Thirty years ago, traditional medicine, with its strong reliance on the healing power of plants, was considered pretty much obsolete by most Canadians.

How things change! Traditional medicine systems from around the world now flourish here. The gap between traditional and mainstream medicine is narrowing, with MDs running clinical trials of traditional remedies and reputable traditional practitioners modifying their practices in the light of new scientific evidence.

A current issue of great concern to practitioners, consumers, and government is the need to set and enforce standards of quality for both practitioners and the products marketed as traditional medicines. Normal 0 false Read More

Thirty years ago, traditional medicine, with its strong reliance on the healing power of plants, was considered pretty much obsolete by most Canadians.

How things change! Traditional medicine systems from around the world now flourish here. The gap between traditional and mainstream medicine is narrowing, with MDs running clinical trials of traditional remedies and reputable traditional practitioners modifying their practices in the light of new scientific evidence.

A current issue of great concern to practitioners, consumers, and government is the need to set and enforce standards of quality for both practitioners and the products marketed as traditional medicines.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Hemant Kumar Gupta

Doctor of Medicine

(Ayurvedic)


St. John’s, Newfoundland

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


Ayurved is a Sanskrit word. "Ayur" means lifespan and "ved" means knowledge, or science, so ayurveda is literally the science of life and longevity, in which lifespan is defined as a balanced union of body, senses, mind, and consciousness. Ayurveda is a "consciousness-based" holistic approach that simultaneously focuses on these four components of life.
Ayurved is a Sanskrit word. "Ayur" means lifespan and "ved" means knowledge, or science, so ayurveda is literally the science of life and longevity, in which lifespan is defined as a balanced union of body, senses, mind, and consciousness. Ayurveda is a "consciousness-based" holistic approach that simultaneously focuses on these four components of life.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Ayurveda has a comprehensive method of diagnosis and treatment that emphasizes prevention, heath care, and disease control. The distinguishing feature of Ayurvedic treatment is that it offers a personalized health plan, customized according to an individual's body-mind type (prakriti). It addresses specific imbalances in an individual through diet, herbs, lifestyle, Ayurvedic detoxification programs (panch karma), yoga, and meditation. So Ayurveda treats the person as a whole and treats disease in full consideration of a person's individual physiology.
Ayurveda has a comprehensive method of diagnosis and treatment that emphasizes prevention, heath care, and disease control. The distinguishing feature of Ayurvedic treatment is that it offers a personalized health plan, customized according to an individual's body-mind type (prakriti). It addresses specific imbalances in an individual through diet, herbs, lifestyle, Ayurvedic detoxification programs (panch karma), yoga, and meditation. So Ayurveda treats the person as a whole and treats disease in full consideration of a person's individual physiology.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

It is the oldest system of medicine known to mankind. There's a saying in Ayurveda that goes "As is the microcosm, so is the macrocosm." In other words, Ayurveda is based on the study of nature in its totality, and therefore its fundamental principles are universal. Ayurveda, discovered as nature's gift to suffering mankind, is based on fundamental laws of nature and is receiving more attention for its insight and practicality in modern times.

It has provided founding principles for Tibetan and Chinese medicine, early Arabic, Unani, and Greek systems of medicine. It was influential in all of these places.

It is the oldest system of medicine known to mankind. There's a saying in Ayurveda that goes "As is the microcosm, so is the macrocosm." In other words, Ayurveda is based on the study of nature in its totality, and therefore its fundamental principles are universal.

Ayurveda, discovered as nature's gift to suffering mankind, is based on fundamental laws of nature and is receiving more attention for its insight and practicality in modern times.

It has provided founding principles for Tibetan and Chinese medicine, early Arabic, Unani, and Greek systems of medicine. It was influential in all of these places.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Comiphora mukul

Himalaya Drug Co.

© 2002 Himalaya Drug Co.


Today Ayurveda is part of the primary health care system on the Indian subcontinent. There, most universities offer five years of undergraduate study in Ayurveda, including a one-year internship, and many have a three-year postgraduate degree (MD Ayurveda) recognized by India's university grant commission. Some universities and colleges in Europe, Russia, North America, and Japan have started offering adjunct courses of Ayurveda in medical schools.
Today Ayurveda is part of the primary health care system on the Indian subcontinent. There, most universities offer five years of undergraduate study in Ayurveda, including a one-year internship, and many have a three-year postgraduate degree (MD Ayurveda) recognized by India's university grant commission. Some universities and colleges in Europe, Russia, North America, and Japan have started offering adjunct courses of Ayurveda in medical schools.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Withania somnifera

Himalaya Drug Co.

© 2002 Himalaya Drug Co.


Ayurved differs in its fundamental approach in using herbs. Because Ayurveda understands the individual person as a whole it advocates the use of whole herbs instead of isolating, extracting, and administering active ingredients of an herb. Ayurveda does not support the reductionistic approach to studying physiology, nature, or herbs.
Ayurved differs in its fundamental approach in using herbs. Because Ayurveda understands the individual person as a whole it advocates the use of whole herbs instead of isolating, extracting, and administering active ingredients of an herb. Ayurveda does not support the reductionistic approach to studying physiology, nature, or herbs.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Terminalia arjuna

Himalaya Drug Co.

© 2002 Himalaya Drug Co.


Ayurveda has a common basis of understanding for human physiology, cosmic physiology, and herbs. This understanding is based on five elements: earth, water, fire, air, and space. These five elements each have functional significance in our bodies, including structuring (body tissues, for example), binding and moistening (bodily fluids), transforming, digestion, and metabolism (enzymes and hormones), moving/circulation, transportation, and communication (the nervous and circulatory systems), and spacing (all macro- and micro-channels).

These five elements manifest themselves in human physiology as three doshas (biological humours or biometabolic principles). They are Vata (space+air), Pitta (fire+water), and Kapha (earth+water).

Vata performs functions of circulation, transportation and communication and represents all macro and micro channels (such as the nervous system, circulatory system, etc.)

Pitta is transforming or metabolizing. It represents enzymes and hormones. Kapha comprises all structures and represents body tissues (bones, muscle tissue, nervous tissue, fat tissue, etc).

Ayurveda has a common basis of understanding for human physiology, cosmic physiology, and herbs. This understanding is based on five elements: earth, water, fire, air, and space. These five elements each have functional significance in our bodies, including structuring (body tissues, for example), binding and moistening (bodily fluids), transforming, digestion, and metabolism (enzymes and hormones), moving/circulation, transportation, and communication (the nervous and circulatory systems), and spacing (all macro- and micro-channels).

These five elements manifest themselves in human physiology as three doshas (biological humours or biometabolic principles). They are Vata (space+air), Pitta (fire+water), and Kapha (earth+water).

Vata performs functions of circulation, transportation and communication and represents all macro and micro channels (such as the nervous system, circulatory system, etc.)

Pitta is transforming or metabolizing. It represents enzymes and hormones.

Kapha comprises all structures and represents body tissues (bones, muscle tissue, nervous tissue, fat tissue, etc).

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Tinosphora cordifolia

Himalaya Drug Co.

© 2002 Himalaya Drug Co.


Ayurveda recognizes that the same five elements constitute plants, the human body, and everything else in the universe. Ayurvedic herbology (Dravya Guna Vigyan) describes the action of foods and herbs through five fundamental principles: 
 
Taste (Rasa), such as sweet, sour, bitter, salt, pungent, astringent

Qualities (Gun), such as heavy, light, cold, hot, dry, oily

Potency (Veerya), i.e. effect on a system or organ.

Post-digestive action (Vipak), such as sweet, sour, and pungent.

Specific effect (Prabhav)

These five factors of herb action take effect through a dominant element or a combination of the five elements. Knowing this combination is the basis for determining the effect of foods and herbs on body-mind and consciousness. The idea is to use proper foods, herbs, lifestyle, and routine in order to create and maintain a balance (Swa-stha) of vata, pitta, and kapha, bodily tissues, digestion and metabolism, as well as to clear channels and foster happy senses, mind, and consciousness. All these are part of the holistic definitio Read More

Ayurveda recognizes that the same five elements constitute plants, the human body, and everything else in the universe. Ayurvedic herbology (Dravya Guna Vigyan) describes the action of foods and herbs through five fundamental principles: 
 
Taste (Rasa), such as sweet, sour, bitter, salt, pungent, astringent

Qualities (Gun), such as heavy, light, cold, hot, dry, oily

Potency (Veerya), i.e. effect on a system or organ.

Post-digestive action (Vipak), such as sweet, sour, and pungent.

Specific effect (Prabhav)

These five factors of herb action take effect through a dominant element or a combination of the five elements. Knowing this combination is the basis for determining the effect of foods and herbs on body-mind and consciousness.

The idea is to use proper foods, herbs, lifestyle, and routine in order to create and maintain a balance (Swa-stha) of vata, pitta, and kapha, bodily tissues, digestion and metabolism, as well as to clear channels and foster happy senses, mind, and consciousness. All these are part of the holistic definition of a healthy individual.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Tribulis terrestris

Himalaya Drug Co.

© 2002 Himalaya Drug Co.


At the beginning of all ancient systems there were only organically grown foods and herbs. Much later, we added chemical pesticides and fertilizers and so on to change them or make them grow faster. As a result, today we sometimes find that herbs that have been effective for thousands of years don’t have the same effect they’re supposed to because of the use of pesticides and fertilizers. Now, in India and every other place, it is very well recognized that plants must be grown organically. Governments pay special attention to making sure there is full control over the environments the plants are grown in. They want to ensure that Ayurvedic medicines are made from organically grown, handpicked herbs.

At the beginning of all ancient systems there were only organically grown foods and herbs. Much later, we added chemical pesticides and fertilizers and so on to change them or make them grow faster. As a result, today we sometimes find that herbs that have been effective for thousands of years don’t have the same effect they’re supposed to because of the use of pesticides and fertilizers.

Now, in India and every other place, it is very well recognized that plants must be grown organically. Governments pay special attention to making sure there is full control over the environments the plants are grown in. They want to ensure that Ayurvedic medicines are made from organically grown, handpicked herbs.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

There are more than 500 herbs. Ayurveda recommends the use of Single herbs that are used based on their action on the three Doshas, bodily tissues, or specific systems or organs, and on that herb's effect as an analgesic, nerve tonic, laxative, anti-asthmatic, or anti-inflammatory

Herbal formulas based on a combination of primary herbs, herbs that enhance bioavailability, herbs that eliminate or minimize side effects and maximize side benefits, herbs that facilitate the elimination of metabolic wastes and toxins, and herbs that have immunomodulating effects.
Some of the most commonly used single herbs are Arjuna (Terminalia arjuna) for heart care; Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera)which is particularly good for the nervous system, anxiety, or depression - think of it as Indian ginseng; Guggul (Commiphora mukul) which is most commonly used for high cholesterol and joint inflammation, stiffness and joint pains. Guduchi (Tinospora cordifolia) is very good as an immunomodulator, for skin diseases, liver problems, and hyperacidity. Gokshur (Tribulus terrestris) is commonly used Read More
There are more than 500 herbs. Ayurveda recommends the use of
  • Single herbs that are used based on their action on the three Doshas, bodily tissues, or specific systems or organs, and on that herb's effect as an analgesic, nerve tonic, laxative, anti-asthmatic, or anti-inflammatory


  • Herbal formulas based on a combination of primary herbs, herbs that enhance bioavailability, herbs that eliminate or minimize side effects and maximize side benefits, herbs that facilitate the elimination of metabolic wastes and toxins, and herbs that have immunomodulating effects.

Some of the most commonly used single herbs are Arjuna (Terminalia arjuna) for heart care; Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera)which is particularly good for the nervous system, anxiety, or depression - think of it as Indian ginseng; Guggul (Commiphora mukul) which is most commonly used for high cholesterol and joint inflammation, stiffness and joint pains. Guduchi (Tinospora cordifolia) is very good as an immunomodulator, for skin diseases, liver problems, and hyperacidity. Gokshur (Tribulus terrestris) is commonly used for urinary problems, kidney stones, or prostate problems. Nirgundi (Vitex nirgundo) is also very good for joint pains, sciatica, and disorders of the nervous system.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Vitex negundo

Himalaya Drug Co.

© 2002 Himalaya Drug Co.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • familiarize himself with the vocabulary used in traditional medicine;
  • describe the distinguished feature of Ayurvedic;
  • compare the way each Canadians portrayed in this learning object collection uses plants to heal and/or maintain health.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Il y a trente ans, la plupart des Canadiens considéraient la médecine traditionnelle, qui reposait grandement sur les propriétés médicinales des plantes, comme dépassée.

Comme les choses ont changé! Des systèmes de médecine traditionnelle du monde entier sont maintenant en plein essor ici. Le fossé entre la médecine traditionnelle et la médecine conventionnelle se comble, les médecins font des essais cliniques sur les remèdes traditionnels et des praticiens traditionnels de renom modifient maintenant leurs méthodes à la lumière de nouvelles preuves scientifiques. 

Les développements mettent en lumière l’importance d’élaborer des normes de qualité, tant pour les praticiens que pour les produits dits « naturels », et de veiller à leur application. Une préoccupation que partagent les praticiens, les consommateurs et le gouvernement.
Il y a trente ans, la plupart des Canadiens considéraient la médecine traditionnelle, qui reposait grandement sur les propriétés médicinales des plantes, comme dépassée.

Comme les choses ont changé! Des systèmes de médecine traditionnelle du monde entier sont maintenant en plein essor ici. Le fossé entre la médecine traditionnelle et la médecine conventionnelle se comble, les médecins font des essais cliniques sur les remèdes traditionnels et des praticiens traditionnels de renom modifient maintenant leurs méthodes à la lumière de nouvelles preuves scientifiques. 

Les développements mettent en lumière l’importance d’élaborer des normes de qualité, tant pour les praticiens que pour les produits dits « naturels », et de veiller à leur application. Une préoccupation que partagent les praticiens, les consommateurs et le gouvernement.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Hemant Kumar Gupta

Docteur en médecine

(Ayurvédique)


St. John's (Terre-Neuve)

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


Ayurved est un mot sanskrit. « Ayur » signifie durée de vie et « ved » signifie connaissance ou science; ayurveda est donc littéralement la science de la vie et de la longévité, qui définit la durée de vie comme l’union équilibrée du corps, des sens, de l’esprit et de la conscience. L’ayurveda est une approche holistique qui repose sur la conscience et se concentre simultanément sur ces quatre éléments de la vie.

Ayurved est un mot sanskrit. « Ayur » signifie durée de vie et « ved » signifie connaissance ou science; ayurveda est donc littéralement la science de la vie et de la longévité, qui définit la durée de vie comme l’union équilibrée du corps, des sens, de l’esprit et de la conscience. L’ayurveda est une approche holistique qui repose sur la conscience et se concentre simultanément sur ces quatre éléments de la vie.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

L’ayurveda est une méthode globale de diagnostic et de traitement qui met l’accent sur la prévention, les soins de santé et la lutte contre la maladie. Le traitement ayurvédique se distingue par le fait qu’il offre un programme santé personnalisé en fonction du type de corps et d’esprit (prakriti) de chacun. Il s’agit de traiter des déséquilibres particuliers au moyen de l’alimentation, de plantes, du style de vie, de programmes de détoxication ayurvédique (pancha karma), du yoga et de la méditation. L’ayurveda traite l’ensemble de la personne et considère les maladies dans le cadre de sa physiologie.
L’ayurveda est une méthode globale de diagnostic et de traitement qui met l’accent sur la prévention, les soins de santé et la lutte contre la maladie. Le traitement ayurvédique se distingue par le fait qu’il offre un programme santé personnalisé en fonction du type de corps et d’esprit (prakriti) de chacun. Il s’agit de traiter des déséquilibres particuliers au moyen de l’alimentation, de plantes, du style de vie, de programmes de détoxication ayurvédique (pancha karma), du yoga et de la méditation. L’ayurveda traite l’ensemble de la personne et considère les maladies dans le cadre de sa physiologie.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

C’est le système médical le plus ancien connu de l’humanité. Selon un adage ayurvédique, « il en va de même pour le microcosme que pour le macrocosme ». Autrement dit, l’ayurveda repose sur l’étude de la nature dans son ensemble et ses principes fondamentaux sont universels.

L’ayurveda - l’offrande de la nature à l’humanité souffrante - repose sur les lois fondamentales de la nature. De nos jours, on apprécie surtout la profondeur et le côté pratique de cette médecine.

La médecine tibétaine et chinoise ainsi que les premiers systèmes médicaux arabe, unani et grec lui doivent leurs principes fondamentaux. L’ayurveda avait une influence dans tous ces endroits.

C’est le système médical le plus ancien connu de l’humanité. Selon un adage ayurvédique, « il en va de même pour le microcosme que pour le macrocosme ». Autrement dit, l’ayurveda repose sur l’étude de la nature dans son ensemble et ses principes fondamentaux sont universels.

L’ayurveda - l’offrande de la nature à l’humanité souffrante - repose sur les lois fondamentales de la nature. De nos jours, on apprécie surtout la profondeur et le côté pratique de cette médecine.

La médecine tibétaine et chinoise ainsi que les premiers systèmes médicaux arabe, unani et grec lui doivent leurs principes fondamentaux. L’ayurveda avait une influence dans tous ces endroits.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Comiphora mukul

Himalaya Drug Co.

© 2002 Himalaya Drug Co.


De nos jours, l’ayurveda fait partie du système de soins de santé primaires du sous-continent indien. La plupart des universités y offrent un programme d’études de cinq ans en ayurveda, ce qui inclut un an d’internat, et nombre d’entre elles offrent un programme d’études supérieures de trois ans (MD Ayurveda) reconnu par la commission indienne des subventions aux universités. En Europe, en Russie, en Amérique du Nord et au Japon, des universités et des collèges commencent à offrir des cours connexes sur l’ayurveda dans les facultés de médecine.
De nos jours, l’ayurveda fait partie du système de soins de santé primaires du sous-continent indien. La plupart des universités y offrent un programme d’études de cinq ans en ayurveda, ce qui inclut un an d’internat, et nombre d’entre elles offrent un programme d’études supérieures de trois ans (MD Ayurveda) reconnu par la commission indienne des subventions aux universités. En Europe, en Russie, en Amérique du Nord et au Japon, des universités et des collèges commencent à offrir des cours connexes sur l’ayurveda dans les facultés de médecine.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Withania somnifera

Himalaya Drug Co.

© 2002 Himalaya Drug Co.


L’ayurveda diffère dans son approche fondamentale de l’usage des plantes médicinales. Comme il s’agit d’une démarche holistique, on préconise l’utilisation de plantes entières au lieu d’en isoler, d’en extraire et d’en prescrire les ingrédients actifs. L’ayurveda n’accepte pas l’approche réductionniste de l’étude de la  physiologie, de la nature ou des plantes.
L’ayurveda diffère dans son approche fondamentale de l’usage des plantes médicinales. Comme il s’agit d’une démarche holistique, on préconise l’utilisation de plantes entières au lieu d’en isoler, d’en extraire et d’en prescrire les ingrédients actifs. L’ayurveda n’accepte pas l’approche réductionniste de l’étude de la  physiologie, de la nature ou des plantes.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Terminalia arjuna

Himalaya Drug Co.

© 2002 Himalaya Drug Co.


L’ayurveda comprend de la même façon la physiologie humaine, la physiologie cosmique et les plantes. Cette compréhension repose sur cinq éléments : la terre, l’eau, le feu, l’air et l’espace. Chacun d’entre eux a une signification fonctionnelle dans le corps, y compris : structuration (tissus organiques, par exemple), liaison et hydratation (fluides corporels), transformation, digestion et métabolisme (enzymes et hormones), transit/circulation, transit et communication (système nerveux et appareil circulatoire) et espacement (tous les macrocanaux et les microcanaux).

Ces cinq éléments se manifestent dans la physiologie humaine sous la forme de trois doshas (humeurs biologiques ou principes biométaboliques). Il s’agit de Vata (espace+air), Pitta (feu+eau) et Kapha (terre+eau).

Le vata concerne la circulation, le transit et la communication et représente tous les macrocanaux et tous les microcanaux (système nerveux, appareil circulatoire, etc.).

Le pitta c Pour en lire plus
L’ayurveda comprend de la même façon la physiologie humaine, la physiologie cosmique et les plantes. Cette compréhension repose sur cinq éléments : la terre, l’eau, le feu, l’air et l’espace. Chacun d’entre eux a une signification fonctionnelle dans le corps, y compris : structuration (tissus organiques, par exemple), liaison et hydratation (fluides corporels), transformation, digestion et métabolisme (enzymes et hormones), transit/circulation, transit et communication (système nerveux et appareil circulatoire) et espacement (tous les macrocanaux et les microcanaux).

Ces cinq éléments se manifestent dans la physiologie humaine sous la forme de trois doshas (humeurs biologiques ou principes biométaboliques). Il s’agit de Vata (espace+air), Pitta (feu+eau) et Kapha (terre+eau).

Le vata concerne la circulation, le transit et la communication et représente tous les macrocanaux et tous les microcanaux (système nerveux, appareil circulatoire, etc.).

Le pitta concerne la tranformation ou la métabolisation. Il représente les enzymes et les hormones.

Le kapha concerne toutes les structures et représente les tissus organiques (os, tissu musculaire, tissu nerveux, tissu adipeux, etc).

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Tinosphora cordifolia

Himalaya Drug Co.

© 2002 Himalaya Drug Co.


L’ayurveda reconnaît que les cinq mêmes éléments sont à la base des plantes, du corps humain et de tout le reste de l’univers. L’herboristerie ayurvédique (Dravya Guna Vigyan) décrit l’action des aliments et des plantes par le biais de cinq principes fondamentaux :  
 
Goût (Rasa) : sucré, acide, amer, salé, piquant, astringent.

Qualités (Gunas) : lourd, léger, froid, chaud, sec, huileux.

Capacité (Veerya) : effet sur un système ou un organe.

Action post-digestive (Vipaka) : sucré, acide et piquant.

Effet spécifique (Prabhava).

Ces cinq facteurs des plantes font effet par l’entremise d’un élément dominant ou d’une combinaison des cinq éléments. Il faut connaître cette combinaison pour déterminer les effets des aliments et des plantes sur le corps, l’esprit et la consci Pour en lire plus
L’ayurveda reconnaît que les cinq mêmes éléments sont à la base des plantes, du corps humain et de tout le reste de l’univers. L’herboristerie ayurvédique (Dravya Guna Vigyan) décrit l’action des aliments et des plantes par le biais de cinq principes fondamentaux :  
 
Goût (Rasa) : sucré, acide, amer, salé, piquant, astringent.

Qualités (Gunas) : lourd, léger, froid, chaud, sec, huileux.

Capacité (Veerya) : effet sur un système ou un organe.

Action post-digestive (Vipaka) : sucré, acide et piquant.

Effet spécifique (Prabhava).

Ces cinq facteurs des plantes font effet par l’entremise d’un élément dominant ou d’une combinaison des cinq éléments. Il faut connaître cette combinaison pour déterminer les effets des aliments et des plantes sur le corps, l’esprit et la conscience.

Il s’agit de combiner correctement les aliments, les plantes, le style de vie et les habitudes afin de créer et de maintenir l’équilibre (Swastha) entre vata, pitta et kapha (les tissus organiques, la digestion et le métabolisme), de purger les canaux et de stimuler les sensations de bonheur, l’esprit et la conscience. Tout ce qui précède fait partie de la définition holistique d’une personne en bonne santé.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Tribulis terrestris

Himalaya Drug Co.

© 2002 Himalaya Drug Co.


À l’origine, les pesticides et les engrais chimiques n’existaient pas. Les plantes poussaient donc naturellement. Aujourd’hui, on remarque parfois que des plantes qui ont été efficaces pendant des milliers d’années n’ont plus l’effet qu’elles sont censées avoir à cause des pesticides et des engrais.

En Inde, et partout ailleurs au monde, on reconnaît maintenant l’importance des produits bio. Les gouvernements veillent donc à ce que les plantes utilisées en médecine ayurvédique soient cultivées selon les règles de l’agriculture biologique et soient cueillies à la main.
À l’origine, les pesticides et les engrais chimiques n’existaient pas. Les plantes poussaient donc naturellement. Aujourd’hui, on remarque parfois que des plantes qui ont été efficaces pendant des milliers d’années n’ont plus l’effet qu’elles sont censées avoir à cause des pesticides et des engrais.

En Inde, et partout ailleurs au monde, on reconnaît maintenant l’importance des produits bio. Les gouvernements veillent donc à ce que les plantes utilisées en médecine ayurvédique soient cultivées selon les règles de l’agriculture biologique et soient cueillies à la main.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Il y en a plus de 500. L’ayurveda recommande d’utiliser : Des plantes individuelles en fonction de leur effet sur les trois doshas, les tissus organiques ou des systèmes ou des organes particuliers, et de leurs propriétés analgésiques, toniques pour les nerfs, laxatives, antiasthmatiques ou anti-inflammatoires. Des formules combinant des plantes primaires, des plantes qui stimulent la biodisponibilité, des plantes qui éliminent ou qui atténuent les effets secondaires et qui maximisent les effets bénéfiques, des plantes qui facilitent l’élimination des déchets métaboliques et des toxines et des plantes qui ont des propriétés immunomodulatrices.  Parmi les plantes utilisées le plus souvent seules, citons le myrobolan arjun (Terminalia arjuna) pour le cœur; l’ashwagandha ou ginseng indien (Withania somnifera) particulièrement bon pour le système nerveux, l’anxiété ou la dépression; le guggul (Commiphora mukul) utilisé Pour en lire plus
Il y en a plus de 500. L’ayurveda recommande d’utiliser :
  • Des plantes individuelles en fonction de leur effet sur les trois doshas, les tissus organiques ou des systèmes ou des organes particuliers, et de leurs propriétés analgésiques, toniques pour les nerfs, laxatives, antiasthmatiques ou anti-inflammatoires.
  • Des formules combinant des plantes primaires, des plantes qui stimulent la biodisponibilité, des plantes qui éliminent ou qui atténuent les effets secondaires et qui maximisent les effets bénéfiques, des plantes qui facilitent l’élimination des déchets métaboliques et des toxines et des plantes qui ont des propriétés immunomodulatrices. 
Parmi les plantes utilisées le plus souvent seules, citons le myrobolan arjun (Terminalia arjuna) pour le cœur; l’ashwagandha ou ginseng indien (Withania somnifera) particulièrement bon pour le système nerveux, l’anxiété ou la dépression; le guggul (Commiphora mukul) utilisé surtout pour réduire les taux de cholestérol et pour combattre l’inflammation, la raideur et les douleurs dans les articulations. Le guduchi (Tinospora cordifolia) est un très bon immunomodulateur pour les maladies de la peau, les troubles du foie et l’hyperacidité. Le gokshura (Tribulus terrestris) est utilisé communément pour les troubles urinaires, les calculs rénaux ou les troubles de la prostate. Le nirgundi (Vitex nirgundo) est également très bon pour les douleurs articulaires, la sciatique et les troubles du système nerveux.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Vitex negundo

Himalaya Drug Co.

© 2002 Himalaya Drug Co.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L'apprenant va :
  • apprendre la terminologie employée dans la médecine traditionnelle;
  • décrire les caractéristiques distinctes de l'Ayurvéda ou médecine ayurvédique;
  • comparer la façon dont chaque Canadien présenté dans cette collection d'objets d'apprentissage utilise les plantes pour soigner ou prévenir la maladie.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons