault, gracieuseté de Pierre François Ouellette art contemporain, Montréal


Annie Thibault vit et travaille à Gatineau. D’abord formée en sciences pures, elle obtient ensuite un baccalauréat en arts plastiques de l’Université du Québec en Outaouais et un perfectionnement en design graphique (UQAM). Cette double formation marque l’ensemble de sa production artistique, qui se veut une hybridation entre l’art et la biologie. L’artiste a remporté la médaille d’or en sculpture aux Jeux de la Francophonie en 2001, et a été récipiendaire, en 1998, de la bourse de recherche Claudia De Hueck en art et science.

expositions (sélection)
2007 Dé-cons-tructions, Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Ottawa (Ontario)Apprivoisements fugaces, Pierre-François Ouellette Art Contemporain, Montréal (Québec) 2005 Ils causent des systèmes : Acquisitions récentes en art actuel, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (Québec) [Anne-Marie Ninacs, commissaire] Pour en lire plus
Annie Thibault vit et travaille à Gatineau. D’abord formée en sciences pures, elle obtient ensuite un baccalauréat en arts plastiques de l’Université du Québec en Outaouais et un perfectionnement en design graphique (UQAM). Cette double formation marque l’ensemble de sa production artistique, qui se veut une hybridation entre l’art et la biologie. L’artiste a remporté la médaille d’or en sculpture aux Jeux de la Francophonie en 2001, et a été récipiendaire, en 1998, de la bourse de recherche Claudia De Hueck en art et science.

expositions (sélection)
  • 2007 Dé-cons-tructions, Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Ottawa (Ontario)Apprivoisements fugaces, Pierre-François Ouellette Art Contemporain, Montréal (Québec)
  • 2005 Ils causent des systèmes : Acquisitions récentes en art actuel, Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, Québec (Québec) [Anne-Marie Ninacs, commissaire]
  • 2004 Beyond Science, Metrònom, Barcelone (Espagne)
  • 2002 LASIVARASTO : L’entrepôt de verre, Axenéo7, Gatineau (Québec)
  • 1998 Chambre des cultures, Centre des arts actuels Skol, Montréal (Québec)

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. Tous droits réservés.

boîte de Pétri

Boîte munie d’un couvercle qui est utilisée en biologie pour la culture de micro-organismes. Peu profonde et de forme cylindrique, elle est faite de verre ou de plastique.

cultures fongiques

Développements de moisissures ou champignons, soit de végétations microscopiques filamenteuses se nourrissant de substances organiques.

gélose

Substance visqueuse produite à partir d’un extrait d’une algue marine, l’agar-agar. Ayant pour caractéristique d’être liquide à chaud et de prendre en gelée en refroidissant, elle est utilisée dans la préparation des milieux de culture en bactériologie et comme gélifiant dans l’alimentation (confitures, confiseries).
boîte de Pétri

Boîte munie d’un couvercle qui est utilisée en biologie pour la culture de micro-organismes. Peu profonde et de forme cylindrique, elle est faite de verre ou de plastique.

cultures fongiques

Développements de moisissures ou champignons, soit de végétations microscopiques filamenteuses se nourrissant de substances organiques.

gélose

Substance visqueuse produite à partir d’un extrait d’une algue marine, l’agar-agar. Ayant pour caractéristique d’être liquide à chaud et de prendre en gelée en refroidissant, elle est utilisée dans la préparation des milieux de culture en bactériologie et comme gélifiant dans l’alimentation (confitures, confiseries).

© Galerie de l'UQAM 2007. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • démontrer qu’il comprend le lien qui existe entre la science et l’art;
  • tenter d’expliquer l’état d’esprit de l’artiste au moment où elle a réalisé cette vidéo.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons