We once thought that one killer whale was just like another. But scientists have learned that it’s not so black and white. In fact, every killer whale in B.C. lives in one of three separate groups. Except for a slight difference in the shape of their dorsal fins, the whales in each group look a lot alike. Once you start watching them carefully, however, you’ll see that they act very differently.

Scientists call the three groups - or ecotypes - residents, transients, and offshores.

The three ecotypes eat different types of food, hang out in different kinds of groups, have different home territories, and even have their own “languages”. Residents are chatty fish eaters who always live with their mothers, transients are stealthy hunters who stalk seals and dolphins, and we don’t know much about the elusive offshores.

No one knows how the ecotypes formed, but it’s becoming clear that they don’t mate or interact with each other. Learning what each group needs to survive and thrive is an importa Read More
We once thought that one killer whale was just like another. But scientists have learned that it’s not so black and white. In fact, every killer whale in B.C. lives in one of three separate groups. Except for a slight difference in the shape of their dorsal fins, the whales in each group look a lot alike. Once you start watching them carefully, however, you’ll see that they act very differently.

Scientists call the three groups - or ecotypes - residents, transients, and offshores.

The three ecotypes eat different types of food, hang out in different kinds of groups, have different home territories, and even have their own “languages”. Residents are chatty fish eaters who always live with their mothers, transients are stealthy hunters who stalk seals and dolphins, and we don’t know much about the elusive offshores.

No one knows how the ecotypes formed, but it’s becoming clear that they don’t mate or interact with each other. Learning what each group needs to survive and thrive is an important part of the research at the Vancouver Aquarium.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

This chart shows some of the ways the ecotypes differ:

 

Residents

Transients

Offshores

Food Fish, particularly salmon Seals, porpoises, sea lions, whales and other marine mammals Unknown, but probably includes fish and squid Read More

This chart shows some of the ways the ecotypes differ:

 

Residents

Transients

Offshores

Food

Fish, particularly salmon

Seals, porpoises, sea lions, whales and other marine mammals

Unknown, but probably includes fish and squid

 Social grouping

Family groups called matrlines; residents stay in the same group their entire lives

Small groups of 2-6 whales that may change members

Unknown; usually seen in groups of 20-60

Range

Along the B.C., Washington, Orgeon and Alaska coasts
MAP

Along the entire Pacific coast of Canada and the United States, from California to Alaska
MAP

Usually out at sea, far from the coast

Dorsal fin shape

Rounded at the tip, with a sharply curved angle at the back of the tip

Pointed tip

Rounded at the tip, without the angle at the back


© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

To make sure that we don’t bother the whales too much, experts have made a list of suggestions for whale watchers to follow. Follow this link.

Vancouver Aquarium
Conservation in Action

Dr. Lance Barrett-Lennard:

The real wild coast of British Columbia is home to an amazing variety of animals, including 29 species of marine mammals. The team at the Vancouver Aquarium has come to know some of them pretty well.

For over 25 years, the Aquarium’s scientists and staff have dedicated themselves to learning all they can about these wonderful creatures. We spent countless hours observing them here at the Aquarium and in the wild, studying their behaviour, their health, even how they talk to each other.

Gil Hewlett:

In the 1970s, we helped pioneer photo-identification to determine individual killer whales. With this technique we were actually able to follow the lives and fate of killer whales and forever changed how we viewed the species.

Dr. Lance Barrett-Lennard:

We conducted groundbreaking research on whale communication and showed that each pod of resident killer whales has its own dialect, which it passes from generation to generation, much like a human language.

We also made fascinating discoveries about how they navigate and find their food, and we’re now using DNA fingerprinting to learn how they avoid inbreeding – a major concern, given their small population sizes.

Today, we’re working with scientists from universities and governments around the world. Together, we’re helping marine mammals on B.C.’s wild coast.
Not long ago, our knowledge was put to good use when we helped rescue a young killer whale named Springer, an orphan who ended up alone near Seattle, far from her family.

With our research colleagues, we were able to determine exactly who she was and where she came from. Through an unprecedented international effort, Springer was moved home and re-united with her family. When last seen, she was thriving.

Dr. Dave Huff:

This is something that would have been almost impossible were it not for the Vancouver Aquarium’s tremendous amount of hands-on experience gained through literally decades of working with killer whales. That knowledge and experience helped us understand the health, the social and the technical challenges that we had to overcome in order to make Springer’s move a success.

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


Three killer whales swimming at the surface in the wild

Photo : J. Ford

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


Scientists think that offshore killer whaled may be eating sharks as part of their diet.
Scientists think that offshore killer whaled may be eating sharks as part of their diet.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

British Columbia is one of the best places in the world for watching and researching killer whales. This is both a special honour and an important responsibility.

Unfortunately, scientists warn that B.C.'s killer whales are at risk of extinction. Different human activities are threatening them.

Swimming in toxic soup

Pollution is dangerous to killer whales. Because these animals are at the top of the food web, they can build up large amounts of toxic chemicals in their bodies from their food. These toxins don't break down and are passed from mothers to their calves through their milk.

Desperately seeking salmon

We don't know everything a killer whale eats, but we do know that they like salmon. Since salmon populations have been declining lately, it may be harder for killer whales to find the food they like to eat. They might have to spend more time traveling and hunting to find food. This could put killer whales in danger if they go to areas with heavy boat traff Read More
British Columbia is one of the best places in the world for watching and researching killer whales. This is both a special honour and an important responsibility.

Unfortunately, scientists warn that B.C.'s killer whales are at risk of extinction. Different human activities are threatening them.

Swimming in toxic soup

Pollution is dangerous to killer whales. Because these animals are at the top of the food web, they can build up large amounts of toxic chemicals in their bodies from their food. These toxins don't break down and are passed from mothers to their calves through their milk.

Desperately seeking salmon

We don't know everything a killer whale eats, but we do know that they like salmon. Since salmon populations have been declining lately, it may be harder for killer whales to find the food they like to eat. They might have to spend more time traveling and hunting to find food. This could put killer whales in danger if they go to areas with heavy boat traffic. They may also switch to less nutritious prey, which in turn makes them less healthy.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

Boats going overboard

Imagine trying to relax or fix some food for yourself after a long day while strangers are constantly running around in your house. That’s what killer whales might be facing with all the boats sharing the water with them. To avoid boat collisions or just to get away, killer whales sometimes change their behaviour – like changing their course or stopping their foraging. That’s why the marine mammal watching guidelines suggest that boats keep at least 100 metres away from killer whales and travel parallel to them instead of cutting in front of them.

What? I can't hear you!

Noise pollution can interfere with the killer whales’ ability to communicate and may even cause some whales to strand themselves on the beach. Whales live in a world of sound – researchers think they rely on sound to navigate and to find food the way we depend on our eyesight. The rumble from ship engines can confuse killer whales or mask their own sounds. Loud underwater activities such as testing military sonar Read More
Boats going overboard

Imagine trying to relax or fix some food for yourself after a long day while strangers are constantly running around in your house. That’s what killer whales might be facing with all the boats sharing the water with them. To avoid boat collisions or just to get away, killer whales sometimes change their behaviour – like changing their course or stopping their foraging. That’s why the marine mammal watching guidelines suggest that boats keep at least 100 metres away from killer whales and travel parallel to them instead of cutting in front of them.

What? I can't hear you!

Noise pollution can interfere with the killer whales’ ability to communicate and may even cause some whales to strand themselves on the beach. Whales live in a world of sound – researchers think they rely on sound to navigate and to find food the way we depend on our eyesight. The rumble from ship engines can confuse killer whales or mask their own sounds. Loud underwater activities such as testing military sonar and oil exploration may produce sounds so intense that it causes harm to the animals. Scientists think that “hearing” a military sonar blast underwater can be compared to sitting in a dark room and then having a painfully bright light blasted at your face.

Help is on the way

Researchers at the Vancouver Aquarium are trying to help by learning more about these animals. You can help too. Take a look at the Get Involved section to see what you can do.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

A group of killer whales swimming near an industrial factory

Photo : G. Ellis

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


If a southern resident killer whale dies and washes up on shore, its body is considered toxic waste!
If a southern resident killer whale dies and washes up on shore, its body is considered toxic waste!

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

Imagine living with your mother all your life. Think you can handle it? Resident killer whales do.

Staying with mom

A mother resident killer whale is the leader of her family; her children usually stay with her all their lives. When her daughters have children of their own, those kids stay with the group too. A group made up of a mother, her children, her grandchildren, and maybe even her great-grandchildren, is called a matriline. When the oldest mother dies, her daughters begin to travel together less frequently. Eventually, they might form matrilines of their own.

Peas in a pod

Pods are made up of matrilines that hang out together a lot. Scientists think that sometime in the past, the matrilines all shared a common maternal ancestor. It could be that they used to be one big matriline until the oldest mother died.
Imagine living with your mother all your life. Think you can handle it? Resident killer whales do.

Staying with mom

A mother resident killer whale is the leader of her family; her children usually stay with her all their lives. When her daughters have children of their own, those kids stay with the group too. A group made up of a mother, her children, her grandchildren, and maybe even her great-grandchildren, is called a matriline. When the oldest mother dies, her daughters begin to travel together less frequently. Eventually, they might form matrilines of their own.

Peas in a pod

Pods are made up of matrilines that hang out together a lot. Scientists think that sometime in the past, the matrilines all shared a common maternal ancestor. It could be that they used to be one big matriline until the oldest mother died.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

Clan you dig it?

Pods that share a similar set of calls, or dialect, make up a clan. Each group of whales makes a different set of sounds, which is likely passed down from mother to children. Therefore, the more related the whales are, the more similar they sound.

This is probably how killer whales can tell who’s family when various pods get together. Even though residents stay with their mothers all the time, they manage to avoid inbreeding. One theory is that they choose mates based on how different they sound.

You can find out more about killer whale dialects in the Sounds All Around section.

Transients do it differently

Transient killer whales live in much smaller groups than residents, probably because it’s easier to hunt that way. A small group can sneak up on an unsuspecting seal or porpoise more easily than a whole matriline.

Transients sometimes leave their family group to join up with other transient killer whales. Sometimes they Read More
Clan you dig it?

Pods that share a similar set of calls, or dialect, make up a clan. Each group of whales makes a different set of sounds, which is likely passed down from mother to children. Therefore, the more related the whales are, the more similar they sound.

This is probably how killer whales can tell who’s family when various pods get together. Even though residents stay with their mothers all the time, they manage to avoid inbreeding. One theory is that they choose mates based on how different they sound.

You can find out more about killer whale dialects in the Sounds All Around section.

Transients do it differently

Transient killer whales live in much smaller groups than residents, probably because it’s easier to hunt that way. A small group can sneak up on an unsuspecting seal or porpoise more easily than a whole matriline.

Transients sometimes leave their family group to join up with other transient killer whales. Sometimes they stay away from their families for the rest of their lives, but sometimes they go back to their moms after a few years. As a result, it’s harder for us to organize the transients into families.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

A group of killer whales exhaling in the wild

Photo : J. Ford

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


Transient and resident killer whales are genetically distinct. They probably havn'T interbred for thousands of years.
Transient and resident killer whales are genetically distinct. They probably havn'T interbred for thousands of years.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • familiarize himself with the vocabulary used in biology;
  • assess human impacts on biodiversity, and identify ways of preserving biodiversity;
  • describe how personal actions help conserve natural resources and protect the environment in their region;
  • demonstrate an understanding of the dynamic nature of ecosystems.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Il fut un temps où l’on croyait qu’un épaulard était semblable au suivant. Mais les scientifiques ont appris que tout n’est pas si noir et blanc. En fait, tous les épaulards en C.B. vivent dans l’une de trois populations distinctes. À part une légère différence dans la forme de leur nageoire dorsale, les baleines dans chaque population se ressemblent beaucoup. Par contre, quand on commence à les observer de plus près, on constate qu’elles agissent de manières bien différentes.

Les chercheurs appellent ces trois populations – ou écotypes - d’épaulards: résidents, migrateurs, et océaniques.

Les trois écotypes mangent différents types de nourritures, ils se tiennent en différents types de regroupements, ils ont différents territoires et même leurs propres «langages». Les orques rés Pour en lire plus
Il fut un temps où l’on croyait qu’un épaulard était semblable au suivant. Mais les scientifiques ont appris que tout n’est pas si noir et blanc. En fait, tous les épaulards en C.B. vivent dans l’une de trois populations distinctes. À part une légère différence dans la forme de leur nageoire dorsale, les baleines dans chaque population se ressemblent beaucoup. Par contre, quand on commence à les observer de plus près, on constate qu’elles agissent de manières bien différentes.

Les chercheurs appellent ces trois populations – ou écotypes - d’épaulards: résidents, migrateurs, et océaniques.

Les trois écotypes mangent différents types de nourritures, ils se tiennent en différents types de regroupements, ils ont différents territoires et même leurs propres «langages». Les orques résidents vivent toujours avec leurs mères. Ils sont bavards et aiment le poisson. Les migrateurs sont des chasseurs furtifs qui traquent les phoques et les dauphins. Quant aux épaulards océaniques, nous savons peu de choses sur eux.

Personne ne sait comment ces populations se sont formées, mais il est clair qu’elles ne se fréquentent pas. Apprendre ce que chaque population requière pour survivre et prospérer est une part importante de la recherche effectuée à l’Aquarium de Vancouver.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Ce tableau montre quelques unes des façons dont les écotypes diffèrent :

 

Résidents

Migrateurs

Océaniques

Nourriture Poisson, particulièrement du saumon Phoques, marsouins, lions de mer, baleines et autres mammifères marins Pour en lire plus

Ce tableau montre quelques unes des façons dont les écotypes diffèrent :

 

Résidents

Migrateurs

Océaniques

Nourriture

Poisson, particulièrement du saumon

Phoques, marsouins, lions de mer, baleines et autres mammifères marins

Inconnu, mais probablement en partie du poisson et du calmar

Organisation sociale

Groupes familiaux appelés matrilignes; restent dans le même groupe toute leur vie

Petits groupes de 2 à 6 baleines, dont les membres peuvent changer

Inconnu; habituellement aperçus en groupes de 30 à 60 individus

Territoire

Le long de la C.B., de Washington, de l’Orégon et des côtes de l’Alaska
CARTE

Tout le long de la côte Pacifique canadienne et américaine: de la Californie à l’Alaska
CARTE

Habituellement au large, loin de la côte

Forme de la nageoire dorsale

Arrondie à l’extrémité, avec un angle très courbé à l’arrière

Bout pointu

Arrondie à l’extrémité, sans l’angle à l’arrière


© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Explore le travail de pionnier développé par les chercheurs de l’Aquarium de Vancouver pour étudier les épaulards. Suivez ce lien.

L’Aquarium de Vancouver
Conservation en Action

Lance Barrett-Lennard, chercheur à l’Aquarium de Vancouver:

Le vrai littoral sauvage de la Colombie-Britannique est la demeure d’une variété extraordinaire d’animaux, incluant 29 espèces de mammifères marins. L’équipe de l’Aquarium de Vancouver en est venue à très bien connaître certains d’entre-eux.

Depuis plus de 25 ans, les scientifiques et les employés de l’Aquarium se sont consacrés à apprendre tout ce qu’ils peuvent sur ces créatures merveilleuses. Nous passons des heures à les observer, ici à l’Aquarium et sur le terrain, pour étudier leur comportement, leur état de santé, et même leur façon de communiquer.

Gil Hewlett, historien à l’Aquarium de Vancouver:

Dans les années 1970, nous avons aidé à développer la photo-identification pour reconnaître les orques individuellement. Avec cette technique nous avons pu suivre la vie et le sort des épaulards, et changer à tout jamais la façon dont cette espèce était perçue.

Lance Barrett-Lennard:

Nous avons mené une recherche novatrice sur la communication des baleines et démontré que chaque groupe d’épaulards résidents a son propre dialecte, passé de génération en génération, un peu comme le langage humain.

Nous avons également fait de fascinantes découvertes sur leur manière de naviguer et de trouver leur nourriture, et nous utilisons maintenant l’identification par l’ADN pour apprendre comment ils évitent la consanguinité - une préoccupation majeure, considérant la petite taille de leur population.

Aujourd’hui, nous travaillons avec des chercheurs universitaires et gouvernementaux de partout dans le monde. Ensemble, nous aidons les mammifères marins de la côte de la C.B.

Il n’y a pas très longtemps, notre savoir à été utile lorsque nous avons aidé à secourir une jeune femelle orpheline, nommée Springer, s’étant retrouvée seule près de Seattle, loin de sa famille.

Avec nos collègues, nous avons été capable de déterminer exactement qui elle était et d’où elle venait. Grace à un effort international sans précédant, Springer fut retournée d’où elle venait et fut réuni avec sa famille. Lorsqu’aperçue la dernière fois, elle semblait se porter à merveille.

Dr Dave Huff, vétérinaire à l’Aquarium de Vancouver:

Voici quelque chose qui aurait été presque impossible sans l’immense expérience de l’équipe de l’Aquarium, accumulée à travers des décennies de travail avec les épaulards. Ce savoir et cette expérience nous ont aidé à comprendre les défis médicaux, sociaux et techniques que nous devions affronter dans le but de faire du déplacement de Springer un succès.

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Trois épaulards nageant près de la surface à l'état sauvage

Photo : J. Ford

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Les scientifiques croient que les populations d’épaulards océaniques mangent peut-être du requin.
Les scientifiques croient que les populations d’épaulards océaniques mangent peut-être du requin.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

La Colombie-Britannique est l’un des meilleurs endroits au monde pour observer et étudier les orques. Ceci est à la fois un grand honneur et une importante responsabilité.

Malheureusement, les scientifiques nous préviennent que les épaulards de la C.B. risquent l’extinction. Diverses activités humaines les menacent.

Un milieu empoisonné

La pollution est dangereuse pour les épaulards. Parce que ces animaux sont au sommet de la chaîne alimentaire, ils peuvent accumuler dans leur corps de grandes quantités de toxines à travers leur diète. Ces toxines, qui ne se décomposent pas, sont transférées des mères aux petits, par le lait.

Quête désespérée pour le saumon

Nous ne connaissons pas tout ce que les épaulards aiment manger, mais nous savons qu’ils aiment le saumon. Puisque les populations de saumons sont en déclin depuis un certain temps, il es Pour en lire plus
La Colombie-Britannique est l’un des meilleurs endroits au monde pour observer et étudier les orques. Ceci est à la fois un grand honneur et une importante responsabilité.

Malheureusement, les scientifiques nous préviennent que les épaulards de la C.B. risquent l’extinction. Diverses activités humaines les menacent.

Un milieu empoisonné

La pollution est dangereuse pour les épaulards. Parce que ces animaux sont au sommet de la chaîne alimentaire, ils peuvent accumuler dans leur corps de grandes quantités de toxines à travers leur diète. Ces toxines, qui ne se décomposent pas, sont transférées des mères aux petits, par le lait.

Quête désespérée pour le saumon

Nous ne connaissons pas tout ce que les épaulards aiment manger, mais nous savons qu’ils aiment le saumon. Puisque les populations de saumons sont en déclin depuis un certain temps, il est possible qu’il soit plus difficile pour les épaulards de trouver la nourriture qu’ils aiment. Peut-être doivent-ils passer plus de temps à voyager et à chasser avant de trouver leur nourriture. Ceci pourrait mettre les épaulards en danger, s’ils s’aventurent dans les régions où la circulation maritime est plus importante. Ils pourraient également changer leur diète pour des proies moins nutritives, au détriment de leur santé.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Un environnement stressant

Imagine que tu essaies, après une longue journée d’activité, de te reposer ou de prendre un bon repas, alors que des étrangers vont et viennent sans arrêt dans ta demeure. C’est possiblement ce à quoi les épaulards font face, si l’on considère tous les bateaux partageant la mer avec eux. Pour éviter la collision avec ces embarcations, ou tout simplement pour s’en éloigner, les épaulards doivent parfois changer de comportement – comme changer de direction ou arrêter leur quête de nourriture. C’est pour cela que les recommandations pour l’osbervation des baleines suggèrent aux bateaux de rester à une distance d’au moins 100 mètres des épaulards, et de se déplacer parallèlement aux baleines.

Un océan assourdissant

La pollution par le bruit peut interférer avec la capacit&e Pour en lire plus
Un environnement stressant

Imagine que tu essaies, après une longue journée d’activité, de te reposer ou de prendre un bon repas, alors que des étrangers vont et viennent sans arrêt dans ta demeure. C’est possiblement ce à quoi les épaulards font face, si l’on considère tous les bateaux partageant la mer avec eux. Pour éviter la collision avec ces embarcations, ou tout simplement pour s’en éloigner, les épaulards doivent parfois changer de comportement – comme changer de direction ou arrêter leur quête de nourriture. C’est pour cela que les recommandations pour l’osbervation des baleines suggèrent aux bateaux de rester à une distance d’au moins 100 mètres des épaulards, et de se déplacer parallèlement aux baleines.

Un océan assourdissant

La pollution par le bruit peut interférer avec la capacité des épaulards à communiquer, et pourrait être la cause des échouements de baleines. Les baleines vivent dans un monde sonore – les chercheurs croient qu’elles dépendent de leur ouïe pour naviguer et pour trouver leur nourriture, de la même manière que nous dépendons de notre vue. Le grondement des engins de bateaux peut rendre confus les épaulards ou masquer leurs propres sons. Les activités sous-marines bruyantes, comme les tests de sonars militaires et l’exploration pétrolière peuvent produire des sons si intenses qu’ils nuisent aux animaux. Les scientifiques comparent «l’écoute» d’un sonar militaire sous l’eau à la vue d’un puissant faisceau lumineux dans une pièce complètement sombre.

Une aide essentielle

Les chercheurs de l’Aquarium de Vancouver essaient d’en apprendre plus à propos de ces animaux fantastiques, afin de leur venir en aide. Jette un coup d’œil à la section Implique-toi pour voir ce que tu peux faire.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Un groupe d'épaulards nageant près d'une usine

Photo : G. Ellis

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Si un épaulard de la population résidente du Sud meurt puis s’échoue sur le rivage, son corps est alors considéré déchet toxique!
Si un épaulard de la population résidente du Sud meurt puis s’échoue sur le rivage, son corps est alors considéré déchet toxique!

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Peux-tu imaginer vivre avec ta mère durant toute ta vie? C’est le cas des épaulards résidents.

La matriligne

La mère épaulard résidente est à la tête de sa famille; ses enfants restent habituellement avec elle toute leur vie. Quand ses filles ont des enfants, ceux-ci restent également avec le groupe. Un groupe formé d’une mère, de ses enfants, ses petits-enfants et peut-être même de ses arrière-petits-enfants, est appelé une «matriligne». Lorsque la mère la plus âgée meurt, ses filles vont voyager ensemble de moins en moins souvent. Éventuellement, elles peuvent former leurs propres matrilignes.

Le groupe

Les groupes, ou «pods» sont formés de matrilignages se tenant souvent ensemble. Les scientifiques pensent qu’à un moment dans le passé, les matrilignages partageaient tous un ancêtre maternel commun. Il se pourrait qu&rsquo Pour en lire plus
Peux-tu imaginer vivre avec ta mère durant toute ta vie? C’est le cas des épaulards résidents.

La matriligne

La mère épaulard résidente est à la tête de sa famille; ses enfants restent habituellement avec elle toute leur vie. Quand ses filles ont des enfants, ceux-ci restent également avec le groupe. Un groupe formé d’une mère, de ses enfants, ses petits-enfants et peut-être même de ses arrière-petits-enfants, est appelé une «matriligne». Lorsque la mère la plus âgée meurt, ses filles vont voyager ensemble de moins en moins souvent. Éventuellement, elles peuvent former leurs propres matrilignes.

Le groupe

Les groupes, ou «pods» sont formés de matrilignages se tenant souvent ensemble. Les scientifiques pensent qu’à un moment dans le passé, les matrilignages partageaient tous un ancêtre maternel commun. Il se pourrait qu’elles aient été une grande matriligne jusqu’à ce que la mère la plus âgée meurt.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Le clan

Les groupes partageant une série d’appels, ou dialecte, similaire forment un clan. Chaque groupe de baleines produit une série de sons différents, étant probablement transmise de la mère aux enfants. Ainsi, plus les épaulards sont apparentés, plus leurs chants se ressemblent.

C’est probablement ainsi que les orques peuvent reconnaître les membres de leur famille lorsque plusieurs groupes sont réunis. Même si les résidents restent toujours avec leurs mères, ils arrivent à éviter la consanguinité. L’une des théories pour expliquer ceci est que les orques choisissent leurs partenaires en fonction de la différence entre leurs chants.

Tu peux en apprendre plus sur les dialectes des épaulards dans la section Univers de sons.

Les nomades de la mer

Les épaulards migrateurs vivent en groupes beaucoup plus petits que les résidents, probablement parce qu&rsqu Pour en lire plus
Le clan

Les groupes partageant une série d’appels, ou dialecte, similaire forment un clan. Chaque groupe de baleines produit une série de sons différents, étant probablement transmise de la mère aux enfants. Ainsi, plus les épaulards sont apparentés, plus leurs chants se ressemblent.

C’est probablement ainsi que les orques peuvent reconnaître les membres de leur famille lorsque plusieurs groupes sont réunis. Même si les résidents restent toujours avec leurs mères, ils arrivent à éviter la consanguinité. L’une des théories pour expliquer ceci est que les orques choisissent leurs partenaires en fonction de la différence entre leurs chants.

Tu peux en apprendre plus sur les dialectes des épaulards dans la section Univers de sons.

Les nomades de la mer

Les épaulards migrateurs vivent en groupes beaucoup plus petits que les résidents, probablement parce qu’il est ainsi plus facile de chasser. Un petit groupe peut surprendre un phoque ou un marsouin plus aisément qu’une matriligne complète.

Les migrateurs quittent parfois leur groupe familial pour joindre d’autres épaulards migrateurs. Quelques fois la séparation est permanente, mais parfois, après quelques années, les «fugueurs» retournent auprès de leur mère. Il est ainsi plus difficile de classer les migrateurs en familles.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Un groupe d'épaulards expirant l'air à l'état sauvage

Photo : J. Ford

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Les populations d’épaulards “migrateurs” et “résidents” sont génétiquement distinctes. Elles ne se sont probablement pas mélangées depuis des milliers d’années.
Les populations d’épaulards “migrateurs” et “résidents” sont génétiquement distinctes. Elles ne se sont probablement pas mélangées depuis des milliers d’années.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • se familiariser avec le vocabulaire employé en biologie;
  • évaluer les répercussions des êtres humains sur la biodiversité et identifier les moyens de préserver la biodiversité;
  • décrire comment des actions personnelles peuvent aider à la conservation des ressources naturelles et à protéger l'environnement dans leur région;
  • démontrer une compréhension de la nature dynamique des écosystèmes.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons