John Graves Simcoe was the first Governor of Upper Canada (now Ontario). While traveling on business, he fell ill at Kingston. His wife, Elizabeth Simcoe, told the story in her diary: Friday Apr. 14, 1795
"The Governor has been so ill since the 21st of March that I have not left his room since that day. He has had such a cough that some nights he could not lie down, but sat in a chair, total loss of appetite and such headaches that he could not bear any person but me to walk across the room or speak out loud. There was no medical advice but that of a horse doctor who pretended to be an apothecary."

Rather than trust the advice of the "horse doctor," Elizabeth Simcoe turned to Molly Brant, sister of the Mohawk leader and British ally, Joseph Brant.  "Capt. Brant's sister prescribed a root - it is, I believe, calamus, a genus of palm, one species of which yields a resin called dragon's blood, the root of which is the sweet flag…."

John Graves Simcoe was the first Governor of Upper Canada (now Ontario). While traveling on business, he fell ill at Kingston. His wife, Elizabeth Simcoe, told the story in her diary:

Friday Apr. 14, 1795


"The Governor has been so ill since the 21st of March that I have not left his room since that day. He has had such a cough that some nights he could not lie down, but sat in a chair, total loss of appetite and such headaches that he could not bear any person but me to walk across the room or speak out loud. There was no medical advice but that of a horse doctor who pretended to be an apothecary."

Rather than trust the advice of the "horse doctor," Elizabeth Simcoe turned to Molly Brant, sister of the Mohawk leader and British ally, Joseph Brant.  "Capt. Brant's sister prescribed a root - it is, I believe, calamus, a genus of palm, one species of which yields a resin called dragon's blood, the root of which is the sweet flag…."


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

John Graves Simcoe

Toronto Public Library

T 18042
© Toronto Public Library (TRL)


"[It] really relieved his cough in a very short time," Elizabeth Simcoe recorded.  The governor recovered completely and continued with his duties.

The root recommended by Molly Brant was probably Acorus americanus, which contains a range of chemicals that can kill various bacteria, fungi, and amoebas. Related species have been used by many peoples in Europe, Asia, and the Americas for medicinal purposes. However, it is probably a good thing that Governor Simcoe’s cough disappeared quickly, since recent research suggests that some of these plants may be carcinogenic (cancer-causing) when used in large doses or for a long time.

"[It] really relieved his cough in a very short time," Elizabeth Simcoe recorded.  The governor recovered completely and continued with his duties.

The root recommended by Molly Brant was probably Acorus americanus, which contains a range of chemicals that can kill various bacteria, fungi, and amoebas. Related species have been used by many peoples in Europe, Asia, and the Americas for medicinal purposes. However, it is probably a good thing that Governor Simcoe’s cough disappeared quickly, since recent research suggests that some of these plants may be carcinogenic (cancer-causing) when used in large doses or for a long time.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Acorus americanus

Missouri Botanical Garden

© Missouri Botanical Garden


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • recall how John Graves Simcoe was healed by traditional medicine;
  • indicate if an illness like the one that affected John Graves Simcoe could happen again today.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

John Graves Simcoe était le premier gouverneur du Haut-Canada (l'Ontario actuel). Alors qu'il faisait un voyage d'affaire, il est tombé malade à Kingston. Sa femme, Elizabeth Simcoe, raconte l'histoire dans son journal. Vendredi 14 avril 1795
« Le gouverneur est si malade depuis le 21 mars que je n'ai pas quitté sa chambre depuis ce jour. Sa toux est tellement forte que certaines nuits il ne peut pas se coucher, obligé de rester assis sur une chaise. Il a perdu l'appétit et souffre de maux de tête au point de ne plus supporter que l'on traverse sa chambre ou parle à haute voix, à part moi. Il n'a vu aucun médecin, si ce n'est un médecin pour chevaux qui a prétendu être pharmacien. »

Plutôt que de suivre les conseils d'un « médecin pour chevaux », Elizabeth Simcoe s'est adressée à Molly Brant, sœur de Joseph Brant, chef Mohawk et allié des Britanniques.

« La sœur du capitaine Brant a prescrit une racine — je crois que c'est l'acore odorant, un genre de palmier, Pour en lire plus
John Graves Simcoe était le premier gouverneur du Haut-Canada (l'Ontario actuel). Alors qu'il faisait un voyage d'affaire, il est tombé malade à Kingston. Sa femme, Elizabeth Simcoe, raconte l'histoire dans son journal.

Vendredi 14 avril 1795


« Le gouverneur est si malade depuis le 21 mars que je n'ai pas quitté sa chambre depuis ce jour. Sa toux est tellement forte que certaines nuits il ne peut pas se coucher, obligé de rester assis sur une chaise. Il a perdu l'appétit et souffre de maux de tête au point de ne plus supporter que l'on traverse sa chambre ou parle à haute voix, à part moi. Il n'a vu aucun médecin, si ce n'est un médecin pour chevaux qui a prétendu être pharmacien. »

Plutôt que de suivre les conseils d'un « médecin pour chevaux », Elizabeth Simcoe s'est adressée à Molly Brant, sœur de Joseph Brant, chef Mohawk et allié des Britanniques.

« La sœur du capitaine Brant a prescrit une racine — je crois que c'est l'acore odorant, un genre de palmier, celui qui contient une résine appelée sang de dragon (…) »

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

John Graves Simcoe

Toronto Public Library

T 18042
© Toronto Public Library (TRL)


 « [Cela] a vraiment soulagé sa toux en peu de temps , écrit Elizabeth Simcoe ». Le gouverneur s’est remis complètement et a repris ses fonctions.

La racine que Molly Brant avait recommandée était probablement Acorus americanus, qui contient une variété de substances chimiques pouvant tuer des bactéries, des champignons et des amibes. De nombreuses personnes ont utilisé des espèces alliées en Europe, en Asie et aux Amériques à des fins médicinales. C’est probablement une bonne chose que la toux du gouverneur Simcoe ait disparu si vite parce que, selon des recherches effectuées récemment, certaines de ces plantes pourraient être cancérogènes (provoquer le cancer) si on en prend de grandes quantités pendant longtemps.
 « [Cela] a vraiment soulagé sa toux en peu de temps , écrit Elizabeth Simcoe ». Le gouverneur s’est remis complètement et a repris ses fonctions.

La racine que Molly Brant avait recommandée était probablement Acorus americanus, qui contient une variété de substances chimiques pouvant tuer des bactéries, des champignons et des amibes. De nombreuses personnes ont utilisé des espèces alliées en Europe, en Asie et aux Amériques à des fins médicinales. C’est probablement une bonne chose que la toux du gouverneur Simcoe ait disparu si vite parce que, selon des recherches effectuées récemment, certaines de ces plantes pourraient être cancérogènes (provoquer le cancer) si on en prend de grandes quantités pendant longtemps.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Acorus americanus

Missouri Botanical Garden

© Missouri Botanical Garden


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L'apprenant va :
  • se remémorer la façon dont John Graves Simcoe a été guéri par la médecine traditionnelle;
  • indiquer si une maladie comme celle qui a touché John Graves Simcoe pourrait survenir de nouveau aujourd'hui.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons