To dig deeper into the ancient past of B.C.’s killer whales, scientist are studying whale DNA. This molecule holds genetic information and can be used to determine the family relationships of killer whales.

Looking for whales

Dr. Lance Barrett-Lennard is the Aquarium’s cetacean scientist. Every year, he and his fellow researcher Craig Matkin (who works with the North Gulf Oceanic Society) search parts of the Alaskan coast for killer whales. He also makes similar trips in B.C., often with Fisheries and Oceans researchers Dr. John Ford and Graeme Ellis. When Lance and his colleagues find whales, they take identification photos and use a hydrophone to make underwater recordings. They also collect samples of DNA from some of the killer whales they find.

To collect DNA samples, the researchers use pencil-sized, ultra-light darts that they fire with a tranquilizer rifle. Most killer whales don’t seem to notice the dart, which simply bounces off their backs, taking a tiny bit of skin and blubber with it. Once the whale has moved aw Read More
To dig deeper into the ancient past of B.C.’s killer whales, scientist are studying whale DNA. This molecule holds genetic information and can be used to determine the family relationships of killer whales.

Looking for whales

Dr. Lance Barrett-Lennard is the Aquarium’s cetacean scientist. Every year, he and his fellow researcher Craig Matkin (who works with the North Gulf Oceanic Society) search parts of the Alaskan coast for killer whales. He also makes similar trips in B.C., often with Fisheries and Oceans researchers Dr. John Ford and Graeme Ellis. When Lance and his colleagues find whales, they take identification photos and use a hydrophone to make underwater recordings. They also collect samples of DNA from some of the killer whales they find.

To collect DNA samples, the researchers use pencil-sized, ultra-light darts that they fire with a tranquilizer rifle. Most killer whales don’t seem to notice the dart, which simply bounces off their backs, taking a tiny bit of skin and blubber with it. Once the whale has moved away, the floating dart is retrieved and its precious contents stored for later analysis.

Getting answers

Lance's DNA studies have confirmed the suspicions of earlier researchers: transients and residents do not mate with each other and pods that speak the same dialect were once in the same family.

Lance, John, Craig and Graeme are now completing the family tree of resident killer whales. Lance is also comparing the genes of residents, transients, offshores and killer whales from other parts of the world to learn how long they've been separated. It's possible that he and other scientists will find out that there are actually more than one killer whale species.

Want to learn more about research in BC? Check out the Wild Whales website!

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

DNA analysis gel

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


Dr. Lance Barrett-Lennard working in his genetics lab

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


Using DNA tests, scientist can now find out sho the fathers of killer whale calves are - a task that was once impossible.
Using DNA tests, scientist can now find out sho the fathers of killer whale calves are - a task that was once impossible.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

You can find out a lot about a killer whale if you know what to look for. A killer whale’s dorsal fin and saddle patch (the area under the dorsal fin) are as distinct as a face or a fingerprint. Once scientists have a whale on file, they can keep track of where it hangs out and who it spends time with. That’s how they first discovered the amazingly complex culture of resident killer whales.

Dorsal fins

Every nick and scar on a killer whale's dorsal fin tells a different story. Stubbs, who was the first killer whale to be ever identified from her dorsal fin, was very distinctive. The top half of her dorsal fin was severed, probably from an undersea accident. Winchester, another killer whale, has a more subtle injury: someone probably shot at her, and now she has a small hole in her dorsal fin.

Saddle patches

The shape and pattern of a saddle patch and the scars on it can be used to tell different killer whales apart from one another. For example, Nolades and Rave Read More
You can find out a lot about a killer whale if you know what to look for. A killer whale’s dorsal fin and saddle patch (the area under the dorsal fin) are as distinct as a face or a fingerprint. Once scientists have a whale on file, they can keep track of where it hangs out and who it spends time with. That’s how they first discovered the amazingly complex culture of resident killer whales.

Dorsal fins

Every nick and scar on a killer whale's dorsal fin tells a different story. Stubbs, who was the first killer whale to be ever identified from her dorsal fin, was very distinctive. The top half of her dorsal fin was severed, probably from an undersea accident. Winchester, another killer whale, has a more subtle injury: someone probably shot at her, and now she has a small hole in her dorsal fin.

Saddle patches

The shape and pattern of a saddle patch and the scars on it can be used to tell different killer whales apart from one another. For example, Nolades and Raven both have teeth rake marks on their saddle patches from other killer whales, but Nolades has a larger and whiter saddle patch than Raven.

Killer whale mugshots

Together, the dorsal fin and saddle patch can be used to make up a mugshot to identify individual killer whales. Since this amazing discovery by pioneering researcher Dr. Michael Bigg, marine scientists have photographed every resident killer whale in British Columbia. Transients and offshores are hard to photograph because they’re harder to find, but scientists are slowly building a photo album with the ones that do get photographed.

Identifying killer whales

Would you be able to tell one killer whale from another in the wild? Test your skills with our Killer Whale Identification game!

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

A killer whale identification photo with distinctive nicks in the dorsal fin

Photo : Pacific Biological Station

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


Killer whale calves can be hard to identify, Luckily, researchers can track them by identifying their mothers, who are usually close by.
Killer whale calves can be hard to identify, Luckily, researchers can track them by identifying their mothers, who are usually close by.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.

A lone male killer whale with a large, rippled dorsal fin swims by a glacier

Photo : L. Barrett-Lennard

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


Would you be able to tell one killer whale from another in the wild? Test your skills with our Killer Whale Identification game!

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. All rights reserved.


Learning Objectives

The learner will:
  • familiarize himself with the vocabulary used in biology;
  • assess human impacts on biodiversity, and identify ways of preserving biodiversity;
  • describe how personal actions help conserve natural resources and protect the environment in their region;
  • demonstrate an understanding of the dynamic nature of ecosystems.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Afin d’en découvrir plus sur le passé ancien des épaulards de la C.B., les scientifiques étudient l’ADN de ces baleines. Cette molécule, gardienne de l’information génétique, peut être utilisée pour déterminer les relations familiales des épaulards.

À la recherche des orques

Le Dr Lance Barrett-Lennard est le chercheur en mammifères marins à l’Aquarium de Vancouver. À chaque année, lui et son collègue Craig Matkin (qui travaille avec le North Gulf Oceanic Society) voyagent sur les côtes de l’Alaska, à la recherche des épaulards. Il fait aussi des recherches similaires sur les côtes de la C.B., en compagnie des chercheurs Dr. John Ford et Graeme Ellis du Ministère des Pêches et Océans Canada. Lorsque Lance et ses collègues trouvent des baleines, ils prennent leurs photos pour l’identification et utilisent un hydrophone pour enregistrer ce qui se passe Pour en lire plus
Afin d’en découvrir plus sur le passé ancien des épaulards de la C.B., les scientifiques étudient l’ADN de ces baleines. Cette molécule, gardienne de l’information génétique, peut être utilisée pour déterminer les relations familiales des épaulards.

À la recherche des orques

Le Dr Lance Barrett-Lennard est le chercheur en mammifères marins à l’Aquarium de Vancouver. À chaque année, lui et son collègue Craig Matkin (qui travaille avec le North Gulf Oceanic Society) voyagent sur les côtes de l’Alaska, à la recherche des épaulards. Il fait aussi des recherches similaires sur les côtes de la C.B., en compagnie des chercheurs Dr. John Ford et Graeme Ellis du Ministère des Pêches et Océans Canada. Lorsque Lance et ses collègues trouvent des baleines, ils prennent leurs photos pour l’identification et utilisent un hydrophone pour enregistrer ce qui se passe sous l’eau. Ils recueillent également des échantillons d’ADN.

Pour obtenir un échantillon d’ADN, les chercheurs utilisent une fléchette légère, de la taille d’un crayon, qu’ils lancent avec un fusil à tranquilisants. La plupart des épaulards ne semble pas remarquer la fléchette, qui rebondit tout simplement sur leur dos, en prenant un tout petit morceau de peau et de graisse. Une fois la baleine éloignée, la fléchette est récupérée et son précieux contenu est conservé pour des analyses futures.

Les réponses

Les études d’ADN de Lance ont confirmées les hypothèses des chercheurs avant lui: les résidents et les migrateurs ne s’accouplent pas les uns avec les autres, et les groupes ayant le même dialecte appartenaient autrefois à la même famille.

Lance, John, Craig et Graeme travaillent maintenant à compléter l’arbre généalogique des épaulards résidents. Lance s’affère également à comparer les gènes des épaulards résidents, migrateurs, océaniques, ainsi que de ceux habitant d’autres régions du globe pour découvrir depuis combien de temps ils vivent séparés. Il est possible que lui et d’autres scientifiques découvrent qu’il existe en fait plus qu’une seule espèce d’épaulard.

Tu veux en apprendre plus sur Lance et son travail? Regarde le site web du réseau B.C. Cetacean Sightings Network.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Gel d'analyse de l'ADN

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Le Dr. Lance Barrett-Lennard travaillant dans son laboratoire génétique

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Utilisant des tests d’ADN, les scientifiques peuvent découvrir qui sont les pères des épaulards – une chose autrefois impossible.
Utilisant des tests d’ADN, les scientifiques peuvent découvrir qui sont les pères des épaulards – une chose autrefois impossible.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Tu peux en apprendre beaucoup sur un épaulard, si tu sais où regarder. La nageoire dorsale et la tache en forme de selle (juste au dessous de la nageoire dorsale) d’un épaulard sont aussi uniques qu’un visage ou qu’une empreinte digitale! Une fois répertorié, nous pouvons garder la trace de chaque individu, et voir où chacun passe son temps et avec qui. C’est ainsi que les scientifiques ont découvert l’incroyable complexité de la culture des épaulards résidents.

La nageoire dorsale

Chaque entaille et cicatrice sur la nageoire dorsale d’un épaulard raconte une histoire propre à l’animal. Stubbs fut le premier épaulard à avoir été identifié à partir de sa nageoire dorsale. La partie supérieure de celle-ci avait été coupée, probablement à la suite d’un accident sous l’eau. Puis il y a Winchester, une femelle épaulard, dont la nageoire dorsale est percée d’un petit trou: i Pour en lire plus
Tu peux en apprendre beaucoup sur un épaulard, si tu sais où regarder. La nageoire dorsale et la tache en forme de selle (juste au dessous de la nageoire dorsale) d’un épaulard sont aussi uniques qu’un visage ou qu’une empreinte digitale! Une fois répertorié, nous pouvons garder la trace de chaque individu, et voir où chacun passe son temps et avec qui. C’est ainsi que les scientifiques ont découvert l’incroyable complexité de la culture des épaulards résidents.

La nageoire dorsale

Chaque entaille et cicatrice sur la nageoire dorsale d’un épaulard raconte une histoire propre à l’animal. Stubbs fut le premier épaulard à avoir été identifié à partir de sa nageoire dorsale. La partie supérieure de celle-ci avait été coupée, probablement à la suite d’un accident sous l’eau. Puis il y a Winchester, une femelle épaulard, dont la nageoire dorsale est percée d’un petit trou: il semblerait qu’on lui ait tiré dessus.

La selle

L’aspect de la tache en forme de selle et les cicatrices qui s’y trouvent peuvent être utilisées pour identifier chaque épaulard. Par exemple, Nolades et Raven ont tous deux sur leurs selles des traces de dents provenant de rencontres avec d’autres épaulards, mais Nolades a une tache en forme de selle plus grosse et plus blanche que celle de Raven.

Album de famille

Ensemble, la nageoire dorsale et la tache en forme de selle peuvent être utilisées pour identifier les épaulards individuellement. Depuis cette importante découverte par le Dr. Michael Bigg, les scientifiques ont photographié tous les orques résidents de la Colombie-Britannique. Les orques migrateurs et océaniques sont difficile à photographier parce qu’ils sont plus dur à trouver. C’est donc petit à petit, que les scientifiques créent l’album de photos de ces deux populations.

L’identification des épaulards

Serais-tu capable de différencier un épaulard d’un autre, en mer? Teste tes habiletés avec notre Jeu d’identification des épaulards!

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Une photo d'identification d'un épaulard ayant sur sa nageoire dorsale des marques distinctes

Photo : Pacific Biological Station

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Les bébés épaulards peuvent être difficile à identifier. Heureusement, les chercheurs peuvent les reconnaître à leur mère qui n’est jamais très loin.
Les bébés épaulards peuvent être difficile à identifier. Heureusement, les chercheurs peuvent les reconnaître à leur mère qui n’est jamais très loin.

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.

Un épaulard mâle solitaire avec une longue nageoire dorsale ondulée, nageant près d'un glacier

Photo : L. Barrett-Lennard

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Serais-tu capable de différencier un épaulard d’un autre, en mer? Teste tes habiletés avec notre Jeu d’identification des épaulards!

Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre

© Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre 2006. Tous droits réservés.


Objectifs d'apprentissage

L’apprenant va :
  • se familiariser avec le vocabulaire employé en biologie;
  • évaluer les répercussions des êtres humains sur la biodiversité et identifier les moyens de préserver la biodiversité;
  • décrire comment des actions personnelles peuvent aider à la conservation des ressources naturelles et à protéger l'environnement dans leur région;
  • démontrer une compréhension de la nature dynamique des écosystèmes.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons