Forests make up a significant part of our biosphere, (the part of the earth and atmosphere that supports life). Forests also affect the earth’s climate. Forestry practices can influence the affect that forests have on global climates.

Global Carbon Cycle
Carbon, the most common element, occurs naturally in the atmosphere as carbon dioxide. Plants, and in particular, forests, use photosynthesis to convert carbon dioxide to plant biomass. Through decomposition and respiration, carbon regularly cycles through the lithosphere (earth's crust), hydrosphere (surface water) and atmosphere.

As forests grow they use carbon dioxide from the atmosphere to create vegetation. As a result of their respiration, plants release oxygen for animals and humans to use. When trees die naturally or are harvested through forestry, their ability to convert carbon dioxide to carbon is destroyed, and that carbon dioxide remains in the atmosphere, where it contributes to a build up of "Greenhouse Gases" (mainly carbon, water and nitrogen).

The much talked about "Greenhouse Effect" is thought to be cau Read More
Forests make up a significant part of our biosphere, (the part of the earth and atmosphere that supports life). Forests also affect the earth’s climate. Forestry practices can influence the affect that forests have on global climates.

Global Carbon Cycle
Carbon, the most common element, occurs naturally in the atmosphere as carbon dioxide. Plants, and in particular, forests, use photosynthesis to convert carbon dioxide to plant biomass. Through decomposition and respiration, carbon regularly cycles through the lithosphere (earth's crust), hydrosphere (surface water) and atmosphere.

As forests grow they use carbon dioxide from the atmosphere to create vegetation. As a result of their respiration, plants release oxygen for animals and humans to use. When trees die naturally or are harvested through forestry, their ability to convert carbon dioxide to carbon is destroyed, and that carbon dioxide remains in the atmosphere, where it contributes to a build up of "Greenhouse Gases" (mainly carbon, water and nitrogen).

The much talked about "Greenhouse Effect" is thought to be causing the earth’s climate to change. The two main contributors to the Greenhouse Effect are the burning of fossil fuels, (oil, natural gas, coal and wood) and deforestation. When fossil fuels are burned they release stored carbon into the atmosphere, and with increasing rates of deforestation, fewer trees are available to remove the carbon dioxide from the atmosphere. In recent history, the burning of fossil fuels and deforestation are occurring at such rates that the increased carbon in the atmosphere is contributing to changing global temperatures and climate.

Forestry
Forests act as a carbon bank by storing carbon in vegetation, detritus (decaying organic material) and soil. A carbon sink is a forest in which carbon stocks are increasing. A forest is considered a carbon source when its carbon stocks are decreasing.

Sound forest management practices can remove carbon from the atmosphere by protecting existing forests that are carbon sinks, reducing soil disturbances and increasing forest growth rates. Forestry practices such as silviculture and the management of natural occurrences such as insects, diseases and fire, can also increase or diminish the effects of climate change by influencing the rate of carbon uptake and storage.

When trees are harvested or die due to insect infestations, fire or disease, carbon is released into the atmosphere. Harvesting trees requires using machinery that burns fossil fuels and release more carbon into the atmosphere. The planting and regeneration of forests, creates a sink for carbon through photosynthesis and the storage of carbon in trees in roots, branches and trunks.

Scientists have attributed recent hot, dry summers in British Columbia to global climate change due to the Greenhouse Effect and excessive burning of fossil fuels. Major fires in British Columbia’s Interior and the rapid spread of the mountain pine beetle (which like the dry, hot summers and recent mild winters) are two examples of how climate and climate change may affect B.C.’s forests and how the forests, in turn, are affected by forestry practices that respond to these changes.

© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

After using this object students will be able to:
- describe at least two aspects of B.C.’s forest industry that affect the atmosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere or lithosphere.
- explain how B.C.’s forest industry interacts with ecosystems
- evaluate how human activity affects climate

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Le carbone, l’élément le plus commun, survient naturellement dans l’atmosphère en tant que dioxyde de carbone. Les plantes, et particulièrement les forêts, utilisent la photosynthèse pour convertir le dioxyde de carbone en biomasse végétale. Par la décomposition et la respiration, le carbone effectue régulièrement des cycles dans la lithosphère (la croûte de la Terre), l’hydrosphère (l’eau de surface) et l’atmosphère.

À mesure que les forêts poussent, elles utilisent le dioxyde de carbone de l’atmosphère pour créer de la végétation. Conséquemment à leur respiration, les plantes dégagent de l’oxygène que les humains et les animaux utilisent pour respirer. Lorsque les arbres meurent naturellement ou qu’ils sont abattus par des pratiques forestières, leur capacité à convertir le dioxyde de carbone en carbone est détruite et ce dioxyde de carbone demeure dans l’atmosphère où il contribue à l’accum Pour en lire plus
Le carbone, l’élément le plus commun, survient naturellement dans l’atmosphère en tant que dioxyde de carbone. Les plantes, et particulièrement les forêts, utilisent la photosynthèse pour convertir le dioxyde de carbone en biomasse végétale. Par la décomposition et la respiration, le carbone effectue régulièrement des cycles dans la lithosphère (la croûte de la Terre), l’hydrosphère (l’eau de surface) et l’atmosphère.

À mesure que les forêts poussent, elles utilisent le dioxyde de carbone de l’atmosphère pour créer de la végétation. Conséquemment à leur respiration, les plantes dégagent de l’oxygène que les humains et les animaux utilisent pour respirer. Lorsque les arbres meurent naturellement ou qu’ils sont abattus par des pratiques forestières, leur capacité à convertir le dioxyde de carbone en carbone est détruite et ce dioxyde de carbone demeure dans l’atmosphère où il contribue à l’accumulation de « gaz à effet de serre » (principalement du carbone, de l’eau et du nitrogène).

On pense que « l’effet de serre » dont on parle tant est la cause des changements climatiques de la Terre. Les deux principaux contributeurs à l’effet de serre sont la combustion de combustibles fossiles (le pétrole, le gaz naturel, le charbon et le bois) et la déforestation. Lorsque les combustibles fossiles brûlent, ils dégagent dans l’atmosphère le carbone accumulé et à cause des taux croissants de déforestation, il y a moins d’arbres pour éliminer le dioxyde de carbone de l’atmosphère. Depuis quelques années, la combustion de combustibles fossiles et la déforestation surviennent à un tel rythme que le carbone accumulé dans l’atmosphère contribue aux changements de la température et du climat.

Foresterie
Les forêts agissent en tant que banque de carbone en emmagasinant le carbone dans la végétation, les débris (matière organique en décomposition) et le sol. Un puits de carbone est une forêt dans laquelle le stock de carbone augmente. Une forêt est considérée une source de carbone lorsque son stock de carbone diminue.

Des bonnes pratiques de gestion forestière peuvent éliminer le carbone de l’atmosphère en protégeant les forêts existantes qui sont de puits de carbone, en diminuant la perturbation du sol et en augmentant le taux de croissance des forêts. Les pratiques forestières comme la sylviculture et la gestion d’occurrences naturelles telles que les insectes, les maladies et les incendies peuvent également augmenter ou diminuer l’impact des changements climatiques en influençant le taux d’absorption et d’accumulation du carbone.

Lorsque les arbres sont abattus ou meurent à cause d’infestations d’insectes, d’incendies ou de maladies, le carbone est dégagé dans l’atmosphère. La plantation et la régénération de forêts créent des puits pour le carbone par l’entremise de la photosynthèse et l’accumulation de carbone dans les racines, les branches et les troncs.

Les scientifiques ont attribué les récents étés chauds et secs en Colombie-Britannique aux changements climatiques mondiaux causés par l’effet de serre et la combustion excessive de combustibles fossiles. Les sérieux incendies dans l’Intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique et la propagation rapide du dendoctrone du pin (qui aime les étés chauds et secs et les récents hivers doux) sont deux exemples de la façon dont le climat et les changements climatiques peuvent affecter les forêts de la Colombie-Britannique et comment les forêts, à leur tour, sont affectées par les pratiques forestières qui réagissent à ces changements.

© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Après avoir utilisé cet objet, les élèves pourront :
- Décrire au moins deux aspects de l’industrie forestière de la Colombie-Britannique qui affectent l’atmosphère, la biosphère, l’hydrosphère et la lithosphère.
- Expliquer comment l’industrie forestière de la Colombie-Britannique interagit avec les écosystèmes.
- Évaluer l'impact de l'activité humaine sur le climat

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons