"Sustainability"  and "sustainable design" refer to our ongoing responsibility to choose and design methods of manufacturing, building and ways of life that have little to no impact on the long-term health of the environment, society and economy. From government to industry to individual consumers, we must all consider our "ecological footprint" and the legacy we will leave for future generations around the world. Designers and manufacturers are now faced with the responsibility of considering the entire life cycle of the products they create, especially within the context of international trade and globalization. As more goods and materials are shipped around the world, we must consider how products are made, by whom and under what conditions. We need to think about where the raw materials come from, whether they are renewable and how much impact we have on the environment when we grow and harvest these materials. Other factors to be taken into account include the energy and waste from packaging and shipping, the life span and use of the product, and finally its method and location of disposal.



Read More
"Sustainability"  and "sustainable design" refer to our ongoing responsibility to choose and design methods of manufacturing, building and ways of life that have little to no impact on the long-term health of the environment, society and economy. From government to industry to individual consumers, we must all consider our "ecological footprint" and the legacy we will leave for future generations around the world. Designers and manufacturers are now faced with the responsibility of considering the entire life cycle of the products they create, especially within the context of international trade and globalization. As more goods and materials are shipped around the world, we must consider how products are made, by whom and under what conditions. We need to think about where the raw materials come from, whether they are renewable and how much impact we have on the environment when we grow and harvest these materials. Other factors to be taken into account include the energy and waste from packaging and shipping, the life span and use of the product, and finally its method and location of disposal.



CURRICULUM LINKS

The pilot activity was executed in Grade 12 Geography: World Issues. This learning object also links to the following curriculum, its related themes and outcomes:

  • Grade 12 World History: The West and the World
  • Grade 12 Analysing Current Economic Issues
  • Grade 11 Americas: Geographic Patterns and Issues


STRUCTURE


This activity can take place over 2 to 3 periods. Use the case study to introduce international trade, globalization and alternative approaches to creating sustainable and autonomous economies in the developing world. The activity is appropriate for individual and group work, and for in-class work or homework.



INTRODUCTION

Similar to problem-based learning, design thinking and the creative problem-solving process of designers are adaptable to many subject areas. They can be applied either as a means of enquiry, for example as a teaching and learning strategy, or as the subject of inquiry, such as designing a brochure or temporary shelter. In either case, students employ creative, critical, and reflective thinking; they engage in research on the particular subject matter, and they analyse and propose responses while working collaboratively in groups. The real-life problems are human-centred and have social, cultural, and economic implications which, in turn, connect students with their communities. Because design thinking and the design problem-solving methodology results in multiple solutions, there is no one right answer to any given problem. Evaluation is based on depth of inquiry, insight, and critical analysis, and breadth of creative and innovative responses. The learning process is self-directed and teachers act as facilitators and guides.

This project is underpinned by design as a problem-solving method with an option to include aspects of design practice through graphic communication of data. The history of the United Fruit Company provides a narrative that sheds light on the inhumane, unjust, and corrupt actions of multinational companies which continues today. Like designers, students develop understanding and empathy in order to respond to human need. Exercising creative thinking and critical analysis, students write scenarios proposing alternatives to the attitudes and actions taken by the United Fruit Company. Students share their ideas with the class in group presentations and discussion.



ACTIVITY OUTLINE

The United Fruit Company: A Political, Economic, and Social History


Background:

The history of the banana as an imported product to North America provides a framework to discuss and analyse multiple issues related to international trade. The narrative is rife with corruption, exploitation, American gunboat diplomacy, and propaganda in the guise of factual information for the purpose of marketing and sales. As a result, the banana has become the fourth most important food product after rice, wheat, and corn. By studying the complex history, students become aware of global trade issues that continue to exist today.

The essence of design is human-centred problem-solving through research, analysis, and creative response. This methodology is applied to the story of the United Fruit Company in three parts:

1. Articulate the problems: Learn about the story of the United Fruit Company by reading the summarized history compiled by Northern Secondary School teacher Dan Dominico: http://www.nssgeography.com/worldissues%20web/Unit%20Food/The%20United%20Fruit%20Company.htm


Conduct further research on the Internet and create a graphic representation of the history and issues using images, charts, illustrations, key words, maps, dates, etc. (Graphic design is about visual communication and in some applications, its role is to simplify complex information.) This might take the form of a concept map or mind map.


2. Problem-solving: Rewrite the story by creating a new scenario where both Central Americans and the United Fruit Company benefit from the export of bananas. Review the case study as an example of a Canadian designer's contribution to collaborative trade. Then consider:

a. Private versus public ownership of land

b. Quality of life of citizens/workers

c. Personal, political and economic autonomy

d. Environmental sustainability

e. International relations

f. Reciprocity


3. Presentation: Prepare a presentation to the class describing your problem-solving process and alternative recommendations for economic development. Consider some questions of your own that emerged from your inquiry.


Evaluation:  Students participate in a group critique and peer evaluation process. Students determine criteria for evaluation.

  • Students write a personal reflection of their insights and experience while working on this assignment.
  • Ask: Now that the assignment is finished, how might you do it differently next time?
Questions to consider:

  • Describe the role of advertising in this history.
  • Describe the use of propaganda.
  • Look at the ratio of winners to losers in this story. Who benefits from capitalism?
  • Does there need to be a loser?
  • How is this story perpetuated in our global economy today?

ACTIVITY RESULTS

The pilot activity was executed in Grade 12 Geography: World Issues.

United Fruit Company Will The Banana Split?: A Documentary by Bob Carty for the CBC's Sunday Edition with Michael Enright http://www.cbc.ca/thesundayedition/features/banana.html

Fair Trade: The Banada Trade War http://www.globalissues.org/TradeRelated/Bananas.asp

Student project on the history and politics of the banana trade http://home.wlu.edu/~dennisp/intr132/Project/history.html

The Guardian. Banana Wars. Sunday March 13 2005 http://observer.guardian.co.uk/foodmonthly/story/0,9950,1433606,00.html

 

Additional Resources

Benyus, Janine M. Biomimicry: innovation inspired by nature. New York: Morrow, 1997.

Elliott, Jennifer A. An Introduction to Sustainable Development. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 1999.

Hawken, Paul, Amory Lovins, and L. Hunter Lovins. Natural capitalism: creating the next industrial revolution. Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 1999.

McDonough, William and Michael Braungart. Cradle to cradle : remaking the way we make things. New York: North Point Press, 2002.

Stitt, Fred A. The Ecological Design Handbook. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1999.

Van der Ryn, Sim and Stuart Cowan. Ecological Design. Washington DC: Island Press, 1996.
 

Resources about Teaching Design

Owen-Jackson, G. (2002). Teaching design and technology in secondary schools. A reader. London: Routledge/Falmer.

Owen-Jackson, G. (2002). Aspects of teaching secondary design and technology. Perspectives on practice. London: Routledge/Falmer.


© 2006, Design Exchange. All Rights Reserved.

Learning Objectives

Students analyze the impact of multinationals and globalization on developing nations, emerging economies, and the exploitation of natural and human resources. They apply critical thinking and problem-solving skills using the methodology of designers. Working in groups, students employ multiple learning styles and cognitive skills; practice planning, organization, and interpersonal skills; use current technology to graphically represent the story of the United Fruit Company. Students are introduced to the concept of scenario building as a method to plan for the future. Through a current Canadian case study, students evaluate how Canadian expertise is being applied in developing countries to empower the indigenous people and create autonomous and sustainable economies.

Teachers' Centre Home Page | Find Learning Resources & Lesson Plans

Objectifs d’apprentissage

Les élèves analysent l’impact des multinationales et de la mondialisation sur les nations en voie de développement, les économies émergentes et l’exploitation des ressources naturelles et humaines. Ils raisonnent de façon critique et font appel à leurs compétences de résolution de problèmes en utilisant la méthodologie des designers. Les élèves, travaillant en groupe, font appel à de multiples styles d’apprentissage et remettent en question leurs acquis cognitifs ; font appel à leurs compétences de planification, d’organisation et de sociabilité ; utilisent des technologies actuelles pour illustrer visuellement l’histoire de l’« United Fruit Company ». On introduit les élèves au concept de construction de scénario comme méthode de visualisation du futur. À travers une étude de cas canadienne, les élèves évaluent la façon dont les compétences canadiennes sont ap Pour en lire plus
Objectifs d’apprentissage

Les élèves analysent l’impact des multinationales et de la mondialisation sur les nations en voie de développement, les économies émergentes et l’exploitation des ressources naturelles et humaines. Ils raisonnent de façon critique et font appel à leurs compétences de résolution de problèmes en utilisant la méthodologie des designers. Les élèves, travaillant en groupe, font appel à de multiples styles d’apprentissage et remettent en question leurs acquis cognitifs ; font appel à leurs compétences de planification, d’organisation et de sociabilité ; utilisent des technologies actuelles pour illustrer visuellement l’histoire de l’« United Fruit Company ». On introduit les élèves au concept de construction de scénario comme méthode de visualisation du futur. À travers une étude de cas canadienne, les élèves évaluent la façon dont les compétences canadiennes sont appliquées dans des pays en voie de développement pour élever les peuples indigènes et créer des économies autonomes et durables.


Liens de curriculum

L’activité pilote a été menée à bien dans une classe de 12e année : Géographie du monde. Cette matière est également liée au curriculum suivant, ainsi qu’à ses thèmes et aboutissements :
• Histoire du Monde: L’Occident et le Monde — 12e année
• Analyse des questions d’économie actuelles — 12e année
• Les Amériques : Configurations et enjeux — 11e année


Structure

Cette activité peut se dérouler sur 2 ou 3 périodes de cours. Utilisez l’étude de cas pour présenter le commerce international, la mondialisation et les approches alternatives à la création d’économies autonomes et durables dans les pays en voie de développement. Cette activité s’adapte aussi bien au travail individuel qu’au travail de groupe, et ce, en classe ou en tant que devoir.


Introduction

Le raisonnement conceptuel et le processus créatif de résolution de problèmes, par ailleurs similaires à l’apprentissage basé sur la résolution de problèmes, s’adaptent à de nombreux domaines d’études. On peut les appliquer comme outils d’analyse, par exemple en tant que stratégie d’enseignement et d’apprentissage, ou comme sujet d’interrogation, notamment dans le cadre de la conception d’une brochure ou d’un abri temporaire. Dans les deux cas, les élèves raisonnent de façon créative, critique et réfléchie ; ils s’engagent dans des recherches sur un sujet en particulier, l’analysent et y proposent des solutions tout en travaillant ensemble. Les problèmes actuels de notre monde sont focalisés sur l’humain et ont des conséquences sociales, culturelles et économiques, ce qui, par conséquent, renforce l’appartenance des élèves à leur communauté. On peut dire qu’il n’y a pas qu’une seule bonne solution à chaque problématique pour la bonne et simple raison que le raisonnement conceptuel et la méthodologie de design de résolution de problèmes offrent de multiples solutions. L’évaluation est basée sur la profondeur des recherches, sur la perspicacité et l’analyse critique et sur la valeur des solutions créatives et innovantes offertes. Le processus d’apprentissage est autonome et l’enseignant sert d’animateur-formateur et de guide.

Le design en tant que méthode de résolution de problèmes avec l’option d’inclure des aspects de la pratique du design par la communication visuelle de données constitue le pilier de ce projet. L’histoire de l’« United Fruit Company » met en évidence les actions souvent inhumaines, injustes et corrompues des multinationales. Ces pratiques sont encore courantes aujourd’hui. Tout comme les designers, les élèves cultivent leur compréhension et leur empathie pour mieux répondre aux besoins humains. Pratiquant le raisonnement et l’analyse critique, les étudiants munis de scénarios proposent d’autres possibilités à la façon d’agir de l’« United Fruit Company ». Les élèves partagent leurs idées par des présentations de groupe et des discussions de classe.



Directives d’activité

L’« United Fruit Company » : Histoire politique, économique et sociale

Contexte :

L’histoire de l’importation de la banane en Amérique du Nord sert de cadre à la discussion et à l’analyse de multiples questions associées au commerce international. Cette histoire est parsemée de corruption, d’exploitation, de politique de force américaine, et de propagande sous forme d’informations factuelles pour promouvoir le marketing et les ventes. La banane est par conséquent devenue le quatrième produit alimentaire le plus important, après le riz, le blé et le maïs. En étudiant cette histoire complexe, les étudiants acquièrent une meilleure compréhension des problématiques de commerce international qui continuent de subsister aujourd’hui.

L’essence du design est la résolution de problèmes humains par la recherche, l’analyse et les solutions créatives. Cette méthodologie est appliquée à l’histoire de l’« United Fruit Company » et est divisée en trois parties :

1.    Formulez les problèmes : Étudiez l’histoire de l’« United Fruit Company » en lisant le condensé compilé par l’enseignant de l’école secondaire Northern, Dan Dominico :
http://www.nssgeography.com/worldissues%20web/Unit%20Food/The%20United%20Fruit%20Company.htm

Faites des recherches supplémentaires sur internet et créez une représentation visuelle de l’histoire en utilisant des images, des graphiques, des illustrations, des mots clés, des cartes, des dates, etc. (le but des arts graphiques est la communication visuelle et dans certains cas la simplification d’informations complexes). Ceci pourrait être fait sous forme de cartographie conceptuelle.

2.    Résolution de problèmes : Réécrivez l’histoire en inventant un nouveau scénario où l’Amérique Centrale et l’« United Fruit Company » bénéficieraient toutes deux de l’exportation de la banane. Considérez cette étude de cas comme un exemple de contribution qu’un designer canadien pourrait avoir au commerce collaboratif. Envisagez ensuite :
a.    Les terres privées par opposition aux terres publiques
b.    La qualité de vie des citoyens/travailleurs
c.    L’autonomie personnelle, politique et économique
d.    La durabilité pour l’environnement
e.    Les relations internationales
f.    La réciprocité

3.    Présentation : Préparez une présentation décrivant votre procédé de résolution de problèmes ainsi que vos propositions alternatives pour le développement économique à vos camarades de classe. Élaborez des questions qui ont émergé de votre enquête.

Évaluation :
•    Les élèves participent à une critique de groupe et à un procédé d’évaluation de ses pairs. Les élèves établissent les critères pour l’évaluation.
•    Les élèves rédigent une réflexion personnelle à propos de leur expérience durant l’élaboration du devoir.
•    Demandez : Comment referiez-vous le devoir, maintenant qu’il est terminé ?

Des questions à envisager :
•    Décrivez le rôle de la publicité dans cette histoire.
•    Décrivez l’utilisation de la propagande.
•    Envisagez le rapport de gagnants par rapport aux perdants dans cette histoire. Qui bénéficie réellement du capitalisme ?
•    Faut-il obligatoirement un perdant ?
•    Comment cette histoire est-elle perpétuée dans notre économie mondiale actuelle ?
Will the Banana Split? Un documentaire de Bob Carty sur le commerce de la banane pour l’édition du dimanche de CBC avec Michael Enright
http://www.cbc.ca/thesundayedition/features/banana.html

Commerce équitable : La guerre du commerce de la banane
http://www.globalissues.org/TradeRelated/Bananas.asp

Projet étudiant sur l’histoire et la politique entourant le commerce de la banane
http://home.wlu.edu/~dennisp/intr132/Project/history.html

The Guardian. Banana Wars (La guerre de la banane). Dimanche 13 mars 2005
http://observer.guardian.co.uk/foodmonthly/story/0,9950,1433606,00.html



Ressources supplémentaires

Benyus, Janine M. Biomimicry: innovation inspired by nature.
New York: Morrow, 1997.

Elliott, Jennifer A. An Introduction to Sustainable Development. 2e édition. New York: Routledge, 1999.
 
Hawken, Paul, Amory Lovins, and L. Hunter Lovins.  Natural capitalism: creating the next industrial revolution. Boston: Little, Brown and Co., 1999.

McDonough, William and Michael Braungart.  Cradle to cradle : remaking the way we make things.  New York: North Point Press, 2002.

Stitt, Fred A. The Ecological Design Handbook. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1999.

Van der Ryn, Sim and Stuart Cowan. Ecological Design. Washington DC: Island Press, 1996.


Ressources sur l’enseignement du design

Owen-Jackson, G. (2002). Teaching design and technology in secondary schools. A reader. London: Routledge/Falmer.

Owen-Jackson, G. (2002). Aspects of teaching secondary design and technology. Perspectives on practice. London: Routledge/Falmer.

© 2006, Design Exchange. Tous droits réservés.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

Les élèves analysent l’impact des multinationales et de la mondialisation sur les nations en voie de développement, les économies émergentes et l’exploitation des ressources naturelles et humaines. Ils raisonnent de façon critique et font appel à leurs compétences de résolution de problèmes en utilisant la méthodologie des designers. Les élèves, travaillant en groupe, font appel à de multiples styles d’apprentissage et remettent en question leurs acquis cognitifs ; font appel à leurs compétences de planification, d’organisation et de sociabilité ; utilisent des technologies actuelles pour illustrer visuellement l’histoire de l’« United Fruit Company ». On introduit les élèves au concept de construction de scénario comme méthode de visualisation du futur. À travers une étude de cas canadienne, les élèves évaluent la façon dont les compétences canadiennes sont appliquées dans des pays en voie de développement pour élever les peuples indigènes et créer des économies autonomes et durables.

Page d'accueil du Centre des enseignants | Trouvez des ressources d'apprentissage et des plans de leçons