We still don’t know why all the Steller sea lions are going missing, so it’s hard to know how to help them. There are, however, some ways we can help B.C.’s marine mammals in general.

By volunteering your time or donating household items like towels and rubber gloves, you can help the Aquarium’s Marine Mammal Rescue Centre care for sick or orphaned marine mammals.

Cleaning up shorelines is another great way to help out all marine life. Garbage that’s left on the beach or riverbanks end up in the ocean and can hurt or even kill fish and marine mammals. In 2005, over 36,000 Canadians rolled up their sleeves and cleaned up their local coastlines. You, too, can join them in protecting the ocean!
We still don’t know why all the Steller sea lions are going missing, so it’s hard to know how to help them. There are, however, some ways we can help B.C.’s marine mammals in general.

By volunteering your time or donating household items like towels and rubber gloves, you can help the Aquarium’s Marine Mammal Rescue Centre care for sick or orphaned marine mammals.

Cleaning up shorelines is another great way to help out all marine life. Garbage that’s left on the beach or riverbanks end up in the ocean and can hurt or even kill fish and marine mammals. In 2005, over 36,000 Canadians rolled up their sleeves and cleaned up their local coastlines. You, too, can join them in protecting the ocean!

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

Steller sea lion pups can be injured or abandoned for a lot of reasons. Because their rookeries tend to be in remote locations, most incidences go unnoticed. If someone does find a pup, however, the Marine Mammal Rescue Centre can help.

Sea Lion SOS

The Marine Mammal Rescue Centre acts like a hospital for abandoned, injured, or sick marine mammals. Patients are brought in from all over the B.C. coast and cared for until they are well enough to be released into the wild. Since the Aquarium started helping injured marine mammals in the 1960s, the MMR has treated elephant seals, sea otters, Steller sea lions, harbour porpoises, common dolphins, and killer whales. Harbour seals are the most commonly admitted. In some years, the MMR can be taking care of 100 of them at a time.
Steller sea lion pups can be injured or abandoned for a lot of reasons. Because their rookeries tend to be in remote locations, most incidences go unnoticed. If someone does find a pup, however, the Marine Mammal Rescue Centre can help.

Sea Lion SOS

The Marine Mammal Rescue Centre acts like a hospital for abandoned, injured, or sick marine mammals. Patients are brought in from all over the B.C. coast and cared for until they are well enough to be released into the wild. Since the Aquarium started helping injured marine mammals in the 1960s, the MMR has treated elephant seals, sea otters, Steller sea lions, harbour porpoises, common dolphins, and killer whales. Harbour seals are the most commonly admitted. In some years, the MMR can be taking care of 100 of them at a time.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

Because the Marine Mammal Rescue Centre runs without support from the government for its operation, it depends on donations and volunteers. There are various ways you can help:
If you see a marine mammal in distress, call the Marine Mammal Rescue Centre first at 604-258-SEAL (7325). Don't try to move it unless a Marine Mammal Rescue staff member has okayed it! For example, a harbour seal pup that looks orphaned or abandoned may have simply been temporarily left on safe dry land while its mother goes foraging for food. Donate household items. The Marine Mammal Rescue Centre is always in need of supplies to carry out day-to-day activities. Towels, gloves, and rubber boots are all household items that can be put to good use at the rescue centre. Follow safe marine mammal watching guidelines. Seals can become orphaned if their mothers are struck by boats. Steller sea lions are in more remote locations, but are still at risk if a boat comes too close. By keeping a safe distance from animals that are in water or on land, Read More
Because the Marine Mammal Rescue Centre runs without support from the government for its operation, it depends on donations and volunteers. There are various ways you can help:
  1. If you see a marine mammal in distress, call the Marine Mammal Rescue Centre first at 604-258-SEAL (7325). Don't try to move it unless a Marine Mammal Rescue staff member has okayed it! For example, a harbour seal pup that looks orphaned or abandoned may have simply been temporarily left on safe dry land while its mother goes foraging for food.
  2. Donate household items. The Marine Mammal Rescue Centre is always in need of supplies to carry out day-to-day activities. Towels, gloves, and rubber boots are all household items that can be put to good use at the rescue centre.
  3. Follow safe marine mammal watching guidelines. Seals can become orphaned if their mothers are struck by boats. Steller sea lions are in more remote locations, but are still at risk if a boat comes too close. By keeping a safe distance from animals that are in water or on land, you can reduce the risk of disturbance to marine mammals. More information can be found in the cetaceans section of this site.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

Join Sheryl Barber as she takes you on a tour of the Aquarium's Marine Mammal Rescue Centre. Follow this link.

Sheryl Barber:

If any person sees any marine mammal that they think is in distress, it’s really important to contact us first before taking any action. We’re trained to assess the situation and determine whether that animal actually needs assistance.

My name is Sheryl, and I work with the Marine Mammal Rescue Program of the Vancouver Aquarium, and we’re here at the Vancouver Harbour at our Marine Mammal Rescue Centre.

Once we’ve made a decision to rescue an animal, and we’ve brought it into our rescue centre, we begin by getting a really thorough assessment of that animal’s condition. So we examine it, and that way we can get a really good picture of what that animal might be suffering from.

In over forty years we’ve had many different species of marine mammals through our program. The most common animal that we get is the harbour seal pup, but we’ve also had sea lions, dolphins, whales, and even sea otters.

The Vancouver Aquarium is dedicated to effecting the conservation of aquatic life. That means taking care of all animals in distress. So, if we have a harbour seal that has lost its mom or, say, an animal is injured because of something that people have done, we have a responsibility to act.

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


A harbour seal pup wrapped in a bandage

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


It’s annoying to run into broken glass and cigarette butts while on the beach, but garbage that makes its way into the habitat of marine animals is more than an annoyance: it’s deadly. Steller sea lions, among other species, can get tangled in discarded fishing nets, plastic bags, and other debris. Nylon packing straps, which are used to tie boxes together, can get around the necks of the sea lions. As the sea lions grow, the nylon cuts into their necks until they’re unable to eat or breathe.

One way to prevent this from happening is to be conscientious about what you throw into the water or down a street drain. Another is to clean up the garbage before it causes any damage. That’s exactly what the TD Canada Trust Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup does.
It’s annoying to run into broken glass and cigarette butts while on the beach, but garbage that makes its way into the habitat of marine animals is more than an annoyance: it’s deadly. Steller sea lions, among other species, can get tangled in discarded fishing nets, plastic bags, and other debris. Nylon packing straps, which are used to tie boxes together, can get around the necks of the sea lions. As the sea lions grow, the nylon cuts into their necks until they’re unable to eat or breathe.

One way to prevent this from happening is to be conscientious about what you throw into the water or down a street drain. Another is to clean up the garbage before it causes any damage. That’s exactly what the TD Canada Trust Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup does.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

Coordinated by the Vancouver Aquarium, the TD Canada Trust Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup is part of an international effort to clean up shorelines around the globe. It is one of the largest environmental events in Canada and the second largest cleanup in the world. In 2005, over 36,000 Canadians removed 86,201 kg of garbage from their local shorelines. That weighs about as much as 430 Steller sea lions!

The TD Canada Trust Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup takes place every September and is truly a countrywide effort. All 13 Canadian provinces and territories are involved. Volunteers can clean up the shorelines of rivers, streams, oceans, lakes, and ponds. Divers can even clean up underwater.
Coordinated by the Vancouver Aquarium, the TD Canada Trust Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup is part of an international effort to clean up shorelines around the globe. It is one of the largest environmental events in Canada and the second largest cleanup in the world. In 2005, over 36,000 Canadians removed 86,201 kg of garbage from their local shorelines. That weighs about as much as 430 Steller sea lions!

The TD Canada Trust Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup takes place every September and is truly a countrywide effort. All 13 Canadian provinces and territories are involved. Volunteers can clean up the shorelines of rivers, streams, oceans, lakes, and ponds. Divers can even clean up underwater.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

Taking out the trash has never been this fun! Watch as volunteers get down and dirty to save our shorelines. Follow this link.

Desmond Rodenbour:

I’m Desmond Rodenbour, the National Manager of the TD Canada Trust Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup. The ultimate purpose of the Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup is to clean up shorelines for the protection of habitat and the protection of creatures. Surely it’s lovely to have beautified beaches and shorelines but that’s not ultimately the goal. The most important principle of the Shoreline Cleanup is to make sure that we remove harmful, human-created debris from important habitat.

If you just look at the statistics, last year, 64,000 kg of debris were removed from Canadian shorelines and each one of those objects, an object even as small as a cigarette butt, can kill or injure an animal. So it’s very, very important the work that we do and the work that volunteers all across Canada come out, they make a real difference, both in the community and all across the country.

Sue Horne:

Many drinking bottles found.

Desmond Rodenbour:

Well, I can only see the cleanup growing. Just last year, TD Canada Trust came on as the title sponsor and has allowed us to continue to expand the program. And this year, with almost 37,000 volunteers coast to coast, it is the biggest shoreline cleanup in Canadian history. And I think next year will be bigger and better than this year.

In 2005, more than 36,000 volunteers combed 813 sites across the country removing 86,201 kg of garbage from 1,477 km of shoreline.

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


A Steller sea lion with a fish hook caught in its mouth

Photo : A. Trites

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


A Steller sea lion with a nylon packing strap wrapped around its neck

Photo : A. Trites

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • familiarize himself with the vocabulary used in biology;
  • assess human impacts on biodiversity, and identify ways of preserving biodiversity;
  • describe how personal actions help conserve natural resources and protect the environment in their region;
  • demonstrate an understanding of the dynamic nature of ecosystems.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Parce que nous ne savons pas pourquoi les otaries de Steller disparaissent, il est difficile de concevoir comment leur venir en aide. Il y a par contre quelques façons dont nous pouvons aider les mammifères marins de la C.-B. en général.

En devenant bénévole ou en faisant don de certains items comme des serviettes et des gants de caoutchouc, tu peux aider le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre de l’Aquarium à prendre soin de mammifères marins malades ou orphelins.

Nettoyer le littoral est aussi une autre façon d’aider les animaux marins. Les déchets laissés sur la plage ou les rives se retrouvent dans l’océan et peuvent blesser ou même tuer les poissons et les mammifères marins. En 2005, plus de 36 000 canadiens ont relevé leurs manches pour nettoyer leurs rivages locaux. Tu peux, toi aussi, te joindre à eux pour protéger la mer!
Parce que nous ne savons pas pourquoi les otaries de Steller disparaissent, il est difficile de concevoir comment leur venir en aide. Il y a par contre quelques façons dont nous pouvons aider les mammifères marins de la C.-B. en général.

En devenant bénévole ou en faisant don de certains items comme des serviettes et des gants de caoutchouc, tu peux aider le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre de l’Aquarium à prendre soin de mammifères marins malades ou orphelins.

Nettoyer le littoral est aussi une autre façon d’aider les animaux marins. Les déchets laissés sur la plage ou les rives se retrouvent dans l’océan et peuvent blesser ou même tuer les poissons et les mammifères marins. En 2005, plus de 36 000 canadiens ont relevé leurs manches pour nettoyer leurs rivages locaux. Tu peux, toi aussi, te joindre à eux pour protéger la mer!

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Les petits des otaries de Steller peuvent être blessés ou abandonnés pour plusieurs raisons. Mais la plupart des incidences ne sont pas connues, parce que les sites de reproduction ont tendance à se trouver dans des lieux isolés. Par contre, si quelqu’un trouve un petit, le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre peut aider.

L’hôpital des mammifères marins

Le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre fonctionne comme un hôpital pour les mammifères marins abandonnés, malades ou blessés. Les patients y sont amenés de partout sur la côte de la C.-B., et soignés jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient assez rétablis pour être relâchés dans la nature. Depuis que l’Aquarium a commencé à aider les mammifères marins dans les années 1960, le MMR a traité des éléphants de mer, des loutres de mer, des otaries de Steller, des marsouins, des dauphins, et des épaulards. Les phoques communs sont les patients les plus fréquents. Certaines années le MMR peut avoir à soigner 100 d’entre eux en même temps.
Les petits des otaries de Steller peuvent être blessés ou abandonnés pour plusieurs raisons. Mais la plupart des incidences ne sont pas connues, parce que les sites de reproduction ont tendance à se trouver dans des lieux isolés. Par contre, si quelqu’un trouve un petit, le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre peut aider.

L’hôpital des mammifères marins

Le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre fonctionne comme un hôpital pour les mammifères marins abandonnés, malades ou blessés. Les patients y sont amenés de partout sur la côte de la C.-B., et soignés jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient assez rétablis pour être relâchés dans la nature. Depuis que l’Aquarium a commencé à aider les mammifères marins dans les années 1960, le MMR a traité des éléphants de mer, des loutres de mer, des otaries de Steller, des marsouins, des dauphins, et des épaulards. Les phoques communs sont les patients les plus fréquents. Certaines années le MMR peut avoir à soigner 100 d’entre eux en même temps.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Parce que le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre fonctionne pratiquement sans le support du gouvernement pour son opération, il dépend des dons et des bénévoles. Tu peux aider de plusieurs façons:
Si tu vois un mammifère marin en détresse, appelle d’abord le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre au 604-258-SEAL (7325). N’essaie pas de le bouger, à moins que le personnel du MMR ne l’ait recommandé! Par exemple, un petit phoque commun ayant l’air d’être abandonné peut simplement avoir été laissé temporairement sur le rivage pendant que sa mère cherche de la nourriture. Fais don d’items ménagers. Le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre a toujours besoin de matériel pour pouvoir mener ses activités quotidiennes. Des serviettes, des gants et des bottes de caoutchouc sont des objets pouvant être mis à bon usage par le Centre. Respecte les recommandations pour l’observation Pour en lire plus
Parce que le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre fonctionne pratiquement sans le support du gouvernement pour son opération, il dépend des dons et des bénévoles. Tu peux aider de plusieurs façons:
  1. Si tu vois un mammifère marin en détresse, appelle d’abord le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre au 604-258-SEAL (7325). N’essaie pas de le bouger, à moins que le personnel du MMR ne l’ait recommandé! Par exemple, un petit phoque commun ayant l’air d’être abandonné peut simplement avoir été laissé temporairement sur le rivage pendant que sa mère cherche de la nourriture.
  2. Fais don d’items ménagers. Le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre a toujours besoin de matériel pour pouvoir mener ses activités quotidiennes. Des serviettes, des gants et des bottes de caoutchouc sont des objets pouvant être mis à bon usage par le Centre.
  3. Respecte les recommandations pour l’observation des mammifères marins. Les phoques peuvent devenir orphelins lorsque les mères sont heurtées par des bateaux. Bien que les otaries de Steller se trouvent dans des régions éloignées, elles sont quand même en danger si un bateau s’approche de trop près. En restant à une bonne distance des animaux dans l’eau ou sur terre, tu peux réduire le risque de déranger les mammifères marins. Plus d’information peut être trouvée sur ce site, dans la section des cétacés.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Joins-toi à Sheryl Barber qui te fera visiter le Marine Mammal Rescue Centre de l'Aquarium de Vancouver. Suivez ce lien.

Sheryl Barber:

Si quelqu’un voit un mammifère marin qu’il ou elle pense être en détresse, il est très important de nous contacter avant de faire quoi que ce soit. Nous sommes formés pour évaluer la situation et déterminer si l’animal a vraiment besoin d’aide.

Mon nom est Sheryl, et je travaille avec le programme de réhabilitation des mammifères marins de l’Aquarium de Vancouver, et nous sommes ici, au port de Vancouver, à notre Centre de réhabilitation des mammifères marins.

Une fois que nous avons décidé d’aider un animal, et que nous avons amené ce dernier au Centre, nous commençons par une évaluation exhaustive de l’état de l’animal. Alors nous l’examinons, et ainsi, obtenons une bonne idée de ce dont cet animal peut souffrir.

En plus de quarante ans, nous avons reçu plusieurs espèces différentes de mammifères marins par l’entremise de notre programme. L’animal le plus communément accueilli ici est le bébé phoque commun, mais nous avons également eu des lions de mer, des dauphins, des baleines et même des loutres de mer.

L’Aquarium de Vancouver se consacre à la conservation de la vie aquatique. Cela inclut de prendre soin de tous les animaux en détresse. Alors, si nous avons un bébé phoque ayant perdu sa mère, ou un animal ayant été blessé à cause de quelque chose que les gens ont fait, nous avons la responsabilité d’agir.

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Un bébé phoque commun enveloppé d'un bandage

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Il est agaçant de trouver du verre brisé et des mégots de cigarettes à la plage, mais les déchets se retrouvant dans l’habitat des mammifères marins sont plus qu’une nuisance: ils sont mortels. Les otaries de Steller, parmi d’autres espèces, peuvent s’emmêler dans les filets de pêche abandonnés, dans les sacs de plastique, et autres débris. Les courroies d’emballage de Nylon, utilisées pour attacher des boîtes, peuvent se retrouver autour du cou des lions de mer. Au fur et à mesure que ceux-ci grandissent, les courroies s’enfoncent dans leur chair jusqu’à ce qu’ils ne puissent plus se nourrir ou respirer.

Une manière d’empêcher ceci est de faire attention à ce que tu jettes à l’eau ou dans les égouts. Une autre façon est de ramasser ces déchets avant qu’ils ne causent du dommage. C’est exactement ce que fait le Grand nettoyage des rives et rivages canadiens, de TD Canada Trust.
Il est agaçant de trouver du verre brisé et des mégots de cigarettes à la plage, mais les déchets se retrouvant dans l’habitat des mammifères marins sont plus qu’une nuisance: ils sont mortels. Les otaries de Steller, parmi d’autres espèces, peuvent s’emmêler dans les filets de pêche abandonnés, dans les sacs de plastique, et autres débris. Les courroies d’emballage de Nylon, utilisées pour attacher des boîtes, peuvent se retrouver autour du cou des lions de mer. Au fur et à mesure que ceux-ci grandissent, les courroies s’enfoncent dans leur chair jusqu’à ce qu’ils ne puissent plus se nourrir ou respirer.

Une manière d’empêcher ceci est de faire attention à ce que tu jettes à l’eau ou dans les égouts. Une autre façon est de ramasser ces déchets avant qu’ils ne causent du dommage. C’est exactement ce que fait le Grand nettoyage des rives et rivages canadiens, de TD Canada Trust.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Coordonné par l’Aquarium de Vancouver, le Grand nettoyage des rives et rivages canadiens de TD Canada Trust fait parti d’un effort international pour nettoyer les rivages du monde. Il est l’un des plus grands événements environnementaux au Canada et le second plus grand nettoyage au monde. En 2005, plus de 36 000 canadiens ont enlevé 86 201 kg de déchets de leurs rivages locaux. Un poids équivalent à plus de 430 otaries de Steller!

Le Grand nettoyage des rives et rivages canadiens de TD Canada Trust se déroule au mois de septembre, à travers tout le pays. Les 13 provinces et territoires canadiens y participent, avec des bénévoles nettoyants les rives des ruisseaux et rivières, des étangs et des lacs, ainsi que des océans. Mêmes les plongeurs peuvent faire leur part, sous l’eau.
Coordonné par l’Aquarium de Vancouver, le Grand nettoyage des rives et rivages canadiens de TD Canada Trust fait parti d’un effort international pour nettoyer les rivages du monde. Il est l’un des plus grands événements environnementaux au Canada et le second plus grand nettoyage au monde. En 2005, plus de 36 000 canadiens ont enlevé 86 201 kg de déchets de leurs rivages locaux. Un poids équivalent à plus de 430 otaries de Steller!

Le Grand nettoyage des rives et rivages canadiens de TD Canada Trust se déroule au mois de septembre, à travers tout le pays. Les 13 provinces et territoires canadiens y participent, avec des bénévoles nettoyants les rives des ruisseaux et rivières, des étangs et des lacs, ainsi que des océans. Mêmes les plongeurs peuvent faire leur part, sous l’eau.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Sortir les poubelles n'a jamais été aussi amusant! Regarde les bénévoles se mettre au travail pour sauver nos rivages. Suivez ce lien.

Desmond Rodenbour:

Mon nom est Desmond Rodenbour, je suis le directeur national du Grand nettoyage des rives et rivages canadiens de TD Canada Trust. Le but ultime du Grand nettoyage des rives et rivages canadiens est de nettoyer les rives pour la protection des habitats et celle des animaux. Bien sûr, il est agréable d’avoir de jolies plages et rives, mais ce n’est pas réellement notre objectif. La mission principale du Grand nettoyage est de s’assurer que nous retirons de ces habitats importants les débris générés par les humains et pouvant être dangereux.

Si tu jettes un coup d’œil aux statistiques, l’an dernier, 64,000kg de débris ont été retirés des rivages canadiens et chacun de ces objets, même un objet aussi petit qu’un mégot de cigarette, peut tuer ou blesser un animal. Alors c’est très important, le travail que l’on fait et le travail que font les bénévoles d’un bout à l’autre du Canada: ils ont un impact réel dans la communauté et à travers le pays.

Sue Horne:

Beaucoup de bouteilles sont trouvées.

Desmond Rodenbour:

Je prévois la croissance du Grand nettoyage. L’an dernier, TD Canada Trust est devenu le sponsor en-titre et cela nous a permis d’élargir le programme. Cette année, avec près de 37,000 bénévoles d’un océan à l’autre, c’est le plus gros nettoyage des rivages dans l’histoire canadienne. Et je crois que l’an prochain, il sera encore plus grand et meilleur que cette année.

En 2005, plus de 36,000 bénévoles ont nettoyé 813 sites à travers le pays, retirant 86,201 kg de déchets sur 1,477 km de rives.

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Une otarie de Steller avec un hameçon pris dans la bouche

Photo : A. Trites

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Une otarie de Steller avec une courroie d'emballage autour du cou

Photo : A. Trites

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • se familiariser avec le vocabulaire employé en biologie;
  • évaluer les répercussions des êtres humains sur la biodiversité et identifier les moyens de préserver la biodiversité;
  • décrire comment des actions personnelles peuvent aider à la conservation des ressources naturelles et à protéger l'environnement dans leur région;
  • démontrer une compréhension de la nature dynamique des écosystèmes.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons