Thirty years ago, traditional medicine, with its strong reliance on the healing power of plants, was considered pretty much obsolete by most Canadians.

How things change! Traditional medicine systems from around the world now flourish here. The gap between traditional and mainstream medicine is narrowing, with MDs running clinical trials of traditional remedies and reputable traditional practitioners modifying their practices in the light of new scientific evidence.

A current issue of great concern to practitioners, consumers, and government is the need to set and enforce standards of quality for both practitioners and the products marketed as traditional medicines.

Thirty years ago, traditional medicine, with its strong reliance on the healing power of plants, was considered pretty much obsolete by most Canadians.

How things change! Traditional medicine systems from around the world now flourish here. The gap between traditional and mainstream medicine is narrowing, with MDs running clinical trials of traditional remedies and reputable traditional practitioners modifying their practices in the light of new scientific evidence.

A current issue of great concern to practitioners, consumers, and government is the need to set and enforce standards of quality for both practitioners and the products marketed as traditional medicines.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Valérie Lanctôt-Bédard

Teacher & Co-Founder/Owner, Flora Medicina, école d'herboristerie

Montreal and Stukely-Sud Quebec

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


What I do is help people heal themselves using mainly herbs. My main therapeutic approach is herbs. Also I work in a holistic manner, meaning that I will look at all the different aspects of health promotion in one's life - it will be nutritional, stress management, those are very wide-ranging, but a lot of lifestyle issues are also taken into account to promote the body's capacity to heal. The premise that I work with is that, in and of itself, the body is capable of healing. What we need to do is provide circumstances in which it can do that and sometimes provide extra help for it to be able to find its balance better, or to initiate a certain movement toward something or other, depending on where the issues are.
What I do is help people heal themselves using mainly herbs. My main therapeutic approach is herbs. Also I work in a holistic manner, meaning that I will look at all the different aspects of health promotion in one's life - it will be nutritional, stress management, those are very wide-ranging, but a lot of lifestyle issues are also taken into account to promote the body's capacity to heal. The premise that I work with is that, in and of itself, the body is capable of healing. What we need to do is provide circumstances in which it can do that and sometimes provide extra help for it to be able to find its balance better, or to initiate a certain movement toward something or other, depending on where the issues are.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

They play a role at very many different levels. Generally, the most important part of what we do really lies in strengthening the body and helping it work optimally. So strengthening in the way of toning, in the way of optimizing the body's capacity to respond to what is being asked of it. That might work in different body systems - for instance, we can tone the digestive system, the liver, the lungs, or the nervous system in order for the body or one of its organs to be better able to give when asked, to perform more dynamically to the requirements of life.
They play a role at very many different levels. Generally, the most important part of what we do really lies in strengthening the body and helping it work optimally. So strengthening in the way of toning, in the way of optimizing the body's capacity to respond to what is being asked of it. That might work in different body systems - for instance, we can tone the digestive system, the liver, the lungs, or the nervous system in order for the body or one of its organs to be better able to give when asked, to perform more dynamically to the requirements of life.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

We just work with both types of knowledge coherently. For instance, if you read old herbals, you might hypothetically find something like, "This yellow flower is good for when you have pain here on the side…." Today we now know that "the side" is actually the liver. So now more and more we are making links with what scientists are finding and we are explaining things better, and we can extrapolate in a certain way. However, we're still using a lot of remedies that are not explained and that science has not yet turned its eye to. We just work with them anyway because they have worked for a long time. St. John's wort for depression is not new. It wasn't called depression before, it might have been called melancholy, or people being possessed by demons. That's what it was called, but it's the same thing. So modern herbalists make bridges, we learn new things, we explain new things.

The part that is the most difficult, for me and for us generally as herbalists, is trying to defend treatment approaches that have not been proven under the microscope (in the reductionist model) but that have plenty of anecdotal and empirical evidence suggesting that Read More
We just work with both types of knowledge coherently. For instance, if you read old herbals, you might hypothetically find something like, "This yellow flower is good for when you have pain here on the side…." Today we now know that "the side" is actually the liver. So now more and more we are making links with what scientists are finding and we are explaining things better, and we can extrapolate in a certain way. However, we're still using a lot of remedies that are not explained and that science has not yet turned its eye to. We just work with them anyway because they have worked for a long time. St. John's wort for depression is not new. It wasn't called depression before, it might have been called melancholy, or people being possessed by demons. That's what it was called, but it's the same thing. So modern herbalists make bridges, we learn new things, we explain new things.

The part that is the most difficult, for me and for us generally as herbalists, is trying to defend treatment approaches that have not been proven under the microscope (in the reductionist model) but that have plenty of anecdotal and empirical evidence suggesting that they can indeed be effective. How many anecdotes does it take before scientists will accept that something works? So that's the line that we've been dancing a lot. And because of the new regulations in our field, all the intuition that comes into play when we match people with plants is going to be harder and harder to do, because the conventional medical model of treatment that is supported by both the financial and the governmental aspects of our society is largely at odds with the way we work.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Valérie in her herb garden.

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


The lesson that endures for me is the idea that "simple is effective". By simple, I mean things that I grow in my backyard or in the forest beyond, and I also mean things that I can transform in my kitchen. That's a really hot one for a lot of people.
The lesson that endures for me is the idea that "simple is effective". By simple, I mean things that I grow in my backyard or in the forest beyond, and I also mean things that I can transform in my kitchen. That's a really hot one for a lot of people.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

St. John's wort tincture. St. John's wort is a weed, it's all over my garden and in my grass. You should see when I mow my lawn, it's a really long process - I mow around the alfalfa, I mow around the burdock, … but St. John's wort grows everywhere, and you can easily harvest the flower bud and flowers and sometimes some leaves too depending on what mood I'm in, and put them up into a glass jar and pour vodka on top of it, and shake it every day, and later strain it. You can use that tincture (the liquid part) as medicine, it's a very good way to treat the nervous system in many ways. I'm also starting to use it as a liver remedy.
St. John's wort tincture. St. John's wort is a weed, it's all over my garden and in my grass. You should see when I mow my lawn, it's a really long process - I mow around the alfalfa, I mow around the burdock, … but St. John's wort grows everywhere, and you can easily harvest the flower bud and flowers and sometimes some leaves too depending on what mood I'm in, and put them up into a glass jar and pour vodka on top of it, and shake it every day, and later strain it. You can use that tincture (the liquid part) as medicine, it's a very good way to treat the nervous system in many ways. I'm also starting to use it as a liver remedy.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Millepertuis

Royal Botanical Gardens

© Royal Botanical Gardens


I deal with it internally. I know that this is the plant I want, I ask from the plant what I want, and the plant gives me what it has to give. And I trust that the plant and the person who will use it will be able to find a way to meet and the person to get what they need out of that plant.

This approach has very pragmatic things about it. The plant that I harvest in my backyard is much more full of vitality and life than any plant that was mixed up with things and pressed into a pill, with heat, from plant powders that have been shipped around the globe then into Canada.

Also, the fact that I'm an herbalist and that I know the plants and I have communication with plants, carries over into the relationship that that person is going to have with the plant. This I believe is a way grander approach than focusing on the molecules that came from that plant. What I harvest, when I harvest it, and how I transform it is the very pragmatic way of getting what I want out of that plant.

And the other pragmatic aspect is that my dosage range can vary enormously from one person to another. I always start with very small dosages, and some people stay with that beca Read More

I deal with it internally. I know that this is the plant I want, I ask from the plant what I want, and the plant gives me what it has to give. And I trust that the plant and the person who will use it will be able to find a way to meet and the person to get what they need out of that plant.

This approach has very pragmatic things about it. The plant that I harvest in my backyard is much more full of vitality and life than any plant that was mixed up with things and pressed into a pill, with heat, from plant powders that have been shipped around the globe then into Canada.

Also, the fact that I'm an herbalist and that I know the plants and I have communication with plants, carries over into the relationship that that person is going to have with the plant. This I believe is a way grander approach than focusing on the molecules that came from that plant. What I harvest, when I harvest it, and how I transform it is the very pragmatic way of getting what I want out of that plant.

And the other pragmatic aspect is that my dosage range can vary enormously from one person to another. I always start with very small dosages, and some people stay with that because it's enough for them, they can feel it. And some people will take up to five droppers six times a day, and that's fine, because that's what they need. And the relationship between the person and the plant is beyond me, you know, I'm a matchmaker.

Because we work with living material, with plants and people, all of this can take place. That can never happen with something totally inert.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Honestly, they really come from everywhere. For instance, the traditions that have fed the knowledge base I work with mainly come from France, England, and the USA. The USA part of it is many-fold: it encompasses a lot of knowledge that came out of Europe, which was originally elaborated from ongoing exchanges with Middle East practitioners over many centuries, then went back and forth in influences between the USA and England, to then take on many other influences on this continent. Luckily, the Eclectic physicians (before the compulsory standardization of medical practice) got a fair amount of information about native plants from First Nations people - and they left a lot of written materials. More recently, this work has been elaborated upon by a whole bunch of fantastic herbalists who also draw from Asian traditions and incorporate it all into a wide variety of approaches and understandings about health and plants. It's really important for me to speak of the diversity, because I find that the diversity is the richness of it, and different people will prefer different approaches. For instance, I co-own a school where we train herbal practitioners. My colleague is much more ver Read More
Honestly, they really come from everywhere. For instance, the traditions that have fed the knowledge base I work with mainly come from France, England, and the USA. The USA part of it is many-fold: it encompasses a lot of knowledge that came out of Europe, which was originally elaborated from ongoing exchanges with Middle East practitioners over many centuries, then went back and forth in influences between the USA and England, to then take on many other influences on this continent. Luckily, the Eclectic physicians (before the compulsory standardization of medical practice) got a fair amount of information about native plants from First Nations people - and they left a lot of written materials. More recently, this work has been elaborated upon by a whole bunch of fantastic herbalists who also draw from Asian traditions and incorporate it all into a wide variety of approaches and understandings about health and plants. It's really important for me to speak of the diversity, because I find that the diversity is the richness of it, and different people will prefer different approaches. For instance, I co-own a school where we train herbal practitioners. My colleague is much more versed in TCM [Traditional Chinese Medicine] than I am. That works for her really well, and that's fine. Right now we're both learning some "shamanic" techniques of direct communication with plants, which is another influence that I started with in an embryonic way 12 years ago and have been expanding to this point. And we both took extensive training in anatomy and physiology, to be able to speak the language and to be able to make sense of this at different levels. One does not preclude the other.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Yes, and I think the increase varies widely across Canada, from province to province. It's interesting, because the increase seems to follow a historic pattern that a writer named Barbara Griggs described in a book called Green Pharmacy. In her book, she says there's long been a back-and-forth pull between traditional/natural and conventional forms of medicine. Every time there's been a decline in people's faith in conventional medicine - because of adverse side effects of mercury treatments in the 19th century, or whatever - then people turn back to herbs and simple home remedies. And then conventional medicine comes up with something like penicillin, and boom! All confidence turns back to conventional medicine. So it's just a cycle, and I think now we're in the part of the cycle where people are turning away from conventional medicine, away from chemical drugs and that sort of thing, and reviving their interest in traditional remedies.
Yes, and I think the increase varies widely across Canada, from province to province. It's interesting, because the increase seems to follow a historic pattern that a writer named Barbara Griggs described in a book called Green Pharmacy. In her book, she says there's long been a back-and-forth pull between traditional/natural and conventional forms of medicine. Every time there's been a decline in people's faith in conventional medicine - because of adverse side effects of mercury treatments in the 19th century, or whatever - then people turn back to herbs and simple home remedies. And then conventional medicine comes up with something like penicillin, and boom! All confidence turns back to conventional medicine. So it's just a cycle, and I think now we're in the part of the cycle where people are turning away from conventional medicine, away from chemical drugs and that sort of thing, and reviving their interest in traditional remedies.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

The big problem with the reductionist model, where practitioners look at one part of the body (plant or animal) instead of studying the whole, is it doesn't work. As soon as you're looking at one part of the body, you're looking at a dead part. It cannot be alive if it's separated from the whole. It's not interacting with its environment anymore. It's really hard to appreciate what's going on in someone's life pattern when you're looking at the body that way. There must be aliveness in all the connections, and that's where traditional herbal medicine is very strong. We're working with really simple plants and simple preparations. Ideally, you want the herbalist to have personally harvested and transformed the plants, because they're someone who knows and loves those plants. Do you know how hard it is to talk about these things to MDs? I wish we could create opportunities to let all our prejudices down (yes, I mean both theirs and ours) and talk. I trust there's a meeting place somewhere out there for us all, because I know we care about at least one thing in common: the well-being of our fellow human beings!
The big problem with the reductionist model, where practitioners look at one part of the body (plant or animal) instead of studying the whole, is it doesn't work. As soon as you're looking at one part of the body, you're looking at a dead part. It cannot be alive if it's separated from the whole. It's not interacting with its environment anymore. It's really hard to appreciate what's going on in someone's life pattern when you're looking at the body that way. There must be aliveness in all the connections, and that's where traditional herbal medicine is very strong. We're working with really simple plants and simple preparations. Ideally, you want the herbalist to have personally harvested and transformed the plants, because they're someone who knows and loves those plants. Do you know how hard it is to talk about these things to MDs? I wish we could create opportunities to let all our prejudices down (yes, I mean both theirs and ours) and talk. I trust there's a meeting place somewhere out there for us all, because I know we care about at least one thing in common: the well-being of our fellow human beings!

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • familiarize himself with the vocabulary used in traditional medicine;
  • describe the distinguished feature of Ayurvedic;
  • compare the way each Canadians portrayed in this learning object collection uses plants to heal and/or maintain health.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Il y a trente ans, la plupart des Canadiens considéraient la médecine traditionnelle, qui reposait grandement sur les propriétés médicinales des plantes, comme dépassée.

Comme les choses ont changé! Des systèmes de médecine traditionnelle du monde entier sont maintenant en plein essor ici. Le fossé entre la médecine traditionnelle et la médecine conventionnelle se comble, les médecins font des essais cliniques sur les remèdes traditionnels et des praticiens traditionnels de renom modifient maintenant leurs méthodes à la lumière de nouvelles preuves scientifiques. 

Les développements mettent en lumière l’importance d’élaborer des normes de qualité, tant pour les praticiens que pour les produits dits « naturels », et de veiller à leur application. Une préoccupation que partagent les praticiens, les consommateurs et le gouvernement.
Il y a trente ans, la plupart des Canadiens considéraient la médecine traditionnelle, qui reposait grandement sur les propriétés médicinales des plantes, comme dépassée.

Comme les choses ont changé! Des systèmes de médecine traditionnelle du monde entier sont maintenant en plein essor ici. Le fossé entre la médecine traditionnelle et la médecine conventionnelle se comble, les médecins font des essais cliniques sur les remèdes traditionnels et des praticiens traditionnels de renom modifient maintenant leurs méthodes à la lumière de nouvelles preuves scientifiques. 

Les développements mettent en lumière l’importance d’élaborer des normes de qualité, tant pour les praticiens que pour les produits dits « naturels », et de veiller à leur application. Une préoccupation que partagent les praticiens, les consommateurs et le gouvernement.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Valérie Lanctôt-Bédard

Enseignante, cofondatrice et propriétaire, Flora Medicina, école d'herboristerie

Montréal et Stukely-Sud (Québec)

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


J’aide les gens à guérir en utilisant surtout des plantes. Mon approche thérapeutique consiste principalement à utiliser des plantes. Je travaille aussi de manière holistique, c’est-à-dire que j’examine tous les aspects de la promotion de la santé, dont la nutrition et la gestion du stress. Les aspects sont très variés, mais je tiens compte aussi de nombreux problèmes de style de vie afin d’augmenter la capacité du corps de guérir. Je pars du principe que le corps est capable de se guérir. Nous devons créer les situations qui lui permettent de le faire, et parfois lui donner un petit coup de pouce pour qu’il trouve un meilleur équilibre, ou lui donner une impulsion, en fonction des problèmes.
J’aide les gens à guérir en utilisant surtout des plantes. Mon approche thérapeutique consiste principalement à utiliser des plantes. Je travaille aussi de manière holistique, c’est-à-dire que j’examine tous les aspects de la promotion de la santé, dont la nutrition et la gestion du stress. Les aspects sont très variés, mais je tiens compte aussi de nombreux problèmes de style de vie afin d’augmenter la capacité du corps de guérir. Je pars du principe que le corps est capable de se guérir. Nous devons créer les situations qui lui permettent de le faire, et parfois lui donner un petit coup de pouce pour qu’il trouve un meilleur équilibre, ou lui donner une impulsion, en fonction des problèmes.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Elles jouent un rôle à de nombreux niveaux. Dans l’ensemble, notre rôle le plus important est de fortifier le corps et de l’aider à fonctionner au mieux, en lui donnant du tonus et en optimisant sa capacité de répondre à ce qu’on lui demande. Cela peut fonctionner dans divers systèmes du corps — par exemple, on peut donner du tonus au système digestif, au foie, aux poumons ou au système nerveux pour que le corps ou un de ses organes puisse mieux réagir quand il le doit et se comporter de manière plus dynamique face aux exigences de la vie.
Elles jouent un rôle à de nombreux niveaux. Dans l’ensemble, notre rôle le plus important est de fortifier le corps et de l’aider à fonctionner au mieux, en lui donnant du tonus et en optimisant sa capacité de répondre à ce qu’on lui demande. Cela peut fonctionner dans divers systèmes du corps — par exemple, on peut donner du tonus au système digestif, au foie, aux poumons ou au système nerveux pour que le corps ou un de ses organes puisse mieux réagir quand il le doit et se comporter de manière plus dynamique face aux exigences de la vie.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Il suffit de travailler de manière cohérente avec les deux types de connaissances. Par exemple, on pourrait lire dans de vieux herbiers « cette fleur jaune est bénéfique quand on a une douleur au côté…». Nous savons maintenant que « le côté » signifie le foie. Nous faisons de plus en plus le lien avec les découvertes des scientifiques, nous expliquons mieux et nous pouvons extrapoler d’une certaine manière. Cela dit, nous utilisons toujours de nombreux remèdes qui ne sont pas expliqués et sur lesquels la science ne s’est pas encore penchée. Pourquoi ? Parce qu’ils se sont révélés efficaces depuis longtemps. L’usage du millepertuis pour traiter la dépression n’est pas nouveau. Le terme dépression n’était pas utilisé autrefois, on parlait de mélancolie ou on disait que les gens étaient possédés par des démons. C’était la même chose. Les herboristes modernes font des rapprochements, acquièrent de nouvelles connaissances et Pour en lire plus
Il suffit de travailler de manière cohérente avec les deux types de connaissances. Par exemple, on pourrait lire dans de vieux herbiers « cette fleur jaune est bénéfique quand on a une douleur au côté…». Nous savons maintenant que « le côté » signifie le foie. Nous faisons de plus en plus le lien avec les découvertes des scientifiques, nous expliquons mieux et nous pouvons extrapoler d’une certaine manière. Cela dit, nous utilisons toujours de nombreux remèdes qui ne sont pas expliqués et sur lesquels la science ne s’est pas encore penchée. Pourquoi ? Parce qu’ils se sont révélés efficaces depuis longtemps. L’usage du millepertuis pour traiter la dépression n’est pas nouveau. Le terme dépression n’était pas utilisé autrefois, on parlait de mélancolie ou on disait que les gens étaient possédés par des démons. C’était la même chose. Les herboristes modernes font des rapprochements, acquièrent de nouvelles connaissances et expliquent de nouvelles choses.


Le plus difficile pour moi, et pour les herboristes en général, c’est d’essayer de défendre des traitements qui n’ont pas été entérinés par les scientifiques (dans le modèle réductionniste), mais pour lesquels il existe d’abondantes preuves anecdotiques et empiriques attestant qu’ils peuvent vraiment être efficaces. De combien d’anecdotes les scientifiques ont-ils besoin avant d’accepter qu’une plante est efficace? C’est notre gros problème. La guérison par les plantes repose sur l’intuition du praticien. Or, cette démarche sera de plus en plus difficile à respecter compte tenu des nouveaux règlements en vigueur dans ce domaine, qui s’inspirent davantage du modèle de la médecine conventionnelle largement soutenu par le monde de la finance et l’État.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Valérie dans son jardin de plantes médicinales.

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


La leçon qui vaut toujours pour moi est l’idée que « ce qui est simple est efficace ». J’entends par simple les plantes que je cultive dans mon jardin ou que je trouve dans la forêt derrière la maison et ce que je peux transformer dans ma cuisine. C’est difficile à admettre pour beaucoup de gens..
La leçon qui vaut toujours pour moi est l’idée que « ce qui est simple est efficace ». J’entends par simple les plantes que je cultive dans mon jardin ou que je trouve dans la forêt derrière la maison et ce que je peux transformer dans ma cuisine. C’est difficile à admettre pour beaucoup de gens..

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

La teinture de millepertuis. Le millepertuis est une mauvaise herbe, elle pousse dans mon jardin et dans ma pelouse. Je mets du temps à tondre mon gazon — je contourne la luzerne, je tonds autour de la bardane… mais le millepertuis pousse partout. Il est facile d’en récolter les bourgeons, les fleurs et parfois les feuilles; selon mon humeur; je les mets dans un contenant en verre et je verse de la vodka dessus, je secoue le flacon tous les jours et je filtre le liquide plus tard. On peut utiliser la teinture (la partie liquide) comme remède, c’est très bon pour le système nerveux. Je commence aussi à l’utiliser pour le foie.
La teinture de millepertuis. Le millepertuis est une mauvaise herbe, elle pousse dans mon jardin et dans ma pelouse. Je mets du temps à tondre mon gazon — je contourne la luzerne, je tonds autour de la bardane… mais le millepertuis pousse partout. Il est facile d’en récolter les bourgeons, les fleurs et parfois les feuilles; selon mon humeur; je les mets dans un contenant en verre et je verse de la vodka dessus, je secoue le flacon tous les jours et je filtre le liquide plus tard. On peut utiliser la teinture (la partie liquide) comme remède, c’est très bon pour le système nerveux. Je commence aussi à l’utiliser pour le foie.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Millepertuis

Les Jardins botaniques royaux

© Les Jardins botaniques royaux


Je le sens en moi. Je sais que c’est la plante que je veux, je lui demande de me donner ce que je veux d’elle, et elle me donne ce qu’elle a. Je pars du principe que la plante et la personne qui l’utilisera trouveront le moyen d’établir un rapport et que la personne trouvera dans la plante ce dont elle a besoin. 

Cette approche a des aspects très pragmatiques. La plante que je récolte dans mon jardin a beaucoup plus de vitalité que n’importe quelle plante transformée en comprimé, par un procédé thermique, qui contient d’autres plantes réduites en poudre qui ont fait le tour du monde avant d’aboutir au Canada.

De plus, le fait que je suis une herboriste, que je connais les plantes et que je communique avec elles se fait sentir dans la relation qu’une personne aura avec la plante qu’elle prendra. Je pense que c’est une bien meilleure approche que de se concentrer sur les molécules qui viennent des plantes. Le choix de la plante à cueillir, le moment où je la récolte et la manière dont je la tr Pour en lire plus
Je le sens en moi. Je sais que c’est la plante que je veux, je lui demande de me donner ce que je veux d’elle, et elle me donne ce qu’elle a. Je pars du principe que la plante et la personne qui l’utilisera trouveront le moyen d’établir un rapport et que la personne trouvera dans la plante ce dont elle a besoin. 

Cette approche a des aspects très pragmatiques. La plante que je récolte dans mon jardin a beaucoup plus de vitalité que n’importe quelle plante transformée en comprimé, par un procédé thermique, qui contient d’autres plantes réduites en poudre qui ont fait le tour du monde avant d’aboutir au Canada.

De plus, le fait que je suis une herboriste, que je connais les plantes et que je communique avec elles se fait sentir dans la relation qu’une personne aura avec la plante qu’elle prendra. Je pense que c’est une bien meilleure approche que de se concentrer sur les molécules qui viennent des plantes. Le choix de la plante à cueillir, le moment où je la récolte et la manière dont je la transforme : c’est le processus très pragmatique qui me permet d’en tirer ce que je veux.

Les doses que je prescris peuvent varier énormément d’une personne à l’autre, ce qui est un autre aspect pragmatique de mon travail. Je commence toujours par de très légères doses, ce qui suffit pour certaines personnes; elles le sentent. D’autres prennent jusqu’à cinq gouttes six fois par jour parce que c’est ce dont elles ont besoin. Je n’interviens pas dans l’interaction entre la personne et la plante, je suis une
« marieuse » .

Tout cela est possible parce que nous travaillons avec des plantes et des personnes qui sont vivantes. Ce n’est jamais possible avec quelque chose qui est totalement inerte.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Elles viennent de partout. Les traditions sur lesquelles reposent mes connaissances, par exemple, viennent surtout de France, d’Angleterre et des É.-U. L’apport des É.-U. est très varié : il comporte de nombreuses connaissances originaires d’Europe, qui proviennent elles-mêmes d’échanges continus avec les praticiens du Moyen-Orient durant des siècles, puis d’autres échanges entre les É.-U. et l’Angleterre et, enfin, d’autres influences de notre continent. Heureusement, les médecins de l’école éclectique américaine (avant la normalisation de l’exercice de la médecine) ont obtenu des membres des Premières Nations beaucoup d’informations sur les plantes indigènes. Et ils ont laissé un grand nombre de documents. Plus récemment, des herboristes extraordinaires, qui s’inspirent entre autres des traditions asiatiques, ont élargi la portée de ces documents en les intégrant à un vaste répertoire d’approches thérapeutiques et de connaissances sur les plant Pour en lire plus
Elles viennent de partout. Les traditions sur lesquelles reposent mes connaissances, par exemple, viennent surtout de France, d’Angleterre et des É.-U. L’apport des É.-U. est très varié : il comporte de nombreuses connaissances originaires d’Europe, qui proviennent elles-mêmes d’échanges continus avec les praticiens du Moyen-Orient durant des siècles, puis d’autres échanges entre les É.-U. et l’Angleterre et, enfin, d’autres influences de notre continent. Heureusement, les médecins de l’école éclectique américaine (avant la normalisation de l’exercice de la médecine) ont obtenu des membres des Premières Nations beaucoup d’informations sur les plantes indigènes. Et ils ont laissé un grand nombre de documents. Plus récemment, des herboristes extraordinaires, qui s’inspirent entre autres des traditions asiatiques, ont élargi la portée de ces documents en les intégrant à un vaste répertoire d’approches thérapeutiques et de connaissances sur les plantes. C’est très important pour moi de parler de diversité parce que c’est en elle que réside la richesse, et différentes personnes préfèrent telle ou telle approche. Par exemple, je suis copropriétaire d’une école où nous formons des phytothérapeutes. Ma collègue s’y connaît beaucoup plus que moi en médecine traditionnelle chinoise. Elle obtient de très bons résultats. En ce moment, nous apprenons toutes les deux des méthodes « shamanistiques » de communication directe avec les plantes, une autre approche que j’ai commencé à explorer il y a 12 ans. De plus, nous avons toutes les deux suivi une formation poussée en anatomie et en physiologie afin d’apprendre le vocabulaire et de pouvoir nous expliquer à différents niveaux. L’une n’exclut pas l’autre.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Oui, et je pense que l’intérêt varie d’une partie du Canada à l’autre, d’une province à l’autre. C’est intéressant, parce que le regain d’intérêt semble suivre un modèle historique décrit par Barbara Griggs, une écrivaine, dans un livre intitulé Green Pharmacy. Elle y explique qu’il y a depuis longtemps un tiraillement entre la médecine traditionnelle et la médecine conventionnelle. Chaque fois que les gens font moins confiance à la médecine conventionnelle — en raison des effets nocifs des traitements au mercure au XIXe siècle, par exemple — ils reviennent aux plantes médicinales et aux simples remèdes-maison. Et puis, la médecine conventionnelle découvre un médicament comme la  pénicilline, et vlan!, la confiance revient. Il s’agit d’un cycle, et je pense que les gens se détournent maintenant de la médecine conventionnelle, des médicaments chimiques et autres et s’intéressent de nouveau aux remè Pour en lire plus
Oui, et je pense que l’intérêt varie d’une partie du Canada à l’autre, d’une province à l’autre. C’est intéressant, parce que le regain d’intérêt semble suivre un modèle historique décrit par Barbara Griggs, une écrivaine, dans un livre intitulé Green Pharmacy. Elle y explique qu’il y a depuis longtemps un tiraillement entre la médecine traditionnelle et la médecine conventionnelle. Chaque fois que les gens font moins confiance à la médecine conventionnelle — en raison des effets nocifs des traitements au mercure au XIXe siècle, par exemple — ils reviennent aux plantes médicinales et aux simples remèdes-maison. Et puis, la médecine conventionnelle découvre un médicament comme la  pénicilline, et vlan!, la confiance revient. Il s’agit d’un cycle, et je pense que les gens se détournent maintenant de la médecine conventionnelle, des médicaments chimiques et autres et s’intéressent de nouveau aux remèdes traditionnels.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Le problème majeur avec le modèle réductionniste, c’est que les praticiens examinent une partie du groupe (plante ou animal) au lieu d’étudier l’ensemble, et ça ne marche pas. Dès qu’on examine une partie du tout, on examine une partie morte. Une plante ou un animal ne peut pas subsister si on le sépare du groupe. Il n’y a plus d’interaction avec l’écosystème. C’est vraiment difficile de comprendre ce qui se passe dans la vie de quelqu’un quand on examine son corps ainsi. Tous les liens doivent être actifs, c’est ce qui fait la force des remèdes traditionnels à base de plantes. Nous travaillons avec des plantes et des préparations vraiment simples. D’une manière idéale, l’herboriste doit récolter et transformer les plantes lui-même, parce qu’il les connaît et les aime.

Savez-vous combien il est difficile de parler de ces choses avec des médecins? Je voudrais pouvoir créer des occasions où nous laisserions tous nos préjugés de côt&e Pour en lire plus
Le problème majeur avec le modèle réductionniste, c’est que les praticiens examinent une partie du groupe (plante ou animal) au lieu d’étudier l’ensemble, et ça ne marche pas. Dès qu’on examine une partie du tout, on examine une partie morte. Une plante ou un animal ne peut pas subsister si on le sépare du groupe. Il n’y a plus d’interaction avec l’écosystème. C’est vraiment difficile de comprendre ce qui se passe dans la vie de quelqu’un quand on examine son corps ainsi. Tous les liens doivent être actifs, c’est ce qui fait la force des remèdes traditionnels à base de plantes. Nous travaillons avec des plantes et des préparations vraiment simples. D’une manière idéale, l’herboriste doit récolter et transformer les plantes lui-même, parce qu’il les connaît et les aime.

Savez-vous combien il est difficile de parler de ces choses avec des médecins? Je voudrais pouvoir créer des occasions où nous laisserions tous nos préjugés de côté (oui, les leurs et les nôtres) et où nous parlerions. Je suis certaine qu’il y a un lieu commun pour nous tous parce que je sais que nous avons au moins une chose en commun : nous nous soucions du bien-être d’autrui!

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L'apprenant va :
  • apprendre la terminologie employée dans la médecine traditionnelle;
  • décrire le rôle principal de l'herboriste;
  • comparer la façon dont chaque Canadien présenté dans cette collection d'objets d'apprentissage utilise les plantes pour soigner ou prévenir la maladie.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons