Thirty years ago, traditional medicine, with its strong reliance on the healing power of plants, was considered pretty much obsolete by most Canadians.

How things change! Traditional medicine systems from around the world now flourish here. The gap between traditional and mainstream medicine is narrowing, with MDs running clinical trials of traditional remedies and reputable traditional practitioners modifying their practices in the light of new scientific evidence.

A current issue of great concern to practitioners, consumers, and government is the need to set and enforce standards of quality for both practitioners and the products marketed as traditional medicines. Normal 0 false false fals Read More

Thirty years ago, traditional medicine, with its strong reliance on the healing power of plants, was considered pretty much obsolete by most Canadians.

How things change! Traditional medicine systems from around the world now flourish here. The gap between traditional and mainstream medicine is narrowing, with MDs running clinical trials of traditional remedies and reputable traditional practitioners modifying their practices in the light of new scientific evidence.

A current issue of great concern to practitioners, consumers, and government is the need to set and enforce standards of quality for both practitioners and the products marketed as traditional medicines.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Suzanne Brant

Health Programs Coordinator

First Nations Technical Institute


Tyendinaga Mohawk Territory, Ontario

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


I’d say it’s the commonality of our world view. We recognize that the natural environment provides us with health and that utilizing plants can provide us with health. Some of those plants are actually foods, so they become our medicine. Ours is more a preventative approach to wellness, rather than one in which you wait until you have a disease and then treat the symptoms. It’s about understanding that our health comes from the natural environment, whether it’s the plants, the water, the trees, the birds. They all provide us with health.

First Nations people also understand that everything is interconnected. So if I’m utilizing those plants, it’s my responsibility to ensure their health, to protect them, to protect their habitat and where they live. In doing that, there’s reciprocity. The benefits come back to me.
I’d say it’s the commonality of our world view. We recognize that the natural environment provides us with health and that utilizing plants can provide us with health. Some of those plants are actually foods, so they become our medicine. Ours is more a preventative approach to wellness, rather than one in which you wait until you have a disease and then treat the symptoms. It’s about understanding that our health comes from the natural environment, whether it’s the plants, the water, the trees, the birds. They all provide us with health.

First Nations people also understand that everything is interconnected. So if I’m utilizing those plants, it’s my responsibility to ensure their health, to protect them, to protect their habitat and where they live. In doing that, there’s reciprocity. The benefits come back to me.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Labrador Tea

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


In using plants, there are certain protocols that are in place so you don't destroy them. For example, you treat plants like your family, like your relatives, so when you’re gathering you don't destroy the whole family or mistreat where they’re growing. You protect, you preserve and encourage the habitat.

A lot of our gathering practices are about certain times of the year. There’s a certain respect for how and where and when the plants grow, their seeds, and how we gather them so that we don't destroy them. Because we want to ensure their continuation. Because that, again, is our continuation. It’s that reciprocal process. Normal 0 false Read More

In using plants, there are certain protocols that are in place so you don't destroy them. For example, you treat plants like your family, like your relatives, so when you’re gathering you don't destroy the whole family or mistreat where they’re growing. You protect, you preserve and encourage the habitat.

A lot of our gathering practices are about certain times of the year. There’s a certain respect for how and where and when the plants grow, their seeds, and how we gather them so that we don't destroy them. Because we want to ensure their continuation. Because that, again, is our continuation. It’s that reciprocal process.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Goldenseal

Royal Botanical Gardens

© Royal Botanical Gardens


Whatever [plant] you need is right around you. It’s conditioned to its environment, so it grows in certain soils and certain areas. It’s the same with us as human beings. We grow in a certain place, so we utilize those plants that are around us. And [plant use] shifts depending on where you’re at. The plants further north are different from the ones here.
Whatever [plant] you need is right around you. It’s conditioned to its environment, so it grows in certain soils and certain areas. It’s the same with us as human beings. We grow in a certain place, so we utilize those plants that are around us. And [plant use] shifts depending on where you’re at. The plants further north are different from the ones here.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Wild ginger (Asarum canadense), fiddleheads (new shoots from various kinds of ferns), nettles (Urtica dioica), cattails (Typhia species), yarrow (Achillea millefolium), burdock root (Arctium species), yellowdock root (Rumex crispus), chicory root and flowers (Cichorium intybus), lambsquarter (Chenopodium album)… I’m just going through as I visualize ones that I’ve used.

Let’s say someone had trouble with their lungs … you could use mullein (Verbascum species). It’s an expectorant and antispasmodic. It works really well for colds and bronchitis. It is an interesting plant because the leaves look like a lung and this is what they work on.

Wild ginger (Asarum canadense), fiddleheads (new shoots from various kinds of ferns), nettles (Urtica dioica), cattails (Typhia species), yarrow (Achillea millefolium), burdock root (Arctium species), yellowdock root (Rumex crispus), chicory root and flowers (Cichorium intybus), lambsquarter (Chenopodium album)… I’m just going through as I visualize ones that I’ve used.

Let’s say someone had trouble with their lungs … you could use mullein (Verbascum species). It’s an expectorant and antispasmodic. It works really well for colds and bronchitis. It is an interesting plant because the leaves look like a lung and this is what they work on.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Wild Ginger

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


How you prepare the medicine depends on which part of the plant you’re using. If gathering a root, I try to brush as much of the dirt off as I can, then I chop it up and I lay it out on some kind of brown paper, like a paper bag, to dry. Once it’s dry then I put it away.

With leaves, say raspberry leaves (Rubus idaeus), I cut them off the bush and lay them out on brown paper to let them dry. If it’s a whole plant, like catnip (Nepeta cataria), I cut it off at the base once the plant is full, hang it upside down to dry, then put it away. And barks, the same thing. You take it off, let it dry, and then put them away. I always store my medicines in paper or in glass, not in plastic.

How you prepare the medicine depends on which part of the plant you’re using. If gathering a root, I try to brush as much of the dirt off as I can, then I chop it up and I lay it out on some kind of brown paper, like a paper bag, to dry. Once it’s dry then I put it away.

With leaves, say raspberry leaves (Rubus idaeus), I cut them off the bush and lay them out on brown paper to let them dry. If it’s a whole plant, like catnip (Nepeta cataria), I cut it off at the base once the plant is full, hang it upside down to dry, then put it away. And barks, the same thing. You take it off, let it dry, and then put them away. I always store my medicines in paper or in glass, not in plastic.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Medicinal Plants stored in glass jars.

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


There are differences in the way you prepare medicines, depending on the type of medicine. For instance, if I’m using goldenseal root (Hydrastis canadensis), I don't use very much, only a few pieces of root, in about four cups of water. But generally you take about a teaspoon of the root or bark and put it in about six cups of water, bring it just to a boil, barely, and then you let it simmer for about 20 minutes. Then you put it in a container and drink it as you need it. If it’s a tea leaf or a flower, then I use about a tablespoon to a cup of boiling water and let it steep for about 10 minutes and then drink it. Normal 0 false false Read More
There are differences in the way you prepare medicines, depending on the type of medicine. For instance, if I’m using goldenseal root (Hydrastis canadensis), I don't use very much, only a few pieces of root, in about four cups of water. But generally you take about a teaspoon of the root or bark and put it in about six cups of water, bring it just to a boil, barely, and then you let it simmer for about 20 minutes. Then you put it in a container and drink it as you need it. If it’s a tea leaf or a flower, then I use about a tablespoon to a cup of boiling water and let it steep for about 10 minutes and then drink it.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Suzanne Brant preparing herbal medicines.

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


That’s a very critical part of it. Because when we’re talking about looking after oneself and taking ownership of our own wellness, then it’s our responsibility to protect, preserve, gather, and utilize things – like plants – in our natural environment. If we’re not using them, then they’re not of any value to us. If they’re not of any value to us, then we destroy them, and that’s what’s happening. So the spiritual aspect is very much connected to taking on that responsibility for using those things.

I know that not everybody is going to go out and gather medicine, but the awareness should be there about preserving and protecting and making sure that that environment is available to those people that do. Because each one of us has different responsibilities. Maybe somebody else is more responsible for the water or for the birds. Maybe a man is a hunter, so he’s responsible for protecting the environment of the animals he hunts.
That’s a very critical part of it. Because when we’re talking about looking after oneself and taking ownership of our own wellness, then it’s our responsibility to protect, preserve, gather, and utilize things – like plants – in our natural environment. If we’re not using them, then they’re not of any value to us. If they’re not of any value to us, then we destroy them, and that’s what’s happening. So the spiritual aspect is very much connected to taking on that responsibility for using those things.

I know that not everybody is going to go out and gather medicine, but the awareness should be there about preserving and protecting and making sure that that environment is available to those people that do. Because each one of us has different responsibilities. Maybe somebody else is more responsible for the water or for the birds. Maybe a man is a hunter, so he’s responsible for protecting the environment of the animals he hunts.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Goldenseal flower.

Royal Botanical Gardens

© Royal Botanical Gardens


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • familiarize himself with the vocabulary used in traditional medicine;
  • describe the relationship between plants and First Nation cultures;
  • compare the way each Canadians portrayed in this learning object collection uses plants to heal and/or maintain health.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Il y a trente ans, la plupart des Canadiens considéraient la médecine traditionnelle, qui reposait grandement sur les propriétés médicinales des plantes, comme dépassée.

Comme les choses ont changé! Des systèmes de médecine traditionnelle du monde entier sont maintenant en plein essor ici. Le fossé entre la médecine traditionnelle et la médecine conventionnelle se comble, les médecins font des essais cliniques sur les remèdes traditionnels et des praticiens traditionnels de renom modifient maintenant leurs méthodes à la lumière de nouvelles preuves scientifiques. 

Les développements mettent en lumière l’importance d’élaborer des normes de qualité, tant pour les praticiens que pour les produits dits « naturels », et de veiller à leur application. Une préoccupation que partagent les praticiens, les consommateurs et le gouvernement.
Il y a trente ans, la plupart des Canadiens considéraient la médecine traditionnelle, qui reposait grandement sur les propriétés médicinales des plantes, comme dépassée.

Comme les choses ont changé! Des systèmes de médecine traditionnelle du monde entier sont maintenant en plein essor ici. Le fossé entre la médecine traditionnelle et la médecine conventionnelle se comble, les médecins font des essais cliniques sur les remèdes traditionnels et des praticiens traditionnels de renom modifient maintenant leurs méthodes à la lumière de nouvelles preuves scientifiques. 

Les développements mettent en lumière l’importance d’élaborer des normes de qualité, tant pour les praticiens que pour les produits dits « naturels », et de veiller à leur application. Une préoccupation que partagent les praticiens, les consommateurs et le gouvernement.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Suzanne Brant

Coordonnatrice des programmes de santé

First Nations Technical Institute


Tyendinaga Mohawk Territory (Ontario)

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


Je dirais que nous avons une vision du monde commune. Nous reconnaissons que l’environnement naturel nous donne la santé et que l’usage des plantes peut nous donner la santé. Certaines de ces plantes sont en fait des aliments et deviennent nos remèdes. Nous abordons la santé sous l’aspect préventif plutôt que d’attendre d’être malade et de traiter les symptômes. Tout revient à comprendre que la santé est liée à notre environnement naturel, qu’il s’agisse des plantes, de l’eau, des arbres ou des oiseaux. Nous leur devons notre santé à tous.

Les membres des Premières Nations comprennent aussi que tout est relié. Si j’utilise ces plantes, je dois veiller à leur santé et les protéger, de même que leur habitat et l’endroit où elles poussent. C’est un processus réciproque. J’en tire des avantages.
Je dirais que nous avons une vision du monde commune. Nous reconnaissons que l’environnement naturel nous donne la santé et que l’usage des plantes peut nous donner la santé. Certaines de ces plantes sont en fait des aliments et deviennent nos remèdes. Nous abordons la santé sous l’aspect préventif plutôt que d’attendre d’être malade et de traiter les symptômes. Tout revient à comprendre que la santé est liée à notre environnement naturel, qu’il s’agisse des plantes, de l’eau, des arbres ou des oiseaux. Nous leur devons notre santé à tous.

Les membres des Premières Nations comprennent aussi que tout est relié. Si j’utilise ces plantes, je dois veiller à leur santé et les protéger, de même que leur habitat et l’endroit où elles poussent. C’est un processus réciproque. J’en tire des avantages.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Thé du Labrador

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


Quand nous utilisons les plantes, nous respectons certains protocoles de manière à ne pas les détruire. Par exemple, nous traitons les plantes comme des membres de notre famille; c’est pourquoi nous ne détruisons pas toute la famille quand nous les cueillons et nous respectons l’endroit où elles poussent. Nous protégeons et nous préservons l’habitat.

Le moment de la cueillette est très important. Nous respectons la manière dont les plantes poussent, l’endroit où elles poussent et leurs graines. Nous les cueillons de manière à ne pas les détruire parce que nous ne voulons pas qu’elles disparaissent. Il y va de notre continuité. C’est le processus de réciprocité.
Quand nous utilisons les plantes, nous respectons certains protocoles de manière à ne pas les détruire. Par exemple, nous traitons les plantes comme des membres de notre famille; c’est pourquoi nous ne détruisons pas toute la famille quand nous les cueillons et nous respectons l’endroit où elles poussent. Nous protégeons et nous préservons l’habitat.

Le moment de la cueillette est très important. Nous respectons la manière dont les plantes poussent, l’endroit où elles poussent et leurs graines. Nous les cueillons de manière à ne pas les détruire parce que nous ne voulons pas qu’elles disparaissent. Il y va de notre continuité. C’est le processus de réciprocité.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Hydraste du Canada

Les Jardins botaniques royaux

© Les Jardins botaniques royaux


Les plantes dont nous avons besoin sont à proximité. Comme elles sont adaptées à leur environnement, elles poussent dans certains sols et dans certains endroits. Il en va de même pour nous, les humains. Nous grandissons dans un endroit donné et nous utilisons les plantes qui nous entourent. Nous utilisons les plantes différemment selon l'endroit où nous nous trouvons. Les plantes qui poussent plus au nord ne sont pas les mêmes que celles qui poussent ici.
Les plantes dont nous avons besoin sont à proximité. Comme elles sont adaptées à leur environnement, elles poussent dans certains sols et dans certains endroits. Il en va de même pour nous, les humains. Nous grandissons dans un endroit donné et nous utilisons les plantes qui nous entourent. Nous utilisons les plantes différemment selon l'endroit où nous nous trouvons. Les plantes qui poussent plus au nord ne sont pas les mêmes que celles qui poussent ici.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

L’asaret du Canada ou gingembre sauvage (Asarum canadense), les crosses de fougère (les nouvelles pousses de diverses espèces de fougères), les orties (Urtica dioica), la quenouille (Typha), l’herbe à dinde (Achillea millefolium), la racine de bardane (Arctium), la patience crépue (Rumex crispus), la racine et les fleurs de la chicorée (Cichorium intybus), le chénopode blanc ou chou gras (Chenopodium album)… Je passe en revue celles que j’ai utilisées.

Disons que quelqu’un a des problèmes de poumons… Vous pourriez utiliser de la grande molène (espèce de Verbascum). C’est un expectorant et un antispasmodique. Elle est très efficace contre les rhumes et la bronchite. C’est une plante intéressante parce que ses feuilles ressemblent à un poumon, et elle est bonne pour les poumons.
L’asaret du Canada ou gingembre sauvage (Asarum canadense), les crosses de fougère (les nouvelles pousses de diverses espèces de fougères), les orties (Urtica dioica), la quenouille (Typha), l’herbe à dinde (Achillea millefolium), la racine de bardane (Arctium), la patience crépue (Rumex crispus), la racine et les fleurs de la chicorée (Cichorium intybus), le chénopode blanc ou chou gras (Chenopodium album)… Je passe en revue celles que j’ai utilisées.

Disons que quelqu’un a des problèmes de poumons… Vous pourriez utiliser de la grande molène (espèce de Verbascum). C’est un expectorant et un antispasmodique. Elle est très efficace contre les rhumes et la bronchite. C’est une plante intéressante parce que ses feuilles ressemblent à un poumon, et elle est bonne pour les poumons.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Gingembre sauvage

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


La préparation du remède dépend de la partie de la plante qu’on utilise. Si je déterre une racine, j’enlève le plus de terre possible avec une brosse, puis je la coupe en morceaux que j’étale sur du papier brun, un sac en papier, par exemple, pour qu’ils sèchent. Je les range une fois qu’ils sont secs.

Quant aux feuilles, disons des feuilles de framboisier (Rubus idaeus), je les sépare des arbustes et je les étale sur du papier brun pour les faire sécher. S’il s’agit de toute une plante comme la népéta cataire ou herbe aux chats (Nepeta cataria), je la coupe à la base une fois qu’elle est bien fournie, je la suspens la tête en bas pour la faire sécher, puis je la range. Je fais la même chose avec les écorces. Je les prends, je les fais sécher et je les range. Je conserve toujours mes remèdes dans du papier ou dans des contenants en verre, jamais dans du plastique.
La préparation du remède dépend de la partie de la plante qu’on utilise. Si je déterre une racine, j’enlève le plus de terre possible avec une brosse, puis je la coupe en morceaux que j’étale sur du papier brun, un sac en papier, par exemple, pour qu’ils sèchent. Je les range une fois qu’ils sont secs.

Quant aux feuilles, disons des feuilles de framboisier (Rubus idaeus), je les sépare des arbustes et je les étale sur du papier brun pour les faire sécher. S’il s’agit de toute une plante comme la népéta cataire ou herbe aux chats (Nepeta cataria), je la coupe à la base une fois qu’elle est bien fournie, je la suspens la tête en bas pour la faire sécher, puis je la range. Je fais la même chose avec les écorces. Je les prends, je les fais sécher et je les range. Je conserve toujours mes remèdes dans du papier ou dans des contenants en verre, jamais dans du plastique.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Plantes médicinales conservées dans contenants en verre.

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


Il y a plusieurs façons de préparer des remèdes. Si j’utilise l’hydraste du Canada (Hydrastis canadensis), par exemple, je ne mets que quelques morceaux de racine dans quatre tasses d’eau environ. D’une manière générale, je mets à peu près une cuiller à thé de la racine ou de l’écorce dans six tasses d’eau, je fais bouillir l’eau légèrement, puis je laisse mijoter pendant quelque 20 minutes. Je verse ensuite le liquide dans un contenant et je le bois quand j’en ai besoin. S’il s’agit d’une feuille ou d’une fleur, j’en mets environ une cuiller à soupe dans une tasse d’eau bouillante. Je laisse infuser pendant environ 10 minutes, puis je bois l’infusion.
Il y a plusieurs façons de préparer des remèdes. Si j’utilise l’hydraste du Canada (Hydrastis canadensis), par exemple, je ne mets que quelques morceaux de racine dans quatre tasses d’eau environ. D’une manière générale, je mets à peu près une cuiller à thé de la racine ou de l’écorce dans six tasses d’eau, je fais bouillir l’eau légèrement, puis je laisse mijoter pendant quelque 20 minutes. Je verse ensuite le liquide dans un contenant et je le bois quand j’en ai besoin. S’il s’agit d’une feuille ou d’une fleur, j’en mets environ une cuiller à soupe dans une tasse d’eau bouillante. Je laisse infuser pendant environ 10 minutes, puis je bois l’infusion.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Suzanne Brant prépare des remédes à base de plantes.

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


Cette dernière est une partie très importante du processus. Quand nous parlons de prendre soin de nous-mêmes et d’assumer notre bien-être, il nous incombe de protéger, de récolter et d’utiliser les plantes dans notre environnement naturel. Si nous ne les utilisons pas, elles n’ont aucune valeur pour nous. Et si elles n’ont pas de valeur pour nous, nous les détruisons. L’aspect spirituel est donc très lié à notre responsabilité envers les plantes.

Je sais que tout le monde ne récolte pas des plantes médicinales, mais chacun devrait comprendre qu’il est important de préserver et de protéger les plantes pour ceux qui les récoltent. Chacun de nous a des responsabilités différentes. Quelqu’un d’autre joue peut-être un rôle plus important pour l’eau ou pour les oiseaux. Un homme peut être un chasseur, responsable de la protection de l’écosystème des animaux qu’il chasse.
Cette dernière est une partie très importante du processus. Quand nous parlons de prendre soin de nous-mêmes et d’assumer notre bien-être, il nous incombe de protéger, de récolter et d’utiliser les plantes dans notre environnement naturel. Si nous ne les utilisons pas, elles n’ont aucune valeur pour nous. Et si elles n’ont pas de valeur pour nous, nous les détruisons. L’aspect spirituel est donc très lié à notre responsabilité envers les plantes.

Je sais que tout le monde ne récolte pas des plantes médicinales, mais chacun devrait comprendre qu’il est important de préserver et de protéger les plantes pour ceux qui les récoltent. Chacun de nous a des responsabilités différentes. Quelqu’un d’autre joue peut-être un rôle plus important pour l’eau ou pour les oiseaux. Un homme peut être un chasseur, responsable de la protection de l’écosystème des animaux qu’il chasse.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Fleur de l'Hydraste du Canada.

Les Jardins botaniques royaux

© Les Jardins botaniques royaux


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L'apprenant va :
  • apprendre la terminologie employée dans la médecine traditionnelle;
  • décrire la relation qui existe entre les plantes et les cultures des Premières Nations;
  • comparer la façon dont chaque Canadien présenté dans cette collection d’objets d’apprentissage utilise les plantes pour soigner ou prévenir la maladie.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons