The Lazaretto in Tracadie, New Brunswick was one of two places in Canada where people with the dreaded disease of leprosy were kept in isolation for the rest of their lives.  In 1900 or 1901, Dr. A.C. Smith began to treat the residents with Chaulmoogra oil. The oil, pressed from the seeds of various species of Hydnocarpus, was a traditional Ayurvedic remedy for skin problems. It had been introduced to western medicine by a British army surgeon stationed in India. The oil was either injected, which was very painful, or swallowed, which often caused nausea; these effects were so severe that some patients could not stand frequent treatments.
The Lazaretto in Tracadie, New Brunswick was one of two places in Canada where people with the dreaded disease of leprosy were kept in isolation for the rest of their lives. 

In 1900 or 1901, Dr. A.C. Smith began to treat the residents with Chaulmoogra oil. The oil, pressed from the seeds of various species of Hydnocarpus, was a traditional Ayurvedic remedy for skin problems. It had been introduced to western medicine by a British army surgeon stationed in India.

The oil was either injected, which was very painful, or swallowed, which often caused nausea; these effects were so severe that some patients could not stand frequent treatments.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Residents of the Lazaretto

Provincial Archives of New Brunswick

P 20-281
© Provincial Archives of New Brunswick


We don't know the outcome of individual cases, but on October 31, 1901, Dr. Smith reported: "The general health improved; ulcers on the limbs healed rapidly, tubercles disappeared, and swollen faces and hands became reduced to a nearly normal condition. In the cases of those who used the remedies only intermittingly, but little improvement was noticeable."

Chaulmoogra oil seemed to reduce symptoms or slow the progress of leprosy, especially for people in the early stages of the disease. It remained the standard treatment until the 1940s, when it was superseded by new drugs.

We don't know the outcome of individual cases, but on October 31, 1901, Dr. Smith reported: "The general health improved; ulcers on the limbs healed rapidly, tubercles disappeared, and swollen faces and hands became reduced to a nearly normal condition. In the cases of those who used the remedies only intermittingly, but little improvement was noticeable."

Chaulmoogra oil seemed to reduce symptoms or slow the progress of leprosy, especially for people in the early stages of the disease. It remained the standard treatment until the 1940s, when it was superseded by new drugs.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • recall how residents of Lazaretto were healed by traditional medicine;
  • indicate if an illness like the one that affected residents of Lazaretto could happen again today.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le lazaret de Tracadie (Nouveau-Brunswick) était un des deux endroits au Canada où les lépreux étaient isolés pour la vie. En 1900 ou en 1901, le docteur A.C. Smith commence à traiter les patients avec de l'huile de chaulmoogra. L'huile, extraite des graines de diverses espèces de Hydnocarpus, était un remède ayurvédique traditionnel pour les maladies de la peau. Il avait été introduit dans la médecine occidentale par un médecin militaire britannique stationné en Inde. L'huile était administrée par injection, ce qui était très douloureux, ou par voie orale, ce qui provoquait souvent la nausée; ces effets étaient si graves que certains patients ne pouvaient supporter des traitements fréquents.
Le lazaret de Tracadie (Nouveau-Brunswick) était un des deux endroits au Canada où les lépreux étaient isolés pour la vie.

En 1900 ou en 1901, le docteur A.C. Smith commence à traiter les patients avec de l'huile de chaulmoogra. L'huile, extraite des graines de diverses espèces de Hydnocarpus, était un remède ayurvédique traditionnel pour les maladies de la peau. Il avait été introduit dans la médecine occidentale par un médecin militaire britannique stationné en Inde.

L'huile était administrée par injection, ce qui était très douloureux, ou par voie orale, ce qui provoquait souvent la nausée; ces effets étaient si graves que certains patients ne pouvaient supporter des traitements fréquents.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Patients du lazaret

Archives provinciales du Nouveau-Brunswick

P 20-281
© Archives provinciales du Nouveau-Brunswick


Nous ne savons pas ce qui est arrivé à chaque patient, mais le docteur Smith écrit le 31 octobre 1901 : « la santé s'est améliorée dans l'ensemble; les ulcères sur les jambes ont guéri rapidement, les tubercules ont disparu et les visages et les mains enflés ont retrouvé leur taille normale. L'état de santé de ceux qui ne prenaient les remèdes que de temps à autre ne s'est guère amélioré. »

L'huile de chaulmoogra semblait réduire les symptômes ou ralentir les progrès de la lèpre, en particulier chez ceux qui étaient traités au début de la maladie. C'était le traitement standard jusque dans les années 1940, lorsqu'il a été remplacé par de nouveaux médicaments.

Nous ne savons pas ce qui est arrivé à chaque patient, mais le docteur Smith écrit le 31 octobre 1901 : « la santé s'est améliorée dans l'ensemble; les ulcères sur les jambes ont guéri rapidement, les tubercules ont disparu et les visages et les mains enflés ont retrouvé leur taille normale. L'état de santé de ceux qui ne prenaient les remèdes que de temps à autre ne s'est guère amélioré. »

L'huile de chaulmoogra semblait réduire les symptômes ou ralentir les progrès de la lèpre, en particulier chez ceux qui étaient traités au début de la maladie. C'était le traitement standard jusque dans les années 1940, lorsqu'il a été remplacé par de nouveaux médicaments.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L'apprenant va :
  • se remémorer la façon dont les patients du lazaret ont été guéris par la médecine traditionnelle;
  • indiquer si une maladie comme celle qui a touché les patients du lazaret pourrait survenir de nouveau aujourd'hui.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons