Forest products make up about half of British Columbia’s exports. B.C. timber is sold in the international marketplace and international trade laws govern these sales in part.

As the provincial government manages B.C.’s publicly owned timber, it is important to ensure that it gets the best possible price for this resource on behalf of the citizens of B.C. To meet this goal, B.C. Timber Sales, an independent organization within the B.C. Ministry of Forests and Range, works to establish fair market prices for B.C. timber.

North American Free Trade Agreement
The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) between Canada, the United States and Mexico was drafted because of the significance of exports and trade between these three nations. Although there is criticism of this agreement and how beneficial it has been for Canada, the agreement is intended to make it easier for Canada and its trading partners to trade goods, such as forest products.

World Trade Organization
The World Trade Organization (WTO) governs trade between C Read More
Forest products make up about half of British Columbia’s exports. B.C. timber is sold in the international marketplace and international trade laws govern these sales in part.

As the provincial government manages B.C.’s publicly owned timber, it is important to ensure that it gets the best possible price for this resource on behalf of the citizens of B.C. To meet this goal, B.C. Timber Sales, an independent organization within the B.C. Ministry of Forests and Range, works to establish fair market prices for B.C. timber.

North American Free Trade Agreement
The North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) between Canada, the United States and Mexico was drafted because of the significance of exports and trade between these three nations. Although there is criticism of this agreement and how beneficial it has been for Canada, the agreement is intended to make it easier for Canada and its trading partners to trade goods, such as forest products.

World Trade Organization
The World Trade Organization (WTO) governs trade between Canada and its other 148 members. Because Canada is a member of the WTO, this increases Canada’s exposure to global markets. Nationally, a quarter of Canadian jobs are linked to exports. Exports contribute to about 40% of Canada’s economy. The WTO provides an environment for Canada and other nations to negotiate trade, review policies and settle disputes. Although negotiations for the trade of Canada’s goods take place in an international forum, Canada’s trade policies are still developed in Canada by Canadians. International relationships such as these add to the complexities of the B.C. timber market.

© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. All Rights Reserved.

Method:
Students research questions to prepare for a classroom guest speaker and generate discussion.

Procedure:
Arrange to have one or more guest speakers, who currently work or used to work in some aspect of the forest industry, come to speak to your students. If it is not possible to have someone come in person, it may be possible to arrange a time for a guest to talk to the class by speaker phone.

Give students preparation time to, individually or in groups, research the individual and/or their area of expertise.

Students ask the guest speaker questions based on their research.

After the guest speaker’s presentation, students are asked to note any new information that the speaker revealed that was not discovered by their research. Ask students to summarize the speaker’s point of view.

There are many aspects of the forest industry that are continually and intensely debated.
As a class, or in small groups, discuss any differences in opinion that the presentation may have revealed.

Read More
Method:
Students research questions to prepare for a classroom guest speaker and generate discussion.

Procedure:
Arrange to have one or more guest speakers, who currently work or used to work in some aspect of the forest industry, come to speak to your students. If it is not possible to have someone come in person, it may be possible to arrange a time for a guest to talk to the class by speaker phone.

Give students preparation time to, individually or in groups, research the individual and/or their area of expertise.

Students ask the guest speaker questions based on their research.

After the guest speaker’s presentation, students are asked to note any new information that the speaker revealed that was not discovered by their research. Ask students to summarize the speaker’s point of view.

There are many aspects of the forest industry that are continually and intensely debated.
As a class, or in small groups, discuss any differences in opinion that the presentation may have revealed.

Assessment:
- Assess student questions for:
relevancy
- depth of research

Assess class discussion for:
- understanding of issues
- willingness to allow for other points of view

© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. All Rights Reserved.

BC sells its wood products into a global marketplace

BC sells its wood products into a global marketplace, and that's certainly more true now than it was even a decade ago. The people who are buying our solid wood products or our pulp and paper, also have the option of buying them from new Zealand, or from South America, or from Southeast Asia. One of the things that people are increasingly looking to for the wood they buy is some indication that it was produced using sustainable forestry practices. Most of the certification schemes out there are designed to show that forest management operations are being sustainably managed. So most of the large forest companies in British Columbia are engaged in various different certification initiatives. And there are lots of different certification initiatives worldwide. Most of them have websites, and this would be a fun project for students to look at the different certifications systems and compare them. In British Columbia, people use SFI, the "Sustainable Forestry Initiative", the Canadian Standards Association ISO certification, and the Forest Stewardship Counsel -- which is the one that the environmental, non-government organizations, or the environmental NGOs favour. So there are these different certification schemes out there. Different companies are certified by different schemes. A lot of the larger companies are certified by more than one different certification scheme. I think it's very helpful -- and the companies obviously do, as they choose to be certified. It helps them sell their products into a global market. I think it's very helpful for the companies to take the time and have to demonstrate, through all of the different components of the certification scheme, that they are practicing sustainable forest management. It's an interesting exercise because here sustainability is interpreted for most of these schemes in its most broad sense: that forest operations have to be socially and environmentally sustainable, as well as economically efficient, otherwise the companies wouldn't be operating in the first place. A lot of people think of sustainability primarily in environmental terms, but for the certification schemes, they all contain a component of social sustainability. The companies have to be able to demonstrate that they are operating with local communities and first nations, and they are considering the effects that their forest management practices and activities are having on local people. I think that social sustainability is a really interesting and really important part of the equation if these companies are going to continue to operate in our province.

British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre; Andy MacKinnon, BC Forest Service
c. 2000
British Columbia, CANADA
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. All Rights Reserved.


Learning Objectives

After using this object students will be able to:
- describe at least one global organization that is involved in governing the timber market

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Les produits forestiers comptent pour environ la moitié des exportations de la Colombie-Britannique. Le bois de la Colombie-Britannique est vendu sur le marché international et ces ventes sont régies en partie par des lois de commerce international.

Étant donné que le gouvernement provincial administre les forêts publiques, il est important qu’il s’assure d’obtenir le meilleur prix possible pour cette ressource au nom des citoyens de la Colombie-Britannique. Pour atteindre ce but, BC Timber Sales, une organisation indépendante au sein du ministère des Forêts, travaille pour établir des prix de marché justes pour le bois de la Colombie-Britannique.

Accord de libre-échange nord-américain
L’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique a été rédigé à cause de l’importance des exportations et du commerce entre ces trois pays. Même s’il y a des critiques à propos de cet accord et sur ses avan Pour en lire plus
Les produits forestiers comptent pour environ la moitié des exportations de la Colombie-Britannique. Le bois de la Colombie-Britannique est vendu sur le marché international et ces ventes sont régies en partie par des lois de commerce international.

Étant donné que le gouvernement provincial administre les forêts publiques, il est important qu’il s’assure d’obtenir le meilleur prix possible pour cette ressource au nom des citoyens de la Colombie-Britannique. Pour atteindre ce but, BC Timber Sales, une organisation indépendante au sein du ministère des Forêts, travaille pour établir des prix de marché justes pour le bois de la Colombie-Britannique.

Accord de libre-échange nord-américain
L’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique a été rédigé à cause de l’importance des exportations et du commerce entre ces trois pays. Même s’il y a des critiques à propos de cet accord et sur ses avantages pour le Canada, le but de l’accord est de faciliter l’échange de biens, comme les produits forestiers, entre le Canada et ses partenaires commerciaux.

Organisation mondiale du commerce
L’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) régit le commerce entre le Canada et ses 148 autres pays membres. Parce que le Canada est membre de l’OMC, cela augmente l’exposition du Canada sur les marchés mondiaux. À l’échelle nationale, le quart des emplois au Canada sont liés à l’exportation. Les exportations comptent pour environ 40 % de l’économie canadienne. L’OMC fournit un environnement pour que le Canada et les autres pays puissent négocier des ententes, réviser des politiques et régler des différends. Même si les négociations pour le commerce des biens canadiens prennent place dans un forum international, les politiques commerciales sont élaborées au Canada par des Canadiens. Des relations internationales comme celles-ci ajoutent aux difficultés du marché du bois de la Colombie-Britannique.

© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. Tous droits réservés.

Les élèves préparent des questions pour le conférencier afin de générer la discussion.

Procédure :
Organisez la venue d’un ou de plusieurs conférenciers, qui travaillent ou travaillaient dans certains aspects de l’industrie forestière, pour venir parler à vos élèves. Si le conférencier ne peut venir en personne, il peut être possible d’organiser une présentation par téléphone à haut parleur.

Donnez aux élèves du temps de préparation, individuellement ou en groupe, pour effectuer une recherche sur la personne ou son champ d’expertise.

En se basant sur leur recherche, les élèves posent des questions au conférencier.

Après la présentation du conférencier, demandez aux élèves de noter toute nouvelle information révélée par le conférencier qui ne faisait pas partie de leur recherche. Demandez aux élèves de résumer le point de vue Pour en lire plus
Les élèves préparent des questions pour le conférencier afin de générer la discussion.

Procédure :
Organisez la venue d’un ou de plusieurs conférenciers, qui travaillent ou travaillaient dans certains aspects de l’industrie forestière, pour venir parler à vos élèves. Si le conférencier ne peut venir en personne, il peut être possible d’organiser une présentation par téléphone à haut parleur.

Donnez aux élèves du temps de préparation, individuellement ou en groupe, pour effectuer une recherche sur la personne ou son champ d’expertise.

En se basant sur leur recherche, les élèves posent des questions au conférencier.

Après la présentation du conférencier, demandez aux élèves de noter toute nouvelle information révélée par le conférencier qui ne faisait pas partie de leur recherche. Demandez aux élèves de résumer le point de vue du conférencier.

Il y a plusieurs aspects de l’industrie forestière qui sont constamment et intensément débattus. En tant que classe, ou en petit groupe, discutez les différences d’opinions révélées par la présentation.

Évaluation :
Évaluez les questions des élèves selon :
- La pertinence
- La profondeur de la recherche

Évaluez la discussion de classe selon :
- La compréhension des questions
- La volonté de permettre d’autres points de vue

© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. Tous droits réservés.

La Colombie-Britannique vend ses produits forestiers sur le marché mondial.

La Colombie-Britannique vend ses produits forestiers sur le marché mondial et c’est plus vrai maintenant que ce l’était il y a seulement une décennie passée. Les personnes qui achètent nos produits forestiers solides ou nos pâtes et papiers ont également l’option de les acheter en Nouvelle-Zélande, en Amérique du Sud ou dans le Sud-Est de l’Asie. Une des choses que les acheteurs recherchent dans le bois qu’ils achètent est une indication quelconque qu’il a été produit en utilisant des pratiques forestières durables. La majorité des programmes de certification sont conçus pour montrer que les exploitations en aménagement forestier sont gérées de façon durable. Donc, la plupart des grosses compagnies forestières de la Colombie-Britannique font partie de divers programmes de certification. Il existe plusieurs programmes de certification de par le monde. La plupart ont des sites Web et ce serait donc un projet intéressant pour les élèves de jeter un coup d’œil aux divers programmes de certification et de les comparer. En Colombie-Britannique, les gens utilisent le SFI, ou l’Initiative de foresterie durable, la certification ISO de l’Association canadienne de normalisation ainsi que le Forest Stewardship Council, qui est celui favorisé par les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) à vocation écologique. Il existe donc plusieurs programmes de certification. Les compagnies sont certifiées selon différents programmes. Plusieurs grosses compagnies sont certifiées par plus d’un programme de certification. Je crois que c’est très utile, et évidemment les compagnies le croient aussi, car elles choisissent d’être certifiées. Cela les aide à vendre leurs produits sur le marché mondial. Je crois qu’il est très utile pour les compagnies de prendre le temps de se certifier et d’avoir à montrer par divers éléments du programme de certification qu’ils utilisent la gestion durable des forêts. C’est un exercice intéressant parce qu’ici la durabilité est interprétée dans son sens le plus large dans la majorité de programmes : les exploitations forestières doivent être durables du point de vue social et environnemental en plus d’être économiquement efficaces, sinon les compagnies ne seraient pas en activité. Plusieurs personnes pensent à la durabilité principalement en termes d’environnement, mais pour les programmes de certification, ils contiennent tous un élément de durabilité sociale. Les compagnies doivent être capables de montrer qu’ils coopèrent avec les communautés locales et les Premières nations et qu’ils prennent en considération les impacts que leurs pratiques et leurs activités de gestion forestière ont sur les résidents. Je crois que la durabilité sociale est une partie vraiment intéressante et vraiment importante de l’équation si ces compagnies veulent continuer leurs activités dans notre province.

British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre
British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre; Andy MacKinnon, BC Forest Service
vers 2000
Colombie-Britannique, CANADA
© 2006, British Columbia Forest Discovery Centre. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

Après avoir utilisé cet objet, les élèves pourront :
- Décrire au moins une organisation mondiale qui est impliquée dans la gouvernance du marché du bois d’œuvre.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons