The search for more and better plant-based medicines continues today.

It’s more than a matter of finding new plants or documenting traditional remedies before they disappear, although that is part of the process.

Researchers are also trying to understand more about the medicinal plants we already use - to identify how each chemical compound affects the human body. Full-scale clinical trials of traditional remedies are just beginning, a process that will give doctors a more complete picture of what a particular herbal remedy can (and can’t) do for a patient. Botanists and growers are also part of this process, as they work on ways to produce plants with a higher or more consistent level of medicinal chemicals.

The search for more and better plant-based medicines continues today.

It’s more than a matter of finding new plants or documenting traditional remedies before they disappear, although that is part of the process.

Researchers are also trying to understand more about the medicinal plants we already use - to identify how each chemical compound affects the human body. Full-scale clinical trials of traditional remedies are just beginning, a process that will give doctors a more complete picture of what a particular herbal remedy can (and can’t) do for a patient.

Botanists and growers are also part of this process, as they work on ways to produce plants with a higher or more consistent level of medicinal chemicals.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Pascale Harster

Proprietor

Harster Greenhouses & Science Based Medicinal Plants Inc.

Dundas, Ontario



Develops new ways to grow medicinal plants with consistent chemical profiles.

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


Standardization is making sure that all the plants that are being used to make a pill or a product, in whichever form, an extract or whatever, are identical in the amounts of medicinal compounds they contain. We do this because every plant is different. Because plants come from seeds, and each seed is different, just like brothers and sisters.
Standardization is making sure that all the plants that are being used to make a pill or a product, in whichever form, an extract or whatever, are identical in the amounts of medicinal compounds they contain. We do this because every plant is different. Because plants come from seeds, and each seed is different, just like brothers and sisters.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

At one time, thousands of years ago, the people who were harvesting medicinal plants knew what they were doing. They knew this plant is good, this one is not. They had a traditional knowledge that has since been lost. Today, many medicinal plants have become crops, where everything is harvested, whether good or not. So the idea behind standardization is to make sure every plant is the same.

This is important because scientific people now think that there is a synergy among all the different chemical compounds in a medicinal plant. It's not just the one on the label that's important - it's really the whole plant that's important. If you have standardized plants, you can be sure that every plant has the same amount of every single chemical compound within the plant - and there can be hundreds of them.

At one time, thousands of years ago, the people who were harvesting medicinal plants knew what they were doing. They knew this plant is good, this one is not. They had a traditional knowledge that has since been lost. Today, many medicinal plants have become crops, where everything is harvested, whether good or not. So the idea behind standardization is to make sure every plant is the same.

This is important because scientific people now think that there is a synergy among all the different chemical compounds in a medicinal plant. It's not just the one on the label that's important - it's really the whole plant that's important. If you have standardized plants, you can be sure that every plant has the same amount of every single chemical compound within the plant - and there can be hundreds of them.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

The concept is to select a really good line of medicinal plants, multiply them in a consistent manner and then grow them in a controlled environment to make sure that this consistency is carried over through the growth period of the plant. It allows us as well to bypass the seasonal aspect of growing it outside, so we can grow them the whole year round. That’s good for supply as well, because very often the plants in the wild are harvested and then stored for months on end, and by the time they are processed there may not be anything left in the plant because it was left on the shelf for too long.
The concept is to select a really good line of medicinal plants, multiply them in a consistent manner and then grow them in a controlled environment to make sure that this consistency is carried over through the growth period of the plant. It allows us as well to bypass the seasonal aspect of growing it outside, so we can grow them the whole year round. That’s good for supply as well, because very often the plants in the wild are harvested and then stored for months on end, and by the time they are processed there may not be anything left in the plant because it was left on the shelf for too long.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Goldenseal

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


That’s maybe the hardest part of the project. You have to rely on the plants that have been known to be effective. That is the job of the University of Guelph. They talk to people that have known what the plants were doing for a long time. So you start with a plant with a history of well known efficacy. Then the plant is tested to determine its chemical components. Then, depending on what they learn about the chemical compounds in the plant, they’ll choose one of the lines to standardize.
That’s maybe the hardest part of the project. You have to rely on the plants that have been known to be effective. That is the job of the University of Guelph. They talk to people that have known what the plants were doing for a long time. So you start with a plant with a history of well known efficacy. Then the plant is tested to determine its chemical components. Then, depending on what they learn about the chemical compounds in the plant, they’ll choose one of the lines to standardize.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

We're working on St. John's wort (Hypericum perforatum) and echinacea (E. purpurea and E. angustifolia). Goldenseal (Hydrastis canadensis), feverfew (Tanacetum parthenium), and huang qin (Scutellaria baicalensis) are plants we're going to work on next. We may work on other plants depending on our customers' requirements.

The plants from the University of Guelph are acclimatized and grown in a controlled environment facility. It looks like a greenhouse, but it's way more than that - every aspect of the environment is controlled. We run thousands of experiments on different lines with different types of environments to make sure we get the best plants - that is, ones that are identical and have the right chemical compound contents and the same potency. Growing in a controlled environment ensures that none of the plants is contaminated by polluted soil, which is sometimes a problem when they're grown outdoors in fields.

We're working on St. John's wort (Hypericum perforatum) and echinacea (E. purpurea and E. angustifolia). Goldenseal (Hydrastis canadensis), feverfew (Tanacetum parthenium), and huang qin (Scutellaria baicalensis) are plants we're going to work on next. We may work on other plants depending on our customers' requirements.

The plants from the University of Guelph are acclimatized and grown in a controlled environment facility. It looks like a greenhouse, but it's way more than that - every aspect of the environment is controlled. We run thousands of experiments on different lines with different types of environments to make sure we get the best plants - that is, ones that are identical and have the right chemical compound contents and the same potency.

Growing in a controlled environment ensures that none of the plants is contaminated by polluted soil, which is sometimes a problem when they're grown outdoors in fields.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Millepertuis

Royal Botanical Gardens

© Royal Botanical Gardens


It's a combination of all the factors in the environment - the light, the temperature, the CO2 in the air, what you feed them, the type of media they're in, whether it's peat moss or other kind of soil-less media or no media at all. It's really a lot of different things. So it's not that easy, unfortunately. If you stress a plant, the plant will try to reproduce and produce more of those chemical compounds. It's their way of defending themselves against predators in the wild. But that doesn't mean we always want to stress them, because we want to have the right proportions of the right chemicals. Getting more of a certain chemical doesn't necessarily make the plant more medicinally effective.

It's a combination of all the factors in the environment - the light, the temperature, the CO2 in the air, what you feed them, the type of media they're in, whether it's peat moss or other kind of soil-less media or no media at all. It's really a lot of different things. So it's not that easy, unfortunately.

If you stress a plant, the plant will try to reproduce and produce more of those chemical compounds. It's their way of defending themselves against predators in the wild. But that doesn't mean we always want to stress them, because we want to have the right proportions of the right chemicals. Getting more of a certain chemical doesn't necessarily make the plant more medicinally effective.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Some medicinal plants are on the endangered species list, and some have disappeared already. It's a concern, of course. Echinacea doesn't seem to be endangered, but often the wrong plants are harvested because people don't know what they're doing. But yes, what we're doing can protect endangered species and, hopefully, in the future, once we go to work on other plants that may be on the CITES [Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora] list, then greenhouse growing ought to have a beneficial aspect.

Some medicinal plants are on the endangered species list, and some have disappeared already. It's a concern, of course. Echinacea doesn't seem to be endangered, but often the wrong plants are harvested because people don't know what they're doing.

But yes, what we're doing can protect endangered species and, hopefully, in the future, once we go to work on other plants that may be on the CITES [Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora] list, then greenhouse growing ought to have a beneficial aspect.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Echinacea

Royal Ontario Museum

© Royal Botanical Gardens


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • define the expression “standardization”;
  • explain how environmental factors can affect plants and how the effects of these factors can be reduced.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

La recherche de nauveaux médicaments à base de plantes se poursuit.

Il ne s’agit pas seulement de trouver de nouvelles plantes ou de documenter des remèdes traditionnels avant qu’ils ne disparaissent, bien que ces activités fassent partie du processus.

Les chercheurs essaient aussi d’en apprendre davantage sur les plantes médicinales que nous utilisons déjà pour comprendre comment chaque composé chimique affecte le corps humain. Les essais cliniques à grande échelle sur les remèdes traditionnels ne font que commencer; les médecins auront ainsi beaucoup plus d’informations sur ce qu’un remède à base de plantes médicinales peut faire (et ne peut faire) pour un patient. Les botanistes et les exploitants agricoles participent aussi au processus parce qu’ils cherchent des moyens de produire des plantes qui aient un niveau plus élevé ou plus constant de substances chimiques médicinales.

La recherche de nauveaux médicaments à base de plantes se poursuit.

Il ne s’agit pas seulement de trouver de nouvelles plantes ou de documenter des remèdes traditionnels avant qu’ils ne disparaissent, bien que ces activités fassent partie du processus.

Les chercheurs essaient aussi d’en apprendre davantage sur les plantes médicinales que nous utilisons déjà pour comprendre comment chaque composé chimique affecte le corps humain. Les essais cliniques à grande échelle sur les remèdes traditionnels ne font que commencer; les médecins auront ainsi beaucoup plus d’informations sur ce qu’un remède à base de plantes médicinales peut faire (et ne peut faire) pour un patient.

Les botanistes et les exploitants agricoles participent aussi au processus parce qu’ils cherchent des moyens de produire des plantes qui aient un niveau plus élevé ou plus constant de substances chimiques médicinales.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Pascale Harster

Propriétaire

Harster Greenhouses & Science Based Medicinal Plants Inc.

Dundas (Ontario)



Cherche de nouveaux moyens de cultiver des plantes médicinales aux profils chimiques uniformes.

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


Grâce à la normalisation, toutes les plantes utilisées pour fabriquer une pilule ou un produit, quelle que soit sa forme (un extrait, par exemple), contiennent des quantités de composés médicinaux identiques. La normalisation est nécessaire parce que toutes les plantes sont différentes. Comme les frères et les sœurs, elles proviennent de graines, et chaque graine est unique.
Grâce à la normalisation, toutes les plantes utilisées pour fabriquer une pilule ou un produit, quelle que soit sa forme (un extrait, par exemple), contiennent des quantités de composés médicinaux identiques. La normalisation est nécessaire parce que toutes les plantes sont différentes. Comme les frères et les sœurs, elles proviennent de graines, et chaque graine est unique.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Il y a des milliers d'années, ceux qui recueillaient les plantes médicinales en connaissaient les propriétés. Ils savaient que telle plante était bonne et que telle autre ne l'était pas. Ils possédaient une connaissance traditionnelle qui est maintenant perdue. De nos jours, de nombreuses plantes médicinales sont récoltées sans qu'on sépare les bonnes des mauvaises. La normalisation consiste donc à garantir que toutes les plantes sont identiques.

C'est important parce que les scientifiques croient aujourd'hui qu'il y a une synergie entre les différents composés chimiques d'une plante médicinale. Ce n'est pas le composé mentionné sur l'étiquette qui est important — c'est toute la plante qui est importante. Si les plantes sont normalisées, on peut être certain que chacune d'elles contient chaque composé chimique en quantité égale — et il peut y en avoir des centaines.

Il y a des milliers d'années, ceux qui recueillaient les plantes médicinales en connaissaient les propriétés. Ils savaient que telle plante était bonne et que telle autre ne l'était pas. Ils possédaient une connaissance traditionnelle qui est maintenant perdue. De nos jours, de nombreuses plantes médicinales sont récoltées sans qu'on sépare les bonnes des mauvaises. La normalisation consiste donc à garantir que toutes les plantes sont identiques.

C'est important parce que les scientifiques croient aujourd'hui qu'il y a une synergie entre les différents composés chimiques d'une plante médicinale. Ce n'est pas le composé mentionné sur l'étiquette qui est important — c'est toute la plante qui est importante. Si les plantes sont normalisées, on peut être certain que chacune d'elles contient chaque composé chimique en quantité égale — et il peut y en avoir des centaines.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Il s'agit de sélectionner des plants vigoureux, de les multiplier de manière uniforme et de les cultiver ensuite dans un environnement contrôlé pour qu'ils restent les mêmes tout au long de leur croissance. Comme les plantes ne poussent plus à l'extérieur, nous pouvons en produire douze mois par année. Cela facilite aussi l'approvisionnement, parce que les plantes qui poussent dans la nature sont souvent emmagasinées pendant des mois, et il est fort probable qu'elles n'aient plus aucune substance chimique au moment du traitement parce qu'elles sont restées trop longtemps sur les étagères.
Il s'agit de sélectionner des plants vigoureux, de les multiplier de manière uniforme et de les cultiver ensuite dans un environnement contrôlé pour qu'ils restent les mêmes tout au long de leur croissance. Comme les plantes ne poussent plus à l'extérieur, nous pouvons en produire douze mois par année. Cela facilite aussi l'approvisionnement, parce que les plantes qui poussent dans la nature sont souvent emmagasinées pendant des mois, et il est fort probable qu'elles n'aient plus aucune substance chimique au moment du traitement parce qu'elles sont restées trop longtemps sur les étagères.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Hydraste du Canada

Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives


C'est peut-être la partie la plus difficile du projet. Il faut se fier aux plantes qui ont la réputation d'être efficaces. C'est le travail des scientifiques de l'université de Guelph. Ils parlent à des gens qui connaissent depuis longtemps les propriétés des plantes. Ils partent donc d'une plante qui a la réputation d'être efficace. Ils la testent ensuite pour en trouver les composants chimiques, puis choisissent une des eapèces à normaliser en fonction des composés chimiques qu'elle contient.
C'est peut-être la partie la plus difficile du projet. Il faut se fier aux plantes qui ont la réputation d'être efficaces. C'est le travail des scientifiques de l'université de Guelph. Ils parlent à des gens qui connaissent depuis longtemps les propriétés des plantes. Ils partent donc d'une plante qui a la réputation d'être efficace. Ils la testent ensuite pour en trouver les composants chimiques, puis choisissent une des eapèces à normaliser en fonction des composés chimiques qu'elle contient.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Nous travaillons sur le millepertuis (Hypericum perforatum) et l'échinacée (E. purpurea et E. angustifolia). Nous travaillerons ensuite sur l'hydraste du Canada (Hydrastis canadensis), la grande camomille (Tanacetum parthenium) et le Huang Qin (Scutellaria baicalensis). Nous en ajouterons peut-être à la liste en fonction des besoins de nos clients.

Les plantes de l'université de Guelph sont acclimatées et cultivées dans un environnement contrôlé. Le bâtiment ressemble à une serre, mais c'est beaucoup plus que ça — chaque aspect de l'environnement est contrôlé. Nous faisons des milliers d'expériences sur diverses espèces avec des environnements différents afin d'obtenir les meilleures plantes, des plantes identiques qui contiennent le bon composé chimique et ont la même puissance. Les plantes cultivées dans un environnement contrôlé ne sont pas contaminées par un sol pollué, ce qui est parfois un problème quand elles poussent dans les champ Pour en lire plus

Nous travaillons sur le millepertuis (Hypericum perforatum) et l'échinacée (E. purpurea et E. angustifolia). Nous travaillerons ensuite sur l'hydraste du Canada (Hydrastis canadensis), la grande camomille (Tanacetum parthenium) et le Huang Qin (Scutellaria baicalensis). Nous en ajouterons peut-être à la liste en fonction des besoins de nos clients.

Les plantes de l'université de Guelph sont acclimatées et cultivées dans un environnement contrôlé. Le bâtiment ressemble à une serre, mais c'est beaucoup plus que ça — chaque aspect de l'environnement est contrôlé. Nous faisons des milliers d'expériences sur diverses espèces avec des environnements différents afin d'obtenir les meilleures plantes, des plantes identiques qui contiennent le bon composé chimique et ont la même puissance.

Les plantes cultivées dans un environnement contrôlé ne sont pas contaminées par un sol pollué, ce qui est parfois un problème quand elles poussent dans les champs.

© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Millepertuis

Les Jardins botaniques royaux

© Les Jardins botaniques royaux


C'est une combinaison de tous les facteurs de l'environnement — la lumière, la température, le CO2 dans l'air, les engrais utilisés, le milieu dans lequel elles poussent, qu'il s'agisse de mousse de tourbe ou d'un milieu sans terre, ou qu'il n'y ait pas de milieu de culture. Beaucoup de facteurs entrent en jeu. Ce n'est malheureusement pas si simple.

Si une plante est stressée, elle essaie de se reproduire et produit davantage de ces composés chimiques. C'est sa manière de se protéger contre les prédateurs dans la nature. Ça ne veut pas dire que nous voulons toujours stresser les plantes, parce que nous voulons obtenir les bonnes substances chimiques dans les bonnes proportions. Une plante n'est pas nécessairement plus efficace sur le plan médicinal parce qu'elle contient une plus grande quantité d'une certaine substance chimique.

C'est une combinaison de tous les facteurs de l'environnement — la lumière, la température, le CO2 dans l'air, les engrais utilisés, le milieu dans lequel elles poussent, qu'il s'agisse de mousse de tourbe ou d'un milieu sans terre, ou qu'il n'y ait pas de milieu de culture. Beaucoup de facteurs entrent en jeu. Ce n'est malheureusement pas si simple.

Si une plante est stressée, elle essaie de se reproduire et produit davantage de ces composés chimiques. C'est sa manière de se protéger contre les prédateurs dans la nature. Ça ne veut pas dire que nous voulons toujours stresser les plantes, parce que nous voulons obtenir les bonnes substances chimiques dans les bonnes proportions. Une plante n'est pas nécessairement plus efficace sur le plan médicinal parce qu'elle contient une plus grande quantité d'une certaine substance chimique.


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Certaines plantes médicinales figurent dans la liste des espèces en voie de disparition, certaines ont déjà disparu, ce qui est, bien sûr, inquiétant. L'échinacée ne semble pas en danger, mais les gens récoltent souvent les mauvaises plantes parce qu'ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font.

Ce que nous faisons peut effectivement protéger les espèces en voie de disparition, et nous espérons que la culture en serre présentera des avantages quand nous travaillerons, plus tard, avec d'autres plantes figurant dans la CITES [Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d'extinction].

Certaines plantes médicinales figurent dans la liste des espèces en voie de disparition, certaines ont déjà disparu, ce qui est, bien sûr, inquiétant. L'échinacée ne semble pas en danger, mais les gens récoltent souvent les mauvaises plantes parce qu'ils ne savent pas ce qu'ils font.

Ce que nous faisons peut effectivement protéger les espèces en voie de disparition, et nous espérons que la culture en serre présentera des avantages quand nous travaillerons, plus tard, avec d'autres plantes figurant dans la CITES [Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d'extinction].


© 2005, Coalition of Canadian Healthcare Museums and Archives

Échinacée

Les Jardins botaniques royaux

© Les Jardins botaniques royaux


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L'apprenant va :
  • définir le terme « normalisation »;
  • expliquer comment les plantes peuvent être affectées par des facteurs environnementaux et comment on peut réduire les effets de ces facteurs.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons