Timber extraction in coastal British Columbia has evolved from simple hand-logging to the highly mechanized machinery of today’s forest industry. Manual labour has been reduced and production has increased. Current technologies must take into account environmental concerns.

The coastal forest industry has been through three major phases: horse and oxen logging, railroad logging and finally, truck logging. These phases were not necessarily sequential; in fact, in the 1920's logging operations existed in B.C. that had all three - horses, railways and trucks in play at the same time

In the earliest days, men, using axes and manual saws, extracted timber. Newly cut logs were removed from the forest by horses and oxen using skid roads, which were roadways, made of smaller logs buried half in the ground and greased with oil. The timber could then be pulled and pushed more easily out of the forest and into the water. Logging operations were established near rivers and oceans to so waterways could be used to transport logs.

American John Dolbeer invented the steam donkey in 1882 in California. This steam powered winch revolutionized logging by repla Read More
Timber extraction in coastal British Columbia has evolved from simple hand-logging to the highly mechanized machinery of today’s forest industry. Manual labour has been reduced and production has increased. Current technologies must take into account environmental concerns.

The coastal forest industry has been through three major phases: horse and oxen logging, railroad logging and finally, truck logging. These phases were not necessarily sequential; in fact, in the 1920's logging operations existed in B.C. that had all three - horses, railways and trucks in play at the same time

In the earliest days, men, using axes and manual saws, extracted timber. Newly cut logs were removed from the forest by horses and oxen using skid roads, which were roadways, made of smaller logs buried half in the ground and greased with oil. The timber could then be pulled and pushed more easily out of the forest and into the water. Logging operations were established near rivers and oceans to so waterways could be used to transport logs.

American John Dolbeer invented the steam donkey in 1882 in California. This steam powered winch revolutionized logging by replacing animal power and brought the industrial revolution to coastal logging. A wire or cable attached to the steam donkey would haul-in a log that was attached at the other end. The steam donkeys increased the speed of work and volume of extraction, but also increased the danger to the workers. The increased speed allowed the loggers less time to be careful. Originally fuelled by wood, by the 1920's, steam donkeys were fueled with crude oil, and in future years powered by diesel and gasoline engines.

Eventually steam trains were used to remove timber from the forests. By the 1920s, trucks began to replace the railways. In the late 1930's, a growing wartime market for lumber coupled with a shortage of fallers caused an explosive rise in the use of chainsaws in the forests.

The technologies used in coastal B.C.’s early forest industry were the beginnings of large-scale, mechanized clear-cutting. Although, clear-cutting methods are still used today, sustainable forestry practices insist that extraction technologies also consider the sensitive ecosystems they are working in. Partial cutting systems, like selection logging, can cause less soil disturbance and require less road building. Helicopter logging is another form of extraction technology that is expensive, but easier on the forest.

© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. All Rights Reserved.

Method:
Students research, interview, document and present a piece of their local history.

Procedure:
As a class, brainstorm people or places in your community that were associated with logging or the forest industry in the past and have not already been remembered or recognized formally (eg. retired loggers or neighbours, friends, relatives who worked in the industry, or closed mills, or other worksites). Students can use local museums, archives, government or forest company offices for sources of information.

Have students work in small groups. Each group selects one person or place to research, document and present. If a place is selected, be aware of any legal or safety issues to check out first.

Students embark on primary research about their subject. They should assign roles within the group. Some can write the questions for an interview, others can be involved in documenting or presenting the work. Students can use photography to document artifacts, equipment or people. Videotape or digital recording equipment may be used if available.

On Read More
Method:
Students research, interview, document and present a piece of their local history.

Procedure:
As a class, brainstorm people or places in your community that were associated with logging or the forest industry in the past and have not already been remembered or recognized formally (eg. retired loggers or neighbours, friends, relatives who worked in the industry, or closed mills, or other worksites). Students can use local museums, archives, government or forest company offices for sources of information.

Have students work in small groups. Each group selects one person or place to research, document and present. If a place is selected, be aware of any legal or safety issues to check out first.

Students embark on primary research about their subject. They should assign roles within the group. Some can write the questions for an interview, others can be involved in documenting or presenting the work. Students can use photography to document artifacts, equipment or people. Videotape or digital recording equipment may be used if available.

Once their research is compiled, students should work on presenting their research. For example, they could build a website, a report, an exhibit. Students could also prepare a theatrical presentation. If applicable, copies of projects can be displayed or donated to local museums, history or heritage organizations, libraries, municipal halls.

Assessment:

Observe the group discussions and work and assess for:
Group participation
Fair delegation of tasks
Creativity in the pursuit of primary research (i.e. where do students search for information, how many sources are investigated?)

Assess final presentations for:
Conveying information accurately
Conveying information in a logical and interesting way

(Alternatively, students may decide beforehand how they wish their work to be assessed. Prepare a list of criteria that students agree on. As a class, or within groups, students assess group documentation and presentation.)

© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. All Rights Reserved.

It’s been a monumental change.

Ken McKinnon: It’s been a monumental change, when I was working for the Timberland Appraisal Office, one of my jobs was plotting all the timber sales of crown timber for that particular year. I could see them all scrunched up in different areas like Desolation Sound and whatnot. That was the little guys, primarily the first year of their sales and they are simple to get, they could stake out an area of crown land, and apply to cut it and the Forests Service would send someone out and they would make a deal where they would pay so much for each thousand board feet – at that time not cubic or metric. The huge difference that has happened since then is that the huge companies have taken over. The little guys are the dead men other than doing little contracting jobs – that float camp we saw up there wouldn’t exist today. The outfit would have sent another contractor and it was cut and go. The equipment has changed so much that you can take the E and N (railway) from here to Courtenay and see where they have logged alongside the tracks. It’s a shambles. Track machines going by to snip the trees and everything else. I was never there during the time of hand fallings, but there certainly wasn’t the mess that there is today. The irony is that what I cruised in the 50’s and 60’s has now grown up again and cut a second time. That’s a bit hard to swallow. Liz Crocker: What’s the quality of the timber on the second growth? Ken McKinnon: It’s not there, it’s very limey. If it was left for another 150 years it would be a different story.

BC Forest Discovery Centre
BC Forest Discovery Centre; Ken McKinnon
c. 2000
British Columbia, CANADA
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. All Rights Reserved.


There were several changes that started about that time

Ken McKinnon: There were several changes that started about that time. The main one, that I ran into around 1961-62 was a self-propelled, steel spar tree. It was an invention of Madill here in Nanaimo and it was a wonderful thing. It was a donkey mounted on top of a surplus tank chassis -- an army tank. It had a massive diesel on it and an operator could move from spot to spot and at the same time very quickly set up the yard and logs and cable. Just a hydraulic ramp, and the spar would go up. They could run the guy wires out in a few hours. The big difference was that the wooden spar tree and the steam required about 20 men to run one set up -- we called it one "spar tree set up" -- the steel spar was 9. So it made a huge difference

British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre, Ken McKinnon

British Columbia, CANADA
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. All Rights Reserved.


Tree Hoist

Work at the Cathel's and Sorenson Log Company Camp at Port Renfrew in the late 1920s

British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre, Ken McKinnon
c. 2000
From the collection of Ken McKinnon
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. All Rights Reserved.


Cutting Slabs on Buzz Saw

Men cutting slabs on the buzz saw, Jones Camp, Malahat, 1936

British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre, Ken McKinnon
c. 2000
British Columbia, CANADA
From the collection of Ken McKinnon
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. All Rights Reserved.


Steam donkey with man in front

Shawnigan Lake Lumber Co., this was 9 x 10 Washington Donkey, men unidentified

British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
c. 2000
British Columbia, CANADA
fdc 40330
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. All Rights Reserved.


Oxen pulling logs from the water

Oxen pulling logs from the water

British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
c. 2000
British Columbia, CANADA
fdc 14290
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

After using this object students will be able to:
- describe methods of harvesting timber
- identify at least one nation that has shaped extraction technology in coastal B.C.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

L’exploitation forestière sur la côte de la Colombie-Britannique a évolué de l’exploitation forestière manuelle à l’exploitation forestière hautement mécanisée de l’industrie forestière d’aujourd’hui. Le travail manuel a été réduit et la production a augmenté. Les technologies actuelles doivent tenir compte des aspects environnementaux.

L’industrie forestière côtière a connu trois phases importantes : l’exploitation forestière avec les bœufs et chevaux, l’exploitation forestière avec les voies ferrées et finalement l’exploitation forestière par camion. Ces phases n’étaient pas nécessairement séquentielles. En fait, dans les années 1920, il y avait des entreprises forestières de la Colombie-Britannique qui utilisaient les trois méthodes : les chevaux, les trains et les camions en même temps.

Au début, le bois était récolté par les hommes qui utilisaient des haches et des s Pour en lire plus
L’exploitation forestière sur la côte de la Colombie-Britannique a évolué de l’exploitation forestière manuelle à l’exploitation forestière hautement mécanisée de l’industrie forestière d’aujourd’hui. Le travail manuel a été réduit et la production a augmenté. Les technologies actuelles doivent tenir compte des aspects environnementaux.

L’industrie forestière côtière a connu trois phases importantes : l’exploitation forestière avec les bœufs et chevaux, l’exploitation forestière avec les voies ferrées et finalement l’exploitation forestière par camion. Ces phases n’étaient pas nécessairement séquentielles. En fait, dans les années 1920, il y avait des entreprises forestières de la Colombie-Britannique qui utilisaient les trois méthodes : les chevaux, les trains et les camions en même temps.

Au début, le bois était récolté par les hommes qui utilisaient des haches et des scies manuelles. On sortait les billots de la forêt avec des chevaux et des bœufs en utilisant des chemins de débardage, qui étaient des chemins faits de petits billots à moitié enterrés dans le sol et recouverts d’huile. On pouvait donc tirer ou pousser plus facilement les billots hors de la forêt pour les mettre à l’eau. Les entreprises forestières étaient situées près des rivières ou de l’océan pour utiliser les cours d’eau pour transporter les billots.

L’Américain John Dolbeer a inventé la mule à vapeur en 1812 en Californie. Ce treuil, qui était propulsé par la vapeur, a révolutionné l’exploitation forestière en remplaçant les animaux et en amenant la révolution industrielle vers l’industrie forestière côtière. Un fil ou un câble attaché à la mule à vapeur pouvait tirer un billot qui était attaché à l’autre bout. Les mules à vapeur ont augmenté la vitesse de travail et le volume de bois coupé, mais elles ont également augmenté les risques de danger pour les travailleurs. La vitesse de travail donnait moins de temps aux travailleurs d’être prudents. À l’origine, les mules fonctionnaient au bois, mais dans les années 1920, elles fonctionnaient au pétrole brut et avec les années, elles ont été alimentées par des moteurs diesel ou à essence.

Finalement, les trains à vapeur ont été utilisés pour sortir le bois des forêts. Dans les années 1920, les camions ont commencé à remplacer les trains. À la fin des années 1930, une demande grandissante pour le bois pendant la guerre jumelée à une pénurie de bûcherons a causé une augmentation phénoménale de l’utilisation des scies à chaînes dans les forêts.

Les technologies utilisées au début de l’industrie forestière de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique étaient le début de la coupe à blanc mécanisée à grande échelle. Bien que les méthodes de coupe à blanc soient encore utilisées aujourd’hui, les pratiques forestières durables insistent pour que les technologies prennent en considération les écosystèmes fragiles dans lesquels on travaille. Les systèmes de coupe partielle, comme la coupe sélective, causent moins de perturbation du sol et requièrent moins de chemins. L’exploitation forestière par hélicoptère est une autre méthode d’extraction qui cause moins de tort aux forêts, même si elle est plus coûteuse.

© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. Tous droits réservés.

Méthode :
Recherche par les élèves, interview, document et présentation d’une partie de leur histoire locale

Procédure :
En tant que classe, trouvez des gens ou des endroits de votre communauté qui étaient associés à l’exploitation ou l’industrie forestière dans le passé qui ont été oubliés ou qui n’ont pas été officiellement reconnus (ex. : bûcherons à la retraite, voisins, amis, parents qui ont travaillé dans l’industrie; usines ou lieux de travail fermés). Les élèves peuvent utiliser les musées locaux, les archives, les bureaux du gouvernement ou des compagnies forestières comme sources d’information.

Demandez aux élèves de travailler en petit groupe. Chaque groupe choisit une personne ou un endroit pour la recherche, la documentation et la présentation. Si vous choisissez un endroit, faites attention aux aspects juridiques ou sécuritaires. Pour en lire plus
Méthode :
Recherche par les élèves, interview, document et présentation d’une partie de leur histoire locale

Procédure :
En tant que classe, trouvez des gens ou des endroits de votre communauté qui étaient associés à l’exploitation ou l’industrie forestière dans le passé qui ont été oubliés ou qui n’ont pas été officiellement reconnus (ex. : bûcherons à la retraite, voisins, amis, parents qui ont travaillé dans l’industrie; usines ou lieux de travail fermés). Les élèves peuvent utiliser les musées locaux, les archives, les bureaux du gouvernement ou des compagnies forestières comme sources d’information.

Demandez aux élèves de travailler en petit groupe. Chaque groupe choisit une personne ou un endroit pour la recherche, la documentation et la présentation. Si vous choisissez un endroit, faites attention aux aspects juridiques ou sécuritaires.

Les élèves effectuent une recherche primaire sur leur sujet. Chaque élève devrait avoir un rôle au sein du groupe. Certains peuvent rédiger les questions pour les entrevues, d’autres peuvent travailler à la documentation ou la présentation. Les élèves peuvent utiliser des photos pour documenter les artefacts, l’équipement ou les gens. On peut utiliser des vidéos ou des enregistrements numériques, si disponible.

Une fois la recherche complétée, les élèves devraient travailler sur la présentation de leur projet. Par exemple, ils pourraient monter un site Web ou une exposition, ou effectuer un rapport. Le cas échéant, des copies des projets peuvent exposées ou données aux musées locaux, aux groupes historiques ou patrimoniaux, aux bibliothèques ou aux hôtels de ville.

Évaluation

Observez les discussions de groupes et évaluez selon :
La participation de groupe
La juste distribution des tâches
La créativité dans la recherche primaire (ex. : où les élèves ont fait leur recherche d’informations, combien de sources ont été utilisées?).

Évaluez les présentations finales selon :
La transmission précise de l’information
La transmission de l’information de façon logique et intéressante
(Alternativement, les élèves peuvent préalablement décider comment ils aimeraient que leur travail soit évalué. Préparez une liste de critères avec les élèves avec lesquels ils sont d’accord. En tant que classe, ou en groupes, les élèves évaluent la documentation et la présentation.)

© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. Tous droits réservés.

Cela a été un changement monumental.

Ken McKinnon : Cela a été un changement monumental. Lorsque je travaillais pour le bureau d’évaluateurs de terrain forestier exploitable, un de mes travaux consistait à faire des tracés graphiques des ventes de bois avec le bois de la couronne lors de cette année particulière. Je pouvais les voir tout regroupés dans diverses régions comme Desolation Sound, qui est maintenant un parc. Les petits étaient principalement le premier groupe de ces ventes. Ils étaient faciles d’accès. Ils pouvaient arpenter une région de terre de la couronne et la marquer pour la coupe. Les services envoyaient quelqu’un et ils parvenaient à l’entente qu’ils devaient payer tant, car ils s’étaient coupé mille pieds-planches et à ce moment ce n’était pas cubique ou métrique. La grosse différence qui est survenue depuis ce temps-là est que les grosses compagnies ont pris le contrôle et que les petits sont presque morts, à part quelques petits contrats. Ce camp que nous avons vu là-haut n’existerait pas aujourd’hui. La compagnie avait envoyé un autre entrepreneur. L’équipement a tellement changé depuis ce temps. Vous pouvez prendre le train E & N à partir d’ici jusqu’à Courtney et voir où ils ont exploité la forêt le long de la voie ferrée. C’est la pagaille. Des machines à chenilles coupent les arbres et écrasent tout. Je n’étais pas la durant le temps de la coupe manuelle, mais il n’y avait certainement pas le dégât qu’il y a aujourd’hui. Ironiquement, la forêt que nos équipes ont abattue dans les années 50 et 60 a repoussé et a été coupée une seconde fois. C’est un peu difficile à avaler. Intervieweur : Quelle est la qualité du bois de la deuxième croissance? Ken McKinnon : Elle n’est pas là. C’est très branchu. Si c’était laissé là pendant cent cinquante années, ce serait une autre histoire.

BC Forest Discovery Centre
BC Forest Discovery Centre; Ken McKinnon
vers 2000
Colombie-Britannique, CANADA
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. Tous droits réservés.


Il y a eu plusieurs changements qui ont commencé vers ce moment-là

Ken McKinnon: Il y a eu plusieurs changements qui ont commencé vers ce moment-là. Le principal changement qui est survenu environ en 1961 ou 62 était un pylône d’acier autopropulsé. C’était une invention de Madill ici à Nanaimo et c’était une chose merveilleuse. C’était une mule (treuil) montée sur un vieux châssis de char d’assaut, un char militaire. Il avait un gros moteur diesel et l’opérateur pouvait le déplacer d’un endroit à l’autre et en même temps organiser la cour, les billots et les câbles. Le pylône se redressait avec seulement une rampe hydraulique. Ils pouvaient étaler les haubans en quelques heures. La grosse différence était qu’il fallait environ vingt hommes pour le montage du pylône en bois et du treuil – nous appelions ça le montage du pylône – alors qu’il n’en fallait que neuf pour le pylône en acier. Cela faisait donc une grosse différence.

British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre, Ken McKinnon

Colombie-Britannique, CANADA
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. Tous droits réservés.


Treuil d’arbre

Travail au camp forestier Cathels et Sorenson Log Company à Port Renfrew à la fin des années 1920

British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre, Ken McKinnon
vers 2000
From the collection of Ken McKinnon
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. Tous droits réservés.


Travailleurs coupant des dosses avec une scie circulaire

Travailleurs coupant des dosses avec une scie circulaire, Camp Jones, Malahat, 1936

British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre, Ken McKinnon
vers 2000
Colombie-Britannique, CANADA
From the collection of Ken McKinnon
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. Tous droits réservés.


Homme se tenant devant un treuil de débardage

Shawnigan Lake Lumber Co. Treuil de débardage Washington de 9 x 10. Les hommes sont non identifiés

British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
vers 2000
Colombie-Britannique, CANADA
fdc 40330
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. Tous droits réservés.


Bœuf tirant des billots de l’eau

Bœuf tirant des billots de l’eau

British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
vers 2000
Colombie-Britannique, CANADA
fdc 14290
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

Après avoir utilisé cet objet, les élèves pourront :
- Décrire des méthodes de récolte du bois
- Identifier au moins une nation qui a donné forme à la technologie d’exploitation forestière de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique.


Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons